• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome and assistance dogs welcome without charge Please inform reservations at the time of making a booking, to confirm availabilty, generally we accomodate guests with dogs on the ground floor of the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:13
  • Car Parking Available
  • 9 spaces at the hotel charged at £13.50 per night on a first come first serve basis. Furthur parking is available at NCP St James Centre at a discounted price of £13.50 per 24 hours, please swipe your token at reception to obtain your discount.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:161
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable
View More

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower.

You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas.

It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station, with the tram stop located at York Place, the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre.

The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.

View Less
Features
Ask our helpful Front Desk staff about the range of discounts available to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre guests. You can save money on city bus sightseeing tours and get discounts at nearby restaurants. Children under 18 stay free in Family rooms.
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do
View More
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do contact the hotel directly for more information
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 235 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nette Schottin An der Rezeption hatte ich Glück: ich traf auf eine nette Schottin. Sie half mir, wo sie konnte: Professionell, hilfsbereit, freundlich - besser geht's nicht. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent location What a great location. Only one block off the royal mile! Great breakfast, air conditioning, free wifi, and a super helpful/friendly staff. Probably the best of all of our travels ever. August 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay non existent air con , no bbc news 24 in room European staff were very helpful..... Local staff seemed a little abrupt on checkout. Air conditioning was non existent had to get a fan from reception which didn't help much as there was no socket near the bed. Was disappointed the breakfast bar had bbc news 24 but the rooms didn't And told by reception it ran on a separate system. Stayed at plenty of holiday inns first one with a setup like that???? If it wasn't for the superb location we would probably look elsewhere. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location, friendly staff The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the tiny room but I understand that's expected all over Europe. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value Very clean and comfortable hotel located very close to Royal Mile. All staff were helpful and friendly and the facilities in the room very good. A great breakfast to start the day. We would definitely look to stay here again if we were to visit Edinburgh. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good service clean and comfortable rooms .Good service from staff. Good location for all visitor attractions August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff From the moment of arrival until departure all the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and warm The location of the hotel was good The standard of cleanliness in the rooms was excellent The only improvement I could suggest would be a small fridge in the room with some milk as many people (including myself) do not like UHT milk August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff but room too small for family of four We stayed here as a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenagers) for 2 nights to see the Tattoo. The staff on Reception were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. A lovely hotel in a quiet area, clean and modern. However, our room was too small for us. Our children are 14 and 17 and were sleeping on a sofa bed which was too small and very uncomfortable. Ideally the room should only sleep two adults and at a push one child. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ideal location and good service Location ideal, rooms clean and up to date. Breakfast good but more choice would be good also! bar prices okay for a capital city, (£3.75 a bottle), would use more if slightly cheaper! Would certainly stay again next time I visit. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff and lovely breakfast everything about our stay was excellent except for the comfort of the bed but that is a personal thing,would stay here again in a heartbeat. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD QUALITY AT A SENSIBLE PRICE HOTEL IS IN THE COWGATE PARALLEL TO THE ROYAL MILE BUT AT THE HOLYROOD PALACE END SO LONG STEEP CLIMB TO EDINBURGH CASTLE. FACILITIES ARE BASIC BUT ADEQUATE AND REPRESENT VALUE FOR MONEY. RECEPTION AREA AND THE BREAKFAST ROOM ARE QUITE SMALL AND VISITORS ARE REMINDED ABOUT WHEN TO EAT AND AVOID CONGESTION. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service I was very well looked after throughout my stay (and beforehand). I have to follow a gluten free diet and my needs were met - it was great to even have a choice for breakfast. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel Werry nice hotel good service and verry good location!! August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Excellent stay, if a little overpriced. Good clean accommodation, although spoiled slightly by the sound of the air conditioning units outside my room. Free breakfast very good value for money. Staff service very good. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for business and pleasure I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was given a very clean and comfortable room in a quiet corner of the hotel. This allowed me to both relax and get plenty of work done. Since this was my first stay in Edinburgh, the wonderful staff provided me with plenty of useful information and made sure that I was taken care of. Finally, the hotel is in a great location. I was within walking distance of several stores, restaurants, tourists attractions, and the train station. If I ever do return to Edinburgh, I am definitely booking a room at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel It was a clean hotel with courteous staff. The room was comfortable. July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just a block off the Royal Mile The hotel located just a block off the Royal mile was a great place to enjoy the hustle and bustle of the crowds and sights, without being directly in it. Stepping just a few paces off the main street allowed us to relax without the loud evening noise and chatter. The hotel was clean and well maintained, the staff -pleasant friendly and helpful and the rooms were spacious enough to relax in. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quiet convenient location The Holiday Inn Express Royal Mile was the perfect hotel for staying in Old Town Edinburgh. It is convenient to the Royal Mile and Princes Street as well as to Waverley train station. The rooms were clean and neat. There was no noise so our rest was quiet. I would stay there again. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy in Ediburgh Very clean rooms and facilities. Exceptionally friendly staff and management! A good location for easy quick access to all the sites in Edinburgh. Wash clothes are not available and the breakfast is tasty for the first two days, then its boring same old thing. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location, Comfortable Beds Good location, although Royal Mile is a bit of a stretch, it's actually on Cowgate which runs adjacent to it. We cabbed it everywhere but if you're more energetic there are plenty of hills to climb. The room itself was very good, we had free internet access so could catch up on emails etc... while we were in the hotel. Beds are very comfortable, bathroom is quite good too, shower only. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great dog friendly hotel in the middle of the city Looking for a high quality dog-friendly hotel in the middle of the Scottish capital, this is it! July 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and reasonably priced We had a comfortable 2 nights at the hotel. The bed for me and my wife was good and comfortable but the one for the children was a bit uncomfortable. The ladies at the reception were very good to us. We had requested an early check in and when we arrived at around 10am they made sure we check in as early as possible. Overally I dont mind recommending this hotel to my friends who may visit Edinburgh. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good accessible facility A good location in Edinburgh 100 yards from the Royal Mile but is a steep climb. July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay, but... Overall enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Only issue the whole family had was with the beds. The mattresses were very uncomfortable and the pillows very thin. Almost had to triple up on pillows for comfort. The staff was very helpful and professional. The location near the Royal Mile was great as we could easily walk to most of the tourist sites within Edinburgh. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and pleasant experience This facility provides excellent experience and location is central. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing quiet location Excellent hotel with clean comfortable rooms and excellent choices for breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location for exploring the city. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NIce and quiet hotel close to historic part of Edinburgh Nice and quiet hotel with excellent staff. Clean and tidy room. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good hotel and great location! The location just off the Royal Mile was wonderful. We felt the staff was very helpful and the rooms were very Holiday Inn Express- just fine. With the dollar's value to the pound it was very expensive for us, but we felt it was worth it to be so centrally located in a nice facility. Loved Edinburgh! June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous service all round Would definitely recommend this hotel again, just a pity the rate was a little more expensive than expected but this was due to the Highland Show on in Edinburgh at the same time. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and small Tucked away behind the Royal Mile in the vey centre of the town is this small budget hotel offering great service. Service at reception was friendly and efficient. I was able to register although ahead of time. Room was welcoming, clean and very comfortable and provided everything needed for a good night's rest. June 28, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Scenery / Landscape Reception & Foyer Area Attractions - Holyrood Park Reception Lobby Area Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Front Desk Area Attractions - Edinburgh Castle Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place by night Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre 16-22 Picardy Place Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading