• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DETROIT
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Polish
  5. Romanian
  6. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are welcome. Pets allowed with kennel, with 25lb limit. 25 dollar non refundable fee.
Pet deposit amount  25.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:240
  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking ONLY - $20 per day, with in/out privileges. NO self parking available. Contact hotel direct. Limited Bus/RV parking.
  • Valet parking fee  ( 20.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:240
  • Total number of suites:48
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:114
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:127
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:240
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:17
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit, a perfect location for the business or leisure traveler. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with kitchenettes for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24 hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Join us for our complimentary full hot breakfast at our newly updated breakfast bar. Valet
View More
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit, a perfect location for the business or leisure traveler. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with kitchenettes for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24 hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Join us for our complimentary full hot breakfast at our newly updated breakfast bar. Valet Parking is available- $20.00 per car, per night with 24/7 in & out privileges. Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit is also within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings hockey venue) and the popular MGM Grand Casino. Other great attractions located near the hotel are the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the corporate traveler guests, the hotel is located one block from Compuware World Headquarters, next to the Federal Courthouse, DTE Energy, and AT&T.
View Less
Features
Recently renovated Indoor Heated Pool on the 17th Floor

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 119 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything on-site Nice hotel. Everything I needed was at the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Very good value compared to other hotels in the area. My kids were not with me but if I was to visit the Detroit area again and had my kids with me, there would be no doubt I would stay at this hotel. Pool, game room, restaurant and a YMCA is right next door with an outdoor water park. September 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good value For the area this particular Holiday Inn is the best accommodations for the best price hands down. clean rooms. courteous staff. ease of check in and check out. access to food and drink on the premises. pool and video game room. what else do you need on a business trip. i highly recommend. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff The staff was welcoming and friendly. The morning breakfast buffet was very good. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff, quiet/clean room We stayed here while visiting Detroit to go to a Tigers game. The only complaint I would have, is that there was not a shuttle to the game..that would have alleviated a lot of stress. However, the comfortable beds and location of our room at the end of the hallway made for a very relaxing sleep. Also, this hotel offered a complimentary continental breakfast which was very tasty! The restaurant was clean and the breakfast offered plenty of options! September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and gread atmospher Enjoyed my stay very clean the room had alittle musty smell but other than that very clean...would definatly stay there again..... September 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Staff was excellent , conditions of Hallways and my room were sub-par August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE Everyone @ the Holiday Inn were very professional and welcomed our 40 TH reunion like we had known them our whole lives THANKS FOR A GREAT STAY August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location with Excellent Service I always choose this hotel when in the Michigan for business. I have ALWAYS received great service and value from this location and that is what keeps me coming back here. Because of their great service, many of the hotel staff know me by my first and last names. This a great location with outstanding staff and a breakfast buffet that I would never past up. August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Grat bed, clean Great staff at the front desk. needed a crib for our daughter and they were very accommodating to get that to us. pool is al title dated but served us well. very nice foyer and lounges. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THE BEST Your people are helpful, sincere, and very polite. The efficiency, courteousness, helpfulness, and sincerity of the staff at this Holiday was overwhelming to both of us. From the front desk (Grace and all the others), the restaurant (Rebecca and all the others) to the maids (Jammie, Milisa, June), your janitorial staff, and even your security staff in particular Dennis who was helpful on more than one occasion. If all your hotels were like this you absolutely would be number 1. Thank you to all your folks at the Southgate Michigan Holiday Inn. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by average No carts to carry luggage from outside. Hotel appears aged, could use some updates. Bed was comfortable, clean linens and towels. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks Guys Sheila, Megan and Mike from the restaurant / Bar staff made a long and difficult business stay much better with there friendly attitudes and attentive service. Thanks guys August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Clean The hotel had a nice atmosphere with a great looking restaurant and pool. The was comfortable and clean. The only problem was slow internet. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and caring staff Employees at Holiday Inn Southgate are caring and very responsive to guest needs at any stay. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by kids outting it was fun and sad my daughter is going to collage and will miss her so thats why i went there to bond with my kids 17 and 13 August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good restaurant and excellent value Really average, just a one night stopover. Convenient to destination. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Filthy Room and Rude Staff A not my problem attitude with the front desk and a filthy guest room. I hope you have a better experience. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean quiet rooms with a great breakfast great hotel to visit in the area. comfortable bed and clean restroom. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Washroom The wash room was somewhat cramped up. It would have been nicer if the washbasin was also in the washroom as opposed outside. The door stopper at the bottom of the washroom door was broken. Subject to this there is nothing in my opinion that was found wanting or average. Would like to stay here in the future travels. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by my stay First time in Michigan and they make it wonderful for me, the front desk welcome and help me every way I ask , they got my daughters from the airport and to the airport for us I enjoy my stay Thank you Grace July 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed traveler I do not normally fill out surveys, but the disappointment with this hotel and its 3 star rating compelled me to respond. Do not be fooled by the rating. It is not a 3 star hotel. This hotel is run down and dirty and not worth staying at with all the other options available in the area. This is nothing more than a roadside motel. The carpeting in the halls has more stains than clean spots and the hallways are dark, dirty and smell. Also check the milk before you put it in your coffee. The Staff was excellent and its a real shame they do not have better facilities to work with. We actually checked out early and moved to a different hotel. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always just perfect I stay here quite a few nights during the year, and everyone always goes out of their way to make my stay perfect. I have never been dissappointed. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway I loved this hotel! The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating! The hotel was spotless! Pool was clean! July 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A bit dated and shabby The rooms and common areas just seem a bit dark and dated, but the bathroom facilities in the rooms are really pretty bad (missing caulk, loose fixtures, broken tiles, rust, etc. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great pool Easy check in and out. Friendly staff! Used restaurant in hotel for dinner and breakfast. Awesome pool! July 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation Room was a little noisy. It also smelled like bleach. Bathrooms could use an upgrade. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Stayed almost a week and this hotel was comfortable. It's an older hotel and the hallways had a little musty, stale cigarette smell to them. The smell must be from old carpeting before non-smoking policy. The room did not have this smell. Did not like having the sink vanity across entryway of bathroom and in direct line of sight when opening door to hotel room. Little weird to have light/exhaust fan switches on wall outside instead of inside bathroom. Bed was comfortable. Restaurant was good. We ate dinner there one night and breakfast a couple of times. Housekeeping did a good job of straightening room every morning and giving adequate towels. My teenage daughter's complaint was all outlets were already used for lamps, tv and fridge in room. No extras to charge electronic devices without unplugging something. These were all small inconveniences that I've run across one time or another staying in a hotel. Hotel's inner courtyard had a duck with her ducklings waddling around. Got a kick watching them in the mornings and evenings. Spoke with the maintenance man "Chief" while in the courtyard a couple of times. Extremely nice and friendly individual. I would definitely stay here again. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bargin We were very pleased with the service, food, and price. There is an excellent restaurant onsite, along with a very nice pool area. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room, great overall service Would highly recommend this hotel to stay in. Excellent condition of rooms, large indoor pool. Staff was friendly and service was fantastic. Food was excellent and great value in the dining room. July 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Layout and functionality The entry door handle must be pulled upward to open. I have never seen this type of setup before. The sink was in the room hallway and the toilet and shower / tub were extremely tight. Little maintenance items seemed to need more attention around room. July 2, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
A Welcoming View of the Front Entrance of the Hotel at Night
A Welcoming View of the Front Entrance of the Hotel at Night
Select to close.
A Welcoming View of the Front Entrance of the Hotel at Night Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express of Beautiful Downtown Detroit Exterior Side View of Hotel from Michigan Ave. Hotel Front Desk Hotel Entrance from Inside the Lobby Main Lobby Fireplace and Comfortable Seating Fireplace and Seating Area in Main Lobby Front Entrance of the Hotel Main Lobby Seating near Front Entrance A Broadened Glance of the Hotel and its Surroundings The Hotel from Washington Blvd Friendly Front Desk Staff are Always at Your Service Direct Frontview of Hotel Seating in Main Lobby Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading