• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: LOS ANGELES
  • Distance From Hotel: 45.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Not Pet Friendly. Closest Kennel to contact is the Costa Mesa Pet Hospital located at 480 E. 17th St., Costa Mesa, 92627. 9495483794 0.7 mi. from hotel

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
OC Fair and Event Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Newport Beach
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Island
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Huntington Beach
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is COMPLIMENTARY – one vehicle per Registered Guest Room; $25/day for each additional vehicle if space is available. All your vehicle(s) must be listed at check in and will be issued a placard to be placed in the registered vehicle(s).
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 25.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:62
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:21
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:62
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2315

Centrally located among beautiful beaches, fine dining, premier entertainment and exclusive shopping, our Costa Mesa Newport Beach, California hotel's accommodations are convenient and comfortable. In addition, our Holiday Inn Express® Costa Mesa Newport Beach is just over two miles from John Wayne Airport and easily accessible from the 405 and 55 Freeways, making travel a breeze.

Business travelers can stay productive with free high speed Internet. Use our meeting space to host a
View More

Centrally located among beautiful beaches, fine dining, premier entertainment and exclusive shopping, our Costa Mesa Newport Beach, California hotel's accommodations are convenient and comfortable. In addition, our Holiday Inn Express® Costa Mesa Newport Beach is just over two miles from John Wayne Airport and easily accessible from the 405 and 55 Freeways, making travel a breeze.

Business travelers can stay productive with free high speed Internet. Use our meeting space to host a training session or family gathering. Hoag Hospital and the University of California-Irvine are only minutes from the hotel.

Guests are encouraged to spend the day enjoying the sun and sand at Newport Beach or strolling along the streets of Balboa Island when staying in Costa Mesa, California. For a refreshing break, take a swim in our outdoor heated swimming pool. Our hotel's guests can take advantage of shopping at South Coast Plaza and even take the family to Disneyland® for the day since it's just a short drive away.

Start your day off right with free breakfast at our Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy our melty gooey cinnamon rolls, or decide to go extra-fit with cereals, yogurts, and a variety of breads. For an invigorating workout, try our newly added Fitness Center equipped with cardio equipment and free weights. Plan your next trip to Costa Mesa today!

View Less
Features
Our Costa Mesa, California hotel's location provides our guests easy access to an array of attractions like Newport Beach, Balboa Island and the South Coast Plaza, ensuring they'll have plenty to do.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 241 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good and yet confusing The shuttle ride to the airport was great and the driver refused a tip. VERY unusual but sincerely appreciated. Of a confusing note however, was the rate differences. I had one rate for Monday night, yet a different one for Tuesday and Wednesday and yet another for Thursday. Why? Is the rate determined by the outdoor temperatures??? March 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Changing Rooms at midnight not fun Was not happy to be given a room in which air conditoner was not working....especially when weather was very warm (high 80s) that weekend. Was in a two bed room, and was finally moved to the "only room availabe"- a one bed room with sofa sleeper. We had made the reservations two weeks prior and informed the hotel rep that we would be arriving close to midnight (actually arrived about 11:50 pm). We were changing rooms after midnight and were told we would be given a two bed room the next day after folks checked out. Nobody ever contacted us about switching back to a two bed room as promised. Just disappointed in no one following up to correct the situation. We are IHG members...just disappointing. We are planning to stay for a couple of nights again in beginning of April. We shall see how that works out. That will determine if we return in the future. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Convenient Location I have stayed here on multiple occasions over the past 3 months and the hotel has offered me a very enjoyable experience. The staff members are courteous and professional, the rooms are clean, and the shuttle service is great. I recommend booking a room that is on the pool side and not on the street side if you are a light sleeper. The pool and hot tub are very nice. The restaurant / bar was just remodeled March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite Costa Mesa Hotel I have stayed at several hotels on Bristol Street near South Coast Plaza and the theater district; Crown Plaza is my favorite by far. It is large enough to offer top-notch public spaces and small enough to have virtually front door parking. I like the contemporary swanky decor and the front desk and on-site reservation staff are friendly, welcoming professionals who deliver on hospitality. . March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Improvement great STAFF very friendly I liked all your hotel had to offer and form my last stay a great improvement. I will will return and make recommendations to friends and associates. I would like to to make small comment, sorry I cant remember his name, the Male Bartender on Monday Night a little over bearing and lacks the friendly side. March 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and had not noticed until my last stay how friendly and helpful everyone was. The house keepers all greeted me. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Chris and Imelda made me feel at home away from home. Arturo addressed an issue with me and fixed it very timely. Nice to be away from home and feel like you are not just staying in a hotel. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The front desk staff is particularly friendly and professional. The new dining room and menus are fresh and delish. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent support for our event plus great room We were at this property for a meeting: Our Room: Excellent cleanliness and furnishings The event: Room met the requirements of the event and the staff was very attentive in meeting our requirements Food: The food was very good - well prepared and served and met required time windows. Overall: The property "showed" well and the staff was as efficient, friendly, and attentive as any I have interacted with lately - very well trained from front desk thru bar and food service and maintenance and service February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything is Extraordinary. This is one of my favorite hotel. The best of the best. I love this hotel. The location is perfect. The room, the staff, amenities are excellent. I also like they are always make renovation. This time was at the restaurant. The food is excellent. I love this place. February 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 GREAT STAY When ever I come to Orange County on business I stay at the CP. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The front desk staff, Javier and Sam are fantastic. They are so helpful and always looking after my needs. They are the best when it comes to making ones stay perfect. It is my home away from home and I will always stay at this hotel. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the bedding.....slept great! A lovely, well appropriated hotel. The room was stylish and comfortable. The hallways were quiet... The staff was lovely. I highly recommend this property. February 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value, but needs upkeep I stayed at this hotel with a colleague last month. The tub in my bathroom was not draining. It was a rushed morning and I had no time to call housekeeping to take care of the problem. I feel that the hotel staff should check everything before a guest checks into the room. My colleague's room however did not have any issues. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Right the First Time Checked in later evening. Processed quick and accurate. Left no questions asked. Great show of professionalism and efficiency. That's the way it should always be! Thanks. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Hotel I do nt believe the hotel lived up to the standards of other Crowne Plazas I have stayed in and definitely did not live up to the IGH Platinum expectations. There was no bottled water offered or placed in the room, no mention of room upgrade was made, even to say no upgrades were available at the time. The housekeeping employees were very friendly and did excellent work in maintaining the room. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant Everything is good except breakfast service very slow. Waiting too long for food January 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel bu... The hotel itself, restaurant and staff are very good. The location should be but I had to wait at the airport 40 minutes to get picked up and take a taxi back to the airport in the morning because they don't start shuttle service early enough. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel We have stayed at other IHG properties when visiting Orange County, but will stay here on future visits. Room was very nice and looked well maintained. Nice bathroom with rain shower and glass enclosure. Overall a very nice hotel and expericne. Looking forward to returning. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely facility, conveniently located! We enjoyed every aspect of our stay at the Crowne Plaza - from the moment we arrived until the time we departed. The staff was warm and welcoming, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the restaurant was terrific. We were only in the area for a day but would highly recommend the Plaza for any extended stay! January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Staff & Room Great! Event Staff.... I want to start off by stating that the woman assisting us at the front desk was pleasant, professional and cheerful. The room was very nice, modern and the bed especially comfortable. The low score for 'staff and services' is solely related to the staffing at an event I attended while staying at the hotel. At this time there is no need to damper the party thrower's special day by sharing the experience with the wait staff as a guest of the event. However, as someone who worked in the restaurant/event/customer service industry, I would like to provide feedback to Crowne Plaza. The wait staff at the event was overtly hurried and slightly rude. Items were missed and had to be repeatedly requested such as bread and a pitcher of water for the table. When one of the guests was presented with a salad that had walnuts, she asked if it would be possible to have a salad without walnuts as she is allergic. It is understandable that special requests can throw a kink in the rhythm at such an event, but the response form the server of "Yeah, but it's gonna be a long time." probably was not necessary. Again, I want to be sensitive to the time restrictions staff is under and perhaps a bit overstretched. If more staffing is needed for an event that size, perhaps consider adding an additional assistance when planning the contract. During the course of the dinner, plates and silverware were abruptly removed with quite a bit of clanking and spillage. My dinner plate was removed while I was still eating (I had taken a break to the powder room). At one point I literally laid my hands atop my glasses to really drive the point home I did not want my glasses cleared. So with this review, it is just a suggestion to remind the servers to be a bit more polished, discreet when clearing and a bit more polite. Thank you for your time and best wishes for 2014. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Service After a trying day of car repairs and a delayed return home, I found myself entering the lobby of this wonderful hotel. Javi took good care of my family. I appreciated his willingness to listen and the complimentary breakfast. Moreover, the room was comfortable and the shower was fabulous. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! We found the property an excellent value for the price. Room on the fifth floor was great and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful! December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoy this cozy spot! Javier and Sam, along with the rest of the staff, made our stay pleasant. Brenda took care of us at our 2 breakfast meals very well! Everyone tried to be of assistance to make our stay complete. It was a return visit, as we had stayed there for a vacation in August, and were so pleased with the accomodations, we were eager to return, and will do so in the future! December 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Changes not to a guest's benefit I've stayed at this hotel since the 90's through different owners and name changes. This past visit, there were several annoying changes that make me wonder if I want to keep staying there. First and foremost: The $10 charge to park your car or use the valet. There's never more than 50 cars in the lot at xmas, yet management has blocked off most of the lot, forcing guests to use valet parking. When we got to our room, we discovered all vending and ice machines have been removed from the floors and are available on the ground floor only. The breakfast buffet included in our room charge, was unavailable because the hotel didn't have enough guests, so we had to order from the menu...and get dinged again for the cost of coffee and juice! There's only so much you can nickel and dime your guests before they start to resent it. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic We really had a wonderful time staying at this hotel. The front desk, Arturo & `Imelda, along with Sam & Javier, were the best we've had during our two week trip in California. The restaurant, Brenda, Richard, and Ron, are very professional in all they do. We have found our second "home" at this hotel while we visit Costa Mesa, and the Newport Beach area. We stayed four day's and every day was fantastic. December 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place, good location, excellent service Had to stay here for a quick business trip and was very pleasantly surprised! Rooms were very comfortable and recently updated. The breakfast included was great and had a pretty decent selection. Most important was the service - from the Valet (free BTW) to Ashley at the bar, it was top-notch. Everyone was helpful and very friendly - well worth it. If you are ever traveling to Irvine/Orange County, this is definitely the place to stay. December 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Don't expect to be picked up from the airport and hope you're not thirsty!!!! After phoning the front desk to send the shuttle, I waited for 75 minutes. I decided that I'd walk to the hotel, 3 miles away, with my wheeled luggage, to see if I'd actually see the shuttle or see if there was a traffic problem. There wasn't. Seems like a Holiday party was taking up the staff's time. When I arrived at the hotel 3 hours after my flight landed, there was some surprise at the front desk and they were genuinely upset that I was put through this ordeal. They were gracious enough to apologize for the recently departed staff's error in not sending the shuttle and compensated me in free drink coupons at their bar. That was nice and all was good, except I sat in the bar unnoticed for over 30 minutes. My futile attempts to flag down one of three waitresses / bartenders went unnoticed. Bummer. So I decided I would go a block away to the local 7-11 store and buy a beer, return to my table (still open# and consume my tall boy while remaining unnoticed. Unbelievable! I will say breakfast the following AM was sufficient and drinks that afternoon were well attended and service was as expected. I've never experienced such a calamity of events as this at any hotel #I travel weekly), so it warranted these comments. I actually chose the hotel and location based upon all of the positive reviews. However, I doubt me or my company will return. December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Experience We spent 3 nights there during Thanksgiving, to meet family, firiends, and shopping. The location is convenient and great, nearby there are very big and fancy shopping mall, a lot of restaurants, and a Japanese Market. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room is clean and nice. We had breakfast there every morning, and food were great. We will definitely stay there if we go back again. December 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service, service, service The room is great, but the service is just over the top amazing. I love coming to Orange County because people are generally friendly and laid back. The staff at this hotel were super friendly and helpful. It started out with the valet attendant, Pierre. A lot of hotels don't realize that the first interaction sets the mood for the entire visit. The first interaction was with Pierre, who was simply delightful. He didn't mind the plethora of questions and was in an amazing mood. Valet guys are usually angry about something or in a hurry, but this guy was the opposite. He was helpful and friendly. GREAT first impression of the hotel. Kudos. The front desk staff were equally helpful. They were very cheery and kind. It was pretty cool to see how great everything was. There were smiles all around. The room was super spacious and comfortable. It looks almost new and the furnishings were top notch. It has a modern and comfortable design. Great job on that. Breakfast at the restaurant was also amazing. The food was great, the service was also great, and the atmosphere was really wonderful. The waitstaff really knew how to make a guest feel right at home. What a wonderful experience. If I'm in the area, I won't stay anywhere else. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff. Good value. Dear Sir/Madam, My staff at your hotel was simply excellent. Rooms were very good, a-la-carte breakfast a great idea, dinner when we ate there was perfectly cooked, was fresh and delicious. The best part through was your staff. Every one of them were pleasant and joy to work with. It is so very important for every guest but particularly those who are away from families for a long time that they are in a place where they feel welcomed, where staff are happy and show that to their guests and actively engage with the guests. There was only a small issue with my laundry which because I was checking out early was not dealt with but I will take that up separately with the front desk by phone. Overall I was very impressed. We both work in the service industry and so often it is the tough situations that our staff are dealing with. Your team are credit to your brand. Well done and keep it up! Happy Thanksgiving. November 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with great prices I stayed at this hotel back when it was a Holiday Inn 5 years ago and come to find out it was bought out and change. The rooms were upgraded from the Holiday Inn so that was a big surprise. The inside of the of the rooms were nicer than the Hilton I had just stayed at in San Diego. My only disappointment was that when it was a Holiday Inn they had a free breakfast for those who were staying at the hotel. The breakfast at the crown plaze was only $10 for guest (Pre-Pay price at booking) which was very reasonable considering it's a nice place to dine versus your normal mid-level hotel. I was very impressed and will stay here again next time I make my way to Costa Mesa. Location is very central to the area. You are 10 minutes from Irvine, across the street from the mall and shopping, 20 minutes from Newport Beach & Laguna Beach. November 26, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa Newport Beach Exterior
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa Newport Beach Exterior
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa Newport Beach Exterior Sit back and relax in the newly remodeled lobby Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa Newport Beach Entrance Fully Remodeled Holiday Inn Express Hotel Near Newport Beach Balboa Fun Zone Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall at the OCPAC Orange County Performing Arts Center Newport Beach John Wayne International Airport (SNA) Balboa Pier in Newport Beach Scenery / Landscape Sparkling outdoor heated swimming pool Fashion Island Shopping Center Newly remodeled lobby at Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa South Coast Plaza Mall
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading