• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.4KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. Hungarian
  4. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed free of charge with prior notice

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Scottish Government Offices
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
David Lloyd Leisure Club
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Botanic Gardens
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
National Gallery of Scotland
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • 60 spaces around hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:145
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:145
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Stay in our brilliant bed and breakfast hotel for your sightseeing trip to Edinburgh.

Only 2 miles from the city centre and Waverley Station, our hotel in the vibrant area of Leith Harbour is an ideal base to experience the best of Edinburgh.

On the scenic Leith Quay, you can enjoy some of the finest restaurants in the country or browse through the stylish boutiques of Ocean Terminal.

The special Royal Yacht Britannia, only 5-minutes on foot from our hotel is well worth a
View More

Stay in our brilliant bed and breakfast hotel for your sightseeing trip to Edinburgh.

Only 2 miles from the city centre and Waverley Station, our hotel in the vibrant area of Leith Harbour is an ideal base to experience the best of Edinburgh.

On the scenic Leith Quay, you can enjoy some of the finest restaurants in the country or browse through the stylish boutiques of Ocean Terminal.

The special Royal Yacht Britannia, only 5-minutes on foot from our hotel is well worth a visit. Of course, no trip to Edinburgh is complete without a visit to Edinburgh Castle on the Royal Mile. With a 10-minute bus trip, you’ll be in the heart of the city for all the attractions of the Edinburgh Festivals.

Plan your perfect day out over your inclusive buffet breakfast, complete with a tasty selection of hot and continental items for all our guests. As under 18’s stay for Free in our Edinburgh hotel, you can save even more money for your family break in Edinburgh. Free parking at our hotel will make sure you can bring the car without paying for expensive city charges.

When looking for a handy hotel in Edinburgh to stay in on business, our en-suite and air-conditioned guest rooms help you get that comfortable and quiet night’s rest. Catch up with your emails using our Free Wi-Fi or relax with a whisky in our stylish lounge bar.

View Less
Features
Enjoy the best of both worlds at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Waterfront hotel. Our location in Leith Harbour is a peaceful base just minutes from Edinburgh's vibrant city centre and world-famous attractions including the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 255 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for a great stay! I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Indigo. We were in Edinburgh for a total of 8 nights and could not have been more comfortable in the accommodations. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Thanks for being an important part of our great time in Scotland! March 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel Absolutey gorgeous hotel. Small but not too small, which made the whole experience lovely from start to finish. Receptionists nice and friendly. Breakfast lovely along with staff. Bar staff friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed a bother for any of them. When we arrived there were some petit fours waiting for us, which was a lovely touch and the minibar was complimentary (soft drinks only). It was my husband's birthday so not sure if the petit fours were for this reason or whether it is standard but nice surprise for whatever reason. Will definitely be back to Hotel Indigo. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay An original and very comfortable hotel which I will return to. A little on the pricey side perhaps, but the minibar items were included in the price which was great. Great location if exploring Edinburgh. March 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and modern rooms Disappointed with the first room given 404 as specifically booked a kingsize. This room shouldn't be advertised as a kingsize as the bed is a standard double. Receptionist was very helpful and moved us to 401. Much better! Breakfast was good and decor very modern. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff, good quality rooms I stayed at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh for 2 weeks in February 2014 on business trips to Edinburgh. The rooms are great - a good size, comfy bed and very quiet. Shower-room is spacious, complimentary toiletries and the shower was great. Tea/coffee facilities in-room and complimentary (soft-drink) mini-bar, including milk for hot drinks (much better than the little long-life packets you usually get in hotels). All staff were really friendly and helpful. I ate in the restaurant once and my meal was excellent. I also ordered room service on several evenings and this was also of a good standard. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from George St, very convenient location. Very pleased with my stay here, I look forward to returning. Many thanks March 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid room 204 I guess they have done their best to convert an existing propoerty but rm 204 a very disappointing room. Not exactly as the web site implies. Barren walls and view of ventilation plant outside window. Would hardly rate it as the deluxe room we booked. A real let down compared to Indigo @Glasgow. Would maybe have been nice to have been offered something better considering Platinum status and better rooms were showing as available..... March 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Indigo go go Edinburgh Simply location location, professional but relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. For the price in my mind mid to high range, the hotel offered value, cleanliness and and stay over any person would love to utilise whether for a romantic weekend or a business trip. I and my friends would recommend anytime February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room is nice and breakfast is good I am living in Edinburgh but I decided to stay in the heart of the city in the weekend and enjoy the weekend. When I arrived, the staff notice my name and help me to check in quickly. However, i didn't receive neither a free drink or a point voucher as it happened in other IHG hotels in Britain. At the same time, I didn't see any recognition as a platinum member of priority club. Other than this, everything is perfect. The room is quite nice and there is a gym just beside my room. Mini bar is free but there is not many choice compare with other indigo hotel. The Scottish breakfast is good and I quite enjoy it. To conclude, it is a good experience for me but I think there is still room for improvement. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would go back in a heartbeat! Fabulous hotel, only wished we had longer stay. It was pricey but we stayed over for rugby and was cheaper than the travel lodge at that time! Staff lovely, rooms amazing and so many nice touches most hotels would never think of! Can't wait to go back. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous We had a really enjoyable stay. Most impressed with the hotel staff and rooms. My only very small comment is that I didn't like the tv right in front of the bed as it was a large room and could have been located elsewhere. But as I say very minor compared with everything else. Thank you also for the bubbly and chocs for birthday. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by will come back just a one night stay on Friday night but the hotel was first class from welcome to departure. Room and furnishings were of highest quality and very quiet at back of hotel. Staff were very welcomimg and mannerly. next time I will stay longer, location was excellent for theatre , cinema, shops and pubs. January 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by unprofessional staff very sad to say that staff was not really friendly. we did not feel warm welcoming plain cold hello. room was clean bad we had to change room 3 times because of the noise from the roof so we could not sleep first night at all. I am a member of IHG rewards Club and I was not even welcome as member just simple hello, not even welcome to Indigo Edinburgh. internet was slow, in our first room TV did not work. very sad... we had good memories about Edinburgh as a city and bad memories about hotel. please review my feedback that i left few days after my leave on automatic survey email. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Great place to stay with a team who listen and that are attentive to their guests January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel I like this hotel and its style. However, the Access to the hotel is a little difficult as it is no possibility for taxi or private car to stop outside the hotel. It is in Edinburgh center and a bus stop just close to the hotel stairs. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great hotel but bad experience Great room but extremely noisy neighbors in the next room. When the night staff was told about the noise about 2:30am (slamming doors, furniture breaking, yelling, etc) they did nothing nothing to try to control the situation. It ruined a otherwise great stay at a great location. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent small hotel in great location This was our second stay at this excellent hotel. It has a great location near to the rail and bus stations and the soon to be up-and-running tram terminus. It is also close to the Playhouse and the not-so-impressive St James Centre. There are some good restaurants and cafés on the nearby Broughton Street, and when we were there, just before Hogmanay, the Christmas markets were still on the go. Hope you manage to retain the intimacy of a small, welcoming hotel once the trams are running! January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good service with very comfortable bed. The facilities are best you ever get from the top hotel. The room size is hugh so you can relax and enjoy the stay to the highest standard. Staff are very nice and helpful. Definitely return for the next Edinburgh journey. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Came to visit the city for the first time for a long weekend away before Christmas. The hotel was lovely, in a good location and the staff were great. We can't wait to come back. December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A business stay made pleasurable Thank you for the recent stay. The hotel was comfortable warm friendly and comforting after a days's work. Staff very helpful, with everything An interesting experience with a young waiter one breakfast has left me chuckling, when my porridge was servers on the same plate as poached egg on toast with baked beans! Probably my fault for not explaining myself! Kept me on my toes for subsequent food orders! December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always delights I stay regularly at Hotel Indigo in York Place and it never fails to delight. So where to begin ... the rooms are all individual, delightfully presented and provide a free minibar (which can be dangerous, because of the ever-present temptation to demolish the contents). The breakfasts are excellent and prepared individually to guests' requirements. Full Scottish to your liking? Okay. Mushroom omelette (my favourite)? Okay. Scrambled eggs and bacon? Okay. And the staff, from reception to bar to restaurant, will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Oh, and the location near the city centre is excellent. Overall, one of the most enjoyable IHG hotels I have experienced. December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Briliant The staff could not have been any more helpful or hospitable. Great night stay! December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel Stayed with my partner and 3 year old son, we were given room 112, an executive twin/family room. Great size, lovely decor, very comfortable. Lovely bathroom with bath and separate shower. Staff were kind and helpful. Breakfast was very enjoyable. We had a lovely stay, it was just a shame it was only for one night. Would definitely recommend the hotel and will use again next time we are looking to stay in Edinburgh. December 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good comfortable central hotel. Had a one night stay in December which was very enjoyable . The staff were excellent and helpful and we were quickly checked in . The bedroom was very comfortable with good on suite and mini bar facilities and we had a peaceful nights sleep . Breakfast had a good choice and the cooked English Breakfast was excellent . We had the evening meal which was the Christmas menu and found it very disappointing . The choice was very limited and the main courses were bland and very small portions .Some of our party felt the food in general could have been warmer .Drinks in the bar were also priced on the high side . December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and great value I am very fussy when it comes to hotels and cleanliness and I was very impressed with the standards here. I felt like I could relax. We just had one night here and would come again. Nice touches like luxury products in the bathroom and a complimentary mini bar really make a difference. The staff were lovely and breakfast was great. December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Break fast service is too slow Perhaps they need an extra chef as service at Break fast is awfully slow. If you are in a rush to go to office or airport, you just can't risk waiting for 25 minutes for your break fast arrive. Apart from this, its an excellent hotel. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for our wedding party Great hotel with attention to detail that made my wedding guests very happy!! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, even when we stayed in the bar until late and arrived late for breakfast, the friendly staff did everything they could to help. Dominic (the manager) and Daniel (Front of House) were great, and made us feel at home, making the wedding day less stressful!!! The only slight issue is the lack of nearby parking, but we were able to pull up outside where the staff helped us to take our belongings into the hotel - no reflection on the actual hotel at all. Thanks everybody November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding anniversary visit My wife and I visited the hotel on our wedding anniversary. For the first time we drove. We were told to pull up in the disused bus stop to grab the key to the car park, simple? This proved a trial. One the bus stop was very much in use, two it's a busy one lane road. After jettisoning the wife at speed, circling the hotel and a modicum of bad language we parked the car. My recommendation park in the loading bay on Elder street and then get the key. However, this was the one stressful moment of our stay. The hotel location is great, convenient for shops, bars, restaurants and the theatre. The decor of the hotel is modern and clean and the breakfast (particularly good) and dinner were excellent. Couple this with great service,the staff and management were very friendly and attentive, and you have a excellent place to stay for a city break. We booked the hotel on a deal which included a three course meal, for the money we thought it was good value. Criticisms. Not a problem to us but there was some traffic noise, however it is a city centre hotel, so comes with the territory and the Hypnos mattress was a touch hard. All in all I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will be back. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent all round but 1 silly mistake This hotel was brilliant! Will not be forgotten and will definitely use this again. He only problem was when my girlfriend and I made cups of tea in the morning. We didn't realise that the milk was actually out of date however were made aware of this fact by the milk curdling in the cup, not a pretty sight. When we informed the receptionist at checkout she seemed a bit unsure what to do and gave a subtle apology before continuing with the checkout. I would have liked tk have been reassured that this would be dealt with and not happen again. I feel that this was just a mistake and would stress that our overall experience was excellent and would recommend this hotel to anyone. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all in great hotel and best comforts Stayed in this hotel on the 14th november for 1 night and found the hotel to be in a great location near the playhouse and it was very clean very comfortable bed no noise at night bedroom itself was a 100% wow factor with fancy shower and toilet stuff and fancy tv with mini fridge all free complimentry stuff. Would love to stay here again in the future and i highly recomend this hotel to anyone and id say it is well over a 5 star hotel id give it 5 star plus. November 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fine hotel but basement rooms? A HUGE NO!! The hotel itself is lovely. In a great location & has everything you require. My main problem was the location of our room. Quite a number are in the basement, under the restaurant, bar & reception. The noise was very loud. Mainly footsteps, possibly due to non carpeted floors. I was happy to accept this until the early hours of the morning but not right through until morning. It's amazing how just one set of footsteps and what sounds like a pedal bin being closed repeatedly can disturb you. Another pointer would be the room door. Ours didn't seal at all well and when doors were being shut around us it would rattle very loudly. I sound like a grumpy old so & so here. But I like my sleep and getting a rare night away from my toddler was seriously expecting some, worst sleep I've had since he was born! I would stay again, but only if I was on the top Floor. November 10, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront
Select to close.
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront Your Holiday Inn Express hotel in Edinburgh Waterfront A warm welcome awaits at our Edinburgh hotel Our Reception is open 24 hours a day for your convenience Relax in our lobby lounge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading