• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DURHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Fifty dollar non refundable pets fee Pets not to be left unattended in rooms Pet friendly rooms are located on the first floor Pet Policy is required to be signed at check in
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking. One vehicle per room. Oversized vehicles not permitted. Parking permit required. Overflow parking may be available at UNH or the Town Offices.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:68
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:43
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other
View More
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other schools are nearby as well. We offer free high-speed, wired and Wi-Fi access in all of our smoke free guest rooms, as well as complimentary use of our business center to help make your hotel stay convenient. This location makes us a part of the UNH community, so we're the ideal accommodations for prospective students and parents. The Whittemore Arena, home of the UNH Wildcat hockey team, is just moments up the road. You can take a tour of Redhook Brewery or search for great deals at the Kittery Outlets. We're close to Portsmouth, Rochester, Exeter and Dover for fun filled day trips. Our pet-friendly and 100% smoke-free hotel welcomes your pets with a one time non-refundable fee. We offer terrific facilities like our fitness center which has a TV to make those miles fly by. Join us for a free, daily breakfast buffet. Our hotel’s amenities and unbeatable location next to UNH, and in the heart of NH’s Seacoast, makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel.
View Less
Features
Our Durham, NH hotel's location at the University of New Hampshire makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel. Besides location, we offer great amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 123 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean, spacious suite The king suite was wonderful..clean and spacious. Room was noisy though due to location on busy street. Only other complaints were not enough towels for three people and breakfast croissants were stale. Didn't have any direct contact with staff other than check in as we only stayed one night.He was very pleasant. Would return and recommend to others. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI - Express, Durham NH Very nice visit. On business and often stay at higher rated hotels, but very happy with my stay. If in the Durham, NH area I'd recommend this hotel. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by rjnitro a great hotel in a nice little town, good location. only issues are the need for newer beds,the room I had was very uncomfortable+there wasn't a comfy chair to use! otherwise,a nice place to stay! June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bathroom/sink separation Having the sink outside the bathroom area was a little awkward. The toilet/shower area seemed a bit cramped. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff It was clean, and close to our destination, and the staff was very helpful June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by decent hotel; lovely staff Very lovely desk staff. Breakfast was fine. Housekeeping could definitely be better. Little things would be really nice -- a towel hook next to the sink; a lamp next to the wing chair in the corner June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room when we first entered the room, it smelled like propane. So we opened the windows. The neighbors across the way were having a birthday party, which kept me up most of the night listening to that. The breakfast in the morning was the best part of the hotel, nice job on the different choices. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and great staff The staff was welcoming and informative. We appreciated having accommodations this year that are close to our father's boyhood home. (In 1997, we stayed at the New England Conference Center, which is now closed). The room was quiet and comfortable, and the microwave and refrigerator came in handy. The breakfast was delicious. IHG might consider adding fresh salsa, but perhaps it is preferred mainly in the Southwest. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this property to everyone. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by front desk excellent, bed was great The two girls at the front desk were so friendly and helpful each time we needed them.Our only two complaints were 1) the throw on one of the beds had something on it. Looked like it hadn't been washed between guests--that throw spent the night in the closet--and 2) the breakfast the next day left a lot to be desired regarding hot items. The eggs had some bean stuff inside which looked and tasted awful. Looked mass produced and unappetizing. Very disappointing for Special Olympic athletes setting off for a busy day of competitions. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent A great facility with great personnel at a great rate. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a great and wonderful stay and experience We had a great and wonderful stay and experience with your friendly and professional staff. Thank you Michael June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Stay, Great Staff At check-in we were greeted by two friendly, helpful staff. We had two requests that they were able to quickly accommodate. While I was not recognized as an IHG Rewards member, the staff member did look up and add my number to my reservation without me asking. The rooms are large and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit small, but the sink is outside of the bathroom which helps. The breakfast had a large variety of items including eggs, sausage, bagels, cereals, and yogurt. It was actually ready a few minutes before the start time. The hotel is located at the edge of downtown Durham. It is within walking distance of the stores and restaurants as well as the UNH campus. I felt the nightly rate was high for the type of hotel and location, but we did book it the day of stay and it had a high occupancy rate due to an event at the university. Highly recommend this hotel. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service The hotel staff check in and out was fast and efficient. Friendly approach and ready to serve. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service We called for extra hangers they were brought right up, extra towels the same quick response. the staff were very friendly, the breakfast room was always well stocked, and the complementary drinks, fruit and always fresh warm cookies were delightful. Pillows and bed were very very comfortable !!! June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I came out to visit family and we had a great time, thanks to staying at this hotel! May 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed review The establishment itself is very nice. Parking a bit quirky. The staff is excellent, very polite, kind and helpful which made me feel very comfortable. The room is on the small side and the bathroom even smaller. The bed looked like an 8 year old made it and didn't smell fresh. The beds we had in our room came from the Super 8 when they threw them out I think, I didn't sleep all night because of the huge sag. The breakfast was over the top and the coffee was great! Just wish I hadn't left exhausted. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home experience A well run operation. Excellent and friendly staff. Neat and comfortable. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice breakfast Very comfortable breakfast area and good food. Large seating space and very clean. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and comfortable stay When I made the reservation over the phone with Kevin, he was quite polite and very helpful. When we arrived at the hotel It was Kevin who was working the desk and he was once again cheerful friendly and accommodating. In the morning at 6:30 it was great to head to breakfast and find a friendly staff member setting up fresh coffee, bacon and eggs etc. I would recommend this hotel to friends. Lisa April 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent but not really appropriate for Pets My wife and I booked a stay w our medium size dog, Pepper while visiting our niece at UNH. The room and staff were outstanding and were very kind to our pet who is three legged due to bone cancer. However, there really is not adequate grounds for the pets to play, run and do their business. Its conveience to the campus was great. But if we were bringing our pet again then I would search for a property more suited to my dog's activity level. April 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Not Ready We arrived late after a long day of travel and were given a room with 2 queen beds. We went to the room to find that it had not been cleaned. The front desk person quickly gave us two single rooms and we were all set. Good recovery from a rough start! March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property Room was clean and quiet. Beds comfortable. Breakfast wasn't fancy, but adequate. Breakfast area was comfortable and wasn't crowded when we were there. This property location is the closest hotel to Newmarket. Staff were very helpful and courteous, especially since we were there for a funeral. Good room for the price. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Nice little hotel in a perfect spot right down the road from UNH, rooms were clean and good size. Parking is small but other then that we had a nice stay February 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Untrained Staff and Aged Property I've stayed at this hotel a few times since I'm currently enrolled in the MBA program at the University of New Hampshire. The hotel just seems a little "dirty" and outdated. It's a pretty small hotel with very little parking. I've heard of guests' cars being towed due to the fact they forgot to put the little piece of paper on their dashboard. The hotel asks for vehicle information, so you would think they would spend the time to go through their guest records before towing someone's car, but I guess not. A couple members of the front desk seem helpful, but others seems to be bothered when you ask them a question. The worst offender is the gentleman who works for the overnight shift. He's always half asleep and just doesn't look very professional. I stay at this hotel due to the fact they are a part of the Olympia Hotel Group. The "key club" is one of the best programs when you travel frequently throughout Maine, New Hampshire and CT. Your 7th night is either free or you get cash back. I always choose the cash back option. My last visit to this hotel was my 7th night, so I should have received cash back. Unfortunately the nice lady who checked me in didn't know how to do it properly. She even remarked how she messed it up last time, so she recommended that I redeem the cash in the morning. Upon check out I tried to redeem the cash back option and again the front desk attendant did not know anything about it. As mentioned previously, the check out attendant seemed half asleep and didn't even try to help me out. I actually had to call the General Manager for assistance. The GM was nice and sent me a check the following day, but it was a lot of unnecessary hassle on my part since I was the customer. February 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by If you are a platinum member do not expect much from this property Well the title should say it all, at least to the people that frequent the holiday inn properties. This property I rate below average. To say the least this has been the trend I have been experiencing at many holiday inn properties. Standards have for sure dropped towards platinum members. Do not expect anything but a 1 dollar bottle of water when greeted, if you are even recognized as a platinum member. I really do not have anything good to say about this place. If you in the area for a day or two then it's not so bad. If you are like me and are doing 3 week stays, the staff or management will not recognize this and will just throw you anywhere in the hotel. No upgrades, no nothing. Basically pathetic. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Very Clean Motel Nothing more to add other than what I have written. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience during a family emergency The hotel staff was amazing! Very helpful and supportive as we dealt with a family emergency. The rooms are clean and neat. Perfect for parents visiting their students at UNH. Close enough spend time with them but also close enough to Portsmouth, Manchester, Boston and parts of Maine for sight seeing and day trips. Within walking distance of food and UNH sporting events. I highly recommend this hotel and its staff. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very accomodating Upon are stay we had a few minor issues which the front desk staff took care of for us. It was also nice to receive a personal note from the hotel manager in regards to the issues we had. January 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable mattriss,Roon never cleaned even after cleaning stff was next door and watched us leave our room. The desk staff was excellent and helpful as possible but when we returned after lunch found the room not cleaned we complained to the desk staff. Then we left again at 3PM and when we retuned after 11 Pm the room was still not cleaned.The desk staff gave us needed toilet paper and some bottles of water. however the only result we got from complaining the room wasn't cleaned was and envelope slipped under the door the next day that said " Sorry your room wasn't cleaned". The mattress was awful You could feel all the springs. I slept maybe an hour. I still have bruises on my hips.Some one I know suggested go to the desk and ask for another mattress but since complaining about the room not being cleaned didn't do any good I figured it would be a lost cause. The second night I slept better because I sat up in the chair and put my feet up on the desk chair. I have never stayed in a hotel that had such an awful bed ! January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Stay! I definitely would recommend this property! It was my second stay there, and will go back in the near future! Staff was great, as well as all the other amenities, keep up the great work! December 11, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading