• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DECATUR
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Braves Stadium Turner Field
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Emory Hospital
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Emory University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Decatur Downtown
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking on-site

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:62
  • Total number of suites:29
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:29
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:62
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:GA1054

Stay Smart In Decatur.

Our hotel's location near Emory University offers a unique blend of southern hospitality and warm surroundings that make you feel right at home. Located just minutes from downtown Atlanta and the Georgia World Congress Center, the exceptional Holiday Inn Express® Atlanta / Emory University Area hotel puts the area's best attractions and businesses at your fingertips.

When you stay at our Decatur, GA hotel on business, you will find that we have the
View More

Stay Smart In Decatur.

Our hotel's location near Emory University offers a unique blend of southern hospitality and warm surroundings that make you feel right at home. Located just minutes from downtown Atlanta and the Georgia World Congress Center, the exceptional Holiday Inn Express® Atlanta / Emory University Area hotel puts the area's best attractions and businesses at your fingertips.

When you stay at our Decatur, GA hotel on business, you will find that we have the corporate amenities you need to stay connected, including a Business Center with Internet access and copy, print and fax services. We're also located in close proximity to prominent area businesses, such as Emory Hospital, the CDC and Dekalb Medical.

Leisure travelers love our Decatur, GA hotel because it provides them the opportunity to watch a Braves game at Turner Field, tour the Georgia Dome, shop in downtown Atlanta and explore the exhibits at the Georgia Aquarium. Those heading to see a concert or event at Philips Arena also prefer staying with us, since we're merely seven miles away. Other attractions, such as Stone Mountain, the Underground and Zoo Atlanta are within driving distance, too.

If you're looking for hotels near Emory University with choice amenities, consider our Decatur, GA hotel. We provide the comforts of home for free, including high-speed Internet access in all rooms and suites, a hot breakfast, an indoor pool and a fitness center!

View Less
Features
Because our hotel's location is near Emory University & Emory Hospital, we provide the perfect place to stay when you're visiting a student at the school, or if you're in the area to tour this beautiful university. We are the closest hotel to DeKalb Medical

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 266 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF I JUST WANTED TO LET THE HOTEL MANAGER KNOW THAT THEY HAVE THE MOST FRIENDLY AND MOST ACCOMODATING STAFF OF ANY HOLIDAY INN THAT I HAVE EVER STAYED IN. FROM THE TIME THAT YOU WALK IN TO THE HOTEL UNTIL TIME YOU LEAVE THE HOTEL YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE THE MOST IMPORTANT PERSON IN THE HOTEL. THIS GOES FROM THE VALET PARKING ATTENDENTS TO THE STAFF AT THE FRONT DESK TO THE RESTAURANT STAFF....YOU SHOULD BE VERY PROUD TO HAVE THESE WONDERFUL STAFF MEMBERS. WHENEVER I AM DOWNTOWN IN ATLANTA I ALWAYS STAY AT THIS HOTEL November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bad valet service but a great front desk staff and room accomedations Overall good experience other than the bad attitude from valet manager who had the nerve to be mad at me cause they could not find my car keys. I am a priority club member gold elite and should be treated as such as I break my neck to find hotels during my travel with this hotel chain. Valet are on the front lines before you even get to the front desk so so customer service training should be given. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to stay I stayed at your Hotel for 2 nights and it was great! I have no complaints, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and cozy and I slept great. If I'm ever in Atlanta again, I will defenatly stay at your Hotel, October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Attentive Staff I checked my family in late, and after travelling all day with kids, the staff was understanding and very helpful. Although I had not requested it beforehand (which is recommended), the hospitality staff were able to provide a small refrigerator to keep the baby's milk cold overnight. The front desk staff recommended the nearest grocery store and provided easy directions and a personalized map to get there and back (despite construction zone near hotel.# The valet guys out front were also pleasant and chill #despite the hussle and bussle of downtown Atlanta.) The only not-positive comment I have is that the room was not nearly as big as the picture on the website led me to believe it was. The view more than made up for it though! Ideal location, great value, and Southern hospitality make this hotel the place where I would recommend and return. October 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Employees not scrupulous VGA cable for TV did not work. We forgot a bag with a lot of souvenirs and after 2 hours we called the hotel to bring it and they told us there was no bag ... Employees not scrupulous !! October 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and staff/tired room Location excellent, close to the Park and other sights. Front desk staff, valet and waitstaff were excellent. Breakfast and bar service was excellent. Room was clean but needed some work, bathroom door could not be shut without banging it, AC fan wouldn't stay running no matter how low you set the thermostat, TV had nothing relevant playing on the Hotel Channel and no TV guide on the next channel to figure out what you might want to watch. No in room safe. Bed hard. Overall decent value for the location and top notch staff. October 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty! The room was dirty!!! The walls were several colors and kept me thinking someone was murdered in there because ou could see blotches of whatever they were trying to cover with the paint. It was all over the walls! The doors had dirt on them. There was no coffee maker in the room (did get one). AND someone opens then closed our door at 5 or so in the am... Around the time they drop off the bills. Looked out and only saw an employee in the hall. Valet parking was $20 for just ONE night then he asked me for his tip? October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest staff ever This was the friendliest staff we have ever encountered, from the desk personnel, restaurant personnel, and housekeeping. Room was comfortable and clean. Room price was very reasonable as well as the restaurant pricing. The location was great and if ever in Atlanta again, will most definitely stay there. The only suggestion we have is for pay per view movies for us night owls. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff It is rare indeed that you can go anywhere and stay a week and not have a single compaint to register on even one staff member. I can't stay with myself for a week and not have a complaint :) My wife joined me for this stay and we both agree. This property has other advantages such as location and amenities for a mid range hotel but it was the staff that stood out! Tracey, Alvin and Gigi at the front desk were awesome. There was another young man also but I didn't get his name. Miss Nedra in housekeeping served us with excellence. And finally, the team serving in the restaruant where fabulous. Some were obviously more experienced than others but all were courteous, friendly, effecient and most importantly each gave great effort to make a memorable occasion. Ethel, Chamirra, Mariah, in particular but the gentlemen cooking and assisting with the breakfast buffet were great too. There where others also - we just missed some names! Our hats are off to the staff! October 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping staff This is a nice property in the downtown area; the review/rating does not reflect the overall recommendation for this property. The front desk people that I had the pleasure to interact with were exceptional ; Tracey and Kevin were very professional and very willing to make your stay enjoyable. The problem that I have/had was the housekeeping staff, they were very loud in the hallway and using profanity; this was daily. My overall rating was based on the above and some of the outdated furniture. The front desk people that I had the pleasure to meet would make me revisit this property. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service and breakfast buffet! All staff was very helpful and extremely nice! The cost of the room and buffet were very reasonable and the buffet had such variety and delicious omelets made to order. The room was clean, no complaints. I used the business center to print out my itinerary, which was easy. Overall, a great stay, would stay there again. Only word of caution actually has to do with transportation to the hotel from the airport - I took a group shuttle from the airport into downtown ($16.50 one way) and the driver was terrible. Take public transportation or a private taxi if necessary!!! October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The location and staff was excellent. Will be back. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for an old hotel, alittle worn Great locatio for a visit to downtwon Atlanta. Interior a little worn around the edges,not rrsort quality. October 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Aquarium Package a RIP-OFF No breakfast was provided as the website stated; the hotel was clean; pool was very dirty; and our main reason for the trip was ruined!! We chose this hotel expecting to have 2 day passes to the Ga Aquarium and instead we got stiffed on the second days passes.... we did NOT get them. It was stated that training was to fault. We did get refunded some of our money back for this but we did not get the 2nd days passes and were out the money for them....no explanation but a computer glitch. Stay is recommended but the Aquarium package is not what the site entails. BEWARE of this advertisement. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Time Concert Went to Atlanta for my very first concert at the Tabernacle. The stay was exceptional and the hotel made it even more enjoyable. The view was priceless!! October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Georgia Tech Game The hotel is convenient to the Tech stadium. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Our stay was very nice. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome i spent the weekend in Atlanta for the Midtown Music festival(which was AWESOME) and i was immediately impressed. valet got my car, and the receptionist(ron i think was his name?) was more than helpful. he provided me with directions and maps, and also was very nice. only thing they could do better is maybe have complementary water bottles at the desk? other than that fantastic! September 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Between the overnight construction (all week, all hours) and the unbearably loud air condition sleeping was a challenge for sure. The staff was great, but I would not stay at this hotel again! The central location is not worth it! September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ok but not great The location of this hotel is excellent, especially since I was visiting the Emory hospital midtown a lot. The room was ok, clean and what I expect for this hotel and room type. The laundry room was one dryer and washer, which ok I can make do, but the front desk did not have change for a $5 so I could wash my clothes and acted like I was bothering them when I asked in the first place. The staff scrounged around their personal beIongs to provide me with what change they could. I appreciated that, but what hotel doesn't off change or have change machines!?! I was a little irritated that a small refridgerator was not provided. I had to buy a cooler and ice to keep drinks and snacks cold. The valet parking was convienent but the day I checked out and was trying to leave they could not find my keys! Then they didn't know where my car was. After waiting 30 mins. I had to describe my car so they could make sure it was in the parking lot. Then, eventually was asked to look around the desk and see if I could identify my keys. After all that frustration, 30-40 mins later my keys and car were found and brought up. The manager did take off the valet charges for the inconvience however was snarky when she said here I did this, it was this amount now its this. Like I asked for all of that to happen. I didn't even ask for the "discount". She also way trying to make light of it all saying oh, we can just call a locksmith...ok except my house keys, work keys, and so much more was tied to that set. So then she started to panick and started with the discount of my stay. Just make sure you do not leave your full set of keys with the valet. Also, the middle console of my car was cracked almost completely in half!!! Beware of the valet! I would probably not stay here again. The maid was also caught rummanging through the change pile we had (not left out for her, but emptied from our pockets each night and put in an not obivous, this-is-a-tip way. She was picking out only the silver change. She then said oh I thought this was my tip I was just counting it and then preceeded to lecture us about leaving the maids a tip. RUDE! September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Only Pick for Downtown The location, price, staff, food and atmosphere were all great! I recommend this property to my friends/family. Gigi, Mrs. Katie, Mrs. Gwen, Chimiah(sp) were all exceptionally wonderful & positively impacted the enjoyment of our stay. The rest of the staff was good too except for Tracey. She definitely does not fit into the atmosphere & service mode set by the rest of the staff. She's condescending, rude and inconsiderate of others in the way she works & speaks to others, guests & staff alike. She is being what she thinks is professional but it is quite the opposite. She should not be dealing with the public or staff. If it were not for all the other great things she alone would make us not stay there again. The on site restaurant is one of the best in the area. Small details like the Complimentary beverage station on Priority Club level for members make a difference. Pool could use more privacy but is still okay. This property/staff is definitely an asset to your company. We will be back soon! September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. Convenient to lots of attractions, staff was very nice & helpful. Will stay again. September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, good value Pleasantly surprised by the décor; not the old Holiday Inn I remember from childhood. Room was clean, comfortable, and very well decorated. A/C filter was dirty but we didn't report it. Pool did not have towels though the front desk said it would; staff member got us some. Hot tub was in poor shape and cold; didn't get in. Food didn't work out for us: fair food, poor waitress, no free breakfast. Aquarium package was excellent deal and included free valet parking. Recommend it if dollar value is the most important to you and you just want a place to sleep. When I want to hang out at hotel room, pool, and restaurant, I'll pay more for a 2-room suite, better restaurant, free breakfast, and functional pool/hot tub. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Staff was very busy when I checked in but still took extra time to make sure everything was satisfactory. September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay The Front Desk was very friendly and helpful, but the beds are not the most comfortable (I hated the pillows), and I feel bad for anyone that has to sleep in their pullout beds ;) Overall, it was a decent stay for the price, and I will probably stay there again. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome staff All of the staff were super nice!!! Would recommend to anyone. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Paradise This was a great room for a business trip. I was in my room for a convention which happened to work well for me. The staff was amazing and very friendly. The ladies at the front office were amazing. My only complaint was that my room telephone did not work. But it was a fantastic time and thanks for making Dragoncon so enjoyable. September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Friendly Staff What this hotel lacks in amenities, they make up for in personable and friendly staff. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Place to stay in Downtown Atlanta This my Choice of all Atlanta area hotels to stay. In the past 3 years I have stayed there 5 times. Always a warm welcome. Staff is friendly and goes out of their way to assist customers!! Give it a try, you won't be sorry! August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by AMAZING STAFF While the rooms need some renovating and were not in the best of shape, the staff was absolutely amazing. They were SUPER friendly, helpful, and overall made the experience that much better. The valet service could afford to smile here and there but the front desk, and especially Ms. Ethel, were really nice. August 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel served the purpose but won't stay again... Friendly staff....but expected more from the room. August 21, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading