Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 149 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by DIsappointed I stay at many Holiday Inns each year and this one missed the mark. I travel for work and therefore rely on thebusiness center. The business center at this property was in the middle of the lobby and ain entrace. Also, the Internet was not working for much of my stay. The breakfast room was not overlyclean. The staff looked very unprofessional. Their clothing was often less than professional and twice I had to wait for the staff to quit playing on the computer (when the Internet worked) to assist me. October 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Didn't even know this hotel was tucked in the back behind a very nice diner and so close to Drake University. Nothing special but clean and convenient. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My home away from home... I stay at this hotel weekly for business travel and have for over 7 years now. There are 3 young gals named Kari, Emjay, & Ashly that go out of their way to give me me special treatment with goodie bags, friendly smiles, etc. The staff is always trying to make me feel like it's my home away from home. They are very friendly and accomodating. The recent upgrades and remodeling have made this look like a very modern hotel and there are many nice amenities. As long as I keep traveling through Des Moines I will keep staying in this wonderful hotel. Thanks to the staff for everything they do. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! This hotel has a vintage feel and look! The interior is updated and staff was very friendly! October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Room When I booked this it was last minute due to a death in the family. Tome said he would try to get a court room for me when I arrived the room was a courtside room I was delighted and some of my family were next door! the room was newly decorated and very comfortable. everything worked and it was QUITE. Very Good experience. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service My stay was very nice as in all Holiday Expresses. However, what i received above and beyond was the customer service at the front desk. Upon checking in the staff was very welcoming and accommodated my request to change rooms. The morning of 9/23 the young man at the front desk not only was very cordial but helped me resolve my technical issue with my IPhone. There are things that i just expect and don't warrant a review but exceptional customer service deserves a shout out. Thank you. September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer service and location to Drake University Our check in was flawless, greeted by wonderful front desk staff, rec'd a goody bag for my past stays with HI. Very comfortable beds, nice parking lot and location to University Ave and Drake Diner. Breakfast has fabulous choices, something for everyone. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, clean, and good location to Drake University My room was very clean, the front desk person was very nice, beds were very comfortable, breakfast good. Next door is the Drake Diner and that was very good. You can't beat the location if you have a student at Drake. Very convenient. September 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy and over-promised The advertised workout facilities don't exist "yet". It's something they're "planning for...and will be available later in the year". The room smelled medicinal, like a hospital, and we were treated to the sound of construction into the evening. Maybe they were working on building the advertised amenities? Close to the University, but in the heart of a dangerous area. Keep looking. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always very clean and helpful The staff there go overboard to help guests. The cleaning staff is a favorite of ours because they work so hard to clean every room. Spotless every time. They also work well together. Their smiles and laughes just make you feel so welcome and at home. Thanks to all so you. We will see you again. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay at Drake I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Express at Drake. The breakfast had a lot of variety to please all tastes (they have this nifty pancake machine that spits em out in 2 minutes). Not very many amenities BUT they are in the process of remodeling so there is a lot more to come. I recommend checking out the great restaurants surrounding the Hotel and the Drake campus (The Drake Diner is right next to the hotel and they have great food and shakes). Most of the staff was nice especially the evening and overnight staff. Room was clean and I had no noise issues whatsoever. All parents/family members of Drake students should definitely stay at this property. I will be staying here every time I come into Des Moines to visit members of the family who attend Drake. September 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy place and staff doesn't care We picked this Holiday Inn Express in Des Moines because it is not pet friendly, since I have allergies. We were driving back from a trip to Minnesota, and needed a good night's rest. We were warned when checking in that there was some construction going on, but really didn't have a problem with that, even though they were doing work near our room. However, our room was across the hall from a maid's work room, and they talked and talked. I finally called down to the front desk, and was told that the staff was going to be clocking out soon, so be patient. It was another 45 minutes or so before the chatter stopped, just to start again early in the morning. We were also across the hall from an ice machine, which made noise and was used all night. This was by far the noisiest room we'd stayed in for quite some time. When we again reported the issues to the front desk, the clerk was "sorry about that", but said they hadn't gotten complaints about that room before. We didn't buy the story. Other hotels place maid service rooms and vending/ice areas at least a bit away from guest rooms. We won't stay here ever again! August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice. The desk personal were very nice. The breakfast toaster blew a fuse, but was promptly attended to. Wish I'd had a small fridge and microwave in the room, but all available had been rented out. Otherwise, it was clean, neat and very comfortable. August 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room . . .smells though! I've stayed here before and have no problems with my prior visit even though renovations were going on. This time they were still doing some upgrades, though this was again not a concern. What was bothersome however, was that as soon as I opened the door a heavy odor was apparent. Sort of musty in a way. I checked the air conditioner (I even cleaned the filters), and removed the THREE solid air fresheners that were mounted just inside the unit, where air passes over them. After staying in room for awhile it is less evident, thought I was able to smell the room in my clothes in my suitcase three days later!!! Would have rated this higher, but a smelly room isn't an enjoyable one to sleep, relax or work in. August 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by loud noise and terrible cell phone recepition For some reason my Verizon cell phone had NO bars in your hotel. This phone has good recepition in the middle of no where but not at the Holiday Inn. I didn't know when I booked the 3 nights at this Holiday Inn that it was located so close to Drake University and so far away from Restaurants. I also was concered about the neighborhoods safety, Also the breakfast area was so small that I had to take my breakfast back to my room as there wasn't a table to set at. The first day I was there the cereal wasn't even in the breakfast area, I found it in the lobby area after breakfast. No sign or notice where to find the cereal. I would not recommed this hotel to anyone nor will I ever stay here again. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is great place to stay! I come to Des Moines from LA to visit family in the Drake Neighborhood. The Holiday Inn by the Drake is great! The staff is friendly. The room is clean and large. The HD TV is a definitely plus, And.... it's s stone's throw from the Drake Diner!!! How could ask for more. August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Drake U Location Friendly and Convenient Our group of five bicycle riders were welcomed after a long day's ride and provided a safe secure storage area for our bikes. Our rooms were adjoining; property was quiet, clean, and centrally located in Des Moines. The on-site breakfast was well stocked and varied. Overall this property provided an outstanding value. August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by the Drake hotel is in need of a face lift, otherwise a nice hotel July 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HVAC was very noisy Compared to the Altoona Holiday Inn Express, the Drake Holiday Inn Express HVAC units were too noisy. Bothered me a lot.... July 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Middle of the Road, Literally Set in the heart of the university and close off I-235 this is an easy location to get in and out of and to access the downtown area. The rooms are average with dated air conditioning systems and furnishings. The breakfast area was small and offered the basic stuff. Staff was helpful and very kind. A good place to stay if you get in late and need a room close to the road then stay here. July 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not an area I would Expect any Hotel Looks like an old school rehabed into a hotel. Dated, noisey and awful A/C noise. Even lobby looks like it's from the 50-60's. Very questionable neighborhood not too mention litlle to choose from for restaurants, not that I'd want to eat out in this area. I won't be back to this IHG again. July 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Halls were not temperature controlled!!! Overall my experience was fine at this Holiday Inn Express. It wasn't super duper cleaned in our shower like it should have been. Where the shower meets the wall there was mildew. The rest of the room was fine. The major issue we had was the temperature of the hallways! We looked at the thermostate down one hallway and it was 85 degrees (our hallway was hotter than that)!!! They really aren't saving as much money as they thought they might be by having the temps get so high because I know the 3 rooms our larger group had, had the air turned down to about 65 degrees. We felt sorry for the cleaning staff that had to be in the hallways working. We wish they had a pool however, since the temps outside were close to 100 degrees! We also didn't like that the ice machine was only on the 1st floor and we were not told that information when we checked in so we looked down each hallway on the 2nd floor and then came and asked the front desk. They do have a great selection for breakfast with it being free so overall we were fine with our stay. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Team stay at many HIe and this is one of the best- Staff cares about the guest and makes sure all needs are met - Hotel is clean and neat and nicely laid out.. July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beds very comfortable... Beds were so clean & comfortable....also the room. I was very pleased. I would stay there again if the need comes up. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value We have a son at Drake U and started using the hotel for visits. We now go to this property whenever we are in the Des Moines area. It's an older property, but have seen it maintained well over the years. It's closer to the interstate than one might think, so it's convenient when passing through town. Decent breakfast, but if you get bored, the Drake Diner is right next door. No workout room, so if you want to exercise, hope for good weather and walk or jog through the Drake campus, but not in surrounding neighborhood. IHG members get a little goodie bag upon arrival...nice touch! July 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Staff We were warmly greeted, attended to immediately and provided our room key with good speed. This is an older hotel under going renovations, but our room was clean and comfortable. Front desk staff recommended the Drake Diner for dinner. It is placed right next to the hotel and food was good. I would recommend this hotel to friends. July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, Just Wish... The experience was nice, but I do wish the internet had been working as I really needed it even for five minutes. Also, there was a very strong bleach and pool scent that we could have done without. But breakfast was great and we slept well. Thanks! June 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel stay in years! The air conditioner was not working properly and making excessive noise. When the hotel staff was contacted they stated: "yes, we've had several complaints about the ac units but not much we can do". They never offered to have it checked and were at best unconcerned at our complaint. The whole marketing campaign for Holiday Inn Express is somewhat true in this case, I am much smarter now on where I stay and that does not include this particular Holiday Inn Express! June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Quaint Location This Holiday Inn Express is clean, easy to find, and in a beautiful, quaint location in downtown Des Moines. Close to everything and is on beautiful grounds with a cozy courtyard. The beds were clean and very comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the shower was amazing. June 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Quiet Off the beaten path yet Clean and Quiet. Thanks for a good nights rest. June 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>