• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: COLUMBUS
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not permitted at this location.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Columbus Crew @ Crew Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Schottenstein Arena/Value City Arena
Distance From Hotel:1.4MI
Attraction:
Ohio State University
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Value City Arena
Distance From Hotel:2.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:70
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking for hotel guests in a surface lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:71
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:21
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:71
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Columbus Hotel's Locale a Smart Choice for Buckeyes

Welcome to the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Ex I-71 / OH State Fair / Expo Center hotel, your gateway to Columbus. This hotel's centrally located accommodations, less than 10 minutes from top area destinations like downtown, Ohio State University, Greater Columbus Convention Center and the Ohio Expo Center, offer travelers exceptional convenience.

With a 24-hour Business Center and meeting space for up to 15, this facility
View More

Columbus Hotel's Locale a Smart Choice for Buckeyes

Welcome to the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Ex I-71 / OH State Fair / Expo Center hotel, your gateway to Columbus. This hotel's centrally located accommodations, less than 10 minutes from top area destinations like downtown, Ohio State University, Greater Columbus Convention Center and the Ohio Expo Center, offer travelers exceptional convenience.

With a 24-hour Business Center and meeting space for up to 15, this facility caters to professionals visiting Columbus, Ohio. The hotel's proximity to companies like Battelle Labs and Chase Bank ensures an easy commute, and thanks to negotiated flat-rate cab fares, transportation is affordable. OSU Medical Center is within a few miles, and Port Columbus International Airport (CMH) is a reasonable, 10-minute drive away.

There's plenty of fun to be found in Columbus. Entertainment options abound, from concerts at Newport Music Hall to shopping at the Easton Towne Center. The hotel's location near The Ohio State University places visitors close to the beautiful campus and Buckeye football, as well.

While staying in Columbus, Ohio, our hotel's guests experience Midwestern hospitality at its best. In addition to exemplary guest service, amenities like a free, hot breakfast bar and complimentary Wi-Fi access make you feel more at home. The Fitness Center helps you keep up your routine and the heated, indoor pool offers relaxation. Book today!

View Less
Features
This hotel's location near Ohio State University is perfect for those visiting campus for any reason, from football to academics. Before your trip, check our Facebook page for available discounts.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 230 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant surprise I came to Columbus for a conference. The Holiday Inn was not my first choice, but the hotel suggested for the conference was booked. The Holiday Inn will be my first choice in the future. The staff was pleasant and attentive, both in person June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Women of Faith Conference I would like to mention one outstanding feature of our stay. My co-workers and I attended the Women of Faith conference in the Nationwide Arena. The hotels surrounded the arena were sold out and were directed by a sister hotel to the Holiday Inn. I was pretty excited since I have a member card but my co-workers were skeptical since the other hotels were right beside the arena. Holiday Inn was ready for the occasion. They ran a shuttle to and from the arena and provided us with a contact number to get ahold of them. We also were able to walk to the arena because it was less than a mile. It was a pleasant experience. The only suggestion is that I wish they included the price of breakfast within the room rate. May 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience All the staff that we interacted with were friendly and provided the necessary information or help that we needed. May 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by okay stay, but I wouldn't go out of my way to come We stayed here as a splurge, because of the indoor pool. I was surprised that there is no whirlpool, but that was a minor issue. That night, we were a little surprised at the limited menu, as they had no pizza, but there were ads for pizza in the lobby, so this must have been a request in the past. It was shared with us that they have plans to pare their menu down even further, to only pasta dishes. I think that this would be a mistake. They had no hot water at first, and VERY low water pressure. Apparently part of there plumbing was not working. This was an issue, and they did comp part of the room bill. It was a disappointment, as this was the last day of our trip. They charged us for the breakfast with the bill up front, so we were expecting to eat in the restaurant. As I am in hospitality myself, I have different standards than were displayed by the restaurant. The breakfast server was slow to come to the table, the food was slower still, my son and I played about eight hands of cards before we saw the food. The server didn't check on us until she delivered the bill. The potatoes were cold and hard, and had obviously been mixed through several orders (stale mixed with new). Neither of us ate them. Since she didn't check on us, she couldn't bus the table, and the table next to us was the sitting point for miscellaneous pitchers of water (at first left on our table by the waitress when she took our order. We didn't ask for water, but I poured it because she left the pitcher, and I set it on the next table), miscellaneous odd wrapped silver, miscellaneous dishes. This might be a personal pet peeve, but the mess contributed to the experience. Also contributing from the experience, was the guest complaining loudly about the rotten fruit on the bar (we saw it early on and decided to order off the menu) The waitress did ask about the meal when she delivered the bill (paid for by the voucher from the night before), and we told her about the potatoes, but she did not offer to offset the bill nor see a manager about it. Heading out, the business area couldn't print out our mapquest. The front desk did print it for us, after two tries. Overall, if you are going to fall asleep at the wheel, I wouldn't avoid this place, but I sure wouldn't cross the street to go there. April 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected!! Check in went fine, but once we went to the room, my daughter went to take a shower, (8pm), and had no hot water, we waited one hour hoping it would warm up, so the second person went to take one and the water was even colder. The beds are clean and comfortable and the room was fairly clean. The day we were leaving I went to take a shower at 7am, and was greeted with cold water, icey cold water. Needless to say I was not very happy. Upon check ou, t I explained to the front desk, that two days we had taken cold showers, she offered me half off for one day. I was so frustrated I did not fight it but wish I had. I don't feel its fair to charge someone full price when they were not even able to take a warm shower. I feel I should of been treated fairly, and given a better discount seeing as I had two days of cold showers, not the way you want to start the day!! Very Dissappointed!! April 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good and bad While the employees were very customer friendly the hotel itself had some issues. No hot water and very little water pressure. Our toilet broke early in the morning but the maintenance person was very quick to fix and very, very friendly and polite. I heard other customer and know for a fact that some had the same and more issues with the water situation. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice single night stay Good, basic, centralized hotel close to everything Parking lot well lit and secure. Great staff. Nothing stellar but certainly what I expected and maybe a little more from the staff. Go there! April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient stay Room was updated and clean. Bed mattress was a little too soft for our tastes. Quiet night. Great parking. April 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent stay / rooms lacked a little My wife and I had an okay stay. The staff was nice and accommodating for the most part. The room was large and spacious but lacked décor as our bed skirt was torn and shabby looking, and the bath tubs drain stop did not work. My second complaint is house keeping parked their cart right outside my door and spread bags and cleaning supplies all over the floor which caused an issue getting passed them (on more than one occasion). They were polite but not very orderly. We had a do not disturb sign on the door but removed it around 11-11:30 am, left for the day and when we came back around 4:00 pm the room had not been serviced. I would probably stay here again but based on location more than anything. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We had a great experience in Columbus and it started when we checked into the hotel. Never having been in Columbus before, the staff offered us suggestions on things to do and see. They were so friendly, it was amazing. When I originally booked the hotel, all that was available was a room with a king size bed. He "downgraded" us to a double room and saved us some money. The bathroom was a little small but it was clean and quiet and had a fantastic view of the city. We were able to walk to the hockey game from the hotel. When we got back that night we stopped in the lounge to have a drink. The bartender was very nice and very efficient. Check out the next morning was a breeze, especially when the staff was, again, so friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Columbus. Thanks for making our stay that much better!! April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and stay I was skeptical when I read other reviews but was pleasantly surprised here. I will say updates are needed(wallpaper and hallways) but this hotel was so clean and the service there was great. Everyone was nice and helpful. Z other than a few cosmetic updates , I would like to see a bigger bathroom and sink. Made it difficult to get ready. Every area of this hotel was clean. Loved the lobby and bar area. Kids loved the pool. $10 a night to park isn't bad considering you are downtown and other places are more than double this amount. Free wifi is ALWAYS a plus! I usually stay in the hotels connected to the convention center so was disappointed when I booked that there were no rooms, however, no longer disappointed after our stay. This was a great hotel at a good price. Was easy to get in and out of in town and again, the service and cleanliness made me feel at home! April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by shuttle service when booking this property I was told that there was free shuttle service to the arena. On arrival when I asked about the shuttle service I was told that I could not reserve the shuttle for a certain time that I was to come to the desk and possibly the shuttle would be available but she could not promise the shuttle would be available. She was not encouraging about using the shuttle service. We were traveling in a strange city and thought the shuttle service would be a good way to get to and from the area without difficulty but no such luck. I will know better next time when booking and ask more questions about the shuttle service before booking. I have used this service in other cities and never had a problem before. Thank you for your service the maids were excellent and the room was clean, April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location... A nice full service property just a few minutes walk fro the State Capitol Building. March 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Should not be a Holiday Inn This hotel was in a good location to meet my needs for this trip; however its not worth the money you pay for. The only positive thing in the entire building is the staff. The inside of the hotel appears to be very dirty and run down, in many places there is damage to the walls and in some cases a poor patchwork was done to fix it. In my room the curtains were dirty or stained and the walls were very dated. The bathroom was definitely not made to accommodate a taller person and the shower fixtures were coming away from the wall. The hotel restaurant is definitely not worth it, you would be better off finding a field to graze in! I ordered room service two times and each time was told the food would be up within 15 minutes; 45 to 60 minutes later it would arrive. Dining in the restaurant was not much better, I only saw the wait staff 2 or 3 times during the meal and they were very slow to deliver food or re-fill your drinks (you get better service at a McDonalds or truck stop than this place). As far as finding other places to eat, good luck; Columbus doesn't stay "open" for business long so its hard to find a quality meal. March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable with all the ammenities Nice and comfortable hotel room, great mattress had a very good sleep. Hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Just what you would expect from Holiday Inn. March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by large room and comfy bed travel for work and this site is comfortable, with spacious rooms. Breakfast is very good. Dinner is nice change from the chains. March 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Freat service and accommodations I was in Columbus on business matters that unfortunately extended beyond my planned stay by an additional day. The front desk people could not have been more understanding and considerate of an additional night at this hotel. The facility was convenient for where the rescheduled meeting was held and the staff provided explicit instructions on how to get to the meeting location. Every one at the hotel was very engaging and courteous. This was my second stay at this facility and I was even more impressed with the efficiency and attention to my needs that was provided. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great/quiet place to stay! We were coming in town for the Arnold and had a previous reservation but somehow the hotel had messed up so we were frantically calling around and this Holiday Inn had a room available! We were a little hesitant because of the other reviews, but honestly everything was clean, the hotel staff was very friendly, check in went smoothly and it's only $10 for parking. Overall it was a great value for us and we would definitely stay there again. The only "downside" if I had to pick one is the room/bathroom size seemed a little smaller than other downtown hotels that I have stayed in. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with horrible restaurant service This hotel was nice with comfortable rooms. Nice workout room and swimming pool. The only issue we had was with the restaurant service. When arriving at the restaurant there were only about 4-5 tables with people. We were ignored for about 10 min until the others informed us the ended up seating themselves so we sat down. The service was horrible. It took over 15 min before we were offered drinks or menus. When we asked for straws the waitress told me they were really busy and she would get it when she could and commented several times on hioe she didn't know why we were seated bc they were too busy!! The other tables around us all had the same issues along with incorrect bills that took extremely long to fix. Refills were not offered and the staff was rude. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice overnight stay Stayed here overnight while at a conference, came in late and left early next day. Did not use any of the amenities, so really can't comment on those. Did find the staff friendly and helpful, the room very clean, bed reasonably comfortable. The room décor showed some minor issues and aging, but nothing that at first blush caused any concerns. If looking for a place to sleep at a reasonable price in downtown Columbus, I can recommend this Holiday Inn. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Over-all excellent hotel good people with good hearts; especially good with hospital patients and family members. February 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by michaeljk I spend a lot of nights in hotels for business. I choose to spend most of my nights with IHG because of the benefits of being a rewards member. When I checked in, I was not acknowledged for being a platinum member. I don't expect much, maybe a free drink or breakfast or a room upgrade but at least thanks for the commitment to the brand.. HOTEL REVIEW: Older hotel but looks to be recently renovated. IT was well kept and appeared to be secure. The only complaint was that the pool was too cold so the kid's couldn't swim. Service was fine and for a downtown hotel, parking was good. February 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bathrooms need updated Have stayed here in the past. Very convenient for anyone looking for a reasonably priced room right in the heart of the city. Lobby is nice and the staff is very helpful. Didn't have a meal or stop at the bar but I have on previous visits and it's nice. The room was OK. My biggest issue was the bathroom. Our toilet was hardly attached to the ground. I'm really not sure how it wasn't leaking everywhere. The tub of the shower was terrible. I've never felt more unstable standing in a shower. It was like your feet were bowing in the entire time. You can tell it was old. I'm sure I'll be back soon. Updated bathrooms would push this hotel right up to excellent for me. February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great bar service,lackluster shuttle service i was in town for a concert at the newport and chose this property for its location to the venue. the shuttle was based upon availability, and distance. it was available but 0.1 mile passed the distance. sot they called me a cab. i probably would of tipped the driver twice what thwe cab ride was but they would not even let me speak with the driver. February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Experience Room was clean and comfortable. Cleaning staff did good job despite repairs needed for a lampshade in our room. Breakfast buffet left something to be desired -- adequate, at best. Difficult to get to due to road construction. February 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comy stay with friendly service. stayed for Blue Jackets game Feb, 1st 2014. Rooms are older but comfy and clean. Kids enjoyed pool. We used shuttle service for game which was quick to pick us up. Will stay again. February 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Free Continental Breakfast would increase ratings Construction made it difficult to get into the parking lot of the hotel. Staff was exceptionally nice. Room was clean. Most hotels I've stayed at for the price we paid offer free continental breakfast. Too far away from the Convention Center if that's where your event is. Many other hotels much closer for the same price. February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very accomodating We had a nice room but realized that there was a fraternity dance happening nearby and many of the participants were on our floor. I asked the front desk to move us at 9pm and they did it immediately. Our new room was very comfortable and on a super quiet floor. Our only disappointment was discovering the restaurant was not open on Sunday morning. Other than that, very nice hotel for the money. February 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Leaking in dining room and room bathroom There were multiple leaks. Seemed like the wait staff was understaffed. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Heather and Joe was great with customer service. I was snowed in from Atlanta but they made it so well. Thanks very much Heather and Joe. February 3, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Get a restful nights sleep, right off I-71 in Columbus, OH
Get a restful nights sleep, right off I-71 in Columbus, OH
Select to close.
Get a restful nights sleep, right off I-71 in Columbus, OH Spend the night in our comfortable hotel! Ohio Stadium A Great Stay Awaits After a long day, relax in our lobby on a comfortable couch Our professional staff will ensure a great stay! Aftera a hard days travels, relax with us! Let our staff offer you top notch service and a speedy check-in Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ohio State Fair
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading