• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome and assistance dogs welcome without charge Please inform reservations at the time of making a booking, to confirm availabilty, generally we accomodate guests with dogs on the ground floor of the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:13
  • Car Parking Available
  • 9 spaces at the hotel charged at £13.50 per night on a first come first serve basis. Furthur parking is available at NCP St James Centre at a discounted price of £13.50 per 24 hours, please swipe your token at reception to obtain your discount.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:161
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable
View More

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower.

You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas.

It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station, with the tram stop located at York Place, the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre.

The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.

View Less
Features
Ask our helpful Front Desk staff about the range of discounts available to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre guests. You can save money on city bus sightseeing tours and get discounts at nearby restaurants. Children under 18 stay free in Family rooms.
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do
View More
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do contact the hotel directly for more information
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 292 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by City Break This was intended to be a mini city break to see the sights of Edinburgh. It turned out to be one of the best mini holidays we have had for years. The hotel was excellent, just what we wanted and placed equidistant between the Castle and the Palace so it was easy to walk to both, enjoying the sights and shops along the Royal mile. Parking so close to the centre of such a famous city difficult? no- there was a multi-storey car park within a short distance and you can drop off your bags at the Holiday Inn before parking the car. It cost £14- £15 for 24 hrs. with the 20 percent discount from HIE. Entering the hotel there is a nice hint of elegance in the décor and fittings with the reception greeting being warm and easy going. A lift to all floors and the room/bathroom being clean and comfortable. There was a good telly and tea making facilities. Breakfast was help yourself, cooked or continental - or both if you wanted to fill up for the adventure ahead! All in all excellent!! November 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by central location a great weekend break in edinburgh a good base to to see sights of edinburgh from November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exellent value for money Very hospitable, friendly service. Clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. Great location for city and Royal Infirmary. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff The atmosphere, the staff and the accommodation was superb. We travelled with our two young grandsons who also had a wonderful time. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in Edinburgh Stayed for three nights during mid term break. Arrived at hotel after an early morning flight and lady at reception was so welcoming and helpful taking our luggage so we were free to start exploring straight away. This hotel is a fantastic place to stay. The staff were pleasant at all times, hotel is clean and comfortable and in a central location and from our experience truly deserving of 5/5. November 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms, Courteous Staff, Small Rooms Good location, courteous staff, decent breakfast, good housekeeping. Rooms are small, wi-fi keeps disconnecting, need new codes everyday, breakfast opens at 7 am - late for business travelers November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff A very good hotel ideally situated. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful Will definitely stay there again. November 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Well situate But the rooms don't fit fot a three people family. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a weekend I had a wedding in Edinburgh which wasn't far from the hotel so the location was first class, the service was superb. I left my driving licence and was called just after I got on a train home. The staff called me and sent it to me which was no hassle to them. I was obviously very grateful for this. There were a few other little things that the staff were very good about so all round first class service and next time I'm in Edinburgh I will be staying there again. November 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean and friendly excellent location near Royal Mile. very welcoming staff, very helpful. Rooms very clean and a nice size. good breakfast included in the price. October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service. Staff were really helpful during our stay in october 2014. Specially Amanda at reception desk was really helpful. Room servcie good. We requested for extra pillows and towels as we were two adults and two children and booked one room with sofa bed for children. Comfortable and Pleasant stay. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, central location Hotel modern, clean, tidy with efficient and helpful staff. Rooms bright and with a little more soul than some cheaper hotels. Only one lift so tiresome waits at busy periods and our family room was a bit cramped but ok as we only stayed one night. Breakfast fine, bit basic but again, better than a lot of budget hotels October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay The staff were without exception genuinely friendly and welcoming at all times. The hotel was spotlessly clean The breakfast food was excellent. The location was central but quiet, a rarity in a City! The only downside was that there was not enough space or equipment for breakfasts for the large number of people in the hotel. It was hard to find a table even when they opened up the adjoining conference room. There were long queues in the serving area. One reason for this was that there was only one hot water machine for people to make tea or coffee. Due to pressure of demand the machine was frequently out of commission because it was in the process of refilling or coming back to the boil. Surely a second machine would not be too much to ask! October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service yet again Second break this year at the hotel,. Could not ask for better service. Only real comment is please change your sausage supplier. October 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly helpful staff and comfortable room Staff were really helpful and friendly and allowed us to check in early which was a big bonus. We could also store our cases on the day of departure. The bed was very comfortable and extra pillows were provided on our request. It would have been nice if bacon could have been provided at breakfast but i appreciate it is an Express Style Hotel and this breakfast is standard in the chain. The breakfast options are not ideal for someone following a gluten free diet. There was a shower with whilst not being a "power shower" was nice and warm. We didn't notice any noise at night as the hotel seems to be in a quiet position but near to all that Edinburgh has to offer. October 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Efficient hotel in heart of Edinburgh We stayed 5 nights for a sight seeing holiday in Edinburgh.Hotel ideally situated for this being just behind the Royal Mile. We came by train, a 10 minute walk from the station. Staff welcoming although outside of hotel spoilt by inevitable litter and cigarette butts..Clean functional room and bathroom, very quiet. However for the price of the room would have expected more exciting hot drinks tray and some toiletries provided in the bathroom over and above a simple hand/bath soap dispenser. Breakfast was self service on trays provided in a canteen described as The Great Room - adequate but unexciting, the fresh fruit being scarcely edible and bread rolls stale.The Great Room was very busy at the weekend but staff excellent at clearing tables quickly.Fine for a budget hotel but would have expected better for the price we were paying. All in all a good experience apart from the price! October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by faultless excellent appointed hotel, cannot fault it in any way. location is perfect for the Royal Mile and near to Waverley station October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family room for four people We had a nice three days in The Holiday Inn Express in Edinburgh, this was our second stay this year. The two kids slept in the same double bed (in our room) but they were happy with that. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast can be very busy if you leave it too late. Available TV channels are very few and the quality of the sound is very poor making it difficult to hear properly at times. There is no TV program guide - it is a very old-fashioned system (kids notice these things). Overall it was a very pleasant stay. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value comfortable hotel in good location I would thoroughly recommend the Holiday Inn Royal Mile to anyone looking to stay for 1-3 nights in Edinburgh, it served as an excellent base and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was reasonably varied (toast, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, some cooked items such as eggs and sausages). The lift was a little slow so be prepared to take the stairs, but as it's not a super high storey hotel, this shouldn't cause concern. Friendly staff on reception, not so evident at breakfast (busy!). Overall, a good experience and it earned me more IHG reward points! October 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and good service. Great location i the Old Town. Most of the attractions, shopping and restaurants/pubs is just a short walk from the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The guest-rooms are nice. Great offer for families with children, who sleeps for free in the parent's room. We would appreciate a little bit more healthy breakfast including vegetables and dark bread. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exactly what I needed I was looking for a very comfortable and conveniently located hotel in Edinburgh. After reading numerous reviews online, I settled on the Holiday Inn and I'm very glad I did. With a Holiday Inn you know what to expect, which is comfort, cleanliness and a buffet breakfast. The location was perfect, not exactly on the Royal Mile but one street down from it, so less noise and bustle, but a 2 minute walk away from the Royal Mile and a 10 minute walk from the Waverly Train Station. We stayed in a room with a double bed and a sofa bed, and while the sofa bed wasn't uncomfortable my any means I did wish the mattress was a bit thicker (but I can honestly say I slept on it for 4 nights with no complaints). If I come back, I'm definitely staying here again. As a side note, the Pizza in the snack menu offered in the lobby is amazing. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A warm welcome and excellent accommodation. This was by far the best hotel we have stayed in recently in Edinburgh. Great service and attention to detail. Centrally located, excellent parking facilities and restaurants nearby. We hope to return and will recommend to our friends. October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great base in the heart of Edinburgh This hotel is a great affordable base for staying in the heart of Edinburgh. We didn't intend of staying in the hotel much as there is so much of Edinburgh to enjoy. I can say that the staff were polite, friendly, helpful and efficient. However if its luxury your used to this is not the hotel for you. Room size was small and breakfast limited. Mobile reception in our room was non-existent. October 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel funcional. El hotel está muy limpio y el personal es muy amable. Sin embargo, las habitaciones me parecieron muy pequeñas. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and Nice Good location in Royal Mile, just one block. Free parking in street right in front of hotel after 6:30pm daily. Hotel is clean and looks new.. Breakfast is excellent. October 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, comfortable, and enjoyable accommodation. We were impressed by how quiet the hotel is. We slept very well every night. All of the staff were friendly, polite, professional, and helpful. Considering it's location in a busy, highly populated, and high traffic area, we were surprised to find it to be so peacefully quiet for a good night's sleep. I don't know how they designed this hotel, but I have never stayed at a hotel where I didn't hear doors closing, showers running, and other noise from adjoining rooms. This hotel was a delightful exception to those other experiences. We heard no noise from other rooms, and appreciated the quiet. October 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buena limpieza y desayuno aceptable. El hotel esta limpio, el desayuno aceptable, solo le falta variedad en la proteína, huevo revuelto y salchicha todos los dias, pero tiene quesos, cereales, mermeladas, pan, yogourth, fruta, cafés, y tés, sería maravilloso haber tenido leche deslactosada o de soya, habemos muchas personas que no toleramos la lactosa y eso limita los cereales y la posisbilidad de café latte. El trato fué amable, no hay agua para beber en la habitación y la botellita de 200 ml, cuesta como 2 libras creo, en la recepción. Mi habitación tenía sofá cama por lo que el espacio era suficiente para estar cómoda. La ubicación esta muy bien, a una cuadra de la Royal Mile, donde se encuentra la mayor parte de las atracciones turísticas. Solo el precio me parece elevado, pues antes estuve en un lugar con cocineta, excelente en limpieza y servicio, y ligeramente mas barato. En general es un buen sitio para alojarse. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel for the money we stayed at this location twice - both at the beginning and at the end of our trip. Both times were excellent - especially the Front desk Staff. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, friendly staff The staff at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. They offered many suggestions about tours and places to visit during my stay. The location was only a block off the Royal Mile, close to bus stops and many good restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Edinburgh for any reason. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Good hotel in a great location. Close to Waverley station and the Royal Mile. Breakfast was good for a HIE. The staff were generally excellent apart from the night staff who didn't recognise my platinum status. September 30, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Scenery / Landscape Reception & Foyer Area Attractions - Holyrood Park Reception Lobby Area Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Front Desk Area Attractions - Edinburgh Castle Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place by night Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre 16-22 Picardy Place Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading