• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: COLUMBUS
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not permitted at this location.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Columbus Crew @ Crew Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Schottenstein Arena/Value City Arena
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI
Attraction:
Ohio State University
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Value City Arena
Distance From Hotel:2.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:70
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking for hotel guests in a surface lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:71
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:21
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:71
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Columbus Hotel's Locale a Smart Choice for Buckeyes

Welcome to the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Ex I-71 / OH State Fair / Expo Center hotel, your gateway to Columbus. This hotel's centrally located accommodations, less than 10 minutes from top area destinations like downtown, Ohio State University, Greater Columbus Convention Center and the Ohio Expo Center, offer travelers exceptional convenience.

With a 24-hour Business Center and meeting space for up to 15, this facility
View More

Columbus Hotel's Locale a Smart Choice for Buckeyes

Welcome to the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Ex I-71 / OH State Fair / Expo Center hotel, your gateway to Columbus. This hotel's centrally located accommodations, less than 10 minutes from top area destinations like downtown, Ohio State University, Greater Columbus Convention Center and the Ohio Expo Center, offer travelers exceptional convenience.

With a 24-hour Business Center and meeting space for up to 15, this facility caters to professionals visiting Columbus, Ohio. The hotel's proximity to companies like Battelle Labs and Chase Bank ensures an easy commute, and thanks to negotiated flat-rate cab fares, transportation is affordable. OSU Medical Center is within a few miles, and Port Columbus International Airport (CMH) is a reasonable, 10-minute drive away.

There's plenty of fun to be found in Columbus. Entertainment options abound, from concerts at Newport Music Hall to shopping at the Easton Towne Center. The hotel's location near The Ohio State University places visitors close to the beautiful campus and Buckeye football, as well.

While staying in Columbus, Ohio, our hotel's guests experience Midwestern hospitality at its best. In addition to exemplary guest service, amenities like a free, hot breakfast bar and complimentary Wi-Fi access make you feel more at home. The Fitness Center helps you keep up your routine and the heated, indoor pool offers relaxation. Book today!

View Less
Features
This hotel's location near Ohio State University is perfect for those visiting campus for any reason, from football to academics. Before your trip, check our Facebook page for available discounts.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 190 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Presbyterian not heaven I do not like southern holy rollers and I was forced to be near this large group because my class reunion was being held here. The reunion was fantastic and the food was the best I have ever had at a hotel July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and the staff were excellent. the rooms were clean and the 2nd floor was quiet. I attended a non-profit convention held at the hotel -the hotel provided adequate meeting room for 700 guest and in addition small meeting rooms for break-up sessions. July 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom and carpet There are no shelves, or countertops in the bathroom to put overnight supplies on. Being handicapped, this becomes quite necessary. The shower seat is awesome and the main reason I stay there. Carpeting is often difficult to wheel a wheelchair over. The rooms should be tile at least. I would reccommend the hallways be tile too. July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive staff The hotel staff were very attentive to my concerns and quickly assisted me. I had two distinct issues with the original room assigned to me. The staff quickly handled my concerns to my expectations, and better. June 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by MY 1ST COLUMBUS EXPERIENCE I was unimpressed with the quality of the building, staff and rooms...for the money...I would stay somewhere else. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room Great Property. Only one Elevator was not working and was slow. This could be temporary. But, Concierge breakfast definitely needs improvement. Oatmeal is a common expectation. Also, Skim milk was not available! Room was good. Lots of pillows. Bathroom was clean. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel I got a great room rate, and i booked my stay the day before I arrived. I got a room on the 9th floor, and I had dinner at the restaurant. The food and service was excellent, and I had a good night's rest. The service throughout the hotel was top-notch. This is a highly recommended hotel. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Crowne It was ok. A bit expensive for the size of the room and the bathroom and bed. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall very good Couple things - my room / 321 - could use a little work on the walls/ceiling and teh AC unit is pretty loud. These are just cosmetic things to bring to your attention as over all my stay was great and the staff outstanding June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Crown Not as Royal as could be Overall the place is outdated. The beds are sunken and carpets look very dingy. This is my second time there during a conference and it seems to gone down since a year ago. On a lighter note the staff went over the top to assist us during our stay. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff/ Meeds sprucing up a bit. Staff was first rate. Hotel needs some basic sprucing up and maintenance. Overall though a good stay. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Pool A good place to stay in the North Columbus/Worthingon area if you intend to use the pool - indoor and outdoor pools are connected and each is a decent size. So, whether it's winter, summer or in between, the pool is great. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fitness center surprised that fitness center had no disinfectant to spray on equipment after use May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buckeye Horse Show Excellent stay, very courteous and professional staff. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean, nice bed Very clean and comfortable room. Good food. Staff very nice. May 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bugs and needs repair I had stink bugs climbing the curtains & black flies in the bathroom. The wall under the a/c unit was crumbling and the a/c was vibrating as if it was loose. The bathroom ceiling was spalling. The ventilation in the bathroom did not work so the room was steamed up. I was very disappointed with the quality of the room and would not stay there again. May 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Pulling covers off bed to discover 2 pillows with blood stains! Called to ask for new pillowcases, after phone rang about 10 times, was told that someone would be up shortly. 45 minutes later I phoned again and was told they were on their way and bringing pillows. A woman comes to room with pillowcases and I said they told me you were bringing pillows. She looks at me and says no, just pillow cases and walked off. As I check out next morning, was never asked how my stay was. Ended up staying at another hotel for the following evening. May 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms good price Rooms were comfortable, clean, and up to date. It would be nice if they offered a continental breakfast but they don't. Rooms weren't ready until almost 4, which is when their check-in is, but they had my rollaway in the room when we entered it. They evidently only allow 3 devices to connect to the wifi in your room, so be aware of that; once my kids connected, i couldn't connect my iPad as it said that we have already had the allowed connections. May 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Remodel Very nice remodel! The property was a little dated but not anymore. May 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Some Improving The public areas are attractive and the fitness center is acceptable. However, I'm not sure if this is a trend in hotels, but this one has become over security conscience and made access to everything cumbersome. For example, you need your key card to use the elevator and the stairs. Upon entering our room it had an unmistakeable mildew smell and I narrowed it down to the shower curtain. The walls are also not that well insulated and could hear everything from the room next door. Then there was the breakfast (not included). You do have the choice of ordering off the menu or the buffet which cost almost $13.00. As a light eater the buffet is not a good value for me. You could get made to order omelets but other than that it was a typical buffet breakfast bar. The second morning we chose to go to the nearby Bob Evans for breakfast. I had an appetizer for lunch once and was not impressed. It was the pretzel served with a processed cheese dip you usually get at movie theaters and not what I was expecting at a hotel. We ate dinner there once as part of our conference, a buffet style. As buffets go, it was OK but the coffee was lukewarm and the desserts had been set out too far in advance so that the side of whipped cream had soured. The only reason we stayed at this hotel was that was the location of our conference. If we choose to attend the conference in the future and it remains at this hotel, I will be more inclined to book a different hotel to stay at. May 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay! Once again, we had a wonderful stay at the Crowne Plaza. Our room was clean and fresh, the staff was friendly and welcoming. I really appreciated that the elevator required the room key to access the Executive Level, and I love how quiet it is up there! May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No Problems There for a convention. Only suggestion would be the food served for the evening banquet. Kind of bland. May 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not The Best Hotel I Ever Stayed At checked in to the hotel everything looked nice got up to our room pleasant at first site went into the bathroom only one partial roll of toilet paper shower curtain rod was broke and the toilet had not been cleaned or if it had not very well there was no hand soap or anything of that nature in there and we only had one shower towel and one hand towel the next day we left our room for the day got back the room had not been flipped at all no new towels no new toilet paper kind of upsetting... hot water only lasted for about 4 minuets good water pressure on a high note and as if all of that was not enough the tv wouldn't work Not pleased with my two night stay in this hotel May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific Staff! We spend a great deal of time with the staff developing our conference setup. The staff at Crowne Plaza Columbus North is excellent! They go out of their way to help us in any way they can. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful people working with us to create a problem-free conference. Thank you to all. April 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Comfortable I stayed at the Plaza during a job conference. The conference was at another location, but I decided to stay elsewhere because I did not want to deal with a crowd of people and enjoy the stay on the Executive floor. However, I was unaware that all Crown Plaza hotels had discontinued recognition for members that were not Gold and above. This put a sour note on my stay as I felt like that was rude and extremely uncalled for. I was not aware that when I made my reservation that a bridal conference was going on. Thankfully, it was wrapping up when I was checking in. The rooms where clean and the hotel staff was courteous. My room was well stocked and the beds were quite comfortable. I had issues daily with the wi fi code. The staff had to give me at least 3 daily until we found one that worked. It grew quite tedious especially when I had to continually remind them I was a Club member. Overall it was a decent stay. April 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Sleep older hotel, but very accomodating - there for business, would book again April 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Old property with a face lift... not enough. I visited the Crown Plaza - Worthington for a conference that was hosted there. The hotel itself is set in an industrial part of town with little to offer in terms of restaurants (that is if you want more than fast food and run down chains) or things to do. Right across the street was the Budweiser brewing plant (pitched as a highlight on the hotel's website) which was dumping pollution into the air at an astonishing rate. The hotel is about 15-20 mins away from reasonable food and shopping options. There are grocery stores, but what good is that when you have no micro-fridge in the room (more on that later...) You can tell the property is old and has had a face-lift. BUT, it doesn't take long to see past the new furniture and paint. Once in my room I noticed a window seal full of dead bugs, sprinkler heads jutting out of the wall with crust and residue on them, phones that were at least 30 years old, and the bathtub had to be the original too. There was newish looking carpet, bedding, and artwork, but honestly it didn't make up for the other very obviously outdated items. Major disappointment that there was no microwave or refrigerator in the room, to which I later found out that they could put you on a list to have a very beat up looking mini fridge wheeled to you on a cart. Hmm... This day in age, a micro-fridge usually comes standard, especially in a hotel presenting itself as a conference center. My TV wouldn't turn on so I pulled the dresser away from the wall to find the entire panel, screws and all, laying on the floor. Someone was clearly too lazy to screw the electrical cover to the wall and left it there. This was annoying, but exclusively would not have caused me to be upset. It was the combination of things that lead to me having an unhappy experience. They did send some fine folks to clean up the dead bugs and fix the tv situation, both of which were friendly and apologetic and offered me free breakfast or internet (which already came with my room rate). The food provided during the conference I was attending was mediocre at best. Breakfast was so terrible I had to go off-site and get other food. The eggs were flavorless and were undoubtedly not cracked fresh. I presume powdered or liquid? Regardless, I could not handle it. Lunch was a tab bit better but still tasted cafeteria style (not in a good way). And there was little replenishing going on. If you were at the back of the line, well, you got the scraps. Same thing with the coffee. If it ran out, then that was too bad for you. That might have been an issue with the conference hosts and not the hotel. I'm not sure. The staff did do a good job of clearing tables after meals and ensuring there was water for the conference sessions. The bed in my room was not very comfortable, but again, that in and of itself would not have caused me to have a bad experience. The small double bed and lifeless pillows mixed with the sounds of a nearby train and doors slamming at all hours of the night contributed to my sleepless nights. It also seems housekeeping/maintenance starts VERY early. As early as 6am you could hear people shuffling about in the hallway and talking to one another. It could have been other guests, but by 8am housekeeping was knocking on the door to clean the rooms. And on top of it all, there was a power outage during my stay. I know this was not the hotel's fault, but it did add to the overall experience. I was in the middle of trying to meet an important deadline using the business center computer when the entire hotel went black. And it stayed that way for nearly two hours. Had to laugh that one off because I thought, you seriously cannot make this stuff up. Based on the property and the location, I would say the room rate is pretty steep considering it does not include, a micro-fridge breakfast or high-speed internet. Please let me say that every staff member I encountered was extremely friendly and professional, smiling, greeted you and asked how you were. I appreciated that. I have worked in a hotel that lacked the ability to live up to industry and brand standards, and it is difficult. I am sure that the staff is doing all that they can to accommodate guests, but I have to be objective in this review and provide the facts. April 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by concerned There was a fire alarm that sounded on floors 4 and above. Those guests were evacuated. I am very concerned, however, that we were not notified of the alarm. We stayed on floor 2. A simple call or knock on the door to alert us to the possibility of a fire would have been nice! There were also loud geese that kept me up all night long. April 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Nice property that has a caring staff and good breakfast! March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed my stay I enjoyed my stay. The only thing that bothered me was the restrooms downstairs. They were flooded and ran out of tissue each time we had church. March 27, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Get a restful nights sleep, right off I-71 in Columbus, OH
Get a restful nights sleep, right off I-71 in Columbus, OH
Select to close.
Get a restful nights sleep, right off I-71 in Columbus, OH Spend the night in our comfortable hotel! Ohio Stadium A Great Stay Awaits After a long day, relax in our lobby on a comfortable couch Our professional staff will ensure a great stay! Aftera a hard days travels, relax with us! Let our staff offer you top notch service and a speedy check-in Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ohio State Fair
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading