• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DECATUR
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Braves Stadium Turner Field
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Emory Hospital
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Emory University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Decatur Downtown
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking on-site

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:62
  • Total number of suites:29
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:29
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:62
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:GA1054

Stay Smart In Decatur.

Our hotel's location near Emory University offers a unique blend of southern hospitality and warm surroundings that make you feel right at home. Located just minutes from downtown Atlanta and the Georgia World Congress Center, the exceptional Holiday Inn Express® Atlanta / Emory University Area hotel puts the area's best attractions and businesses at your fingertips.

When you stay at our Decatur, GA hotel on business, you will find that we have the
View More

Stay Smart In Decatur.

Our hotel's location near Emory University offers a unique blend of southern hospitality and warm surroundings that make you feel right at home. Located just minutes from downtown Atlanta and the Georgia World Congress Center, the exceptional Holiday Inn Express® Atlanta / Emory University Area hotel puts the area's best attractions and businesses at your fingertips.

When you stay at our Decatur, GA hotel on business, you will find that we have the corporate amenities you need to stay connected, including a Business Center with Internet access and copy, print and fax services. We're also located in close proximity to prominent area businesses, such as Emory Hospital, the CDC and Dekalb Medical.

Leisure travelers love our Decatur, GA hotel because it provides them the opportunity to watch a Braves game at Turner Field, tour the Georgia Dome, shop in downtown Atlanta and explore the exhibits at the Georgia Aquarium. Those heading to see a concert or event at Philips Arena also prefer staying with us, since we're merely seven miles away. Other attractions, such as Stone Mountain, the Underground and Zoo Atlanta are within driving distance, too.

If you're looking for hotels near Emory University with choice amenities, consider our Decatur, GA hotel. We provide the comforts of home for free, including high-speed Internet access in all rooms and suites, a hot breakfast, an indoor pool and a fitness center!

View Less
Features
Because our hotel's location is near Emory University & Emory Hospital, we provide the perfect place to stay when you're visiting a student at the school, or if you're in the area to tour this beautiful university. We are the closest hotel to DeKalb Medical

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 264 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hi experience I've ever had The cost was on par with local hotels, but based on my hi stays across the country this was the worst. I was checked into a room with a broken tv, stained mattress, hole in the ceiling, and no shower head. This was after I made it clear I was a platinum member and requested an upgrade. After moving my family to the second room, we requested sheets for the pull out bed that we're never brought. Upon return from our event at 11 pm the resturant was closed, and a bag of vomit laid in the floor of our hall as we walked to the room. It was know on my statement of my status with the hotel, and did not recieve check out documents under the door and was also woke by house keeping at 9 am. A horrible experience overall and a loss of my business to this property. I will plan to flag this property with our company as a hotel not to be used... February 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient It is very close to the convention center and CNN building. Great location and clean. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Wonderful, Property is Worn The staff was wonderful. They were so very helpful. Everyone said hello and was sincere in wanting us to have a nice stay. Tracey at the front desk was exceptional. She gave us to umbrellas to use on a day that was rainy...we didn't even ask. It is said that the hotel is worn out and in need to repairs and refreshing. The drawers in dresser were broken and stuck, the elevators need the finishes fixed and repaired. The location is great, but please fix the place up! February 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay with some issues We arrived at the hotel on a Friday for the Valentine's Day weekend. Hotel/Room appearance: The Hotel Lobby and bar is very nice and well decorated. As previous reviewers have noted, the rooms definitely need some updating. The paint is splotchy, the floor feels uneven, and the in-room bar/cabinet/closet combos are crowded and dated. Bed: The Queen bed we slept in was cozy and comfortable with adequate bedding and 4 pillows. Bathroom: Bathtub was deep and wide, which was a plus for me. Good counter space and towel/washcloth assortment. Excellent water pressure and hot water amounts. Elevators: My husband and I both noted that the elevators shook and rattled more than normal, and this was a bit disconcerting as we were staying on the 9th floor. IHG Priority Club Recognition: I was offered 2 drinks at the bar OR 500 points, which I appreciated. But I was hoping for the free breakfast that other reviewers have noted. Valet: This was one aspect of the hotel that I did have an issue with. To preface, we stayed at the Hotel during the National Cheerleading and Dance competition, so I understand the hotel was VERY crowded. We paid the $20 a night for valet parking. But on Saturday night, we noticed that our car was parked right in front of the hotel, in a handicapped parking space, for nearly 5 hours. We were walking around the area for dinner/drinks, and passed the Hotel several times. Each and every time, someone was sitting on or leaning against our car, which was bothersome to me. At $40 for the trip, I didn't pay to have butt-dents on my trunk. Issue with room: I did tell the front desk clerk on Saturday morning that the water tank on the toilet gushed water out the top whenever we sat on the toilet. Management took my room number and said it would be fixed. It was never fixed and persisted all weekend. We ended up laying a towel under the toilet for the remainder of our stay and mopping up the excess water when we could. In the hotel's defense, I noticed the "problem" list the front desk clerk wrote our room number on was at least 20+ lines long. Service: I can't heap enough praise on the front desk staff. They were always kind, helpful, and patient, especially given the huge number of people who seemed to be staying in the hotel. Location: What can I say? Downtown Atlanta. That's really what you're paying for here :) February 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff other than a few thing missing from the room we needed to ask for, Staff was excellent, very helpful and knowledgeable, location was great. I would recommend this hotel. very close to the aquarium and an awesome 200 ft ferris wheel for viewing the city day or night. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service from Food Service Personnel We booked four rooms for a post-Christmas family get-a-way. The reservation process went smoothly; we were able to get adjoining rooms for our daughter and her children. The rooms were a little smaller than I like but comfortable nonetheless. The breakfast in the morning was great. The staff were very accommodating and even put our little group into a small meeting room so we basically had a private breakfast. The menu choices were good - omelets cooked to order, a variety of breakfast meats, fresh fruit, yoghourt, oatmeal - something to suit everybody's taste. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely return. February 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to GWCC and Olympic Park The location of this hotel is convenient for visitors to the Georgia World Convention Center (GWCC) and Olympic Park. I was not impressed by my room, which could benefit from a face lift. The desk chair was wobbly, only two of the four light fixtures worked, the bathroom sink lacked a stopper, and the heating/AC unit was very noisy. On the positive side: the staff is very friendly. February 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conference stay Overall I would recommend this facility. Breakfast buffet and the staff were very good. I had requested a refrigerator and I called the desk and they had one brought up in about 15 minutes. Front desk was very cordial and helpful. WIFI was a little slow but I used Americas Mart next door. February 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay here Where to began... We booked a king with a fridge..We got a double with no fridge. We had brought a cooler so we figured we would just fill it up with ice and use it instead of having a fridge..But we tried every ice machine and not one worked in the whole hotel. The lobby was freezing cold so you could not use it for anything. No food or nothing unless you wanted to eat in your jacket. The hotel was really loud as well and the bed had stains on it. The only good thing about this place is the staff..I felt bad for them because they had to work in such a dump. February 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Would not recommend My family and stayed at this location for 2 days. Upon our arrival everything up front seemed presentable. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. However, once we entered the elevator and looked around we kinda sensed that things weren't as they should be. The elevator was a little run down. Once on our floor and walking down the hall we noticed the doors to the rooms had scuffs, dents and were discolored. Once we opened the door to our room we did a "oh no". The room was run down with old dented furniture, an old badly dented and rusty mini fridge. No microwave to speak of. The carpet and floor ebbed and flowed (don't know why). The bathroom fixtures were rusty and the shower clogged when we used it. I was very, very disappointed. You work hard for your money and expect that if you are paying for a room in a hotel that supposedly has a reputable name that you'd get a good room and all the amenities that go with that room. I thought after not staying in a Holiday Inn in 20 plus years that they would have by now gotten their act together. I will not stay here again. I will not participate in their rewards program. If this is the best you have to offer in a metropolitan downtown location, then I can just imagine what your other locations must look like. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was very welcoming and friendly We stayed 2 nights for the Chick-fil-a bowl at this hotel, which was very convenient to all the festivities (fanfest, tailgate party and stadium) all within walking distance. All we had to do was walk outside the front lobby and watch the parade. We had a window view and could see how close we were to centennial park and all the events. The staff at the front desk and restaurant were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast buffet offered a good variety of options. I would highly recommend "Ron" at the omelette station. Each morning, the waitresses made sure that our coffee cups were full and that we had everything we wanted. The only issue of concern, is that we requested a non-smoking floor due to allergy issues. My husband and I could smell cigarette smoke coming from outside our room. Although we did not see anyone, it was strong enough that we placed towels on the bottom of our door to keep the odor from coming into our room. Otherwise, great location and friendly staff made for a good stay. January 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Valet We stayed for 5 nights. After the third night we went to park our car and we we're confronted by a mean valet. He got in my boufriend's face, tried to take the keys from his hands and made me feel unsafe. He was screaming and being very ugly. We went to management and when he brought the valet to us he continued to have an attitude. We had paid for parking but another valet had mistakenly given our keys back so we assumed since we paid and had our keys we could go and come as we please. Unfortunately this is not the case. The hotel was in a great location and everyone but the horrible valet and incompetent management were ok. However I don't like feeling unsafe where I am staying and one rotten apple really does ruin the whole bunch. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In Atlanta for Chick Fil A Bowl Location is very convenient to all activities we wished to do. The staff was very accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable. We enjoyed our stay. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by True Hospitality We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and we really were impressed by the hospitality we were shown. On checking in we were helped with all queries. The restaurent staff at all times were welcoming and helpful. There was a coffee pot going all day. The ATM worked. We were able to obtain advice on accessing the subway. Our platinum status was rewarded with complimentary breakfast and a drink at the bar each evening. A delightful stay. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treat At your arrival, all the employees are great!!!! Also the room service was very good and the valet employees. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service from hotel staff members and great location. Two stays at this hotel and I'm hooked. Great treatment both times and it will be many more visits from me. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Next to Centennial park with a good view of the park It is very close to Centennial park and the rooms have a good view of the park January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great staff! The staff at the hotel were wonderful! When we checked in Tracey made us feel welcomed and was very helpful. The location was great as we were able to walk to our destinations without a problem. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends (and already have). December 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good, but some small issues Cleanliness of rooms and elevator not fair, breakfast could be better for what you pay December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and a Great location. We enjoyed our stay at this Atlanta Holiday Inn. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. This is a great location to enjoy the downtown Atlanta area. There was a lot to do within walking distance from the hotel. Centennial Park was wonderfully decorated for the holidays and the local bars/restaurants were very friendly. Unfortunately for us we stayed only one night, but would have enjoyed having more time. December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very accommodating staff! This hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of everything we wanted to do during the SEC Championship weekend. The staff was helpful, polite, and very professional. Our room was nicely furnished with a great view of Centennial Park. Comfortable beds with plentiful pillows made for a good night's sleep. December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's the people that made it great! Although there were a few hiccups in the 3 night stay at this hotel, I must say that the service and personalities of the people that accommodated the inconveniences made it all worthwhile. Despite the construction, the brief walk to the Convention Center was perfect! As an IHG member, I received free buffets every morning. I was able to get made-to-order scrambled egg whites with all the fix-ins and/or omelettes. They had a great work ethic! November 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Staff was very friendly, courtious and Knowledgeable. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience I always dislike coming to Atlanta but this was a necessity. We arrived by GPS and could not physically get to the hotel due to construction, very tired from travel we were beyond aggravated. I called the hotel and the finest gentleman got on the phone w me the hostile client and stayed on the phone until we were in the valet parking. We had a few bumps that were fixed immediately w kindness and actually sincerity which you don't see very often any more. I would highly recommend the accommodations. The food service was prompt and very kind also even though the description of the meal was not what what we were serviced. The wedge salad made up for it though. A very nice experience. And almost forgot the beautiful young lady that checked us in @ the front desk delightful would be the word I would use to describe her ...thank you Holiday Inn. November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service, price, and location The room and furnishings could use a little update, but the staff's friendliness and high level of service make up for older towels and other linens. The location is very good and I would stay there again. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Deluxe service! The hotel was very nice. Comfortable and clean. The personal service we received was what made the hotel outstanding! We were greeted at the desk with a warm welcome and offered a bottle of water. Very welcome after a long car ride. Everyone working there was unbelievably helpful and cheerful, from the lovely lady at the desk to the attentive servers in the dining room. The icing on the cake was the valet service. They parked the car when we arrived, Brought the car to us the next morning, packed it, parked it again and then brought it around for us again when we left that afternoon. Will we ever stay anywhere else in Atlanta? Absolutely not! All of us were blown away by The Holiday Inn's superior service. Our thanks to all of you November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location The hotel location is great. All you want to do downtown is only a short walk away. The staff is great, very courteous, and very helpful. Rooms are a bit small, but very comfortable. November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Just OK This was my second stay at this Holiday Inn and the location is great. Close to the aquarium, CNN center, centennial park, and the coke museum. The staff was friendly. The building however needs a some work. The bed was just so so. One of the elevators makes a metallic grinding noise that can be clearly heard from rooms half way down the corridor on the 11th floor, and it is very difficult to limit the amount of light coming in from the windows which affected my sleep. The WIFI would not cooperate and I ended up finding a signal from the nearby Holiday Inn Express and was able to connect to their WIFI. Also I had two unexpected insect guests in the room which made me question the cleanliness. When you look at the price for this Holiday Inn the value is just OK until you add the $20 valet parking fee and then given some of the issues I think this property tips to the wrong side of the value equation. I will probably try the Holiday Inn Express next time. November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF I JUST WANTED TO LET THE HOTEL MANAGER KNOW THAT THEY HAVE THE MOST FRIENDLY AND MOST ACCOMODATING STAFF OF ANY HOLIDAY INN THAT I HAVE EVER STAYED IN. FROM THE TIME THAT YOU WALK IN TO THE HOTEL UNTIL TIME YOU LEAVE THE HOTEL YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE THE MOST IMPORTANT PERSON IN THE HOTEL. THIS GOES FROM THE VALET PARKING ATTENDENTS TO THE STAFF AT THE FRONT DESK TO THE RESTAURANT STAFF....YOU SHOULD BE VERY PROUD TO HAVE THESE WONDERFUL STAFF MEMBERS. WHENEVER I AM DOWNTOWN IN ATLANTA I ALWAYS STAY AT THIS HOTEL November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bad valet service but a great front desk staff and room accomedations Overall good experience other than the bad attitude from valet manager who had the nerve to be mad at me cause they could not find my car keys. I am a priority club member gold elite and should be treated as such as I break my neck to find hotels during my travel with this hotel chain. Valet are on the front lines before you even get to the front desk so so customer service training should be given. October 31, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading