• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DURHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Fifty dollar non refundable pets fee Pets not to be left unattended in rooms Pet friendly rooms are located on the first floor Pet Policy is required to be signed at check in
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking. One vehicle per room. Oversized vehicles not permitted. Parking permit required. Overflow parking may be available at UNH or the Town Offices.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:68
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:43
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other
View More
Welcome! Stay Smart with us at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Durham - UNH. The Holiday Inn Express-Durham/UNH is conveniently located in Southern NH. We are within walking distance to the University of New Hampshire as well as historic downtown Durham. Business guests appreciate the Durham, NH hotel's location at the UNH campus as well as our proximity to area companies. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Liberty Mutual and Goss International are just a short drive away. Phillips Exeter Academy and other schools are nearby as well. We offer free high-speed, wired and Wi-Fi access in all of our smoke free guest rooms, as well as complimentary use of our business center to help make your hotel stay convenient. This location makes us a part of the UNH community, so we're the ideal accommodations for prospective students and parents. The Whittemore Arena, home of the UNH Wildcat hockey team, is just moments up the road. You can take a tour of Redhook Brewery or search for great deals at the Kittery Outlets. We're close to Portsmouth, Rochester, Exeter and Dover for fun filled day trips. Our pet-friendly and 100% smoke-free hotel welcomes your pets with a one time non-refundable fee. We offer terrific facilities like our fitness center which has a TV to make those miles fly by. Join us for a free, daily breakfast buffet. Our hotel’s amenities and unbeatable location next to UNH, and in the heart of NH’s Seacoast, makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel.
View Less
Features
Our Durham, NH hotel's location at the University of New Hampshire makes us the best choice for business and leisure travel. Besides location, we offer great amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 101 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dont be late for breakfast at this Holiday Inn!! Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was clean, and well kept. The front staff was courteous and accommodating. The breakfast was similar to what they offer at their other locations, and what you would expect. Unfortunately for us, we arrived about ten minutes of the breakfast closing. We were rushed to get something, as the staff was not replenishing anything (I asked if there was any more bread, and was told that was it) There were about 11 people at the time I was there, each trying to scarf down their breakfast, because at exactly 10 am, things were put away in a span of less than five minutes. The staff was actually taking away the milk when I asked if I could have it for my coffee, and she told me "there are creamers." I appreciate the breakfast is only offered for a specific time, but it was rude to start dismantling the breakfast as people were still standing and serving themselves. I've stayed at other chains when breakfast goes slightly beyond, but have never seen this before. Perhaps a "last call" would have been more appropriate for those who did arrive late, or who were taking their time eating their breakfast. Oh, and a good morning would have been nice as well! August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great all around stay. Our stay was great. Three families with kids of all ages, and everyone was happy with the entire 2 day stay. They especially enjoyed the pool, but wish it would have been a little larger. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service, clean hotel, great breakfast. Will visit again. August 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and property seemed new Large room very clean, easy for family of four. Had mini fridge and microwave. Breakfast included made it a good value. Will stay here again. Gd. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location I had nice staying with you. I felt safe , comfortable and relax. Hope to stay here again. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean.quiet and comfortable. One night unplanned visit.Easy online reservations.Would recommend making this your first choice. August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable setting and good breakfast This location was perfect spot as a via point to our destination. We enjoyed a good nights sleep and a good breakfast in the morning. August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for a family We stayed one night on a mini road trip through NH. The four of us (two adults and two small children) has a mom smoking two queen bed room that was very clean and fairly updated with an average amount if space. Everything worked well. Probably the only complaint I could even have was the lumpy pillows. The staff was extremely friendly and our visit was seamless. August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by sweet breakfast We stayed here one night while attending a concert in Gilford. Like every HIE I have stayed at the hotel and service were impeccable. Of special note was the free breakfast. It was hot and had an excellent choice of items. Kudos to the hard working buffet staff who kept the whole thing moving smoothly( especially in light of the 10-12 yr old kid who helped himself to at least a pound of bacon when there was a lineup behind him. Nice job on raising him parents.) We plan to attend another show next year and will definitely make this our 1st choice... Thx Ray August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A "regular stop" for us On the occasion when we get to visit with my son and his family (we are from out if state), the Rochester, NH is where my wife and I always stay. We find the people very friendly, our room is always clean, comfortable and quiet. The location is convenient to our family and many points of interest through proximity of good highways. I really have no negatives except that I can find better prices elsewhere...but we like this hotel and it is convenient. I expect it will continue to be our "regular" stop when we get to New Hampshire. The breakfast is good too and I really like the pancake machine. Seems to me as if there was bacon on previous visits, which I missed in our stay last week. Still, the sausage is good and breakfast generally has something for everyone. I really believe that you can't go wrong here and I am confident in recommending it for when your travels bring you to Rochester, NH or nearby. We will be back. Discounts are available if you hunt around a bit, especially AAA and the like and they do bring down the price a bit #not high in the first place#. Next time I will try calling the desk directly. I hear that better rates can be obtained directly if you pay in advance with a no-cancellation agreement. We'll see. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, safe and conveniently located Value was most important to us. The customer service is consistent with happy, helpful representatives. The location is very important to us. It was easy to find. This was the second time we stayed at this location and happy to say everything stayed the same! August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Enjoyed everything about the hotel. Will always come back to this hotel. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, nice room Convenient stop prior to dropping my child at camp. Breakfast adequate but served with plastic cutlery and bowls. Nice option of soft and firm pillows. Have used this place a few times now. July 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service once again Stayed at this hotel in the last week of June. Booked "3" Non smoking rooms way back in February. Upon check in (which was in the early afternoon) I was told 2 of the rooms were "non" smoking and the 3rd was not. Was told the 3rd room was a "last resort" smoking room so sometimes it's used for smoking. Staff told me they "sprayed" it down so it shouldn't smell. Guess what it did. Once you smoke in a room the smell never leaves.... Extremely poor planning and service by the staff here. 2 weeks prior to this also had 3 rooms booked for a 2 night stay. Canceled "by phone" the 2nd night of 2 of the rooms and held one of them for 2 nights. Upon checking in they canceled all 3 rooms for the 2nd night stay., which leads me to believe they have some staff of scheduling issues here. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rochester NH overall is a excellent place to stay. Stayed one nignt no issues... July 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by everything was as expected no surprises Have visited this property before, nice Arrived late and everything was in order July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The staff was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable . I did however think the rooms are overpriced They are the only hotel in town and there prices reflect it. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice to be home again Have not seen my wonderful friends at the HIE in a few months. Was so good to go back and get our comfortable room and see lots of smiling faces. Still our #1 hotel. June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I have been staying here for months now during the week for work, The staff is great, the hotel has everything you need and is a nice location. The room is always perfect. It is a newer hotel. It has a great Mexican restaurant next to it, a gas station/mini mart and a Dunkin Donuts and other restaurants and a Wallmart down the street. You can not get more convenient then this place. In four months of staying here I have never had a single problem. They are always waiting for you to arrive - check it takes seconds as they are very efficient. We have used the Pool, the Gym, the Laundry machines, the kitchen provides a nice basic breakfast every morning and you can always get coffee/tea any time. The have a computer you can use that has a printer and also Wifi in the rooms which we use every day - once in 4 months of staying there they had a wifi outage which is very good. Most important of all we feel very safe here when staying at this hotel. We are also confident that the staff will always be there to address any needs if any. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and staff team any day. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by well maintained, new, clean Very Nice Hotel for the area. Room rate is excellent. We had a wonderful time in pool with our granddaughter and we loved the relaxation of the Jacuzzi. We will definitely return. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as always! We are frequent guests as our family lives nearby. The staff knows us and our family . We are always treated cordially and made to feel special. We are looking forward to our next visit. April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome stay always thanks for another nice stay. love this holiday inn! i'll be back! March 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Professional service We have been using Holiday Inn, Rochester for over a year and have noticed a couple of issues. During our last stay there was a large black stain on our carpet. Normally, our room is perfect. We have also experienced major problems connecting to the internet when we are on the first floor, even when I am sitting in the hall - UNDER THE ROUTER. I was able to bring my laptop to the front desk and connect there. Needless to say, it was frustrating. My husband noticed that the breakfast lady coughs on the food without covering her mouth. And he finds hair in his food on a regular basis. We will continue to use your facility. Perfect location for visiting the grandkids! March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay My husband and I stayed one night do to a snow storm in the area. The room was very nice, the bed was very comfortable. We did have a problem with the smoke smell in the hallway neither of us smoke and we could really smell stale cigarette smoke. My husband enjoyed the breakfast, I was unable to join him because I had to be at work for 7:00 am and they did not start serving until 7:00 am I would suggest an earlier time for breakfast to begin. The staff were very friendly and they helped to upgrade our room from a non refigerated to a refigerator and a microwave room. We would stay again and we would recommend this hotel to others. March 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific Hotel - Home Away From Home I always can say the same wonderful things about the Holiday Inn Express. Our #1 hotel to stay in while we are visiting the Rochester NH area. Great Staff, Great Price, Great Service. February 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rates for our family This hotel gave us great service and prices while coming to NH for a Memorial service for our mother. Our visit for two days was nothing but the best, including the staff, very helpful, the rooms and cleanliness of the hotel, the pool and hot tub, the continental breakfast, outstanding, and games provided for children and adults in the breakfast area room. Overall, highly recommended for us to stay and visit again. We all say thank you for a job well done and look forward to seeing all of you again in the future. Keep up the great work. Also, during the blizzard, that we were there, if you asked any staff for help in getting your car unstuck, they assisted . February 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Second Home As always our stay was wonderful. Able to relax, enjoy movies and great breakfast. The staff is terrific and so accomodating. Would tell everyone to stay at this Hotel - its the best!!! January 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was horrible Tired of staying at HIE and the beds are so bad. Mattress too firm and cheap bedding. It also had some kind of plastic/rubber sheet under a very skimpy sheet. It was like sleeping on a plastic bag and sweat collected and got all wet. Yuk! HIE is dropping off, this is what I'm finding here in the northeast, have had this experience at other HIE's. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend The stay was for 2 nights, Dec.30 and Dec 31st .It was Great. Enjoyed the pool and the room as well, very quit ,very relaxing. I would plan on staying at this location again. Thanks January 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable I have stayed at this HI Express a number of times, it is always clean and the rooms are always comfortable, especially the beds. The staff have always been nice and very pleasant. I recommend staying here , I know that if I need a room in the Rochester area, I will stay here again. January 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading