Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
98%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.7

based on 299 reviews
98%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

299reviews

  • 5 Stars
    240
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Great hotel/awesome staff

By

July 20, 2016

This was our first trip to Custer, SD and we really liked the town. We selected the Holiday Inn Express and are so glad we did. The rooms are so nice with all the amenities you could want. The complimentary breakfast was good with Pat & Peggy keeping the food available hot and fresh. They were such a pleasure to talk to. We also want to thank the hotel registration clerk, Anna. We registered online for a king bed suite the first night, but could only get a 2 queen bed room the 2nd night. The next morning, Anna was able to keep us in the same king bed suite the 2nd night and we didn't have to pack up our suitcases and move. Anna rocks!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Clean, comfortable stay

By

July 10, 2016

club

This was our first visit to the area/SD. Opted for a "suite" because we were staying for several nights and wanted to be sure of enough space for us and our 2 kids. I didn't see a standard room to compare, but the suite seemed to really just be an oversized room with extra space for a couch/table. It accommodated us well and met our needs for extra space. The room/hotel furnishings and decor were in good shape but felt older/out of date in appearance. Perhaps this is intentional for the locale - meant to be rustic. Regardless, everything was very well kept and extremely clean. Other reviews mentioned poor sound insulation. We were on the top floor so didn't have any noise above us and had no issues with hallway noise. Perhaps we got lucky with quiet floormates. Otherwise I'd say there was no problem with noise insulation. Air conditioning fan stayed on all the time, which I appreciate - rather than the on/off which tends to wake me up during the night. Room never got super cool but was certainly comfortable. I thought the price was high for a HIE, but everyone says this is the peak season. If that's what they can get for a room, then that must be what it's worth in the area in July. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, loved the area, would highly recommend the hotel, and would definitely stay again when in the area.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Customer Service

By

July 05, 2016

We enjoyed our stay very much. I didn't understand the reason for a different cost for a room each day. Breakfast was great and terrific customer service. Bed was made everyday and fresh towels were supplied each day. Towels are provided pool side. Custer was a convenient location for us.

Read More
Read Less

greqt stay

By

July 03, 2016

club

Have not stayed at a Holiday Inn in a long time. A friend suggested staying at a Holiday Inn Express. We did so In Custer, South Dakota and had a wonderful stay. The breakfast was so good that before I could get ready to go down to eat my husband brought me up a delicious, warm cinnamon roll and coffee! Beautiful motel and lovely rooms.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 08, 2016
We're happy you chose to stay with us! It's great that you got to experience our cinnamon rolls as breakfast in bed. What a wonderful experience :) with our breakfast. Thankyou!
Read More
Read Less

great family place

By

July 01, 2016

Great place to stay with kids. relaxing for the parents and fun for the kids. close to Custer state park, shopping and restaurants. Great all around place.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 08, 2016
We're happy you were able to relax and enjoy our hotel! Glad you were able to get out and see the area :)
Read More
Read Less

Exceptional Place to Stay

By

June 29, 2016

We chose Holiday Inn Express Custer as a base for two nights during our vacation to the Black Hills. From Check-in with Alex, to checkout, our stay was one of the best experiences we have ever had with HIE. Our suite was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing on the balcony listening to the waterfall at the end of the day. The breakfast area was kept clean, and the staff was excellent at keeping everything replenished as needed. Thanks, HIE for such a great experience in Custer!

Posted byHotelStaff
July 08, 2016
This is everything we strife for. Thank you for letting us know that we're meeting our goals of excellent customer service and for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member.
Read More
Read Less

Great hotel in beautiful setting

By

June 28, 2016

club

This hotel was excellent, particularly when compared to what we saw of other hotels in the area. The style of the hotel matched the beautiful surroundings. The only downfall was that I got charged for a room with a waterfall view and we could barely make out the small man-made waterfall. But, it was better than viewing the parking lot! Also, this hotel did not provide hair conditioner - they provided shampoo and lotion, so I almost put lotion on my hair. I had to ask for conditioner and it was provided. However, I really did enjoy my stay - clean rooms and attentive staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 08, 2016
We're sorry about any inconvenience that occurred over your stay with us. We strive for top notch customer service, so we hope to be able to meet any future needs you have when in the area again. Thank you for your feedback and comments. We appreciate it!
Read More
Read Less

Very nice facility

By

June 27, 2016

Very nice facility. Outdoor breakfast seating, very nice.

Read More
Read Less

Nice hotel, large room

By

June 27, 2016

club

My kids loved this hotel because of the space and the balcony. The service, particularly the front desk, was excellent and the place was clean with a nice view out the back. We had an extra sink next to the refrigerator and a small freezer just big enough for our ice packs. Although we backed up on the elevator, it did not disturb our sleep, which was a definite positive. The mattress was just okay, however, and the pillows were average. I did appreciate, however, that the comforters were thin so I did not have to crank the air conditioning up to sleep. Custer is a nice little town and very close to the state park which was awesome.

Read More
Read Less

Exceptional Inn

By

June 21, 2016

Great accommodations for business or leisure purposes! Very clean; brand new bedding; beautiful photographs and art work on walls; great food in the mornings unlike other places; very clean and well managed.

Read More
Read Less

Room was spacious, house keeping kept room very clean

By

June 20, 2016

club

I enjoyed my stay of two nights with my family of 10. My only concern was the luggage carts not available in the mornings due to the few available to guests.

Read More
Read Less

HIE Custer, SD - great location

By

June 18, 2016

This is a great location for visiting Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Mammoth Site, etc. It is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous views. The breakfast area is large and they keep everything filled in the morning. The pool and jacuzzi were enjoyable. The room was comfortable and extremely clean.

Read More
Read Less