Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 59 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Suite setup is best for relaxation We have been staying at the Hickory off Rt.16 in Conover since at least 15yrs. Best improvement change is the automatic door open with ease. Suite is best for the money. Great breakfast selections and all staff are excellent. November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed Soft Bed was very soft/ wornout. Apliances in suite were very dated but functional. Very friendly staff and very clean facility. Would his hotel.recomend t November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Positive experience We had a pleasant stay at this location - thought it was better than other motels in this class and equal to more expensive ones that we have stayed at. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This hotel was very nice. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. We would stay again. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, friendly staff Stayed here on our way from NC to CA and again on the way back. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable and the free breakfast is always good. October 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The STINK BUGS have landed Room was standard, breakfast great, but we were over run with stink bugs. Not a big deal as they don't bite or anything but the idea they were crawling around on the ceiling and walls etc was enough to put a damper on the stay. We informed the desk on the way out. Other than that the check in was good, and the nice lady was able to provide us with dinner recommendations. I guess the only thing I wish you would change is when you are quoting the rate do so with the taxes incl. Nothing worse than thinking your going in at one price and seeing a $10 increase due to tax etc. October 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average at best Only fair accommodations and was not interested in the employees talking bad about the other employees while we were at breakfast October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Comfortable, Safe We stay primarily at Holiday Inn Express or Holiday Inn, good value for the price. Our stays have always been great and I have been greeted as an Priority Club Member until my last stay. Not that it is significant as far as the stay goes, however, on most surveys they ask if that happened and it did not this time. Breakfast is always plentiful and has good choices for fruits, yogurts, cereals, etc. The selections of breakfast foods is also very good. There is always some form of eggs, breakfast meat, pancakes and sweet varieties. Staff is very friendly and polite whether on the phone or in person. We will always stay at this location. October 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Had the worst room in the place. I asked the gentleman when I checked in to keep me away from the elavator and vending machine since my wife was a light sleeper. So much fore that request. we were on the first floor 3 feet from the side entrance. It appeared folks used this door rather than the front door at the lobby. you could hear the door slam each time. It would actually move our door. PLUS. just outside of the door/covered sheltered turned out to be the smoking area for the guest. When the outside door would be opened, the smell of smoke would come into the building and being 3 feet from that door it would seep under our door. I guess when you put a large container with sand for smoking outside the entrance door, what do you expect. Don't stay in room 114. October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall good, but a little off the beaten path overall good & comfortable. A little far from good restaurants, etc. September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay very clean with a friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was great. Rooms are very quiet never heard guests in other rooms September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No pancakes Ran out of pancake batter and supply would not be arriving until the next day. Seems that when they open the last one, another should be ordered so that there is always some on hand. Very disappointed. September 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Air Conditioner Spoiled Excellent Stay This was my second stay at the HIE Conover. Unfortunately the air conditioner was so noisy that we finally had to just shut it completely off to get some sleep. I fully expect that the staff would have relocated us to another room if requested; however, the hour was late, and we were very tired, so we opted to tough it out. The staff did say that they were referring the problem to maintenance for correction. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The HIE Conover is far enough off I-40 to not be bothered by traffic noise. There are a number of eating establishments within walking distance and having Walmart almost next door is handy when you come out in the morning to a flat tire. The room was not quite as large as the HIE Raleigh-Airport ... but the absence of aircraft noise and the cheaper price made it a good trade off. Will definitely stay there again. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff I have stayed at this property numerous times on business. It is well maintained. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I stay in hotels often and the staff here is the best I have ever encountered, inclusive of full service higher end brands. Every employee I have ever encountered have been overly accommodating. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay I would recommend staying at this location anytime in this area. Excellent facility, low noise and nice room amenities. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent We enjoyed our experience and we had a wonderful nights sleep. Thanks Ron and Sharon August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice people very nice people work there and friendly too stay at tis hotel every year August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely Perfect I apologize in advance for the length of this review. I cannot possibly do the staff justice in a sentence or two and refuse to short change their efforts. My history at this hotel began last year with a lengthy stay. As time passed and I went to other IHG hotels, I began to think my fondness of this particular hotel wasn’t justified. It wasn’t that the other hotels did anything wrong, it was a matter of remembering the Conover staff doing everything exceptionally well. I thought my memory was creating an unjustified fondness. About a month ago, I was brought back to the area. It didn’t take long for me to realize that my memory did, in fact, play tricks on me. The staff wasn’t as good as I remembered; they were better! I was completely blown away and amazed that they could assemble and maintain a team focused on detail and customer service. A little over a week ago, I was brought back to North Carolina, but this time I needed to be in the Asheville area. For those unfamiliar with Western North Carolina, Asheville is approximately 90 miles from Conover. Without hesitation, I decided to stay with the best and commute back and forth. I know that decision sounds crazy and for most people it doesn’t make sense. In the last 6 weeks, I have been home 36 hours. A road warrior’s life is generally a lonely one. Those who travel on this level do not look forward to a hotel room after a day of work. Four walls, a bed and a TV will not and cannot soothe missing loved ones. The atmosphere at Conover is a relaxed and engaging one. The staff always makes time for insignificant chit chat with guests. It is not home, but it is as close as one will find. You will not get lonely and after a day at work I look forward to my conversations with the staff. They are intelligent, funny and genuine. Fake hospitality does not exist which makes this hotel the rarest of gems. I am also amazed at the staff’s ability to read people. I have not been troubled when I did not have time and I have always been engaged when a friendly conversation was exactly what I needed. I find this trait exceptionally valuable and am baffled as to how they never miss the mark. The list of things that make this hotel one of a kind is long. I would like to encourage all who read this to experience it for yourself; you will not be disappointed. I could mention everyone by name, but in the interest of remaining somewhat brief I will close by only calling out the managers: Cassie, Eva, Lou and Matt, You should be proud of not only the quality of service you provide, but of each and every staff member who makes it possible. You, along with your staff, have set a standard that all should strive to achieve. I am truly amazed at the team you have assembled and grateful that I once again had the opportunity to experience it. Please pass my sincere thanks and appreciation on to all of your staff members. August 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff but hairy experience Staff was very friendly especially breakfast workers. Our room had hairs though on bed, tv remote and in the shower. Wish they were our hairs..... Yucky! August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Facilities and Service The staff continues to provide excellent service at this nice, clean facility. July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, breakfast needs some work We stayed at this hotel for a wedding weekend. Front desk staff friendly and room was clean and well furnished, couch was a little worn. Biggest disappointment was the breakfast on Saturday morning about 9 am. Breakfast staff completely unprepared for the number of people. There were NO bagels or English muffins. When I asked for some, the hostess disappeared for a few minutes and came back with nothing and said nothing to me. I asked her about them and she said they were frozen and she couldn't thaw them fast enough. The peanut butter packets were either old or frozen I couldn't tell, but peanut butter would not spread. They were also out of eggs, bacon and running low on cinnamon rolls. Guess I don't understand when you know how many guests are staying in advance how this could happen. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Suite was perfect We stayed for several nights and were upgraded to a suite when the room we requested was not available. As we were attending a festival, the suite turned out to be perfect as we had our own little home away from home. When my husband wanted to stay up late, he was able to go to the living room and close the bedroom door so as to not bother me. The staff was wonderful. The hotel was not right on the interstate so we didn't have to deal with the noise. Beautiful facility with nice amenities. We recommend this to anyone visiting the area. July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel and good stay Hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful to me and other guests I saw. I was recognized as a Priority Club member upon check-in. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the internet was easily accessible. I would gladly stay here again. The only complaint was that the breakfast area was not well stocked on the first day of our stay (no cinnamon rolls!) , but this had been mostly fixed by the second day when their food order had arrived. June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good place Excellent facilities and professional, competent staff. First Class. June 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent facility I stay at this location whenever I am in the Hickory area. I find it to be an extremely well kept facility at an excellent value. We had 8 individuals in our group and everyone was complimentary of the Conover, HI Express. May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I stay here every time... I've stayed at this location many times. Bottom line, I can't say a bad thing about this place. There may not be as many dining choices as there are in Hickory, but it's right down the road. If you're in the area, stay here. May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location & great service This property is located conviently to interstate and various restaurants. The staff was friendly and property very clean. The outdoor pool area looked like it would be a nice asset in the warm weather. May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Hotel somewhat hidden. I appreciated the fact that this facility is not directly in close proximity to I-40. Actually, I was surprised at how well-maintained this facility was. The bed could have been more comfortable, as I found it to be extremely firm. Overall, a pretty good value @ a competitive rate. April 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel Had a very nice stay. Location was a bit off the expressway, but very easy to find. Hickory is a lovely area and the hotel was near lots of amenities. April 25, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>