• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.4KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. Hungarian
  4. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed free of charge with prior notice

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Scottish Government Offices
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
David Lloyd Leisure Club
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Botanic Gardens
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
National Gallery of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • 60 spaces around hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:145
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:145
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Stay in our brilliant bed and breakfast hotel for your sightseeing trip to Edinburgh.

Only 2 miles from the city centre and Waverley Station, our hotel in the vibrant area of Leith Harbour is an ideal base to experience the best of Edinburgh.

On the scenic Leith Quay, you can enjoy some of the finest restaurants in the country or browse through the stylish boutiques of Ocean Terminal.

The special Royal Yacht Britannia, only 5-minutes on foot from our hotel is well worth a
View More

Stay in our brilliant bed and breakfast hotel for your sightseeing trip to Edinburgh.

Only 2 miles from the city centre and Waverley Station, our hotel in the vibrant area of Leith Harbour is an ideal base to experience the best of Edinburgh.

On the scenic Leith Quay, you can enjoy some of the finest restaurants in the country or browse through the stylish boutiques of Ocean Terminal.

The special Royal Yacht Britannia, only 5-minutes on foot from our hotel is well worth a visit. Of course, no trip to Edinburgh is complete without a visit to Edinburgh Castle on the Royal Mile. With a 10-minute bus trip, you’ll be in the heart of the city for all the attractions of the Edinburgh Festivals.

Plan your perfect day out over your inclusive buffet breakfast, complete with a tasty selection of hot and continental items for all our guests. As under 18’s stay for Free in our Edinburgh hotel, you can save even more money for your family break in Edinburgh. Free parking at our hotel will make sure you can bring the car without paying for expensive city charges.

When looking for a handy hotel in Edinburgh to stay in on business, our en-suite and air-conditioned guest rooms help you get that comfortable and quiet night’s rest. Catch up with your emails using our Free Wi-Fi or relax with a whisky in our stylish lounge bar.

View Less
Features
Enjoy the best of both worlds at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Waterfront hotel. Our location in Leith Harbour is a peaceful base just minutes from Edinburgh's vibrant city centre and world-famous attractions including the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 261 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shame about the poor service The hotel staff seemed uninterested in this hotel. The Indigo Newcastle and Liverpool are a different class in terms of customer service. With loads of choice for the consumer when booking hotels I always thought that the hotel Indigo really stood apart with great customer service. That was until Edinburgh. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Glad we choose this hotel, had a two night stay. Good location , tram stop at the door, bus terminus a very short walk away, and easy walking distance to shops and sights. Staff very helpful, great breakfast cooked to order. Stored our bags after check out time as we wanted to do a bit more sightseeing , would we stay there again , definitely ! July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay The cleaness of the room, comfortable bed and lovely modern decor of this hotel complimented our stay at Edinburgh. Helpful staff and the location is great just a few minutes away from the centre. Wifi is free and we really appreciate the free mini bar items especially the water and fresh milk, which were replenished daily. Would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers. July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location, disappointing stay Room was small (which I expect in the UK). But, it was also laid out poorly. One person would have had no issue with the room, but two people would find the room we had a bit cramped. When going in opposite directions, we found ourselves climbing over the bed to get across the room, because only one person could fit between the bed and the wall. Sitting area was nice, but I would have sacrificed it for more space in the main area of the room. Breakfast was an absolute rip off. Skip it and go buy a scone down the street for 1/4 the price. Staff service below expectations. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, helpful and friendly staff I spent two nights as a tourist, then left for 3 nights and returned for 2 more nights. They were very willing to allow us to keep our large bags there for our return. They also packed us a breakfast on the final day when we had a 7 AM flight. I have a hard time commenting well on value as the dollar is rather weak relative to the pound now, so everything seems expensive. We never used the fitness room, but it is rather small. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay A lovely experience with very accommodating staff. Would visit again and recommend to others. July 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by wasn't all that impressed. I couldn't find the switch to turn off the blue light in the washroom and enjoyed a view of a brick wall. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great guest service - would highly recommend We stayed for our wedding and could not fault the staff, the service or the hotel rooms we had. Many thanks to Daniel and the team. From reception staff to bar staff to housekeeping. Everyone was friendly helpful and attentive. We would definitely recommend friends and family to stay here. Many thanks June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great spot great hotel in a great location with wonderful staff and a room with everything you need in and more! June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful hotel I only stayed here for one night but what a discovery! I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world and Indigo stands out as one of the best. Small, welcoming, very quiet and comfortable and lots of extras - like the Aveda toiletries and the free mini bar. I will never stay anywhere but here next time I am in Edinburgh. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tolles Hotel an guter Lage. Tolles, modernes Hotel an guter Lage. Das neue Tram fährt direkt vom Flughafen vor die Haustüre des Hotels. Sehr komfortables Zimmer und Bad mit gratis Getränke in der Minibar. Das Bett war etwas hoch aber die Matratze sehr bequem. June 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room shame about the location of rooms On arriving at Hotel Indigo our first impressions were that it looked modern, inviting and we were looking forward to seeing our room. We had booked the Hotel Indigo's Junior Suite as this stay was a mini moon after we got married. The reception staff were friendly and talkative and genuinely seemed interested in speaking to us. However all went wrong when we arrived at our room. First of all the way to our room was like a warren, we felt like we were getting taken to the depths of the hotel, I suppose on the other hand understandable given the type of old building. When we arrived in our room, the first thing we noticed was that we were just below ground..... this meant that the only natural light came from patio doors which showed people's feet going by and people being able to see in from further across the road- no privacy at all- given this was a mini moon (which we had told the hotel of) we were extremely disappointed that we couldn't open the alarmed doors a smidge and that we had to then close the curtains for privacy. I went back to reception to ask for the situation to be rectify by transferring us to another room. I was advised that apart from one other Junior suite on the 4th Floor that all other Junior Suites were on the same floor and position as ours. I find this extremely bad planning. When you pay a lot more for a room you expect to be given the best position of room. I didn't mind being at the front just not when people can actually look in and no natural air is able to come into the room which made it stuffy. The reception staff didn't apologise and advised they would speak to the manager and get back to me regarding the issues.... I am still waiting to this day. The fourth floor Junior suite had been occupied from the prior eveing for three days, so understandably not available to move to. I can say the room was clean, fresh and modern with a gorgeous bathroom and shower. I know that a hotel room is just a room and that you are barely in it but after coming from Australia and staying with relatives to get married we were looking forward to having a honeymoon expierence. I was so disappointed. The breakfast was gorgeous in the morning and checkout was not until 12noon which was extremely generous. I am sure the standard rooms were nice but please don't pay extra for the junior suites unless you are able to get the fourth floor one. The Trams had just started right outside the hotel, so every 10minutes the bleeping for the tram became a permanent fixture. I can imagine people paying a premium will start complaining about this. Wouldn't reccommend due to the room location unfortunately. Such a shame as otherwise a nice place to stay overall. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic rooms Had a wonderful stay, we had twin room which was a very big room. The beds were king, huge and very comfy, although a little on the high side! Bathroom was very spacious with bath and a huge shower. Only wish I had a shower like it at home. Staff were all very nice and helpful. Ideal location with the Tram stop just outside the hotel, which makes it very easy to get to the heart of the city. We hope to come back and stay again! June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great City Centre Hotel The Indigo is a great asset to the IHG hotels. The Indigo Edinburgh is friendly and comfortable. The rooms, while not huge, are big enough for a few nights stay. Well appointed and well maintained. Larger than average shower cubicle with a great "soaker" shower head. The new Edinburgh trams stop right outside the Indigo so its easy for commuting (as long as where you want to go has a nearbytram stop). Highly recommend the Indigo Edinburgh! June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Television Channel Option The only criticism of my stay this time was that there were not sports channels available in the room I stayed in (221) June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good, value for money hotel Very clean, comfortable room. Bathroom very good. Poor air conditioning ie did not work. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay We couldn't have asked for a better experience on our first trip to Scotland. Every member of the staff was so gracious and helpful. Our room was perfect. Every request was handled immediately and professionally. i would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Edinburgh. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little disappointed It was an expensive stay and whilst the hotel looks lovely, better attention to detail would justify the cost. The quality of the food was excellent - the breakfast service was a little slow and slightly chaotic. King size beds aren't - if you wanta king-size bed, book a super-king room otherwise you will be disappointed as we were. June 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel Experience I've Ever Had I had spent time reviewing the available accommodation in Edinburgh and decided to pay a bit extra to stay at the Hotel Indigo as it had received good reviews and from the promo photos the rooms looked well designed and very spacious. But beware, this is not the case. We were allocated room 102, this room was just behind reception, it was tiny and so unlike any of the rooms in the photos, the view from the window was of a brick wall there were also two other poorly located rooms sharing the same bleak view of brick wall and metal ducting pipes. It was impossible to get any rest due to the location and poor build of the room, being the first room in the corridor to pass to get to any other room on the floor, there was noise coming from people passing constantly through the day and night, the door on the room is woefully under insulated with beams of light coming through the bottom and sides of the door at all hours. If you like to sleep in the dark, this is not the hotel for you. The air conditioning wasn't working, parking is expensive and an extra, breakfast is expensive and an extra whilst also being very, very average. When checking out the receptionist asked if i enjoyed my stay, i gave my honest feedback, i was offered a better room for my next stay to which i responded, "i would never stay in the Hotel Indigo in Edinburgh ever again". That was the end of the transaction and the miserable experience at this overrated, overpriced hotel. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little disappointing overall The hotel is partnered with the venue where the wedding was held that we travelled to Edinburgh to attend & therefore they normally do a wedding rate for guests. As it was the marathon weekend in Edinburgh, the hotel increased their prices & did not honour this arrangement. We asked to change rooms when we arrived as our room overlooked the kitchen extraction ducts & despite being described as "King Size" it wasn't. This hotel describes Queen size beds as King so if you want a King Size you need to book Super-King. The request was accommodated but it took a while to sort out having initially been told we would have to wait until the following day to change. The food quality at breakfast was excellent although the service & organisation was a little chaotic. The decor is lovely, and the super-king size rooms were spacious & well-equipped (beautiful shower but no baths) Overall,I didn't feel our £600 bill for 4 nights represented value for money. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo Queen Street Edinburgh LOVED this hotel. Didn't look much from the outside but the rooms, lounge and bar were all lovely. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant hotel if a little overheated Really good hotel in every respect except that no fresh air was available in the room. Brilliant décor and very generous goodies. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by really good experience This hotel is next to the city centre and has a bright friendly atmosphere. The staff are most helpful. The rooms are to a high standard and very comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location During our trip to Edinburgh, it was a great location for us to stay and allowed us easy access to all of the sites. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Night in Edinburgh Hotel is nice but for the money paid the room was very small. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay and beautiful hotel My boyfriend and I came here for a weekend and the hotel was perfect. Ideal location right in the centre and walking distance from main attractions. The hotels decor was beautiful and the rooms where spotless. The staff where very helpful and made us feel welcome. We visit Edinburgh once a month and will be staying here again. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay I had a wonderful stay here. The suite was very comfortable & had a great view, could see for miles. The shower was awesome. I liked the furniture, comfy bed, chairs to sit on, etc. The internet didn't work as well as I expected but I didn't want to ding a star for that. Just be aware that the "7 day vouchers" might run out much more quickly. The staff always gave me more vouchers when I asked. They stock the minibar daily, and it's all free. Well done and I hope to return!! May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing hotel, staff and location One of the best hotel experiences I have had. From the time I booked the hotel till checking out, the service was amazing. The hotel is close to the city centre, the rooms are gorgeous and the staff are so helpful. They arranged a special request for me and were quick to respond to any email I sent. Thanks again Charlotte. The room was smart,modern and the bed was so comfy. I would recommend to anyone and I will be staying with this hotel and others in the chain as much as possible in the future. Well worth the money. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gem This hotel was fantastic. The design is super cool, yet comfortable, and the staff was great. It is about .5-1.5 miles walk away from Princes St, and all of the other attractions of the city. The staff are incredibly knowledgeable about the city, and go out of their way to accommodate you. The rooms are pretty big, with a lot of more modern touches. The bathrooms are fantastic, with a huge shower and a rain head. The breakfast was pretty good. Its cheaper if you let them know ahead of time that you want it the next morning. The bar/restaurant is cozy, and was mostly empty when we were there, but the bartender is capable and there is a decent selection of beer, wine, and liquor. I highly recommend this hotel. If we ever come back to Edinburgh we will be staying here, and will investigate other Indigo hotels in other cities when we travel again. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely helpful staff We had a very nice stay at the Indigo. We liked the location - a little separation from all the tourist attractions, but still very walkable. The staff were extremely helpful. The room was clean and the decor fresh and fun. May 20, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront
Select to close.
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront Your Holiday Inn Express hotel in Edinburgh Waterfront A warm welcome awaits at our Edinburgh hotel Our Reception is open 24 hours a day for your convenience Relax in our lobby lounge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading