• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DOWNERS GROVE
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee of 10 per night. All guests with pets must present a credit card for deposit and sign a pet agreement form.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Morton Arboretum
Distance From Hotel:3.5MI
Attraction:
Tivoli Theatre
Distance From Hotel:3.5MI
Attraction:
Brookfield Zoo
Distance From Hotel:14.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • FREE outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:121
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:55
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:66
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:110
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL0303

Downers Grove Hotel Blends Warmth with Chicago Cool

Located in the western suburbs of Chicago, Illinois, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Downers Grove / Oakbrook offers an excellent location that promises big-city excitement, as well as the warmth and hospitality of Downers Grove.

The hotel's location offers business travelers an easy commute to State Farm, PNC, Aramark, HAVI Global and many of the top companies in the Chicago area. The hotel's guests also enjoy free
View More

Downers Grove Hotel Blends Warmth with Chicago Cool

Located in the western suburbs of Chicago, Illinois, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Downers Grove / Oakbrook offers an excellent location that promises big-city excitement, as well as the warmth and hospitality of Downers Grove.

The hotel's location offers business travelers an easy commute to State Farm, PNC, Aramark, HAVI Global and many of the top companies in the Chicago area. The hotel's guests also enjoy free high-speed, wireless Internet access that is provided throughout the hotel.

The hotel's 1,100-plus sq ft of meeting space and a Business Center with computer, copy and print services are designed to meet the needs of today's travelers.

Thanks to our Chicago area location and the hotel's proximity to I-355, I-88, I-290 and I-294, guests can easily explore Chicago's attractions, catch a game at Wrigley Field, ride the Ferris wheel at Navy Pier or find the perfect slice of Chicago-style pizza. After a day in the city, spend a quiet afternoon at the beautiful Morton Arboretum, catch a movie at the historic Tivoli Theater or visit the gardens and museums of Cantigny Gardens and Park. Take a drive and visit the Brookfield Zoo for a day of family fun near Downers Grove.

The hotel's guests enjoy a hot meal every morning with the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar. The Fitness Center features Precor cardio equipment to keep you active. We hope to welcome you soon!

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 226 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Trying Hard but Fell Short Great Bed, Good Sleep, Restaurant slow; food OK. Common areas dirty. Accommidating Front Desk Staff July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for a wedding! The staff were not only accommodating, but went out of their way to go above & beyond what was asked of them. Robert the event planner and his staff were fabulous. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice place to stay This is a recently updated Holiday Inn and the room was modern and clean. They offer a choice of pillow firmness which was great. The mattress was comfortable. The bathroom is nice in appearance but the pedestal sink didn't allow for much storage of toiletries, especially for a 5 day stay. The fitness center is basic but no one else was using it when I went so it was fine for me, there's a bathroom right in that area. I had difficulty sleeping because of the elevator noise and I couldn't set the a/c to constant noise so every time it shut off, for reaching the set temperature, I woke up. Restaurant food was good but every time I ate there or went to the bar, probably 7 times during my stay, there was an exceptionally long wait for service and getting the check. The bar was way understaffed for Friday night when they knew there were at least 2 weddings and a family reunion, 40 rooms booked for our wedding. The staff was very warm, friendly, and helpful. Overall, a good experience. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is outdated. Location is good. Room is outdated. vending machine for laundry is not working. So a bug drinking my water. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Komfortables Zimmer und hervorragender Service Zimmer und Personal waren in Ordnung. Internetzugang war gut. Beim Frühstück war das Personal leider unterbesetzt und konnte den Andrang an Gästen nur schwer bewältigen. July 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by In bad need of renovation & updating Our room was not made up at 2:45pm when we returned. Worse there were blood type stains running down the side of one of the beds and a nasty brown stain on the room darkener shades which didn't cover the window on one end which rendered them useless. Water in tub filled up while taking a shower. Just an overall bad experience. July 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service was great BUT... The staff were very polite and accommodating as possible. However, on arrival I did not have towels and when I called down I was told that none would be available until 8am when staff arrived. The next day as I sat on the bed getting ready I spilled my make-up on the sheets. When I came back to what appeared to be a cleaned room, I pulled the sheets back and the make-up stains were there. I could not receive new sheets until 8am when staff arrived. This could have been a nice stay but it just felt dirty...... We never received those towels we requested either. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF CLEAN ROOMS I have stayed at other holiday inns over the years and found this one to be very guest friendly, everyone at the front desk seems happy to help. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great atmosphere and service The rooms were clean and organized. This is one thing that I immediately look for in a hotel. The Bar/Restaurant has a great menu- food and drinks. The staff were very helpful and willing to go the extra mile to assist with any issues. I would definitely stay again. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by In area visiting family We were pleased with our 4 night stay for a family reunion in the area. Our son lives just a few miles away so location was good for us. Price was within our budget, rooms very comfortable and clean, beds spectacular, friendly and helpful staff. Small pool was just enough for two grandsons also staying. Loved bar and restaurant connected to the lobby. No frills but no frills needed. We will choose this hotel again. One drawback was lack of parking when returning to the hotel later at night. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just a nice comfortable trip I've been going up to this area of Illinois for several years and used to stay at Red Roofs but this year I wanted to stay somewhere a little nicer so I tried Holiday Inn. And I'm not disappointed. The area is lovely. LOTS of shopping around and is directly located in between the two places I love to visit in the area. Its also not but maybe 15-20 mins from downtown Chicago which is great. I felt safe in the area and the hotel staff and guests were so very friendly and knowledgeable about where the fireworks and things were in the area. I did not really want to go downtown but found that OakBrook had a really nice display. This was probably my most enjoyable and relaxing trip I've taken in the past 5years. I not only recommend this hotel I recommend this area. If you're looking to go to Chicago and don't want pay an arm and a leg to stay downtown this is a nice place to stay. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, excellent pillows Slept well, the room was clean and comfortable. The pillows were exceptionally comfortable for a hotel. Staff was helpful and friendly. Bar has nice beer selection and the bartenders are friendly and accommodating. Got exactly what was paid for, would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay in the area. July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lasik around the corner Bar staff recommended a dinner choice based on our conversation that was very good, thank you to them. July 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Questionable Security, Marginally Clean, Insufficient Parking Our Worst Hotel Stay EVER, and we are frequent travelers. Hotel doors were not locked. Went to front desk early morning and no one at front desk. Any one could walk right in. Several nights, we had to drive around the parking lot, waiting for someone to leave, so that we could get a parking spot. Others were doing the same. Twice in our stay, had to contact front desk for TP because maid didn't leave a spare roll. In 7 days, they didn't even offer a new liner for the ice bucket. Also, be very careful when making a reservation. I made a reservation that was supposed to be cancellable up to 6:00 p.m. on the first night of our stay. When I changed the dates, it came back as non-cancellable and non-refundable. When I called to complain and change the dates, I was told "if you don't show up for your stay, you will be charged for the entire seven nights" July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay!!!! This was a great place to stay; the staff was very accommodating and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The GM (Jim M) knows what he is doing if I owned a hotel I would want him running it. The restaurant had good food and great staff. This was a very nice hotel and in a great location. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 My hotel of choice despite travel distance This has become my hotel of choice for when I travel to Chicago. Despite the fact my most recent trip had me further from my meetings, i stayed here for the ease of access to highways, dining and shopping nearby and always wonderful staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable, restaurant on site and jsut 3 great experiences in a row. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Surprise Very pleased with the stay at the Holiday Inn, Oakbrook; one of the only hotel rooms with an abundance of outlets for business work on the laptop June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay!!!! The GM at the hotel is very accommodating as well is the rest of the staff. I enjoyed staying here beds were comfortable and they had great pillows. The staff was great and granted any request I had. The property was well kept. The attached restaurant had good food and the staff there was also great. If I owned a hotel I would want someone like the GM (Jim M.) running my place. The hotel is also in a good area with a lot of restaurants and shopping close by. This is a Great Place to stay with a great staff!!!!! June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff I swear everytime I step into this hotel they always greet me and ask if they can do anything for me. They are some of the best hotel employees I have met. They need a raise for the great service they give!!! Bar needs to keep up with their liquor though. Asked for some wine and they didn't have it and they ran out of some Heineken also. However bartenders and servers did their very best to satisfy me and were great! June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect performance! As a business traveler I never seem to have enough access to electrical outlets. I'm always moving the mattress or requesting extension chords or finding some other trick to get all my gadgets charged. I was amazes at how thoroughly this issues has been resolved at your property. Such a small thing but a huge difference! As for the rest of my experience I have to say I wouldn't change a thing! Great job! June 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Exercise Room in hotel at this price range 1. Exercise room is dumb - Very less equipment, TV has over the air channels not cable or dish programming. 2. At the same price other hotel provide breakfast but not this 3. Reception is located in hole when coming from parking at the back June 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rude Front Desk Staff Very rude guy that checked us in. He never said hello, welcome, or anything nice. He acted like he couldn't stand his job. We asked him for directions and you would of thought we asked for his first born. There was an annoying ceiling noise that occurred every 15 minutes both night and day. Bar Louie's was the best part of the stay. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, room missing amenities. We stayed at this hotel because of a group wedding rate. The front desk, happy to help, and answer any questions is what was expected, if you have high expectations. The room, however, lacked amenities such as microwave and refrigerator that, in our experience, are common at other establishments at a similar price for a room. It would have been nice to have curtains that closed, over the shear ones, because the morning light was unbearable. It would have been nice to sleep more than five hours since we had a check-out time of noon. HBO was awesome to have so we didn't have to miss out sunday night show. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a few complaints The hotel was nice, the lighting in room was hard to study by, plenty of lamps just not bright bulbs. I did lose internet connection more then I expected. The bar staff my first lunch was horrible but after I complained the next time they were wonderful, no discounts given but great food. June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Love that the restaurant was attached. Ghino at the front desk was very accommodating. June 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Parking, loud and poor nights sleep Parking was a huge problem. The parking lot was full and the only sports free were reserved spots for the restaurant next door. The clerk didn't tell me, I needed a parking permit. The noise from the sports bar in the hotel was too loud at check in. The front desk clerk was rude to another guest at check in who was asking for assistance fixing an issue in her room. The front desk clerk told her to fix it herself. Every time someone used the elevator there was a vibration that went through my room. The toilet would start running very loudly every 5 mins. June 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too little too late I stayed here w/my young son for 1 week. Prior to arriving I requested a fridge for the room. Upon arrival they had no knowledge this had been ordered. The front desk staff said he'd put in a request for a fridge and microwave asap. I checked on this the next day and desk staff had no record of either request but again said it would be recorded. I was then offered to change rooms to one that had fridge/micro. At that point I declined as I was unpacked. That night; returned to the hotel, no fridge/no microwave, no record of request. Maintenance was then called for the first time to bring these to the room. Maint, man was very nice, friendly and apologetic. He then informed me that 5 of the 6 fridge/micros were out of order. Meanwhile housekeeping avoided our room daily stating our room was not on their list. Attempts to get the room cleaned were honored only after multiple requests. The supervisor Maria, informed me that staff were told we didn't want the room cleaned or the sign was on the door so they didn't come by. That never happened. Non-English speaking staff could not understand or even seek clarity on this issue. Garbage and used towels piled up as we waited for service. I had to make special towel/tp requests. After multiple consults w/staff, housekeeping finally came for the third time on day six. Also, the one washer and dryer for the entire hotel was broken for about 2 weeks. Front desk staff knew nothing about this. Clearly there's a major disconnect of communication going on between the front desk and the other departments. On day 5 of 7, accommodations were made by the manager in the way of providing two free breakfast coupons for the brkfst bar. No $$ could be reduced due to online booking. At that point we'd had enough of the mediocre breakfast. The pool was nice and clean; about 85 degrees. Even the pool room was warm. The pool patio was grungy and uncleaned all week though. Pool door was locked at 10:00 am and took 15 minutes to get unlocked by staff even though pool is supposed to open at 5:00 a.m. The parking lot was being paved and I had to move or get car moved three times unexpectedly. Oh and finally the ac in the room sounded like a Mack truck on the highway. There was no way to have a cool room and watch tv or sleep at the same time. Despite all this we had a fun vacation mainly cause we were hardly ever in the hotel. It could've been way better though if this hotel was detail oriented and staff were communicative/informed/concerned/ invested in their jobs. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Had my renewing here It was wonderful had a great time the people were awsome can't wait to have something else here. Rooms were so comfortable they were very Attended to me and my guests. My family only had great things to say about the hotel. It was a great weekend!! June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Bar Louie Nice to watch the NHL finals while eating dinner and good breakfast. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We stay here A LOT We stay in Oak Brook probably 10 times a year. We always stay at this holiday Inn. It has an incredible location in the restaurant there is awesome. There is a ton of good shopping and great restaurants all within 3 miles. The staff is always friendly and takes great care of us !!! Kelly May 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Our Downers Grove Hotel is close to Yorktown and Oakbrook Malls
Our Downers Grove Hotel is close to Yorktown and Oakbrook Malls
Select to close.
Our Downers Grove Hotel is close to Yorktown and Oakbrook Malls Welcome to Downers Grove Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Downers Grove Visit the Morton Arboretum from our Downers Grove Hotel
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading