• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-16-2014)
(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.4KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. Hungarian
  4. Polish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Dynamic Earth
Distance From Hotel:3.0KM
Attraction:
EICC
Distance From Hotel:4.0KM
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:3.0KM
Attraction:
David Lloyd Leisure Club
Distance From Hotel:2.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • 60 spaces around hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:145
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:145
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Stay in our brilliant bed and breakfast hotel for your sightseeing trip to Edinburgh.

Only 2 miles from the city centre and Waverley Station, our hotel in the vibrant area of Leith Harbour is an ideal base to experience the best of Edinburgh.

On the scenic Leith Quay, you can enjoy some of the finest restaurants in the country or browse through the stylish boutiques of Ocean Terminal.

The special Royal Yacht Britannia, only 5-minutes on foot from our hotel is well
View More

Stay in our brilliant bed and breakfast hotel for your sightseeing trip to Edinburgh.

Only 2 miles from the city centre and Waverley Station, our hotel in the vibrant area of Leith Harbour is an ideal base to experience the best of Edinburgh.

On the scenic Leith Quay, you can enjoy some of the finest restaurants in the country or browse through the stylish boutiques of Ocean Terminal.

The special Royal Yacht Britannia, only 5-minutes on foot from our hotel is well worth a visit. Of course, no trip to Edinburgh is complete without a visit to Edinburgh Castle on the Royal Mile. With a 10-minute bus trip, you’ll be in the heart of the city for all the attractions of the Edinburgh Festivals.

Plan your perfect day out over your Free buffet breakfast, complete with a tasty selection of hot and continental items for all our guests. As under 18’s stay for Free in our Edinburgh hotel, you can save even more money for your family break in Edinburgh. Free parking at our hotel will make sure you can bring the car without paying for expensive city charges.

When looking for a handy hotel in Edinburgh to stay in on business, our en-suite and air-conditioned guest rooms help you get that comfortable and quiet night’s rest. Catch up with your emails using our Free Wi-Fi or relax with a whisky in our stylish lounge bar.

View Less
Features
Enjoy the best of both worlds at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Waterfront hotel. Our location in Leith Harbour is a peaceful base just minutes from Edinburgh's vibrant city centre and world-famous attractions including the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 262 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Place To Stay Stayed here as going to the Playhouse which is directly across the road. Staff friendly and helpful, spotless throughout, room was comfortable, teas made in the room. Central point to go out and about. Hot breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, sausages, beans and toast, (a bit of bacon would have been nice but that's just my preference), plenty cereal, yoghurt, fruit, etc, spoiled for choice. Would definitely stay here again and will definitely recommend it. February 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Handy for Playhouse and parking Comfortable bed. Good breakfast choices. Great system for discounted parking February 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality of Service We stay fairly regularly at Holiday Inn hotels and at least one every year at Picardy Place. We are always impressed with the attitude of the staff who are friendly and polite. We are also certain that the room will be very clean and comfortable and this is a consistent quality of Holiday Inns in the UK Staff respond promptly to enquiries and issues. We reported that our kettle wasn't working and within an hour a maintenance engineer came to the room. I also like the provision of Broughton Ales in the bar, which is a local beer. Not all Holiday Inn stock such local, almost specialist beer. February 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent HIX Excellent stay in a great location in Edinburgh. Staff excellent and friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay here again review by Platinum Ambassador. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend away First time we have stayed at the Holiday inn, we enjoyed the location of the Holiday Inn. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Lovely lady on reception when we checked in, very helpful advising where we could eat as we were late checking in. Been to Edinburgh lots of time before so we do know our way around. We would stay again most definitely. : ) February 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice for a weekend break Great location for a weekend break. Very comfortable room and adequate breakfast to set you up for a days sightseeing. great value for money February 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable , value for money I was amazed at the service and quality of the Hotel . I had stayed at the Hilton in SanFrancisco last September and I find it difficult to believe that this modest Hotel came up thrumps in comparison to a well known brand . Will definitely use the chain again . Location was great, it was adequate for the 2 nights stay and having breakfast on site was really handy . Slight criticism is the lack of an extractor fan in the bathroom ,which upon first entry into the room makes it smell a bit damp/musky . However it becomes less obvious once you are settled in or shut the bathroom door. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good large room great shower. Booked on line with ease room ready on arrival. Given twin room instead of double but as only staying one night it was no problem. Staff friendly and very helpful booking in and out offered to keep luggage if needed. Breakfast was Luke warm but plenty of it. Would use Holiday express again and recommend it to others. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First class location The location is excellent with Edinburgh city centre right there. We were lucky to be able to park in the hotel car park and the rate was well worth it. The room was spotless and very comfortable with no external noise. Breakfast was an added bonus. We will certainly stay here again and have no hesitation recommending this hotel. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for city and theatre A perfect stay, we stayed for 2 nights. Quiet and peaceful nights sleep. January 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cheeky night in Edinburgh Stayed at this hotel for the first time using my points. 3 of us in the room and the room was more than comfortable enough (my wife and I plus my 16 year old son). Hotel is in a fantastic location, is easy to find and the the overall standard is much better than other HIE's I have stayed in. Breakfast is free, so hard to complain about it and certainly plenty of choice. Heating on everywhere made the hotel very hot for a local - but then with a lot of foreign visitors from warmer climates maybe that is what they needed. Huge waste of energy though! Fancy a weekend in Edinburgh, for the price, given the location and quality, you can;t really do any better. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Stayed for two nights,very clean and comfortable,staff made you feel very welcome,room totally adequate for our needs. Breakfast set us up for our visit around Edinburgh,the hotel is very well situated for the center of Edinburgh. We will use this hotel again, highly recommended . January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value The location of the hotel is excellent right in city centre across from playhouse. Staff friendly and polite. Room basic but very clean and what I would expect for the money and star rating. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcomed & Looked after We were welcomed from the moment we walked in, until we departed...staff were pleasant, helpful & courteous. The location was ideal for walking anywhere in Old or New Edinburgh, and it was only 30-45 mins walk down to Leith. The rooms were clean, facilities more than adequate...sufficient breakfasts...and all very good value. Would recommend to anyone...we've used Holiday Inn Express before...and will use them again in future. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value The room was was perfectly adequate for our needs and the double bed very comfortable. Slept like a log after each day walking round Edinburgh! Great value for money for B&B. Altho after 2 days I was a bit bored with the hot choice of scrambled egg, sausage & beans again for breakfast it was still very good value for money. Hotel was in a good situation to get to town (10 mins walk to centre) for shops, train or bus to Airport. Plenty of restaurants/take aways around. Plus a small supermarket a few doors along for essentials. Overall excellent value, would come again.. January 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 wi-fi very poor wi-fi [free] every 2 min dont work.everything its very good,location ,exellent,and the next time a stay here January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mini break with friends Spent last Saturday night with two friends at this fabulous location! handy for shopping, eating out and theatre. Could not fault anything, thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone spending time in Edinburgh. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and helpful staff This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express so we didn't know much about this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. The staff at reception were very helpful even telling us breakfast was complimentary [the breakfast was excellent] Our room was spotless and very comfortable and we would certainly use H.I.E again January 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time stay will definatly be back This was the first time iv stayed here could not fault this hotel everything was perfect January 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded Expectations We stayed at this hotel for two nights and are very happy to recommend it. The location is excellent: walking distance from Waverley station, the castle, and many of the city's tourist sites, shopping locations and entertainment venues. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the staff are extremely helpful. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean, though fairly small - which did not really matter for our short stay. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Not a great variety but quite enough to start the day - and, as with the hotel in general, it exceeded our expectations. Our only criticism was the constant loud music in the lounge/breakfast area. It's probably set to one (high) volume level regardless of how many people are in the room, but we found it quite intrusive. Our daughter lives in a tiny apartment just a short walk away from the hotel, so we'll certainly stay at the hotel again, particularly as the room price is substantially less than that of other hotels and B&Bs in the area. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Had a great time in the hotel from the minute we booked in the girl on the desk was very friendly and explained everything , made you feel very welcome The room was clean had everything you want if not you just have to ask ! Bed was comfortable plenty hot water for our showers Breakfast was good had plenty of choice checking out was simple January 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not enough space for breakfast and bed really uncomfortable Hotel in good central location and overall kept clean. First morning there were hardly any tables left for breakfast and people were bumping into each other as dining area was too cramped. Both toasters weren't working and staff took ages to get it sorted. Room was adequate although a little small. Bed was very uncomfortable. Very disappointed that none of the staff were Scottish which was shocking considering we were in Edinburgh!! Think hotel groups need to start recruiting people from their local communities and give something back to local economies. Overall very disappointed even for a budget hotel given that I have stayed in two others this year alone!! Would not recommend at all. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location, clean and great facilities We stayed here while seeing a musical at the Playhouse directly opposite. Plenty bars close by. Central location. Clean room with everything you need, funky lighting in bathroom! Very reasonable rates. Staff very helpful. Car parking available at extra cost. Only thing which I would have changed was providing more milk etc for tea and coffee and the single glazing lets in a lot of noise from the street and rattles when buses go past. Didn't stop us sleeping though and there is a tesco express next door so I bought more milk there. We went down for breakfast and couldn't get a seat so had to come back later and there wasn't much choice left. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great central location with friendly efficient staff , room was spotless and breakfast was adequate in the morning . Would stay again next time in Edinburgh . January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient, good value and so comfotable. We had a great stay, it was perfect in every way and so convenient. I have already recommended your hotel to various friends and family. Thank you so much, January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and met all our requirements On visiting Edinburgh with an overnight stay our first check is always with Holiday Inn Express we only use it for leisure breaks normally theatre visits and it is so perfectly located and has everything we require and the cost is always perfect for us. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location and Good Value Very good location for exploring Edinburgh on foot, with great bus links nearby. Good value (although we booked well ahead), and very comfortable room, only slightly spoiled by a huge pillar blocking the view of the television from the bed (although the rest of the room was great and roomy, with benefit of sofa bed). On arrival, both the TV Remote control and the telephone didn't work, so had obviously not been checked by the room cleaning staff. Quickly resolved by handyman Christian, though, once reported. Breakfast limited in range, but still ok for an inclusive deal. Exceptionally clean and tidy room. Bag storage willingly arranged on day of arrival and departure. January 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible. I stayed here two nights. Both nights I was woken up by other travellers pulling their suitcase trolleys through the corridor outside my room. They weren't particularly loud but I could hear them very well due to the poor sound insulation. I was woken up before 8am both mornings because the cleaners were terribly loud. I have never experienced anything like this before. They were laughing loudly and shouting from one room to another showing absolutely no consideration of sleeping guests. On the second morning I was woken up at 6am because the TV had switched on automatically. I got up to switch it off and went back to sleep. Half an hour later the same thing happened again. I am guessing it was switched on by the signal from a remote in another room nearby. I forgot my power adaptor and phone charger and called the hotel as soon as I noticed. I asked the woman on the phone to mail the items to me. She arranged this but I had to pay for the postage myself. January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great hotel and room, staff very helpful and knowlegeable January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great central location attended the Edinburgh playhouse and found the hotel fantastic value for money good size room and cleanliness friendly staff great breakfast . will stay again thanks January 9, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront
Select to close.
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront Your Holiday Inn Express hotel in Edinburgh Waterfront A warm welcome awaits at our Edinburgh hotel Our Reception is open 24 hours a day for your convenience Relax in our lobby lounge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay revved up.