• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DURHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Fifty dollar non refundable pets fee Pets not to be left unattended in rooms Pet friendly rooms are located on the first floor Pet Policy is required to be signed at check in
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking. One vehicle per room. Oversized vehicles not permitted. Parking permit required. Overflow parking may be available at UNH or the Town Offices.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:68
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:43
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other
View More
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other schools are nearby as well. We offer free high-speed, wired and Wi-Fi access in all of our smoke free guest rooms, as well as complimentary use of our business center to help make your hotel stay convenient. This location makes us a part of the UNH community, so we're the ideal accommodations for prospective students and parents. The Whittemore Arena, home of the UNH Wildcat hockey team, is just moments up the road. You can take a tour of Redhook Brewery or search for great deals at the Kittery Outlets. We're close to Portsmouth, Rochester, Exeter and Dover for fun filled day trips. Our pet-friendly and 100% smoke-free hotel welcomes your pets with a one time non-refundable fee. We offer terrific facilities like our fitness center which has a TV to make those miles fly by. Join us for a free, daily breakfast buffet. Our hotel’s amenities and unbeatable location next to UNH, and in the heart of NH’s Seacoast, makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel.
View Less
Features
Our Durham, NH hotel's location at the University of New Hampshire makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel. Besides location, we offer great amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service was A Friendly, well maintained facility, clean, and top notch service! September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for parents I love visiting my daughter at UNH and your location is perfect! Prices seem to have crept up over the last 3 years. How about offering the parents a frequent stay package. Susan O September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by College Move in The atmosphere was welcoming and friendly. The rooms were large and comfortable. The bathroom was small ( toilet and shower in small room, sink/vanity outside) and cramped but clean. Even though it was on a college campus it was quiet. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The employees at the Holiday Inn Express in Durham, NH are incredibly friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Highly recommend staying here if you are in the area. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, friendly staff Nice overnight stay. Welcoming staff at the front desk. Would have liked more options for breakfast. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff! The staff was friendly and efficient and fun! Freddie was awesome as well as the woman on the desk. He answered all our questions about where to eat and how to get there and directions for all over the place....... I would stay there again... Thanks especially to Freddie. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Couldn't ask for more! The staff was super and the room was very clean. Awesome variety for the breakfast served. August 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor mangement of various issues Poor parking arrangements - sending your customer back out to their car at 1.30 in the morning after a long day of travel by air and road - to place a parking pass on the dashboard or 'be towed' is not a good welcome, especially when it's been difficult to find a place to park the car in the first place. The night receptionist didn't get up from his chair throughout the check-in process and was not the best person to have doing this job. In the morning housekeeping knocked on my door at 9/9.30 even though I had the DND on my door - when told the front desk they were apologetic, but defensive of the housekeeper saying that they were experienced and would not have done that etc. I wasn't going to argue, so I moved on. Also - they had run out of some breakfast items so selection was v limited. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service ... caring staff Nice quit place in the middle of a college town. Inviting meal area with a use-one-leave-one library which I relied on heavily during my many overseas deployments. Go to the game at UNH and stay at the HIXPress! August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful visit to Newmarket/Durham/Portsmouth Area This is an average priced hotel for the area in the summer. The employees are very friendly and responsive. The continental breakfast is convenient and typical; there is a good selection. The hotel is centrally located and easy to get in and out of. It shares parking areas with local student housing but the staff is very good about explaining where you are allowed to park and it was never an issue for a July/Aug visit. The beds were very comfortable, plenty of pillows. It was a convenient spot to go around the area. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfy Overall a great experience with a very friendly staff and cleaning services. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient The overall hotel was good but the cleaning staff failed to run a vacuum in our for the entire seven days we stayed at the property. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff The staff are friendly and make you feel at home. Great rooms clean and quiet. Easy to relax. August 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed but hot room The bed was comfy. The food was plentiful in the mornings, but the 4 problems we had were 1. The smoke detector went off every time someone showered because it was right outside the bathroom door 2. The a/c unit was a regular window unit--it was so loud we couldn't sleep with it on making the room HOT...you could even see through the sides to the outside! 3. The carpet is old. It needs replacing. We got the room on discount, so it wasn't bad, but I wouldn't pay full price for this hotel. 4. The wall and floors are paper thin. We could hear the people above us all night walking around and early in the mornings--and we could hear noises from outside. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff We stayed here while looking at UNH as a prospective family. The hotel staff was great when we asked to extend our stay. The food was very good for breakfast. Some standard continental breakfast fare, but plenty of it, and a pancake maker. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Free wifi was a huge bonus. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WELLING TO MAKE LAST MINUTE SCHEDULE CHANGES THE PLACE WAS VERY CLEAN, THE STAFF WAS VERY PLEASANT, HELPING REBOOK ROOMS THAT FIT THE FAMILY AFTER A SHORT ABSENCE. MANY CHOICES FOR BREAKFAST August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed - nice personnel The overall experience was very good. The only issue was the limited parking and not having a pool. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Stayed at many IHG properties and this was a very good one. Good value for my money. Staff was friendly and receptive to all our needs. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel...great breakfast great play to stay... easy location to get around... only down side...no pool for kids August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charming I knew it would be a good stay when we were cheerfully greeted at the front desk by a lovely young lady who was more than willing to recommend us restaurants, give us directions to anywhere in Durham, and strike up a conversation about our trip. We felt welcomed immediately. The hotel was in walking distance from most sights we aimed to see, and felt clean and comfortable. The breakfast was so-so, but at least it was included! I would absolutely stay another night or two if I ever happen upon Durham again. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice people and nice service Front desk people were nice for all requirements as I am the first time to Durham. Hotel room was great and cleaning. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Everything went well.Can't think of anything needing improvement. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Comfortable, Inviting Hotel The hotel front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. The overall common areas are clean, bright and inviting. Room was clean, A/C was working great and overall very comfortable. There is no pool, but not a show stopper. Also, if you have never been to Durham, its a small college town with only a few choices of places to eat etc. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Durham. My only complaint is not about the hotel, but IHG. I did not qualify for "Reward Points" because I booked this stay through a third party web site. As a note to IHG, Choice Hotels still rewards their customers with points when you stay at their hotels, regardless of how it is booked... July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, comfortable bed Though I did not spend a considerable amount of time in the hotel, staff was friendly at check in, and the room was both clean and a good size. However, I was not impressed that the only curtains in my room were sheer white and my room looked out onto a parking lot (which is fine in and of itself) and into apartment buildings. The thin curtains didn't offer much privacy, nor did they block out light in the morning. The cost for the room, especially given that it was during the summer, seemed quite high. Overall, I would stay again. July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Small, stuffy and no pool Just because it's the only hotel chain in town doesn't give you a right to cut amenities like a pool but charge more than other locations. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean ,comfortable, great breakfast Came into Durham to drop off my child at a UNH summer camp. The hotel is modern, clean and within relative walking distance to campus. Breakfast in the Great Room topped off a quality experience. I plan to stay there again for sure. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good people, Good Value, Good Location Overall - The front desk folks we exceptionally accommodating in their level of customer service. The same was true of the maid service. It was a good value for the area. It is within walking distance to the university. Pros- Value; location; clean; front desk staff gave sage advice re: how to navigate the area; Centrally located allowing you to tour Maine (20 minutes away), NH, July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No gluten free options I had a very good experience, but had to bring my own breakfast to adhere to low-sugar, paleo, gluten free diet lifestyle. Fortunately, the microwave and refrigerator in-room helped for this! The staff were not educated about proper gluten free options to suggest any to be ordered in advance. I do not have a gluten allergy, just a preference, but this is very troubling for those who actually do have a gluten allergy. There should be more options for dining so that more people can feel comfortable dining at your hotel; not many visitors will be able to bring their own staples. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good hotel for a short stay had a comfortable stay and encountered no problems! July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAFF They have maybe the best variety of any HIX I have been in for breakfast. Nice selection of breads and Greek yogurt and fruits. Front Desk and breakfast staff also very good and accommodating. Only downside is the AC units are very noisy and I think they need to have the filters cleaned better as my son and I both had bad allergic REACTIONS after staying here. July 10, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading