• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DURHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.2MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Fifty dollar non refundable pets fee Pets not to be left unattended in rooms Pet friendly rooms are located on the first floor Pet Policy is required to be signed at check in
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking. One vehicle per room. Oversized vehicles not permitted. Parking permit required. Overflow parking may be available at UNH or the Town Offices.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:68
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:43
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other
View More
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other schools are nearby as well. We offer free high-speed, wired and Wi-Fi access in all of our smoke free guest rooms, as well as complimentary use of our business center to help make your hotel stay convenient. This location makes us a part of the UNH community, so we're the ideal accommodations for prospective students and parents. The Whittemore Arena, home of the UNH Wildcat hockey team, is just moments up the road. You can take a tour of Redhook Brewery or search for great deals at the Kittery Outlets. We're close to Portsmouth, Rochester, Exeter and Dover for fun filled day trips. Our pet-friendly and 100% smoke-free hotel welcomes your pets with a one time non-refundable fee. We offer terrific facilities like our fitness center which has a TV to make those miles fly by. Join us for a free, daily breakfast buffet. Our hotel’s amenities and unbeatable location next to UNH, and in the heart of NH’s Seacoast, makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel.
View Less
Features
Our Durham, NH hotel's location at the University of New Hampshire makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel. Besides location, we offer great amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 119 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by May 2014 visit My second great stay at Holiday Inn Express in Rochester, NH. Friendly, helpful staff made it very enjoyable. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and comfortable bed. This place is very clean and the rooms are comfortable and fairly spacious. The staff has always treated us well and are very accommodating. I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express without a doubt! April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, great service We spent 3 nights for a small reunion at this hotel, from the time we walked in to check out, the staff was so friendly and accomadating. My husband had special needs as did another of our friends, they went out of the way to make sure their needs were met. The lady who took care of the breakfast room was marvelous. It was the perfect place for us to have this small reunion! I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodating and personal service A group of friends gathered for a reunion at this hotel. The cleanliness of the facility was most impressive but, more importantly, the staff was friendly and extremely accommodating. A few of the friends had special needs. The staff made sure their needs were met with every request. I can't say enough good things about this Holiday Inn Express. April 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean , Comfortable I have stayed here on a few occasions . This is a clean and comfortable hotel. However This stay was very annoying with the TV set just blacking out . I called the front desk they told me just un plug it and wait a few then plug back in to "re-set" . After the 5th time I just gave up. The front desk said they would make an adjustment . But nothing was . When I checked out I told them again and was just told "Sorry" . v April 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Nice clean hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast attendent lady worked very hard and was constantly cleaning the vacated tables. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth every penny! Fantastic property, one of the cleanest I've seen in a long time, including the room and the common areas. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had an issue with kids running up and down the halls and it was immediately addressed after calling the front desk. The breakfast could use a few more choices, but good enough. The pool and hot tub were very nice. My husband I would stay here again without a doubt ! March 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Two queens instead of a King We prepaid for our room, which included one King bed. When we checked in, we ended up with two Queen beds, and the rooms with one King bed were all sold out. Oh well... Other than that, the hotel was absolutely fine, and we'll definitely stay there again if we're in the area. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable We enjoy Holiday Inn Express, and the Rochester, NH inn is no exception. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast, and nice pool and great location, close to stores and trails. :-) February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in RochesterNH The staff is very friendly the pool is great and Jacuzzi the breakfast buffet is awesome very nice and clean rooms!!! February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by True New England Hospitality My family recently stayed for a long weekend at this property. The staff was very helpful, kind. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was spacious and clean. The heater took a few minutes to figure out but once we did it was fine. I would definitely stay here again. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room the room was fine but the tub drained very slow when down taking a shower you were standing in 4" of water . the toilet rock when you were sitting on it and the sink drained very slow I did not report this January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great walk in shower. Great location off of the highway. Always very clean, great staff. The only thing missing is a in room refrig ,and a safe. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk and breakfast staff Very good checking in Sandy was very helpful. Being a member they already upgraded my room to suite but she noticed I went from original room with 2 beds to 1 king bed. So she changed it to 2 bed suite. Also asked if I would like a late check out put down now and I could check out earlier if I wanted to. The breakfast was very good and the person was well attentive to our needs. Even stayed open longer then the 0930 closing. Asked for last call when she was really shutting it down. The only complained was the house keeping people were very very loud in the morning waking us up. They sounded like they were shouting in the hall. Have a little respect on noise control for those needing quiet and privacy. Otherwise this place is great and I stay there a lot. December 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, quiet, very good breakfast selections. For the area it was an excellent choice for a family gathering. It was clean and the beds and shower were great. The staff was very courteous. December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed, room, and friendly staff! Can't say enough about our stay! Our visit with family was very hectic so getting back to our room was our opportunity to decompress and relax! The room was very comfortable...and so was the bed! Just wonderful! December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relation Plus! What can I say, we love the Rochester, NH Holiday Inn Express. Simply the best! November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by TV service I travel a lot and this is a good place with friendly people. However they have the worst picture quality on HD TV's I have ever seen. it's time to upgrade to HD programming on the HDTV's they already have. November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nicerstay some road noise but able to sleep. Nice Mexican restaurant next door. Good travel location because near most highways. Staff friendly and considerate. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! Whenever the rates are good we love to stay. We have family members who live in Rochester, and it is a convenient place to stay. Never had a problem, staff is very friendly. Have been staying there with my husband since they built it. October 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay But What About Breakfast? We decided it would be a good place to stop in our travel. Just booked a night there, driving thru the area for our vacation. My room was nice. It was really close to the pool. The area around the hotel was pretty quiet, and there was a convenient store and diner just walking distance from the hotel. Room was nice, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was not what I expected. We called it breakfast via the one man band. First of all, there wasn't much hot food out at all.The one man band plays the same tune all over: grease, grease, grease, and more grease!!! The food was very greasy. Big disappointment! I'm not accustomed to eating meals at the Holiday Inn Express like this! October 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Whirl pool was awesome!!!!!! The room was all right. The lighting in the bathroom and living room wasn't enough especiality in the bathroom. The whirlpool was awesome. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay Well located, reasonably priced and comfortable rooms. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable I was impressed with the comfort and cleanliness of the hotel. Breakfast was fabulous. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Holiday Inn Express is consistently Good In a ten day leisure trip, we stayed at a new hotel every night. The Holiday Inn Express is always a good choice, and we'll stay again. October 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average price for a good room & good service Our room appeared and smelled clean but it was a very basic room. A bed, two night stands, a desk & office chair, a lounge chair and ottoman, a dresser, TV and bathroom. No fridge or microwave. The king bed was average to one notch above average in comfort. There was 4 pillows, 2 softer, 2 firmer. The sheets smelled and felt clean as did the towels in the bathroom. Our only real complaint with the room, if you even want to go as far as to call it a complaint, was that we could hear too much noise/activity in the hall, other nearby rooms and stairwell that was also near our room. In the morning I very clearly heard what sounded like someone repeatedly tapping a razor against the sink while shaving. This went on for between twenty minutes to a half an hour so apparently it must have been the wolfman prepping for his long day at the office. The included breakfast was horrible even by average hotel standards. Many items weren't labeled and everything was as bland and tasteless as can possibly be. Next to the fake looking & tasting omlets was what I thought had to be some kind of corned beef hash or something but it looked almost exactly like VOMIT! Just what a freshly shaved, hungry wolfman wants to see or (gulp!) eat to start his grueling day! Everyone that walked up to that serving station made a comment or a funny face when they saw that gunk. I didn't see anyone try it and the weak coffee tasted like dirty water. The hotel staff that I interacted with briefly were very pleasant but my interaction with them was very short lived. This place is middle of the road overall, not the worst but not the best and for what we got charged for the room per night, I expect better and the experience should be better. October 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service and management response Afternoon front desk associate was rude and unhelpful Management failed to respond in a timely manner even after Reporting to IHG customer relations October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We like this hotel This was our second stay at this property. It is a bit further away from UNH than we would like, but it is cheaper and has a better rating that the Holiday Inn Express in Durham. The staff is very nice and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. We like the King mini suite, as there is a nice couch to relax on while watching TV. On our first stay, we were on the third floor on the road side. There was some traffic noise in the morning. Our latest stay put us on the first floor away from the road. It was totally quiet. We are on our way by 7AM, so we have not experienced the included breakfast. There a lot of hotels in Portsmith, which is about 10 miles closer to UNH, but their prices are outrageous. We have already booked two more stays at this hotel for the coming months. BTW, one of the hotel staff recommended the Granite Steak and Grill, which is just down the road. We have had two excellent meals there. Highly recommended. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We stayed with our dog Very convenient and great location for the fall foliage viewing. The $50 charge for the dog seems a bit severe but I suppose not all travelling pet owners are so responsible. We put down a blanket on the sofa and another mat on the floor so our dog could rest and not be disturbed. One odd thing was we were placed in a room on the 3rd floor near the elevator bank, which meant there was alot of noise which caused the dog to bar early in the morning. Perhaps at check -in we should have asked about room location - next time. Otherwise, fantastic stay, great hosts and convenient location. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HIX in Rochester Loved this hotel EXCEPT for the bed. Wow! I guess when ther matress supplier said "Firm." they said "You betcha!!" That thing was a rock! Otherwise, the hotel was relatively new and very clean. The staff were friendly and attentive. The breakfast was above par for this class of hotel. The hotel is situated with it's end toward NH Route 11, which gets very busy in the early morning. If' you are a light sleeper I recommend a room at the other end. October 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Reception
Select to close.
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express.  Enjoy free wifi, free breakfast, and your choice of pillows.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading