• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DOWNERS GROVE
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee of 10 per night. All guests with pets must present a credit card for deposit and sign a pet agreement form.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Brookfield Zoo
Distance From Hotel:14.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • FREE outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:121
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:66
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:110
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0303

Downers Grove Hotel Blends Warmth with Chicago Cool

Located in the western suburbs of Chicago, Illinois, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Downers Grove / Oakbrook offers an excellent location that promises big-city excitement, as well as the warmth and hospitality of Downers Grove.

The hotel's location offers business travelers an easy commute to State Farm, PNC, Aramark, HAVI Global and many of the top companies in the Chicago area. The hotel's guests also enjoy free
View More

Downers Grove Hotel Blends Warmth with Chicago Cool

Located in the western suburbs of Chicago, Illinois, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Downers Grove / Oakbrook offers an excellent location that promises big-city excitement, as well as the warmth and hospitality of Downers Grove.

The hotel's location offers business travelers an easy commute to State Farm, PNC, Aramark, HAVI Global and many of the top companies in the Chicago area. The hotel's guests also enjoy free high-speed, wireless Internet access that is provided throughout the hotel.

The hotel's 1,100-plus sq ft of meeting space and a Business Center with computer, copy and print services are designed to meet the needs of today's travelers.

Thanks to our Chicago area location and the hotel's proximity to I-355, I-88, I-290 and I-294, guests can easily explore Chicago's attractions, catch a game at Wrigley Field, ride the Ferris wheel at Navy Pier or find the perfect slice of Chicago-style pizza. After a day in the city, spend a quiet afternoon at the beautiful Morton Arboretum, catch a movie at the historic Tivoli Theater or visit the gardens and museums of Cantigny Gardens and Park. Take a drive and visit the Brookfield Zoo for a day of family fun near Downers Grove.

The hotel's guests enjoy a hot meal every morning with the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar. The Fitness Center features Precor cardio equipment to keep you active. We hope to welcome you soon!

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Elevator noise I have stayed at this hotel often and often on the top floor. This trip I was close to, not next to, the elevators. All night I kept hearing the elevator noise. If you are on the top floor, you want a low number or high numbered room! Breakfast is average and expensive, not a good value. It is interesting they are a non-smoking hotel with the smokers stationed at the door welcoming you like a door man, except they do not open the door, they exhale smoke! Bad first impression. The staff is excellent, rooms clean, beds comfortable. April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Hotel staff was very friendly to my and my family, Our 3 year old was cutting teeth and crying in the lobby one of the managers came up to us and offered some snacks to help calm him down, and it did!!!!! what a great touch April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here a lot - But I'm a sound sleeper I stay here a lot over the past 8 years. No matter what room I am in or on what floor, the elevator hums and you hear it no matter where you're at. It doesn't bother me as I can sleep anywhere. But, if you have trouble sleeping with noise, you might want to consider another location. Since I have stayed here, they have remodeled the rooms and changed the restaurant. Also there are several places to eat within walking distance. The rooms have always been clean and the staff friendly. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good hotel in Chicago area. I found the location, conditions and staff of this hotel very satisfying. Compared with other Holiday Inns in the area this one is my favorite. Very friendly and engaging staff. April 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Elevator Noise!!! Unable to sleep due to the noise from the Elevator. Had no bath towels. Overpriced for quality of hotel. April 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I won't return to this property as long as the elevator noise continues I have stayed here several times. Until my last stay of late December 2013, I was satisfied with this property but it is no longer. I was used to stay here because of my early morning schedule nearby. I need a good sleep and that was the primary reason for choosing this property occasionally. As a recent reviewer mentions, however, an elevator's noise is recently too serious. I will provide the hotel management team my recording if a recording is needed. I recommend them to hear the noise from their elevators. Anyway, my recent stay was terrible. Wrong (?) fire alarm during a shower and climbing down by stairs from the seventh to the ground was relatively understandable in comparison to other problems. I am not sure if I may return to this property. I wish to see some improved reviews for this property in a close future. March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love it we always stay here when we can, when were in Chicago because we can always relax here and the staff is always i repeat Always professional and attendant to our needs thank you Oakbrook holiday inn March 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by EXPECTED A HOLIDAY INN Stayed a this hotel last year and stay was okay, there were a few problems which i was told would be corrected. Manager actually contacted me to discuss my review last year. Well, NOTHING has changed: Breakfast buffet is a POOR value and is not well maintained by staff. Snack and Sundry shop was an issue last year and still is, open sporatically,(can not count on them being open when you are in need) shop employee did not know how to use register and tried to over charge me both times i visited. Staff throughout hotel are the best part of hotel experience. When checking in , was recognized as a Platinum IHG member and given a placard for car. Only problem: was never told there was a special section for parking for IHG preferred members. Parking lot on arrival, very icy and very difficult getting luggage to hotel door without slipping and having to actually carry instead of wheeling luggage. Significant Problem with sleeping room. In 2 different rooms i was given on 7th floor ( and i was told by a friend on 6th floor this was a problem as well) , the ELEVATORS caused a moaning sound as they went up and down and could be heard in rooms even 6 rooms down the hall. So annoying i actually woke up 1st night having a dream with the moaning/vibration sound . Front desk told me management was aware fo the problem , but they still placed me and others in these "noisy /grinding sound rooms. Do not pay extra for King Executive rooms they are small and the only advantage is a refrigerator. Clothes closet does not not even have a door /slider . Overall, unsatisfactory stay and in my opinion , as much as I travel and stay in a variety of hotels/motels, this one should be downgraded to a lesser "label". Not Worthy of the Holiday Inn name March 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place - location and staff I very much enjoy staying here - several dates over the past year. Very attentive staff is eager to meet your needs. rooms are quiet and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent, serving locally grown food. Highly recommended. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Thank you Very very helpful front desk staff and GM. Have a cross country mobil tour and we used this hotel for my team. they came up with a free storage area for our boxes and it made a hug difference. Thank you! March 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Friendly staff This is a great location if you need to be in the western suburbs of Chicago. It's just off I-88 and right at Oakbrook Mall. Great shopping. Great restaurants. There is a Bar Louie in the lobby. No free breakfast room at this location. Breakfast is available at Bar Louie and is over priced. First place I have ever seen designated parking for IHG Club members. They are not the most convenient parking spaces but I suppose the restaurant patrons get those. The room was clean and comfortable with all the typical amenities for this IHG brand. The toilet in our room ran all night. I tried to fix it but no luck. Was not going to call maintenance that late so just closed the bathroom door. I know stuff happens so it was not a big deal. Hopefully they got it fixed for the next people since we told them when we checked out. If we're in the area, we'd stay here again. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and Friendly hotel Very friendly Hotel Staff, Was given a upgrade without asking. Hotel staff seemed very down to earth even during the snow storm in Chicago February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Best! This hotel is Excellent! Staff was great. The food was excellent. The management was awesome. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brtter than usual good. We usually are quite pleased but this time was exceptional. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by my review Very nice hotel....very friendly welcoming and accommodating staff.Would like the pool a little warmer . Hotel is quiet and comfortable. January 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nightmare The couple in the room next to ours were arguing loudly non stop from 10 PM to 3 AM. The front desk was notified a number of times, but nothing was done. My wife and I left the next day frustrated and exhausted. So much for a relaxing getaway. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay Often use this Hotel when visiting Chicago. Have never had any complaints. December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Continue pleased Stay here about six times and usually quite pleased.. Could work on inconsistencies in procedures. December 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by value Upon check in I ask the front people about shuttle service, they said this property does not offer service and offered to set up a taxi for the next day. I was going 1.5 miles from property to my training, I had no problem taking the cab. When I got to my training class I met some other people in my class that where staying at same Holiday Inn location and they got shuttle service. Interesting! Also upon check in I received one breakfast voucher for any one of the four days that I was staying here. I also talk to the people in my training class and they said that they got a voucher for everyday. Someone needs to be trained again on what you all do offer and what you don't. I am a Rewards Club Member and none of them were. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Deja Vu I call this review deja vu because it was at this hotel 36 years ago, my wife and I had our wedding reception. I stayed at this hotel recently while in town for business. My experience with this hotel was great 36 years ago, and was as good, if not better, this time around. Its a great place to stay. November 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what was expected Having recently moved away from Chicago we booked this location for a fun weekend in the Chicagoland area. The location is great if you want to stay in the suburbs. We decided to pay extra for the executive rooms because the description stated: "The spacious desk and the free high speed wi fi access create an excellent workspace. And the beautiful leather chair adds style and comfort to this chic executive room. You can get a restful nights sleep on a plush pillowtop bed before preparing for the day in front of the lighted mirror." This was inaccurate. The room was very small by even Holiday Inn Express standards. It was old and there was noticable dirt. There was no spacious desk, just a small table with two wood chairs. There was no beautiful leather chair nor a lighted mirror. Also, we could not get the wi fi to work properly and there were no in room movies to rent. The only positive thing about this description is that the beds were comfortable. Another added disappointment is we purchased the breakfast when we purchased the room because the reviews said it could be used for room service and upon check-in the front desk representative said we could do that as well. The restaurant would not honor it. We had to either go down to the buffet or get take out. There was a young man that worked the front desk in the evenings who acted like he didn't want to be there and would walk away from guests as they approached. Otherwise, for the most part, the staff was average and pleasant. On the upside, they did provide priority parking for IHG Rewards Club Members. I wouldn't rate this stay exceptional but since we were not in the hotel much, it was ok. I have had better experiences at other IHG properties that were newer. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service From the time I walked in the staff were great! They even have me the chance to win 1,000 bonus points! I also received a free upgrade to my room and even breakfast vouchers! This place is em very comfortable and you can relax with no worries. There is also the infamous "Bar Louie" right downstairs for nightlife enjoyment. I will definitely make this my new favorite of the Holiday Inn I've visited this far! November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend stay comfortable and relaxing I have stayed at this location a number of times. It is always very comfortable. The bed was great. I was automatically upgraded to a 2 room suite. I enjoyed the extra space. Free breakfast was ordered off the menu. They also have a good buffet. I would highly recommend this for someone needing a place in the west suburbs of Chicago. It is only minutes from Oak Brook Mall. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Showman17 The staff is very friendly. The food is excellent as well as the drinks in Bar Louie. The specials are hard to beat. The hotel location is very conveignent to shopping & other great restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to any one in the Chicago area. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I want to thank the staff for thee excellent service that was provided. The complex we stay in had a transformer go into flames and the staff was GREAT! Again many thanks! November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location I stayed here for a weekend night. I discovered that this property has great location and helpful staffs. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great basic hotel stay! We had a quality Holiday Inn experience! Staff were pleasant, rooms were clean. I was a bit surprised that continental breakfast was not included here, but if I would have read more carefully I would have seen that. Thanks! November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay & Courteous Staff Comfortable sleep, courteous staff, prime location, low price November 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Older but nice...except the pool This hotel is in a great location within walking distance of many restaurants and stores. It is older and the pillows in the room are horrible, tiny squares, just as they are in any Holiday Inn, but it was clean. The elevators are VERY slow and stinky and need to be refurbished due to the odor, scratches, etc. The biggest disappointment was the indoor pool. It was VERY cold and they got rid of the hot tub so our family night was pretty much ruined. The staff is very nice at the front desk and bar but the restaurant people at breakfast never even gave us utensils. No one came by to take our buffet coupon and there was no cashier so we just left the coupons on the register. We had to take them from other tables. The breakfast was mediocre so I'm glad we didn't pay for it. Houskeeping tried to enter our room, even though we had the do not disturb sign, because her list showed our room as vacant (she showed it to me as she apologized.) If you want a nice pool, don't stay here. If you don't care about the pool, go for it! October 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness, Staff and Service This was my second stay at this particular HI. My first experience was average. This one left a little to be desired. I stay exclusively at HI's and I was dissappointed at Oakbrook Terrace. The Staff was OK, but the room service did not clean the room very well. The coffiee was not replenished, nor was the pot even cleaned. Scraps of paper were left on the floor which leads to believe the floor was not vacumed. October 29, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Our Downers Grove Hotel is close to Yorktown and Oakbrook Malls
Our Downers Grove Hotel is close to Yorktown and Oakbrook Malls
Select to close.
Our Downers Grove Hotel is close to Yorktown and Oakbrook Malls Hotel Lobby Seating Area Welcome to Downers Grove Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Downers Grove Hotel Lobby featuring Fireplace and Seating Visit the Morton Arboretum from our Downers Grove Hotel
Select to close.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading