• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: COLUMBUS
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. Arabic
  3. German
  4. English
  5. Spanish
  6. French
  7. Hindi
  8. Korean

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

NO Pets Allowed. 350.00 fee for all unauthorized pets. We only welcome certified service animals only.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Ohio State University
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
The Ohio Stadium/ Horse Shoe
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
The Wexner Center for Arts
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Adventure Recreation Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor lot parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:100
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:27
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:73
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:100
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Columbus, Ohio Hotel's Location Can't Be Beat

Our hotel is in the heart of the city and currently is ranked number 1! The Holiday Inn Express & Suites® Columbus University Area - OSU is the only IHG hotel within miles of OSU!We are close to everything, from OSU football to major companies in Columbus, OH.

This hotel's location is ideal for business travelers. Riverside Hospital, Battelle and James Cancer Research Institute are all within a quarter mile of the hotel. The Columbus
View More

Columbus, Ohio Hotel's Location Can't Be Beat

Our hotel is in the heart of the city and currently is ranked number 1! The Holiday Inn Express & Suites® Columbus University Area - OSU is the only IHG hotel within miles of OSU!We are close to everything, from OSU football to major companies in Columbus, OH.

This hotel's location is ideal for business travelers. Riverside Hospital, Battelle and James Cancer Research Institute are all within a quarter mile of the hotel. The Columbus Convention Center, AEP, EWI, Nationwide and many other corporations are just blocks from the hotel's Columbus, Ohio location. With free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center, you'll have everything you need to conduct meetings, fully prepared and ready for success.

There's tons of art, culture, entertainment and sports near the hotel, too. The Short North Arts Center is nearby, and the Jerome Schottenstein Center is within walking distance.

"Stay Smart" with us in Columbus, OH. With the hotel's heated, indoor pool and a 24-hour Fitness Center, you can unwind with a few laps and stick to your workout schedule. You can satisfy a healthy appetite with the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. Shuttle service to area hospitals and businesses is available Mon-Fri by prior appointment.The shuttle is not available for sporting/special events. Book your stay to enjoy everything in Columbus, Ohio. We look forward to welcoming you!

View Less
Features
Simply the best location in the heart of OSU-campus, our hotel boasts to be the only IHG property within miles of the university, and we are just 2 miles from downtown Columbus.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 227 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Knowledgeable staff really helpful and great attitude with front desk member named Amber. December 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Some friends and I stayed at Crowne Plaza for a weekend getaway. The hotel was conveniently located to Hollywood Casino, shopping, and restaurants. The staff was upper friendly and made us feel special. There is a lovely bar with a fireplace and great service. The rooms were updated and comfortable. We will return on our next trip to Columbus. November 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by zero customer service at the front desk!! Front desk need basic customer service training. First basic training for them would be: how to great the customers!!!! I found the front desk ladies and gentlemen very arrogant and unfriendly!!! November 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by housekeeping staff needs more training Arrived at room to find used lotion packets on the bed. Had to ask for the sofa bed to be made up for the 3rd person registered to stay in the room. Next day, housekeeping removed bath mat & used towels of 3 people but replaced towels for only 2 people and did not provide a bath mat. Other than those issues, the hotel was comfortable, appeared updated, and front desk & valet staff was very helpful and polite. Also, the wait staff at Max & Erma's was extremely friendly and helpful. Best feature was the closed-in connecting walkway to the Convention Center/Hyatt Hotel/Drury Hotel. November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good The desk staff was helpful and very friendly. It was hard to get coffee between certain hours since the coffee bar was closed mid day. Max and Ermas the only close by place to eat was crowded and food was flavorless and service rushed.The bar in the lobby had one server and seemed stressed . She was pouring drinking ,running across the court yard for food. Not good service. The room was ok clean . the bathroom floor was sticky, the towels were hard and the bathe mat old and dirty looking. Fabric softner and Tilex would be a good investment. Ok service ok clean ok food..so OK. I guess for the area it was good. November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location but parking fee is not included Great stay and the room was very nice. Just a warning to make sure to bring along enough funds for the parking. The valet is $23 and the adjacent lot is not a part of your room fee. Oh and there is a $30 fee for incidentals that is taken from your charge once your room is cleared. November 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty Nice Place Only stayed there one night, but it was a very nice experience. Room was nice, bed was comfortable although I would have like to have had softer pillows. ;-) My only complaint is that the walls are paper thin. I heard the girls next door come home at 2:15 am. They turned on a blow dryer that sounded louder than it should. Other than that, I would rate this experience as a good one. Thanks. November 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by noisiest room ever Even though we were on the "executive"-level 12th floor, i've never been at a hotel with such thin walls. We could hear every word the women next door said, including when they came back at 4 a.m. and carried on until dawn. We called down to the front desk asking for help, which did seemingly make a difference ... eventually. The room was also in fair shape, but the shades and bathroom showed some serious wear and tear. November 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not impressed Affluent attitude. Snubbed me and my daughter perhaps because we weren't wearing designer clothes, but we do have designer pockets. You should treat all customers with respect and politeness. I also wasn't too pleased with not being told I would have to pay for parking in advance. All guests should be informed upon reservation. Be careful who you snub. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a solid choice! I've been staying here for years when on business travel and every time I have a great experience. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are top notch. The location is great for downtown activities as well as activities that take me into the surrounding towns. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Could not have enjoyed this hotel or the surrounding area more I was in town for a two day business conference and cannot imagine a better stay anywhere. The hotel staff, particularly Maggie, was extremely helpful at check-in and every other time I has a question to ask. It was great to stroll around the surrounding neighborhood and enjoy the local eating and drinking establishments. I am particularly grateful for Maggie's recommendation to check out the nearby North Market, where I discovered some of the best BBQ I've ever enjoyed thanks to Holy Smoke BBQ. I enjoyed my business stay so much that I absolutely would recommend vacationing here. Simply wonderful! November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excelent service. comfortable room andexperinceon the excutive suite floor. The gentelman that check us in was exceptional.excutive suite upgrade made a nice getaway for my wife's birthday. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne of the Arena Districy My husband and I love to stay at the Crowne Plaza in the Arena District. It is within walking distance of Nationwide Arena and all the restaurants and evening entertainment. We call the Crowne Plaza our Columbus home. The staff is friendly and helpful. The ambience is great for a romantic get away, business, a concert or hockey game. The Crowne Plaza is the crowne of the arena district! November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location if you have your own transportation Nice hotel, stayed many times for business purposes. Location is fantastic with the Arena District and all it has to offer within easy walking distance. Two beefs about the hotel are the internet being horrible and the contract transportation being less than helpful. In summary, the internet worked extremely poorly on floors 11 and 5 (two different rooms on two different sides of the hotel). Connectivity was awful. The transportation company "operator" spoke terrible English and when trying to arrange a van to the airport for 9am I was given the option of either going at 8:30am or 10am. The previous day we weren't accommodated in a very friendly manor either as far as the time of the van being available. A taxi would have been a better option as far as going at the time best suited for us. November 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ho-Hum Nice enough from the curb. The valet only parking option is a hassle. The elevator was slow and loud. The staff were hum-drum and did not feel "present in the moment." The Exec Club level lounge was picked clean by the time of my 9pm check-in. So much more Platinum level perks! Bed was hard and lumpy. Pillows were too soft and flat as pancakes. Not sure who was making loud noise in the hall at 4am -- but it was most annoying. I expected more from a Crowne Plaza --seems the higher end brands in your portfolio are inconsistent in living up to the brand promise. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel This hotel has valet parking only, but we received complimentary valet parking as a Rewards Member after asking. The lobby/bar area is huge and awesome! Lots of comfortable seating including tables, couches in front of a fireplace/windows and great high top tables that would easily seat 8+ people. No restaurant in the hotel, but a Max & Erma's next door. Limited food/drink available in bar area. But if you are in the bar for a late night drink (which we were#, that means not much food selection as Max & Erma's closes at midnight on weekends. Room was nicely decorated with very nice furnishings and very nice bathroom. Extremely clean! The only negative thing I could say/comment on is the cover for the bed is extremely stiff and heavy #cotton#. Other hotels I have stayed in lately #Holiday Inn in Vermont) have light-weight duvet covers which I prefer. Great Columbus location across from the Convention Center. We walked to Short North - a very nice shopping/restaurant district close by. Also close to the Arena District. All hotel employees were very friendly and polite. We plan to stay here again next year October 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet The wireless internet service in the room was a joke. Slower than dial-up. How is that possible? October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great business hotel Connected to the convention center by sky walks, this hotel is very conveniently located. Clean and comfortable, with extremely friendly staff. October 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate hotel If you need a bed and shelter for the night, this hotel is adequate. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will come again! What a great hotel experience. Really appreciated thw late checkout. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by TKO Great stay: comfortable bed, clean room. Only issue was size of room, we had 2 queen beds and room was a little cramped. I would stay here again though. Staff was very nice and accommodating. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good experience A little overpriced considering the number of hotels in the area with comparable amenities. However, did not include breakfast like many of those same hotels do. A good, clean hotel with a friendly staff. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable We were there for a wedding and everything went very well and we were very comfortable October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Superior hotel! This hotel is very nice. Beds are comfortable and the location is terrific. The premises are clean and very chic. We selected this hotel because of the patio outside which appeared to be relaxing and its proximity to the convention center. However, there was a Verve! convention there too and several of these attendees stayed at this hotel. Lots of GenY there and they took over the bar, the lobby, and the patio as well as smoking outside the facility while we were there. So we could not enjoy the benefits that this hotel had to offer. Let's just say these attendees were not the most mannerly...ie stepping aside so that my family and I could get through etc. We had to plow through the crowd. I would suggest you ask what convention attendees will be staying at the hotel while you are there so you will be advised prior to staying here. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed easy check in/out excellent location downtown close to shortnorth, OSU October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Columbus Crowne Plaza on Nationwide i stayed there 3 nights and the lobby staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very spacious and very comfortable. Household staff was very efficient in cleaning the room. Recommend this hotel if staying in the downtown area of Columbus. Next to arena district and convention center. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Columbus I will not stay at another hotel in Columbus. The staff is always friendly, rooms spotless, and the location is most convenient. They are more than welcoming and even brought my friend a piece of birthday cake the time we stayed before this one. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Nights Sleep I travel often for business and pleasure and it's not often (if ever) that I get a good night's sleep in a hotel bed. However, at the Crowne Plaza I slept so well! No hallway noise, no outside traffic noise, no stiff neck in the morning. The hotel was conveniently located in the Arena District, right next to the Convention Center so I never had to take my car out during the 4 days I was there. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would absolutely stay here again when in Columbus. October 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms, terrible valet Our room was great with a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. However, the valet service is greatly lacking. Upon arrival, we had to wait 20 minutes just for the valet to take our car and upon leaving, we had to wait 45 minutes for the valet to bring our car. The valet was greatly understaffed and disorganized and did not apologize or compensate us for the wait. I would recommend the hotel but definitely not the valet. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The front desk is always happy to greet you as you enter and leave making you feel welcomed. September 30, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Breath taking 7 story state of the art hotel
Breath taking 7 story state of the art hotel
Select to close.
Breath taking 7 story state of the art hotel Our lobby area! Fully equipped with Apple IPADs! Hotel Lobby We are on OSU North Campus! Half mile to stadium! Hotel Lobby Our Gorgeous 7 story state of the art facility Holiday Inn Express & Suites at OSU--Welcome Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading