• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHULA VISTA
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unforunately our hotel does not accept pets but there is pet boarding conveniently located near the hotel. Please contact Camp Schultz Boarding Kennel campschultz.com

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
SeaWorld
Distance From Hotel:12.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Self Parking for all hotel guest(s) and people attending meetings or banquets at hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:88
  • Total number of suites:25
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:37
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:51
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:88
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

The new Holiday Inn Express San Diego South – Chula Vista hotel is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Experience luxurious accommodations and a contemporary style. Guests will appreciate free parking and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a
View More

The new Holiday Inn Express San Diego South – Chula Vista hotel is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Experience luxurious accommodations and a contemporary style. Guests will appreciate free parking and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless Internet, business center, fitness room, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the ARCO Olympic Training Center, Knott’s Soak City Water Park, Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, Pacific Beach, LaJolla, shopping malls such as Westfield Plaza Bonita, Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are Goodrich, US Naval Base San Diego 32nd Street, Ball Automotive Group, NASSCO, General Dynamics, Raytheon and Oxyheal Health Group. The Maquiladora industry is 10 mi south.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in America’s finest city, so Stay Smart! ®>

View Less
Features
Complimentary breakfast is served daily featuring a variety of hot morning favorites. Other hotel features include an outdoor heated pool and spa, fitness room, business center, Meeting and Banquet space, on-site laundry facility and complimentary parking, complimentary wired and wireless Internet and outdoor BBQ in our patio area near the pool.
Announcements
Comic-Con International 2015 will be held July 9-12 (with Preview Night on July 8) at the San Diego Convention Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Arrived late Friday night only to be pleasantly surprised with a goody bag. Very friendly staff. I had 2 nights of very peaceful and comfortable sleep. Good breakfast each morning. Definitely coming back next time I am in this part of town. December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Front Desk Service Commending Mireille (front desk) - helpful, knowledgeable and prompt service. All done with a welcoming smile in person and over the phone. Goodie bag was a pleasant surprise! November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very efficient check in staff Hotel is very clean and Breakfast serving changes ever morning. Hot coffee all day and if you are regular you get a little bag of goodies. One of the better HI Express units November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location-close to everything We were a late arrival but the desk clerk was very gracious offering us a "goody bag" of snacks and water. Breakfast was a little disappointing because they didn't have any hot foods that didn't include milk and/or cheese. #Most Holiday Inn's offer pancakes or waffles.# My husband is lactose intolerant and had to stick to the cinnamon rolls. Our room was very spacious, well appointed and clean. Traffic noise was a bit louder than we are used to but it wasn't unbearable. Bed was comfortable, HD TV was great and the neighbors were quiet. Unfortunately, the hotel rented out a room adjacent to the breakfast area for a private party and they allowed all the small children to run all over the hotel and yell and scream. The manager should have requested that they stay in their rented room and/or the parents should have controlled their children. Fortunately, we were only there for the weekend and were close to everywhere we had to go. November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean hotel and convenient location I'm very picky about where I sleep and I was very pleased by the aesthetics of this hotel. Very clean and modern looking. Looks like it was recently remodeled. Very convenient location. I'm a local and stayed here for a staycation and had a good experience. They accommodated an early check-in and a late check out. Did not try the breakfast since I like sleeping more. Will be back for sure. First time staying here and was not disappointed. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Very clean. Friendly staff. Definitely would stay there again. October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay for USA BMX Chula Vista Nationals Great place to stay, rooms were recently remodeled and very clean. The staff service was off the charts, everyone was so professional and friendly. Parking lot was well lit and secure. They even gave my son a goody bag when we checked in. We will stay here next year, and will recommend this hotel to everyone racing Chula Next year. Thanks Holiday Inn Express, National City. You guys rock! October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel this was probably one of the nicer hotels i have stayed in, the staff were very helpful and attentive. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Annoying smell in the lobby Had to endure an awful smell in the lobby. It smelled musty or similar. Fruit at breakfast bar was over ripe. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI San Diego South Murielle and all the staff were fantastic making for a very enjoyable stay. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful front desk staff, nice room and enjoyed the pool Seems to be a newer hotel or recently upgraded very clean and a wonderful front desk staff, very friendly joined me for a chat in open area at front. I travel and use Holiday Inn's all over and this was a very friendly location. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again Reception was great. Location was perfect because I had business across the border as well as in San Diego. This hotel was all that I expected of a Holiday Inn Express. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, outstanding cinnamon rolls and good coffee Our reservation for two queen beds was correct. The staff was courteous and helpful offering maps, etc. Breakfast items were plentiful and good, especially the cinnamon rolls. We had a restful stay with virtually no noise. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Comfortable bed and great friendly staff. An absolute bargain for the price paid without compromise. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel The hotel was small, but we had a comfortable stay, I liked the fact that the rooms were clean. It also came with breakfast which was okay. Staff was friendly. I would recommend the hotel. August 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was a little hard but very friendly service. Bed was a little hard but overall had a very positive experience. The staff was very friendly and professional. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and service Ideal location for a Filipino guest. Close to Filipino restaurants and shops. Excellent service from staff. BUT I need my points corrected. Overall great experience. I will come back again. July 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff - welcoming and friendly I stayed at this hotel for a month while recovering from surgery. I picked the location because it was easy to get to and there were a lot restaurants and stores nearby. I found all of the staff very friendly and welcoming. Everyone from the front desk staff, to the breakfast staff, maids, maintenance guy were always happy and helpful. Ashley the manager was very polite and helpful. July 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Uggggh! Right from the time I drove into this hotel till I checked out, it was a nightmare. The entrance raised my apprehensions. The check in was reasonably ok with no upgrades available for a Platinum member as the property has no suites. I carried my bags to a smelly elevator, getting off to a smelly corridor with dirty old carpets and then onto a two queen bedroom with damp air and old smelly carpets with no place or furniture for the bags, After placing my bags on the floor, I stepped into the washroom that barely had standing room. It was too late in the day (10.30 pm) for a tired traveler to look at other options. Next morning, after an average breakfast, I went online and booked another Holiday Inn Express hotel in San Diego using my points and cancelled my stay at this hotel for the second night. The service for check out was good and I felt like being released from Alcatraz prison as I stepped out. It is shocking how this is even an IHG property and how it has got some good reviews on other sites.. Either those are manipulated or those people have never stayed in a decent hotel. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Could not have been more pleased The room was very clean and very comfortable. The front desk clerk was so kind and polite. We would love to stay here again. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Stay We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast area was very clean and was very good. We felt safe in our room and in the rest of the motel. We especially liked the helpfulness of the staff. Ashley (checked us in on our first day) was the greatest. She was so helpful and always had a smile on her face. She gave us great recommendations on where to eat and where to visit. She even printed us a map to find an area that was great to buy souvenirs at that wouldn't cost outrages prices. We would recommend this motel to anyone who is visiting the San Diego area. June 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good for One Night The hotel looked clean, but when you walked into the room it had an odor. A little air fresher would of helped. Also the room was very small. We have stayed at other Holiday Inn where the standard rooms are a little bigger. The breakfast was okay, but I've had better. The staff was friendly and very helpful. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good It's a good hotel to stay. we had a good time It's a good hotel to stay. we had a good timeIt's a good hotel to stay. we had a good timeIt's a good hotel to stay. we had a good timeIt's a good hotel to stay. we had a good timeIt's a good hotel to stay. we had a good time June 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My go to hotel whenever I have business in San Diego. I travel to San Diego county a once a month for my usual 3-6 day business trip. My drivetime is anywhere from 2-4 hours depending on traffic, time of day exc. I'll be very honest I have had some of the more interesting drives going to San Diego county. Everytime I make the journey to this hotel, Brenda or Erica is always there to great me (with an inviting smile), and make me feel like a special guest. I have come into this hotel on more than one time exhausted beyond belief. The staff always has everything ready for me to check in with a simple swipe of my card. The hotel itself has a easy parking area to the south,east and west of the hotel. Parking spaces are nice and wide to ensure less damage to the guests' vehicles. The rooms are always clean, beds are always made. May 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It's all window dressing Well when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised...walking into the lobby, it smelled freshly cleaned and looked like it had recently had a cosmetic makeover. All the decorations were modern and brightly, pleasantly colored. Check in was smooth and courteous. The ride up in the elevator was scary...very DARK inside and they make the most unsettling noises. Elevator opened onto our hallway, which also looked like it had been recently redecorated...new carpets, fresh wall paper...but be warned ceilings are barely 7ft tall. Nasty ceiling tiles obviously are hiding the addition of the sprinkler system and other facility systems. Felt creepy walking down the squat hallway. Room was lovely! Fresh everything, curtains, furniture, flooring. Bathroom was tiny but impeccably clean. Room came with fridge and microwave, king size bed (too soft) and full size hide a bed sofa (without any kind of linens whatsoever!). Called the front desk and poor attendant was "the only person in the building" and could/would not bring us proper bedding. We had to fetch it ourselves. And then we only were given a comforter, a flat sheet and this bed scarf thing...DUH, where's the pillows, bottom sheet & mattress pad. Guy was too harried to do anything about it so we made do. We reported a broken ice machine on our floor and were simply told to use another floor's. Was not repaired in the 4 days/3 nights we were there. Air conditioning didn't work so great, froze one half of the room but lacked proper power to circulate in the whole room leaving half of it stuffy. Jacuzzi continues to be broken (see other reviews)! We were there 3 nights...one guest said she had spoken to the front desk about it and it was to be repaired Monday...hot tub never did work! And let's not forget the fact that at no time during the 3 days were there pool towels available!!! Breakfast...what a joke! Stale pastries (every day), dried out breads, rubbery/weird/tepid eggs, and GROSSLY watered down juices. Bacon & sausage was okay. Eating with tiny plastic implements is just ridiculous...doll house sized plastic ware. You'll see in other reviews the property owner blames this on corporate and what they are allowed to serve...poor excuse for stale products however. Other guests were rude! There was a kids basketball team there. And adult guests were on the public balcony playing music and drinking beer. TVs were blaring and we could hear EVERY footstep through the thin walls & ceiling. Called the front desk about the rowdy kids & adults and it was handled within minutes. Staff was a mix of helpful and helpless! Overall, it was an OK hotel but it is better when viewed from afar. The new decor doesn't make up the other missteps. And lastly, the owners, reply to these reviews sort of says it all...lots of excuses for the same complaints. We visit San Diego 1-2 times a year and I'm not certain I would stay at this Hilton property again. May 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Member expectations As a Platinum member of Priority Club rewards program I have come to expect at least acknowledgement upon check in of my status and the amount of business I generate for this brand. This visit I found the front desk personnel [at check-in] were anything but cordial, he did nothing to impress me. Future trips to San Diego I will find another property to patronize. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Clean Hotel with Helpful Staff All areas of the hotel looked and smelled very clean! The staff was very helpful when we asked about dining suggestions. The room wasn't huge but it was adequate for two adults and two children. They recognized me as an elite Priority Club member and provided a little "goodie bag" -- which was a nice touch. The breakfast was very good each morning - with the signature Holiday Inn Express hot breakfast options. April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff First, the negatives: The rooms are a bit on the small side (the sink, mirror etc. are in a vestibule outside of the bathroom), there is no pancake maker (Most locations have this and I enjoy it) and it's just about impossible to pull into the parking lot without your car bottoming out. That said, this is a great property. The rooms and the hotel itself are well appointed and clean. The GM was there to check me in and was very helpful and friendly. The recognition was great. I was addressed and thanked by name and given a small welcome/gift bag, which is always nice. At the end of my business trip I have a free afternoon and asked the young lady behind the desk for some options. She asked a few intelligent questions and then provided an excellent plan including some great tips regarding parking and routes. I followed her advice and it worked out wonderfully. Great local knowledge and understanding of my goals. April 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and location There are not a lot of choices in this part of San Diego. The Hotel was a very good value with great service. February 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room attendant-knocking at your door at 9am comfortable bed, besides the hotels room attendant. check out time is at 11am but room attendant/house keeping knocking in your door at 9am to ask what time are we checking out. we've check in there so many times, and it always happen. though we already told the front desk that we are checking out late, still they will bother and disturb you. February 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-Chula Vista - Exterior Feature
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-Chula Vista - Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-Chula Vista - Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior South Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-Chula Vista Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-Chula Vista Shamu SeaWorld San Diego SeaWorld San Diego Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-Chula Vista Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-Chula Vista Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-Chula Vista Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-Chula Vista
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading