Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 348 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend away First time we have stayed at the Holiday inn, we enjoyed the location of the Holiday Inn. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Lovely lady on reception when we checked in, very helpful advising where we could eat as we were late checking in. Been to Edinburgh lots of time before so we do know our way around. We would stay again most definitely. : ) February 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice for a weekend break Great location for a weekend break. Very comfortable room and adequate breakfast to set you up for a days sightseeing. great value for money February 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable , value for money I was amazed at the service and quality of the Hotel . I had stayed at the Hilton in SanFrancisco last September and I find it difficult to believe that this modest Hotel came up thrumps in comparison to a well known brand . Will definitely use the chain again . Location was great, it was adequate for the 2 nights stay and having breakfast on site was really handy . Slight criticism is the lack of an extractor fan in the bathroom ,which upon first entry into the room makes it smell a bit damp/musky . However it becomes less obvious once you are settled in or shut the bathroom door. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good large room great shower. Booked on line with ease room ready on arrival. Given twin room instead of double but as only staying one night it was no problem. Staff friendly and very helpful booking in and out offered to keep luggage if needed. Breakfast was Luke warm but plenty of it. Would use Holiday express again and recommend it to others. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First class location The location is excellent with Edinburgh city centre right there. We were lucky to be able to park in the hotel car park and the rate was well worth it. The room was spotless and very comfortable with no external noise. Breakfast was an added bonus. We will certainly stay here again and have no hesitation recommending this hotel. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for city and theatre A perfect stay, we stayed for 2 nights. Quiet and peaceful nights sleep. January 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cheeky night in Edinburgh Stayed at this hotel for the first time using my points. 3 of us in the room and the room was more than comfortable enough (my wife and I plus my 16 year old son). Hotel is in a fantastic location, is easy to find and the the overall standard is much better than other HIE's I have stayed in. Breakfast is free, so hard to complain about it and certainly plenty of choice. Heating on everywhere made the hotel very hot for a local - but then with a lot of foreign visitors from warmer climates maybe that is what they needed. Huge waste of energy though! Fancy a weekend in Edinburgh, for the price, given the location and quality, you can;t really do any better. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Stayed for two nights,very clean and comfortable,staff made you feel very welcome,room totally adequate for our needs. Breakfast set us up for our visit around Edinburgh,the hotel is very well situated for the center of Edinburgh. We will use this hotel again, highly recommended . January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value The location of the hotel is excellent right in city centre across from playhouse. Staff friendly and polite. Room basic but very clean and what I would expect for the money and star rating. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcomed & Looked after We were welcomed from the moment we walked in, until we departed...staff were pleasant, helpful & courteous. The location was ideal for walking anywhere in Old or New Edinburgh, and it was only 30-45 mins walk down to Leith. The rooms were clean, facilities more than adequate...sufficient breakfasts...and all very good value. Would recommend to anyone...we've used Holiday Inn Express before...and will use them again in future. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value The room was was perfectly adequate for our needs and the double bed very comfortable. Slept like a log after each day walking round Edinburgh! Great value for money for B&B. Altho after 2 days I was a bit bored with the hot choice of scrambled egg, sausage & beans again for breakfast it was still very good value for money. Hotel was in a good situation to get to town (10 mins walk to centre) for shops, train or bus to Airport. Plenty of restaurants/take aways around. Plus a small supermarket a few doors along for essentials. Overall excellent value, would come again.. January 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 wi-fi very poor wi-fi [free] every 2 min dont work.everything its very good,location ,exellent,and the next time a stay here January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mini break with friends Spent last Saturday night with two friends at this fabulous location! handy for shopping, eating out and theatre. Could not fault anything, thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone spending time in Edinburgh. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and helpful staff This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express so we didn't know much about this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. The staff at reception were very helpful even telling us breakfast was complimentary [the breakfast was excellent] Our room was spotless and very comfortable and we would certainly use H.I.E again January 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time stay will definatly be back This was the first time iv stayed here could not fault this hotel everything was perfect January 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded Expectations We stayed at this hotel for two nights and are very happy to recommend it. The location is excellent: walking distance from Waverley station, the castle, and many of the city's tourist sites, shopping locations and entertainment venues. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the staff are extremely helpful. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean, though fairly small - which did not really matter for our short stay. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Not a great variety but quite enough to start the day - and, as with the hotel in general, it exceeded our expectations. Our only criticism was the constant loud music in the lounge/breakfast area. It's probably set to one (high) volume level regardless of how many people are in the room, but we found it quite intrusive. Our daughter lives in a tiny apartment just a short walk away from the hotel, so we'll certainly stay at the hotel again, particularly as the room price is substantially less than that of other hotels and B&Bs in the area. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Had a great time in the hotel from the minute we booked in the girl on the desk was very friendly and explained everything , made you feel very welcome The room was clean had everything you want if not you just have to ask ! Bed was comfortable plenty hot water for our showers Breakfast was good had plenty of choice checking out was simple January 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not enough space for breakfast and bed really uncomfortable Hotel in good central location and overall kept clean. First morning there were hardly any tables left for breakfast and people were bumping into each other as dining area was too cramped. Both toasters weren't working and staff took ages to get it sorted. Room was adequate although a little small. Bed was very uncomfortable. Very disappointed that none of the staff were Scottish which was shocking considering we were in Edinburgh!! Think hotel groups need to start recruiting people from their local communities and give something back to local economies. Overall very disappointed even for a budget hotel given that I have stayed in two others this year alone!! Would not recommend at all. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location, clean and great facilities We stayed here while seeing a musical at the Playhouse directly opposite. Plenty bars close by. Central location. Clean room with everything you need, funky lighting in bathroom! Very reasonable rates. Staff very helpful. Car parking available at extra cost. Only thing which I would have changed was providing more milk etc for tea and coffee and the single glazing lets in a lot of noise from the street and rattles when buses go past. Didn't stop us sleeping though and there is a tesco express next door so I bought more milk there. We went down for breakfast and couldn't get a seat so had to come back later and there wasn't much choice left. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great central location with friendly efficient staff , room was spotless and breakfast was adequate in the morning . Would stay again next time in Edinburgh . January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient, good value and so comfotable. We had a great stay, it was perfect in every way and so convenient. I have already recommended your hotel to various friends and family. Thank you so much, January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and met all our requirements On visiting Edinburgh with an overnight stay our first check is always with Holiday Inn Express we only use it for leisure breaks normally theatre visits and it is so perfectly located and has everything we require and the cost is always perfect for us. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location and Good Value Very good location for exploring Edinburgh on foot, with great bus links nearby. Good value (although we booked well ahead), and very comfortable room, only slightly spoiled by a huge pillar blocking the view of the television from the bed (although the rest of the room was great and roomy, with benefit of sofa bed). On arrival, both the TV Remote control and the telephone didn't work, so had obviously not been checked by the room cleaning staff. Quickly resolved by handyman Christian, though, once reported. Breakfast limited in range, but still ok for an inclusive deal. Exceptionally clean and tidy room. Bag storage willingly arranged on day of arrival and departure. January 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible. I stayed here two nights. Both nights I was woken up by other travellers pulling their suitcase trolleys through the corridor outside my room. They weren't particularly loud but I could hear them very well due to the poor sound insulation. I was woken up before 8am both mornings because the cleaners were terribly loud. I have never experienced anything like this before. They were laughing loudly and shouting from one room to another showing absolutely no consideration of sleeping guests. On the second morning I was woken up at 6am because the TV had switched on automatically. I got up to switch it off and went back to sleep. Half an hour later the same thing happened again. I am guessing it was switched on by the signal from a remote in another room nearby. I forgot my power adaptor and phone charger and called the hotel as soon as I noticed. I asked the woman on the phone to mail the items to me. She arranged this but I had to pay for the postage myself. January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great hotel and room, staff very helpful and knowlegeable January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great central location attended the Edinburgh playhouse and found the hotel fantastic value for money good size room and cleanliness friendly staff great breakfast . will stay again thanks January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by picardy place Our favourite hotel in Edinburgh! Central, comfortable and relaxing. Extensive choice for breakfast and included! January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Excellent location for theatre and for shopping. Room clean and fine for our needs. Only downside was the lack of food availability in the evening - as this is theatre district, we had some difficulty in finding somewhere to eat locally. However, this would not prevent us from staying here again. January 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Had an overnight stay-perfect location for the Playhouse. Breakfast was a bit of a let down-no bacon, not much in the way of fresh fruit, warm milk and bitter coffee. January 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location for Playhouse, but Dreadful Beds Stayed here for a show at the Playhouse - excellent location for that. Family room - beds terrible (gave up on the fold-down sofa-bed and slept on the floor). Apart from that, no complaints January 8, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 next>>