• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DECATUR
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Emory Hospital
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Emory University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Decatur Downtown
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Braves Stadium Turner Field
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking on-site

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:62
  • Total number of suites:29
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:29
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:62
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:GA1054

Stay Smart In Decatur.

Our hotel's location near Emory University offers a unique blend of southern hospitality and warm surroundings that make you feel right at home. Located just minutes from downtown Atlanta and the Georgia World Congress Center, the exceptional Holiday Inn Express® Atlanta / Emory University Area hotel puts the area's best attractions and businesses at your fingertips.

When you stay at our Decatur, GA hotel on business, you will find that we have the
View More

Stay Smart In Decatur.

Our hotel's location near Emory University offers a unique blend of southern hospitality and warm surroundings that make you feel right at home. Located just minutes from downtown Atlanta and the Georgia World Congress Center, the exceptional Holiday Inn Express® Atlanta / Emory University Area hotel puts the area's best attractions and businesses at your fingertips.

When you stay at our Decatur, GA hotel on business, you will find that we have the corporate amenities you need to stay connected, including a Business Center with Internet access and copy, print and fax services. We're also located in close proximity to prominent area businesses, such as Emory Hospital, the CDC and Dekalb Medical.

Leisure travelers love our Decatur, GA hotel because it provides them the opportunity to watch a Braves game at Turner Field, tour the Georgia Dome, shop in downtown Atlanta and explore the exhibits at the Georgia Aquarium. Those heading to see a concert or event at Philips Arena also prefer staying with us, since we're merely seven miles away. Other attractions, such as Stone Mountain, the Underground and Zoo Atlanta are within driving distance, too.

If you're looking for hotels near Emory University with choice amenities, consider our Decatur, GA hotel. We provide the comforts of home for free, including high-speed Internet access in all rooms and suites, a hot breakfast, an indoor pool and a fitness center!

View Less
Features
Because our hotel's location is near Emory University & Emory Hospital, we provide the perfect place to stay when you're visiting a student at the school, or if you're in the area to tour this beautiful university. We are the closest hotel to DeKalb Medical

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 87 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Staff The staff was very nice and welcoming. Nice restaurant next door also. Very convenient and pleasant stay. October 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service - would not recommend Shuttle service was not available at any of the times I needed it (7am, 3pm), although I was told on the phone when I booked my reservation that this would not be a problem to book. The staff was rude to me on the phone when I called with questions after booking and before arrival. I was not allowed to check in within an hour of their allowed check in time (3pm). Would not stay at this hotel again or recommend to anyone else. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Overall Experience I stayed at the hotel from September 30 through October 4, 2013. Bright and beautiful color selection. Overall, the experience and stay was good but could use some improvement. I recommend a better selection for breakfast and nightly socials. The staff was good but could have been a little friendlier. I would recommend this hotel, great stay for the price I paid. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience The room was so nice!!! It was updated, clean and comfortable. The only complaint we had was that the air conditioner wasn't working properly. When we told the customer service lady about it at check-out, she took $20 off our bill which made the value even better! The breakfast was unbelievable!! So many delicious choices! October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value for Price Pleasant staff. Hotel has been refurbished and has bright, clean, up-to-date look. Will definitely staff here again. Great value. Restaurant nearby (within walking distance) called "Violette" which was wonderful and reasonably priced. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by mfb321 The staff was execellenct and made evey effort to acommodate my needs and wishes. The property does need some attendtion., but the place was nice enough. The air condition in my room was a bit noisy. If you are a light sleeper (I'm not) this might be an issue for you. The staff was very willing to make note issues to be addressed. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Muriel and Staff set the standard Arrived on a Friday and I had to have a FEDEX sent to the address which was delivered before I arrived. I called and Andrea had my package ready. Room was clean and neat. I do recommend the property eventually invest in a central air system. The system in there works but central air is better. Really enjoyed your staff, all of them. However, Muriel stood out as it is hard to find a worker that balances professionalism and can relate to all kinds of people, she does just that. The hotel is close to many attractions, waffle house near by, and I was able to relax and feel safe. I loved the gym and I am in love with your staff. Recommend promotions and raises. I travel a lot and the staff is just well pu together. Thank you. Capt USMC September 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Seemed Dated When we entered the room, you could tell there was problems. The shower curtain and rod was laying across the chair in the room. When I put the rod back in the shower there was footprints in the tub left by the maintenance man. The worst part was the tub was still leaking so I assume that he didn't fix the leak. As a platinum member I expected better, I had asked for a roll-away bed but was told they had run out. I am a smoker and when I asked the girl cleaning the room down the hall if she had an ashtray she told me I had to call the front desk. 10 minutes later she knocked on the door with the ashtray. The next day my wife asked the same girl for a roll of toilet-paper and was told to check at the front desk. Customer service needs some work. September 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by rick025 Location was not great. Have to drive to eat. Beds were NOT queens...just full size.Tight for family of 4. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks excellent location In my opinion it `s excellent. only you should best the breakfast. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best stay ever Staff above and beyond with any request. Especially lady who works mornings. Breakfast great. We will be back August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed and clean The room and hotel were clean, very comfortable during my stay, nothing negative regarding room. I wish fruit was available for pancake topping and add some waffles. I am a rewards member and wasn't acknowledge at all. I enjoy being acknowledge for my loyalty. I have made 6 trips within last 5 months totaling 45 days in a hotel. I feel I am a very loyal customer. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast closed too early On Sunday morning, the breakfast stopped at 9:30. As far as I can recall, other HI Express made breakfast available until 10:00. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by above and beyond accomodating This continues to be our all-time favorite hotel. They saved us our handicap access room as always, but we had a friend staying with us this trip. James (front desk) gave us a different room with two beds to accommodate our friend, but 24-access to our handicap access room so my husband could use the roll-in shower (he has two artificial hearts). As is usually the case, the entire staff was there to help us with anything we needed. And the night watchman continues to pray for my husband throughout his battle with cancer. Amazing. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location & Great Pillows! The only thing I would mention is there seem to be some maintenance issues that are slipping by (leaky a/c units, our door didn't latch correctly but they fixed it asap). Otherwise, the staff was friendly and responsive, the room was clean & comfortable, the business center was a life-saver and it was a great value for the location. I'd definitely stay there again. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfy. We really enjoyed being close to Atlanta but not paying the high prices of downtown! This property was clean, safe and comfy! Breakfast was a great start each morning. Hot tub was perfect after a long day at convention. Staff was friendly. Housekeeping did a great job too! August 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible I am not familiar with the Atlanta area so when I had made the reservation, I had no idea what I was getting into. The room was not nice. The bathroom looked dirty and the beds were old and uncomfortable. I had tried to see if I could transfer my reservation to another Holiday Inn Express and Suites but the manager on duty NEVER returned the call so I was stuck with the room since it was after 6 pm when I arrived. That should be changed because when a person is from out of town, they may not know the condition of the room or the area in which the hotel is located. I woke up not rested and with a back that was stiff I will NEVER recommend this place to anyone. July 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for price Nice place, no frills, good price. Would stay again. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun decor In addition to good value and accommodations we've got used to at HIE's, this place has fun accent blue-chartreuse colors throughout. Great location if you're in north central Atlanta. July 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Price Now I know where I am going to stay the next time I am in the area. July 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Charged more for room than was quoted. Made my reservations in May. Was quoted a price and given a confirmation number. At check in the price was $40.00 higher than quoted and they would not honor the original price. No other rooms available in the area, so I had to take this room. Was very upset with the managment for not honoring the original price. Will NEVER stay at a Holiday Inn Express again. This really put a damper on my whole weekend. Not a very good way to conduct business or keep customers. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Service The hotel is in a convient location. Family members from out of time were able to find it without complications. The accommodations were clean and neat with the most comfortable bedding. We would especially like to thank Andrea for the awesome job she does. Her ability to handle herself in whatever situations that may have arrived along with her pleasant personality is a great asset to your company. We also want to thank Amanda ( the Manager) and the other members of the team for a job well done. The food was great and the dining area was kept clean at all times. We had an awesome stay and will definately reccommend this hotel to others, as well as come back to visit agian. July 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room cleanup got lost We asked for our room to be cleaned later in the day. We returned late in the evening and nothing had been done. We did get fresh towels but no cleanup, although the front desk had told us this would happen. We also tried to use the room phone to call the desk and found that the phone was unplugged. In fact, there were so many things plugged into one spot right at the bed linens, it looked like a fire just waiting to happen. Breakfast is fine if you like carbs, but the protein choices (were those eggs?) left something to be desired. The coffee was pretty good, though. July 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by June 28th, 2013 Would not recommend this hotel. Our room was hot upon entering. The floor wet in front of the A/C. Due to our long day and exhaustion, we managed to fall asleep but awoke a couple hours later in a hot room. I called the front desk, they offered to move us to another room on the same floor. We did move and the room we moved to was hot upon entering also. It took the A/C a couple of hours but it did manage to cool the room down. Would not stay here myself again nor recommend it to anyone else. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by if only we could live here This is definitely our favorite hotel. We live in South Florida, and we always stay here in room 120 on our way to and from our doctors in Chicago. We love everything about Atlanta, especially this awesome hotel. In a perfect world, we'd live here. July 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I have stayed here several times I like this HIE for several reasons. Location is very convenient. I always sleep great and the staff is friendly. I am in the area quite a bit, so I don't really have to check how knowledgeable the staff is, but I expect they would be completely willing to help if it was needed. The facility is clean and my main downgrade comes from the barely okay workout room. June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best value in area. I had to have a procedure done at Emory and needed a comfortable place to stay overnight. After checking other motels in the area I realized they were not for me. Nasty unsafe, and uncomfortable. After checking in at this Holiday Inn I knew I had found the right place. The staff went above, and beyond to make me feel wanted, and comfortable. The rooms were clean, fresh, and very comfortable. It was located in an area that made me feel much safer than any of the others. I highly recomend this place. H. R. Mullis May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Friendly Staff Close to Emory Hospital and easy access to downtown and Buckhead. 10 minutes from Maggiano's near Lenox Square. Easy access to I85. The staff was nice and cheerful. I enjoyed the other guests too at the beer and appetizer happy hour. This is a good value, not the cheapest. Definately worth it and will be returning. May 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel, attentive staff. My wife and I stayed here for our son's graduation from GT and a little vacation in Atlanta. Like most HIE hotels it is clean and comfortable with the typical breakfast. On Saturday the cinnamon rolls got a bit dried out by 9:00 and the choices of yogurt flavors were a bit limited. Our only other complaint is that the exercise bike in the fitness center was not working. Aside from those two minor issues we had a great time. The property is easily accessed directly off of I85, just ten minutes from midtown Atlanta. We would definitely stay here again. May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experience Our experience was one of great satisfaction. The front desk was amazing, doing anything to help us be comfortable. May 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading