Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 332 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A very good mid range hotel. A easy location to to get to all the major sites of the city and shopping, eating places. Staff are friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet - what more do you need. There is no evening restaurant in the hotel, but that really is not an issue as there are plenty eateries (fish and chip shops, pubs and restaurants) within a few minutes walk. Will be more than happy to stay here again on my next trip. January 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room and very helpful staff enjoyed my stay, will be back, great hotel, lovely staff and perfect location - will be back Thankyou January 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, cosy and clean. We stayed for one night for a theatre trip. The location was walking distance from the train/bus station so no taxis. Reception was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean, not too hot and above all, it was quiet at night, no noise from the street. Breakfast was busy but we managed to get a seat so no complaints. The experience was excellent value for money and we would certainly use the hotel again. January 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location/comfort Comfortable in a convenient and comfortable hotel. Superb location. January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a city centre stopover We wanted a city centre location in order to attend a reunion function in George St, with a one night stopover. This hotel was ideal. It gave us an early booking in time with no fuss. The hotel is very well appointed and the staff very helpful. Rooms are very comfortable with little or no noise from the bustle outside. After a very busy day we were able to relax completely and had an excellent night's sleep. The hotel is conveniently located for those wishing to visit the theatre, with some excellent dining experiences nearby. The hotel bar was comfortable and relaxing. We had a very enjoyable stay and would use this hotel again. January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fab location The hotel is situated within about 10 mins walk from Waverley train station and is quite central without being noisy. We had a family room that had plenty of space and was clean. The only downside was the breakfast. While there was plenty of it, the choice was small, tables clattered with used dishes and trays and the breakfast room staff looked rushed off their feet. January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good value stayed for overnight when watching a show at the playhouse nice clean warm rooms. great location,great breakfast in the morning sausage scrambled eggs beans tea toast ect very adequate.overall would recommend when good deal is on. January 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Comfortable room, ideal location for Playhouse theatre,helpful staff, 10 min walk from Waverly Station January 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by confortable bed and great breakfast stayed at this hotel for an overnight while in edinburgh to watch a show. Ideal location! lovely staff and a lovely breakfast too would recommend. January 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and convenient with excellent services Totally enjoyed our stay at the hotel for 2 nights. The room was nice, clean and comfortable although storage space a bit limited since there were 3 of us and the sofa bed was pulled out. The breakfast buffet was good and the eating space sufficient during the early hours. The staff were very helpful, and we really appreciate being able to check-in a bit earlier. Great location with facilities within reasonable walking distance. Thanks for a wonderful stay. January 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly place in city centre Fabulous stay for both of us and our friends. Staff very helpfull and pleasant. Breakfast room is way too small and its not comfortable but we would stay again and recommend. Price is reasonable too. January 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Accomadation Only stayed at this hotel for one night, but the staff were very friendly and overall service was very good. Room was adequete for our 1 night stay bed was comfy. Absolutely the best location if you are going to the Edinburgh Playhouse theatre directly accross the road. Not the cheapest hotel but spot on for the theatre excellent. January 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for seeing the city Have just spent a fantastic Hogmany based in this hotel. So close to everything to make exploring easy, yet just far enough to avoid excess noise. Breakfast got a bit frantic for space, but at such a busy time of year what else can you expect. It was a problem that was easy to sort by using thier suggestion to take it back to the room. Steps would make this unsuitable for those with mobility problems but will go back again on our next visit to Edinburgh. January 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great if attending the Playhouse A nice hotel directly opposite the Playhouse and close to the shopping centre. Convenient (metered) parking right outside the hotel. Nice bar and comfortable room. Only downside was the appalling breakfast. Thank goodness it was complimentary because I would have hated to pay for it. The coffee is terrible and the scrambled egg/sausage are completely tasteless. Would have liked a "pay for" option. But a really nice hotel with lovely staff. January 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed, creaky floors, thin walls Having stayed at a number of Holiday Inn Express properties which i have and would continue to recommend, my wife and I stayed at the Edinburgh City Centre Holiday Inn Express as part of a 2 nights for the price of 1 offer. The location is great and parking is provided, however the overall experience was very disappointing. On arrival, at 10am we asked what time we could check in, we were advised by the receptionist that if we returned at 12noon we could check in, on return at 12noon we were advised to come back at 1pm, at 1.15pm we were again told the room wasn't ready, then when i expressed frustration at thew constant changes a room was suddenly available. had we have been told at 10am, come back at 2pm we would have been more than happy. The room itself was on the 6th floor in a corner and was 'compact' but very clean, the floor from the lift to the room and in the room creaked loudly and this was to remain a feature throughout our stay, ensuring that a quiet nights sleep was not going to be possible. The bed was very, very soft and uncomfortable, whenever i moved my wife woke up and vice versa. When we raised this with reception on the second day, they agreed and let my wife look at a room on the ground floor, the bed was again very very soft. I spend 4 nights a week in hotels and this was by far one of the worst beds i'd tried top sleep in. Overall a disappointing stay and despite the fact i'm a priority club member i'll be staying elsewhere in Edinburgh in future. January 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, bad experience Our room was available for early check-in however, there was used tea bags and cream shoved in to the pull-out mattress. The manager gave us a room with 2 twin bed for the night while the other room was to be cleaned. Also the walls a very thin, we could hear EVERYTHING next door. January 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Well situated for exploring the city All that you would expect from the Holiday Inn. Just a couple of minor grumbles. VERY squeaky floorboards, on both the levels I stayed on (4th and 6th), so not the best nights sleep and when will someone do something about the shower curtains that aren't long enough for the shower trays, resulting in soaking wet floors every day?!!! Also - quite cold. Perhaps an extra blanket could be placed in the rooms? January 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Friendly and well located What more could you ask for, this hotel is well placed, the staff are friendly and the cleanliness is excellent. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Class Location & Value My sister and I stayed for one night on 10.12.12. Having stayed in Holiday Inn Express Hotels before, I had a good idea of what to expect, but this one exceeded my expectations. From the early check in to late check out ( thanks to being a priority club member) every aspect of our stay was excellent, from the excellent staff at reception to bar staff etc., nothing was too much trouble. I had asked for a quiet room and it was SO quiet I thought the hotel was nearly empty, until breakfast time the following morning, when I realised just how busy it actually was. I cannot recommend it highly enough, and am hoping to return, with my husband this time, in January December 27, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent I stayed here due to family berevement. The staff overall were excellent, especially Danny at check in, and previously on phone when priority website went odd and booked wrong dates! The room was comfortable and heating excellent. The business services could however be improved. Overall great location, central and staff warm and pleasant. Highly recommend. December 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Class Accommodation Comfortable bed, great service, perfect central location. No complaints whatsoever. The only problems at this Hotel would be the parking if you had a car and also the stairs access if you weren't too fit but other than that first class. December 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great enjoyable stay great room overlooking theatre. very friendly staff at check - in. comfortable beds. have stayed here several occasions and will be back again next year. December 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Escape! Easy to find from Waverley. Good location to stay and then stretch your legs around town. Nice bar. Adequate breakfast. Shame I did not receive my complimentary newspaper! December 17, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay with a warm welcome i stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and found the staff very warm and helpful. the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. i found breakfast a little hard to get a table and downstairs the choice was a little limited, but that did not mar a overall relaxing break in a nice atmosphere. December 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Lovely hotel with friendly, competent staff. Room was great, clean and very comfortable. All the staff were friendly. Would def stay again, great value and fab location. December 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by superb experience Excellent hotel Very good location - central and accessible Very good front desk and bar Helpful staff Recommended December 11, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cold and unwelcoming My stay in the Edinburgh Holiday Inn Express in the City Centre was not a pleasant experience. I was not welcomed as a Priority club member (and I am a Platinum member), which was unusual. Then the room I was given was built for the disabled, so was very bare. This was not so bad, but it was freezing outside and there had been no heating on in the room at all. There was no air conditioning, just an electric radiator. At first I couldn't work out how to turn it on, but eventually I found the switch recessed on the side. However, I then found that the heater was jammed on full, and couldn't be turned down. I left it on full to warm the room up, then fell asleep and woke up too hot in the middle of the night! December 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and amenities Stayed here with a friend for a overnight Christmas shopping & theatre break. It is only 5mins walk from Waverley train station and right across the road from the Edinburgh playhouse. We had a twin room which was lovely, plenty of space. Received a complimentary welcome gift and was offered late check out for being a priority club member. Staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. Will definitely come and stay again! December 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms and very comfortable My friend and I have stayed at this hotel at least four times and would not think of going anywhere else in Edinburgh, always our first choice. From entering reception area through hallways, lifts etc to bedroom this hotel is very clean and staff have always been extremely helpful, nothing is ever any trouble, and I am sure they get some awkward customers. Bedroom again very clean, comfortable beds and very clean linen. Reception staff very helpful on checking in and out, also being able to leave luggage after checking out is a huge bonus, no trailing trolley case around Edinburgh. All staff very helpful would highly recommend to family and friends looking for somewhere central to stay in Edinburgh. December 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Hotel well located and few minutes walk from shops in Princes Street. Fast check-in and out, comfortable room, with great bed with choice of firm or soft pillows. Usual tea/coffee making facilities. Pleasant bar next to Reception. The hotel does not do evening meals, but there are many pubs and restaurants very close by. There is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel, otherwise there is a large multi-storey car park at Greenside, just a few minutes walk away. When the new tram system from the Airport opens, the city terminus will be only a few minutes walk from the hotel, a major future plus point for the hotel, bearing in mind Edinburgh's traffic congestion. December 5, 2012
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 next>>