• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DECATUR
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Emory Hospital
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Emory University
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Decatur Downtown
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Braves Stadium Turner Field
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking on-site

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:62
  • Total number of suites:29
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:29
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:62
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:GA1054

Stay Smart In Decatur.

Our hotel's location near Emory University offers a unique blend of southern hospitality and warm surroundings that make you feel right at home. Located just minutes from downtown Atlanta and the Georgia World Congress Center, the exceptional Holiday Inn Express® Atlanta / Emory University Area hotel puts the area's best attractions and businesses at your fingertips.

When you stay at our Decatur, GA hotel on business, you will find that we have the
View More

Stay Smart In Decatur.

Our hotel's location near Emory University offers a unique blend of southern hospitality and warm surroundings that make you feel right at home. Located just minutes from downtown Atlanta and the Georgia World Congress Center, the exceptional Holiday Inn Express® Atlanta / Emory University Area hotel puts the area's best attractions and businesses at your fingertips.

When you stay at our Decatur, GA hotel on business, you will find that we have the corporate amenities you need to stay connected, including a Business Center with Internet access and copy, print and fax services. We're also located in close proximity to prominent area businesses, such as Emory Hospital, the CDC and Dekalb Medical.

Leisure travelers love our Decatur, GA hotel because it provides them the opportunity to watch a Braves game at Turner Field, tour the Georgia Dome, shop in downtown Atlanta and explore the exhibits at the Georgia Aquarium. Those heading to see a concert or event at Philips Arena also prefer staying with us, since we're merely seven miles away. Other attractions, such as Stone Mountain, the Underground and Zoo Atlanta are within driving distance, too.

If you're looking for hotels near Emory University with choice amenities, consider our Decatur, GA hotel. We provide the comforts of home for free, including high-speed Internet access in all rooms and suites, a hot breakfast, an indoor pool and a fitness center!

View Less
Features
Because our hotel's location is near Emory University & Emory Hospital, we provide the perfect place to stay when you're visiting a student at the school, or if you're in the area to tour this beautiful university. We are the closest hotel to DeKalb Medical

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 167 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice people, loud rooms... The staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful. If I were grading this stay just on them, my grade would be "excellent". However, it seems outrageous that it cost you $20/day to part your car at this hotel. Also, the rooms are a bit outdated and extremely noisy. My room was street-side overlooking the pool, five stories up and it sounded like the cars were driving through my room. I might stay there again, but only out of necessity. February 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay with super nice staff This was a nice facility, clean and comfortable. I felt really safe and I will stay here again. February 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service! The entire staff was excellent! Fast, friendly, and very accommodating with our large group! We ate in the restaurant several times and the food was great! Highly recommend this hotel!! February 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by WORST Holiday Inn ever! I usually don't write bad reviews, but this one was really needed. This hotel is not fit to be called a full service holiday inn; a hostel maybe? The interior is all dirty, scratch and dirt marks in n outside of room; all 7th floor lobby was so dirty with chipped walls, doors etc. The room was very smelly; the furniture, linen was all old and just felt gross. I simply slept on top of the covers. The bathroom had broken tiles and disgusting bathtub. it needs major renovation. Staff: The staff was completely unprofessional nor friendly. The checked me in as if they were doing me an obligation. Never gave me my platinum arrival gift; when I purchased water, rather than giving it out to compensate the platinum gift(which has a water in it?), they charged me for the water. Every time I went to the desk in the night, the staff would be sleeping in the back, would have to wait for them to walk out(is this a full service hotel?). In the morning, I called for toothpaste and front desk said, "we're out of toothpaste..bang!!!" hung up the phone? What next are they going to be out of?? I'm just glad they didn't ask me to bring my own linen and towels. Breakfast staff was very unprofessional too; I requested some warm milk and the guy turned around and started chatting with a peer about his last vacation...rEALLY??? It the worst service and cleanliness I've ever seen at a hotel. February 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by BAD - NEVER AGAIN I had a conference in ATL, and being a Priority Club member, I did not hesitate to book at the Holiday Inn. When arriving, I doubled checked after we got our room that I were connected with my friend. This had been on the reservation since I booked MONTHS ago. He said no and it was no longer on the reservation! I pulled up the email and it WAS there! They were not able to do it, but got a room a few doors down from her. Only SHE had to change hotels because even though they charged her for a roll away, they told her they could not fulfill her reservation because they do not allow roll aways??!?! But going back to me...so we got our room keys...get to our room...keys do not work. Go back down stairs and get new ones. They did work. We got our new keys and get into our room. As we got in, the door slammed, and I mean SLAMMED behind us. This is what EVERY door did. I have never been to a hotel where a door slammed so hard and kept people up all night. It echoed thru the hallway and walls. I start putting away my clothes and one of the dresser drawers did not close, so we would bump it every time we walked by. It was almost midnight and out of the corner of my eye I see something moving on the ceiling above my roommate. I thought maybe it was a shadow until I saw it move. I turned on the light and it was a HUGE spider, like one of those South African spiders. It was at least 4 inches long and 2 inches wide. So I pick up the phone to call the front desk to see if someone can come get rid of it and there is no dial tone. I look to see if they phone is unplugged and there were EXPOSED wires EVERYWHERE behind the dresser! I also found a bag of open Cheetos back there too! So the room was dirty also, no wonder there were spiders! So in our pajamas, we go back down to the front desk and request someone get this huge spider. She wound up switching our room. So by this point it is after midnight and we get to our new room. We curl back up in bed and all of a sudden we hear what seems to be American Idol auditions in the hallway. After several complaints and an hour later, no one has asked this lady to stop singing at the top of her lungs. It is now close to 2am and we have to get up for a conference in 4 hours. And not only did the opera singer keep us up all night, but so did the door on the cabinet that rattled non-stop and the toilet that would not stop running. We wake up at 6am to get ready for the conference. We are getting our clothes ready and hear this weird thing in the bathroom. We go in (keep in mind we had not been in there yet this morning) and see that there is water coming UP the drain!!! It almost over flowed and would have if we had not been there. I pumped the drain stopper up and down a few times and it started to go down. So we leave for the conference, come back and our keys do not work again. We go down, wait in line, come back up, they do not work AGAIN. Go back down, come up, they work finally. My roommate had another class and left. When she came back, her key did not work. She went down, got another one, that one did not work either! When she finally did get into the room, she said, "You are a priority member, right?" And I said "yes, why?" And she said the person in front of her when she was getting her key replaced was given drink coupons and told about lasagna night. I usually get drink coupons when checking in and was surprised when I did not get one when checking in, but it did not bother me. So I called down to the front desk and asked and she was kind of rude and said she would give me two coupons for the inconvenience and she was "Sorry" no one told me about the other perks for priority club members, such as the coffee station and lasagna. I went down a few minutes later and still only got one drink coupon. I took pictures and video of EVERYTHING as documentation! I was only able to upload 6 though and not able to upload video. During our 5 day stay, we only encountered ONE nice staff member who believe worked in the restaurant. No one else was friendly or helpful at all. I DO NOT recommend anyone to stay here. February 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful. They provided us with the best suggestions for restaurants and sites to visit. I have never been to a hotel where the staff was so helpful and their suggestions were some of the best times that we had while visiting Atlanta!! When we had to switch rooms, they made sure that we didn't have to leave the graduation early and our luggage was in our rooms by the time we got back. February 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Stayed here on a business trip for a convention. Great location if you don't mind walking a block or two. Yes, the rooms are small. Mostly because they have this gigantic entertainment center/desk/closet thing shoved in the room. Somebody made a BAD decision on furniture in my opinion. But, the room price was good for the location. The room and facilities were always clean and well kept, too. February 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Imageing USA Photography Attend A room is a room to me,.. but SERVICE is important! The whole WHOLE staff, front desk, maids, restaurant staff, valets were ALL exceptional! It was a pleasure to have stayed there! I travel alot and only hope to go unnoticed and that the staff reply's when needed. It was strange honestly to see at every contact point everyone was professional, attentive and just plain NICE! Would stay there ANYTIME, as a matter of fact when I return I am not looking for a hotel, I KNOW where I am staying when in Atlanta in the future! February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, facility, and location My students and I traveled to Atlanta to visit the Americas Mart and couldn't have found a better place to stay. The service was outstanding from the valet to check-in. Everyone on staff was committed to helping us have the best stay possible. The complimentary breakfast saved us time in the morning, and the location could not have been better: a five minute, one block walk to the mart. The room was clean and comfortable - and quiet. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to the mart. January 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Stay - Tired Hotel The overall stay was average and nothing really to "write home about"... The room's decor was dated and some features of the room were in need of some serious repair. There was a hole in the bathroom wall, some of the carpet was coming unraveled and the wall adjacent to the window heater was in need of some serious cleaning from the dust particles and "dust bunnies" accumulated over time from the heater. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were plentiful. The internet connection was perfect and the fixtures in the room all worked as expected. One additional note is that the office desk chair in the room needed to be replaced as the wheels were broken and the chair no longer sat level. The food at the morning buffet was good and plentiful, however I feel it was a little over priced. The window heater unit had to continuously run as there was a draft around the unit indicating it needed to be better insulated or sealed from the outside air. January 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Telephone, Blanket, Parking and breakfast Telephone in room did not work....There was not a blanket in the room nor on the bed....Call from cell phone for a blanket and 2 sheets were brought to the room for cover....Comforter on bed was real thin..When I checked out, brought to the attention of the front desk and I was ignored....Breakfast buffet was overpriced for what you get and no parking spaces available so had to use valet... January 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of our best hotel experiences ever! Southern hospitality at it's finest! This hotel was courteous and catered to all of our needs. January 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Great - Need lessons in customer service While staying at this property the room was acceptable and what we expected. However, I had to ask repeatedly for a map. I was sent downstairs to look over the brochures. Finding no maps, I returned to the front desk where I was told they had no maps. When I pointed to the MARTA map, the clerk reluctantly gave it to me. When we asked for a moderately priced restaurant, we were referred to Ruth Chris and Montana (both very expensive). We walked back to the hotel to ask for another option and when we said they were too expensive, the clerk looked insulted and said "really?" as if to say, how cheap are you? I walked a block away and got the same magazines and maps that were behind the desk at the hotel and they were complimentary. What were they saving them for? January 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not happy One of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. Internet wasn't up to par,nor was the cable on the television. The room was half cleaned. potato chip bags from the previous guests were behind the chairs, the do not disturb sign stayed on the floor the entire 3 days we were there. When I called back to see if I left an item in the room , I was told they didn't know because the room hadn't been cleaned because a do not disturb sign was left on the door. This made no since we checked out at 8am and the call was made at 5pm, plus the fact that we didn't leave the do not disturb sign on the door. It took 20 minutes for them to go check the room.. Our cards were eroneously charged for parking ( which was already prepaid) after we were initially told that the cards were declned.The bartender ignored me for whatever reason. A $7.00 charge for a continental breakfast is unheard of.. Among other things. My car antena was broken in the parking deck...no one knows what happened.etc, etc. January 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location - Awful Shower I recently had a 3 night stay when I was in Atlanta for a convention. The location was perfect. The front desk staff were helpful and professional and the food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The restaurant was short staffed one evening but worked very hard trying to wait on everyone. Our room was comfortable and quiet for the most part. The biggest issue I had was with the shower. The shower curtain was hung so that it was above the top of the tub and with the curved rod all the water just went on the floor - that is if you could get water. Trying to adjust the temperature of the water was futile. The water was either scalding hot or freezing cold. One day it was actually at a good temperature for about 3 min. The third day I had no water...nothing. It took about 10 minutes after a call downstairs for the water to begin to dribble. We also had to call twice every night for requests for housekeeping. Overall, I would not choose to stay again. January 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay and very poor concierge service The stay was acceptable. Front desk staff was average., One staff was unable to expetiously locate my prioriy awards account. The supervisor was helpful but it took too long at check out which caused a shorter time for me and my companion to visit the aquarium before I flight. When we returned to take a taxi the airport, one of the concierge had the nerve to tell me if was too busy to hail a taxi. We were assisted by another employee. January 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Staff Experience I have stayed at many hotels as well as Holiday Inns. I stayed for the Chic Fi La Bowl. From the front desk staff at check in to the restaurent staff I could not have been more impressed with the service. Tracy, at the front desk was so helpful and pleasent that it set the tone for the rest of my stay. The parade passed right in front of the hotel and it is close walking distance to every atraction. I will stay here next time I come to Atlanta. Five star service and great location for all of the events. January 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good and bad We were there for a romantic evening away from home. The door lock on our first room didn't work so they moved us and were very kind to give us a complimentary breakfast voucher. But the people across the hall for us had their music blaring and kept slaming doors. we called security and they came and talked to them but it didn't stop. We ended up leaving at 3am in order to drive home to get some sleep. We explained why we were leaving and no one offered to give us a different room or try to rectify the situation so in the end what was suppose to be a relaxing time turned out frustrating and exhausting January 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and great location. We recently stayed 2 nights at this motel, and the rooms, were very spacious and clean. The motel staff was super friendly. We were here for the Chick-Fil-A Bowl and it was so convenient for walking to the dome, also the parade came right down beside the motel, so no walking blocks to it. I would stay here again for sure, and would highly recommend it to anyone going to the games in the dome. January 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by LSUPaul someone was smoking on our floor in a no smoking hotel???, called room service and never found out the results, but it was very bad!!! Was not recognized as a Priority Club Member and was given no benifits, not even a bottle of water!! January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to GA dome and park This Holiday Inn was very close to the park and the GA Dome. January 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff I am very impressed with the helpfulness of the front desk staff. They went out of their way to help me with a situation. A++ Thank-you for the excellent customer service. December 18, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never again This 4 night reservation was supposed to be for a non smoking room yet I received a smoking room. I called the manger and he said the only thing they could do was spray and change the sheets. I had to end up going to buy my own spray. There wasn't an alarm clock, refridgerator, or microwave. The shower water took 5+ mins literally to get warm. The two bedside table lamps did not work. This was an overall bad experience becasue the staff didn't care. The bar staff were the only ones whom I felt were professional and nice to me. November 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall good experience The only problem was that I could hear people in the room next door to me. The walls did not block out sound very well. November 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel Grest location, yet as a priority club member I did not receive any benefits.... November 23, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking Issues This hotel advertises that they have "Accessible Self Parking" which is not true. I complained to Corporate and Hotel Management and they have not yet removed this misleading advertisement from the hotel write-up. Who likes surprises! They have only valet parking at $20/day and they (hotel staff) will not offer my options for self park which I thought was unprofessional. I had arrived late at night after a long drive and they surprised me with the extra fee. I found out the next morning that the hotel is surrounded on three sides with self park lots at $2-$5 a day (24 hrs). I was not impress with the hotel staff not offering up those options. Very unprofessional. They comp my parking on that first day but the damage was already done. Otherwise, nice and clean hotel that is steps within everything in town. November 22, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty room and sheets I stayed at this hotel due to its proximity to the Marta line and the Georgia Dome. I took my 7 year old son with me for an overnight trip to see a sporting event. We checked into the hotel earlier in the day and the room seemed adequate. The hotel looks very nice in the lobby and from the street. The hallways, especially on the 6th floor, are dated and somewhat banged up. We were gone from the room most of the day until we returned from the event around midnight. My son got into bed and while I was still getting our bags ready for the next morning. He told me the sheets looked dirty. Upon closer inspection the sheets were in fact very dirty. I had to call the night manager to change the sheets. The hotel was full so we weren't able to switch rooms. A very bad hotel experience. November 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE We had a wonderful experience. Event planner, Michelle did an outstanding job of organizing an event for the UK Alumni. She made everyone feel welcome. We were thankful for the opportunity to relax before the game. Great job! November 19, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The little things could have made it better First of all, I was in a non-smoking room, but the room reeked of smoke when I first entered - obviously the previous guest ignored the non-smoking rule. Secondly, I expected to have a small refrigerator in the room. Every other Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express has always had one. Lastly, very minor, but the hair dryer did not work. November 16, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This is a great location to the Georgia Dome and everything around it. Right across the street from Centinneal Park and walking distance to Georgia Dome, CNN Center, Cocoa Cola, etc. The staff was very nice and efficient. This includes the front desk, housekeeping, valet, George at the Bar and the restrurant staff. The rooms were comfortable, but a bit old. Was there for an NFL football game so it was very nice they had a bar and we could "tailgate" inside instead of outside in the cold. November 13, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Stay Refreshed with a Free Express Start ® Breakfast at Holiday Inn Express. Click to learn more.