• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome and assistance dogs welcome without charge Please inform reservations at the time of making a booking, to confirm availabilty, generally we accomodate guests with dogs on the ground floor of the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:13
  • Car Parking Available
  • 9 spaces at the hotel charged at £13.50 per night on a first come first serve basis. Furthur parking is available at NCP St James Centre at a discounted price of £13.50 per 24 hours, please swipe your token at reception to obtain your discount.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:161
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a free buffet breakfast and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free
View More

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a free buffet breakfast and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower.

You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas.

It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station and the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre makes keeping in touch a breeze.

The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.

View Less
Features
Ask our helpful Front Desk staff about the range of discounts available to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre guests. You can save money on city bus sightseeing tours and get discounts at nearby restaurants. Children under 18 stay free in Family rooms.
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do
View More
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do contact the hotel directly for more information
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 152 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay Unfortunately we only had an overnight stay but for the short period of time we had a warm welcome from attentive staff and a welcome back, which we hope to do very soon'. I would like to highlight the reception staff as examples to your hotel as they showed a high level of customer care. Thank you again February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great City Hotell This was not my first stay at The Holiday Inn Express Cowgate, and the service remains as good as ever. Everything is within walking distance, pubs, bars , clubs and restaurants. Reception staff helpful, warm and friendly on check in, I was allocated a room away from traffic noise as requested. I will stay here again on my next trip to Edinburgh. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A real welcome! Stayed at this HI Express for the first time, wow a real customer experience, made very welcome and the staff could not do enough for me during my stay. February 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Just returned from Holiday Inn Express Royal Mile - had a lovely first visit to Edinburgh. The hotel was within easy walk to facilities including the railway station. On arrival the receptionist was helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfast, just what was needed to start the day. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable ,staff very helpful .couldnt ask for more I would recommend this express,as a very near local,it was ideal for my family and me .Staff were great and had a great time as we always do in Edinburgh,you can't go wrong!! January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again. Great location and good price when we booked several months before Check in was quick and informative. Room was very clean and comfy.Location is great, using the 'close's' and alleyways between buildings gets you around and across town quickly. Breakfast was adequate with cereals, yogurt, fruit, cheese, breads, eggs, beans and sausage,teas, coffee, hot chocolate and juices.Suited us just fine. Wi-fi was free but i did not need to use it. Staff were all very helpful, remembering us and conversations we had. One problem we had was that our room was cold, really cold. Staff, who were very attentive, tried to sort the room air-con but no better. A plug in heater and blanket worked fine though,to warm the place up for our 2 night stay. Luggage was stored all day for us on our day of departure. Would defiantly stay again. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic and very comfortable bed and very friendly staff first the location of the hotel is very good. you can go to everywhere easily. hotel are very clean, room are very clean. staff are very friendly. it was my first time to Edinburgh, so I asked many questions about places and they answered me very friendly. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent Very good value. Large rooms, clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and great location. Highly recommend this hotel. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable Very near to the royal mile and grassmarket. Rooms had everything you needed . Staff really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good. Very security conscious within hotel, We will return. December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pre christmas visit Enjoyed staying in our clean comfortable rooms.We stayed 2 nights with our friends , We all enjoyed the breakfast , plenty to choose from.Staff very pleasent and helpful , givimg us directions for places we wanted to visit. Good location. I would recomend this hotel to friends December 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly clean good value This hotel is a 2 to 5 minutes from the royal mile, very convent hotel easy to get round to castle, museums, galleries and shopping areas. The hotel was clean and tidy at all times. The staff was knowledgeable, helpful and friendly.. The hotel room was very clean and just what I wanted for my 4 days. December 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location and helpful staff Enjoyable stay impressed with the hotel and location staff on reception very professional and friendly. Could do with teaching breakfast staff some tho. Overall experience was very good and will be visiting again December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh Very comfortable hotel and everywhere extremely clean. I think one of the cleanest we have stayed in. Well done the cleaning staff! Nice and central for visiting Edinburgh. All staff very friendly. December 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Shopping & Christmas Market Edinburgh from the Holiday Inn Express Cowgate Mt wife and I have stayed here before. From the late arrival check in to the check out, our stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Cowgate was fantastic. Rooms very clean and comfortable with all the required facilities for a comfortable and enjoyable experience. A very well situated place to stay in the heart of Edinburgh, a very short walk to the Royal Mall, a nice walk to Princes Street and thereafter to George Street. We will be back soon. Well done the Holiday Inn Express, Cowgate. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable Hotel with very efficient and attentive staff We were confident that we would expwerience the same level of service as we have had in other Holiday Inn Express Hotels. The Edinburgh Hotel exceeded these expectations. From the moment we arrived until we left 3 days later the level of service, especially at reception and room cleaning was excellent. We would like to single out Rafal who seemed to go that extra mile. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Yes, very comfortable bed and very friendly service from all. We enjoyed our stay very much, particularly the central location and a bonus was the nearby car park. We also liked the free breakfast which set us up for the day..This hotel is definitely worth another visit December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend this hotel Friend and I stayed for four days to visit the tourist sites and the German Christmas market. Staff were friendly, efficient and very welcoming. Nice to be met by smiling and helpful reception staff. Brilliant location for doing the tourists sites and shopping. Good value. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good breakfast We had a great time in Edinburgh at the Holliday Inn, the breakfast was first class, plenty of choices. It was the second visit to this hotel and we will go again. December 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Came to Edinburgh with friends for the weekend for a party and had a very comfortable stay. Great location, no problems at all. The rooms were cooler than other hotel rooms I had stayed in (you could adjust the heating, but it didn't heat up as much as I though it would), For us this was a big plus as I cannot abide overheated hotel rooms and didn't have to resort to opening the window at night. This was probably why I slept so well. Basic, but clean, comfortable rooms, enjoyed the breakfast December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely accommodating. My friend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a very short break. Our flight arrived very early and although check in was supposed to be at 14:00, our room was available at about 12:00 so we could settle in a couple of hours earlier. This made so much difference since we were tired after the journey. The staff were extremely accommodating giving advice and ordering cabs for us. The breakfast was second to non with absolutely everything on the buffet menu! December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn cowgate edinbrough This was our second visit this year the staff are very polite and have good local knowledge the room was cleaned every day and there was always a good selection at breakfast we are looking forward to our next visit November 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay I enjoyed my stay at Holiday Inn. Although IT IS NOT in the Royal Mile, it's just 30 seconds stroll away from it. Room was comfortable, although a bit too cold; turning on the heating machine wouldn't help much. When I tried to set it on at 25 degrees, it would still automatically set the temperature back to 21 degrees. Annoying. I think prices are too expensive for what is being offered. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay recently very good value for money, very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was fine. Found the room to be very quiet considering we were in a city. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Reception The person on the Reception Desk when we arrived was friendly and efficient with a truly welcoming manner. The room, although on the small side, was well equipped for a one-night stay. The only let down was breakfast with a very limited range of hot dishes - please do something about the quality of the sausages. Breakfast was completely self-service (from collecting your tray at the start to placing your dirty dishes on a trolley at the end) - a very impersonal experience. The hotel is situated very conveniently for what Edinburgh has to offer the visitor. Although in the city centre we did not experience traffice noise. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A real gem of a hotel! We came from Canada late in the evening and were grateful for the pleasant welcome by the staff. On the following morning, we were pleased to discover how convenient this hotel is to the sights of historic Edinburgh. For most of our four day stay, we walked everywhere. The breakfasts were wonderful and the room was very pleasant. Our window opened for fresh air and looked out into a churchyard with a beautiful rose garden. Staff were very helpful when we needed directions. We want to come back to Edinburgh and would definitely book here. My husband commented several times that it was the perfect hotel for our stay! November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by just what you expect from HIE As always, enjoyed our stay, staff very kind, clean comfortable room, good breakfast ,overall a very pleasant experience. The staff even found out about my wife`s birthday, and she received a card from staff, which they did`nt really need to do!!! November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Predictable good clean quality. Reassuring to set off on a journey confident that ones hotel experience will be clean and comfortable, staff always polite and helpful, water hot, shower good, beds comfortable, breakfast service and systems efficient, and food very acceptable. Hotels are invariably to be found in central or useful location and are good value. Always my first choice. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money Stayed in this hotel after my daughter's wedding because of the close proximity to the wedding venue. It was perfectly located and provided everything I required at a great price. I was pleasantly surprised by the great choice at breakfast including hot food as I only expected a "continental" The room was spacious and clean with coffee and tea making facilities. The staff were pleasant and the security entry facility was reassuring in a town centre hotel. Overall great value for money. I will definitely stay in Holiday Inn Express in the future. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and friendly staff We stayed at the Hotel for 6 nights in October. We checked into a triple room. The 3rd bed was sofa converted which meant that we could not use the writing desk. Our stay was extremely comfortable with a very friendly staff which was always willing to give us guidance for our trips around Edinburgh and the highlands. Location is excellent in the old town and most places and restaurants are within walking distance. Breakfast spread is excellent, but it was the same every day for 6 days which made it a bit monotonous as the days passed by! November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent all round We stayed for 2 nights with our children aged 6 and 4. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. Room was clean with good ensuite facilities. Great location. We'll definitely stay again. November 1, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Scenery / Landscape Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Area Attractions - Holyrood Park Area Attractions - Edinburgh Castle Front Desk Reception & Foyer Entrance Reception Lobby Area Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place by night Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre 16-22 Picardy Place Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Stay revved up.