• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.4KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. Hungarian
  4. Polish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Scottish Government Offices
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
David Lloyd Leisure Club
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Botanic Gardens
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
National Gallery of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • 60 spaces around hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:145
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:145
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Stay in our brilliant bed and breakfast hotel for your sightseeing trip to Edinburgh.

Only 2 miles from the city centre and Waverley Station, our hotel in the vibrant area of Leith Harbour is an ideal base to experience the best of Edinburgh.

On the scenic Leith Quay, you can enjoy some of the finest restaurants in the country or browse through the stylish boutiques of Ocean Terminal.

The special Royal Yacht Britannia, only 5-minutes on foot from our hotel is well
View More

Stay in our brilliant bed and breakfast hotel for your sightseeing trip to Edinburgh.

Only 2 miles from the city centre and Waverley Station, our hotel in the vibrant area of Leith Harbour is an ideal base to experience the best of Edinburgh.

On the scenic Leith Quay, you can enjoy some of the finest restaurants in the country or browse through the stylish boutiques of Ocean Terminal.

The special Royal Yacht Britannia, only 5-minutes on foot from our hotel is well worth a visit. Of course, no trip to Edinburgh is complete without a visit to Edinburgh Castle on the Royal Mile. With a 10-minute bus trip, you’ll be in the heart of the city for all the attractions of the Edinburgh Festivals.

Plan your perfect day out over your inclusive buffet breakfast, complete with a tasty selection of hot and continental items for all our guests. As under 18’s stay for Free in our Edinburgh hotel, you can save even more money for your family break in Edinburgh. Free parking at our hotel will make sure you can bring the car without paying for expensive city charges.

When looking for a handy hotel in Edinburgh to stay in on business, our en-suite and air-conditioned guest rooms help you get that comfortable and quiet night’s rest. Catch up with your emails using our Free Wi-Fi or relax with a whisky in our stylish lounge bar.

View Less
Features
Enjoy the best of both worlds at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Waterfront hotel. Our location in Leith Harbour is a peaceful base just minutes from Edinburgh's vibrant city centre and world-famous attractions including the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 245 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay We couldn't have asked for a better experience on our first trip to Scotland. Every member of the staff was so gracious and helpful. Our room was perfect. Every request was handled immediately and professionally. i would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Edinburgh. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little disappointed It was an expensive stay and whilst the hotel looks lovely, better attention to detail would justify the cost. The quality of the food was excellent - the breakfast service was a little slow and slightly chaotic. King size beds aren't - if you wanta king-size bed, book a super-king room otherwise you will be disappointed as we were. June 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel Experience I've Ever Had I had spent time reviewing the available accommodation in Edinburgh and decided to pay a bit extra to stay at the Hotel Indigo as it had received good reviews and from the promo photos the rooms looked well designed and very spacious. But beware, this is not the case. We were allocated room 102, this room was just behind reception, it was tiny and so unlike any of the rooms in the photos, the view from the window was of a brick wall there were also two other poorly located rooms sharing the same bleak view of brick wall and metal ducting pipes. It was impossible to get any rest due to the location and poor build of the room, being the first room in the corridor to pass to get to any other room on the floor, there was noise coming from people passing constantly through the day and night, the door on the room is woefully under insulated with beams of light coming through the bottom and sides of the door at all hours. If you like to sleep in the dark, this is not the hotel for you. The air conditioning wasn't working, parking is expensive and an extra, breakfast is expensive and an extra whilst also being very, very average. When checking out the receptionist asked if i enjoyed my stay, i gave my honest feedback, i was offered a better room for my next stay to which i responded, "i would never stay in the Hotel Indigo in Edinburgh ever again". That was the end of the transaction and the miserable experience at this overrated, overpriced hotel. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little disappointing overall The hotel is partnered with the venue where the wedding was held that we travelled to Edinburgh to attend & therefore they normally do a wedding rate for guests. As it was the marathon weekend in Edinburgh, the hotel increased their prices & did not honour this arrangement. We asked to change rooms when we arrived as our room overlooked the kitchen extraction ducts & despite being described as "King Size" it wasn't. This hotel describes Queen size beds as King so if you want a King Size you need to book Super-King. The request was accommodated but it took a while to sort out having initially been told we would have to wait until the following day to change. The food quality at breakfast was excellent although the service & organisation was a little chaotic. The decor is lovely, and the super-king size rooms were spacious & well-equipped (beautiful shower but no baths) Overall,I didn't feel our £600 bill for 4 nights represented value for money. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo Queen Street Edinburgh LOVED this hotel. Didn't look much from the outside but the rooms, lounge and bar were all lovely. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant hotel if a little overheated Really good hotel in every respect except that no fresh air was available in the room. Brilliant décor and very generous goodies. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by really good experience This hotel is next to the city centre and has a bright friendly atmosphere. The staff are most helpful. The rooms are to a high standard and very comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location During our trip to Edinburgh, it was a great location for us to stay and allowed us easy access to all of the sites. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Night in Edinburgh Hotel is nice but for the money paid the room was very small. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay and beautiful hotel My boyfriend and I came here for a weekend and the hotel was perfect. Ideal location right in the centre and walking distance from main attractions. The hotels decor was beautiful and the rooms where spotless. The staff where very helpful and made us feel welcome. We visit Edinburgh once a month and will be staying here again. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay I had a wonderful stay here. The suite was very comfortable & had a great view, could see for miles. The shower was awesome. I liked the furniture, comfy bed, chairs to sit on, etc. The internet didn't work as well as I expected but I didn't want to ding a star for that. Just be aware that the "7 day vouchers" might run out much more quickly. The staff always gave me more vouchers when I asked. They stock the minibar daily, and it's all free. Well done and I hope to return!! May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing hotel, staff and location One of the best hotel experiences I have had. From the time I booked the hotel till checking out, the service was amazing. The hotel is close to the city centre, the rooms are gorgeous and the staff are so helpful. They arranged a special request for me and were quick to respond to any email I sent. Thanks again Charlotte. The room was smart,modern and the bed was so comfy. I would recommend to anyone and I will be staying with this hotel and others in the chain as much as possible in the future. Well worth the money. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gem This hotel was fantastic. The design is super cool, yet comfortable, and the staff was great. It is about .5-1.5 miles walk away from Princes St, and all of the other attractions of the city. The staff are incredibly knowledgeable about the city, and go out of their way to accommodate you. The rooms are pretty big, with a lot of more modern touches. The bathrooms are fantastic, with a huge shower and a rain head. The breakfast was pretty good. Its cheaper if you let them know ahead of time that you want it the next morning. The bar/restaurant is cozy, and was mostly empty when we were there, but the bartender is capable and there is a decent selection of beer, wine, and liquor. I highly recommend this hotel. If we ever come back to Edinburgh we will be staying here, and will investigate other Indigo hotels in other cities when we travel again. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely helpful staff We had a very nice stay at the Indigo. We liked the location - a little separation from all the tourist attractions, but still very walkable. The staff were extremely helpful. The room was clean and the decor fresh and fun. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent boutique hotel Very enjoyable overnight stay in this lovely hotel, well situated, lovely decor. Fantastic room very comfortable. Look forward to the next stay. May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable I was recommended this Hotel by a work colleague. I was very impressed with the layout of the room I stayed in. The bed was lovely and comfortable, the showers were amazing and the overall style and layout of the room was very cosy. Overall a lovely place to stay and I would recommend to anyone who was looking for a place to stay. Kindest regards May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel We stayed in this hotel for two nights over last weekend. I had to re-book an initially cancelled trip (due to weather and flight being cancelled) and the service I received was exceptional. The room was re-booked (without any extra cost to myself) and everyone involved was so nice about it! I also made a special request to have a particular room and once again, the gentleman involved (Kevin I believe) was very helpful and arranged this straight away. I cannot fault anything! The hotel's decour is fantastic (this was a deciding factor when I was deciding to book), the staff are extremely nice and polite without being over the top about it. The room we stayed in was very clean, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom and shower were fantastic. The location is good as well, the hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Waverley Station, about 10-15 minutes (if that) to the Old town and altogether very easy to find and get to. I will absolutely stay in this hotel again when / if I visit Edinburgh again. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and staff Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Daniel at front desk. Nice hotel with refreshing decor. Much better than other IHG close by. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall experience Spent last weekend in this lovely hotel and can't fault it....the bedrooms were spotlessly clean and the bathroom a delight to use. The bed was huge and very comfirtable and although we were looking on to York Place there was no traffic noise problem...we are not good sleepers.The staff were so helpful and friendly without being obsequious especially Daniel who offered to print off our Boarding Cards when we were leaving. The complimentary drinks and snacks were very much appreciated......a thoughtful addition to an overall very enjoyable experience. We will certainly use The Indigo again and recommend it to others. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and fabulous stay! We had an excellent stay. The service was second to none, every staff member doing everything to meet our needs in a polite and very friendly manner. The rooms are fabulous, comfortable beds and great showers. It was lovely to have complimentary snacks and dressing gowns too! We had breakfast both days and a pre-theatre meal in the evening. All food was delicious and of a very high standard. All this and it's just a stone's throw from the Playhouse theatre. I can't recommend a stay at this lovely hotel enough! April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for a great stay! I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Indigo. We were in Edinburgh for a total of 8 nights and could not have been more comfortable in the accommodations. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Thanks for being an important part of our great time in Scotland! March 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Absolutey gorgeous hotel. Small but not too small, which made the whole experience lovely from start to finish. Receptionists nice and friendly. Breakfast lovely along with staff. Bar staff friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed a bother for any of them. When we arrived there were some petit fours waiting for us, which was a lovely touch and the minibar was complimentary (soft drinks only). It was my husband's birthday so not sure if the petit fours were for this reason or whether it is standard but nice surprise for whatever reason. Will definitely be back to Hotel Indigo. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay An original and very comfortable hotel which I will return to. A little on the pricey side perhaps, but the minibar items were included in the price which was great. Great location if exploring Edinburgh. March 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and modern rooms Disappointed with the first room given 404 as specifically booked a kingsize. This room shouldn't be advertised as a kingsize as the bed is a standard double. Receptionist was very helpful and moved us to 401. Much better! Breakfast was good and decor very modern. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff, good quality rooms I stayed at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh for 2 weeks in February 2014 on business trips to Edinburgh. The rooms are great - a good size, comfy bed and very quiet. Shower-room is spacious, complimentary toiletries and the shower was great. Tea/coffee facilities in-room and complimentary (soft-drink) mini-bar, including milk for hot drinks (much better than the little long-life packets you usually get in hotels). All staff were really friendly and helpful. I ate in the restaurant once and my meal was excellent. I also ordered room service on several evenings and this was also of a good standard. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from George St, very convenient location. Very pleased with my stay here, I look forward to returning. Many thanks March 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid room 204 I guess they have done their best to convert an existing propoerty but rm 204 a very disappointing room. Not exactly as the web site implies. Barren walls and view of ventilation plant outside window. Would hardly rate it as the deluxe room we booked. A real let down compared to Indigo @Glasgow. Would maybe have been nice to have been offered something better considering Platinum status and better rooms were showing as available..... March 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Indigo go go Edinburgh Simply location location, professional but relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. For the price in my mind mid to high range, the hotel offered value, cleanliness and and stay over any person would love to utilise whether for a romantic weekend or a business trip. I and my friends would recommend anytime February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room is nice and breakfast is good I am living in Edinburgh but I decided to stay in the heart of the city in the weekend and enjoy the weekend. When I arrived, the staff notice my name and help me to check in quickly. However, i didn't receive neither a free drink or a point voucher as it happened in other IHG hotels in Britain. At the same time, I didn't see any recognition as a platinum member of priority club. Other than this, everything is perfect. The room is quite nice and there is a gym just beside my room. Mini bar is free but there is not many choice compare with other indigo hotel. The Scottish breakfast is good and I quite enjoy it. To conclude, it is a good experience for me but I think there is still room for improvement. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would go back in a heartbeat! Fabulous hotel, only wished we had longer stay. It was pricey but we stayed over for rugby and was cheaper than the travel lodge at that time! Staff lovely, rooms amazing and so many nice touches most hotels would never think of! Can't wait to go back. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous We had a really enjoyable stay. Most impressed with the hotel staff and rooms. My only very small comment is that I didn't like the tv right in front of the bed as it was a large room and could have been located elsewhere. But as I say very minor compared with everything else. Thank you also for the bubbly and chocs for birthday. February 12, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront
Select to close.
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront Your Holiday Inn Express hotel in Edinburgh Waterfront A warm welcome awaits at our Edinburgh hotel Our Reception is open 24 hours a day for your convenience Relax in our lobby lounge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading