• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DES MOINES
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets allowed, with the exception of ADA needs.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Drake University
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Knapp Center/Drake Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
DSM University
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Grays Lake
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking for standard vehicles available at no extra cost.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:52
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:52
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:IA0301

Des Moines Hotel's Central Location Delivers Satisfaction

Poised right in the heart of the city in an up-and-coming renaissance neighborhood, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Des Moines at Drake University is revolutionizing the contemporary travel experience. Less than 1.5 miles from downtown and seconds from major businesses and attractions, this hotel is the smart choice for a productive stay in Des Moines.

The hotel's guests have no trouble accessing the vibrant campus of Drake
View More

Des Moines Hotel's Central Location Delivers Satisfaction

Poised right in the heart of the city in an up-and-coming renaissance neighborhood, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Des Moines at Drake University is revolutionizing the contemporary travel experience. Less than 1.5 miles from downtown and seconds from major businesses and attractions, this hotel is the smart choice for a productive stay in Des Moines.

The hotel's guests have no trouble accessing the vibrant campus of Drake University, which is within walking distance of the property. Major downtown businesses are just around the corner, as well.

Des Moines, Iowa and all it has to offer are at your disposal from this hotel's location. Distinguished from other Des Moines hotels near Drake University, this is the only hotel actually located on campus. Other attractions, including Adventureland Amusement Park and the Iowa State Fair, are just minutes away, and they're sure to make for a memorable vacation in Des Moines.

The hotel's location near Drake University, its friendly staff and the cutting-edge amenities ensure a positive experience. Guests can surf the Web using free wireless Internet access, and start each day off right at the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call to reserve your room today, and "Stay Smart" in Des Moines.

View Less
Features
Our central location offers guests unbeatable proximity and easy access to Drake University, downtown Des Moines and I-235. A 15-minute drive gets you anywhere, so you can fully experience the greater Des Moines metro areas attractions and businesses.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 150 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 my stay before i flyout the next day. nice place , been staying here for 14 years for business. no surprises, you know what to expect. all good things. October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff comfortable room. I enjoyed my stay. The staff was very knowledgable about the local happenings and had good suggestions on entertainment and restaurants. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and nice hotel overall Spent one night for conference. Room was clean and nice. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly greeting I was greeted warmly and with a smile when I arrived. It took just minutes to get checked in. Quick and easy. I actually even got signed up for a future stay within those few minutes. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Unbelievable Food & Service The new addition (Conference Rooms / Restrooms) to the hotel were marvelous it really worked well and once again I don’t think anyone can beat the food. Lunch & Banquet were delicious with excellent service! October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and good food Thank you so much for working with our Kingsway Conference. I and my husband had a good time and were glad to be staying with you. Especially the front desk staff were friendly and the food in the Grill was great as well as our women's luncheon. October 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A little smelly The hotel was outdated in comparison to the two other Holiday Inns we stayed at on this trip. Not to mention it smelled pretty bad when entering the lobby on arrival. I slept fine, and the staff was fine. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent facility Was there for the Samoyed Club of America National Specialty dog show and had a GREAT time! The place was immaculate, the balcony/atrium room was fabulous, the food was good. I just wish the AC in the room and some of the hallways was better, but overall, this place was wonderful! October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable bed and quiet room. Excellent stay and the program was handled very professionally. October 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Excellent staff...pleasant and always smiling. Pillows were wonderful...I usually get a stiff neck when I use hotel pillows and didn't once here! My only "complaint" was a lack of a sit down restaurant, while the "grill/cafeteria" style as ok for breakfast (and they had great omelets) I was wanting something a little nicer with more than just a few dinner options. Luckily the shuttle drivers were great and we never had a problem getting out to dinner or picked back up quickly. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great pillows, and good service Had a very enjoyable stay all around, no complaints, staff was very accommodating they made my stay very enjoyable, they were always pleasant and the hotel was spotless October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Stayed here for a national dog show, not only was the staff beyond helpful, but very friendly. Despite having a large number of dogs, the hotel was kept extremely clean at all times. I would happily stay here again. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average -Internet and Shuttle service was a plus. -oatmeal and coffee in morning was nice -lunch was horrible. stale bread with my salad that was salty and drenched in buffalo sauce. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfotable will recomend this hotel to others very nice and clean place to stay October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service The hotel presented with a pleasant atmosphere and friendly employees. October 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by roaches in Des Moines While the shuttle staff was excellent during the several times during my stay i took advantage of the service and upon my registering upon arrival first day -- all went well 1 st full day- -discovered 1 roach in bathroom-- ok no big problem- reported it to front desk-they just took info with no response 2nd full day more roaches..i was told that the problem has been noted 3rd day-more roaches-i took a photo of it and showed it to my conference organizer September 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and shuttle service The location of this hotel is great for travel and the shuttle service to and from the airport if very timely and friendly. September 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room and great service. On a recent stay for a business conference, I enjoyed my restful nights sleep, food and beverage service as well as a positive overall experience. September 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Passing Through This is a Good Hotel. Very easy to get shuttle service. Excellent September 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location by AIrport I am a regular traveler of IHG properties. This one will be much better once they have gone through a remodeling of the guest rooms. The desk staff isn't overly friendly either, but they could have just had a bad day. September 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! What a convenience staying here with an early flight out the next morning! The staff was excellent and very accommodating. We were able to leave our vehicle at the hotel while we were away for a few days. Thank you! September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid! Check-in was quick and efficient, staff were very friendly and courteous . . . room was modern, bed linens were fresh, room amenities were great . . . it 's what I come to expect at a Holiday Inn. However, the towels were a little washed out and the ones in our room need to be replaced. August 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Bathroom fans/hot hallways Was disappointed with our stay-the halls and elevators were extremely hot. There were no fans in the bathrooms, and fan for air was auto controlled so kept turning on and off continuously. Had booked a block of rooms for my daughter's wedding guest was given a block discount, but at NO time was ever told that due to the room discount the guest them do not get a free continental breakfast, so when they went for breakfast was told they would have to pay!!! August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time & relaxation We were at a reunion for 716th MP BN that served in Vietnam. The hotel staff was very good and made us , my wife & I, feel at "home". Our room was comfortable & the beds were great. In all we had a great stay & would recommend your hotel for any reunions or conferences. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Clean renovated hotel I have stayed here before before the renovations it is much more appealing to the eye now. Great staff very friendly and helpful. August 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room Cleanliness I am not sure the towels in the room are white or brownish color. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome 1 night Stay Very nice place. Close to the Airport. Room was very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Wife and I ate dinner at the lounge which was very good. We were very happy that we did not have leave the hotel as we are not familiar with the Des Monies area. Staff was very friendly. If we are flying out of Des Monies again we will stay at this hotel. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice property Very nice property. Highly recommended. Good value. Very clean. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff great room Staff is always very helpful. I keep coming here because staff friendly and caring. Rooms have always been clean and well taken care of. You also have lots of options for room types an things to do for the family. Pool and food areas very roomy and accessible. Very nice remodeled area for conferences. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and great food One night stay en route home. Met our needs. Room was very clean and comfortable albeit small, esp the bathroom. The pool had a lot of chlorine and we happened to be staying the same time as a large group of kids so pool time was chaos. No shallow area for our little ones unfortunately. We were very glad to have our rooms on the outside as the courtyard area and pool were VERY loud and would have surely disrupted baby sleep if we had interior rooms. Breakfast was free up to $9 per person and good with large portions. Overall good experience at this older ihg property. August 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Exterior View
Exterior View
Select to close.
Exterior View Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Scenery / Landscape Scenery / Landscape Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading