• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome and assistance dogs welcome without charge Please inform reservations at the time of making a booking, to confirm availabilty, generally we accomodate guests with dogs on the ground floor of the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:13
  • Car Parking Available
  • 9 spaces at the hotel charged at £13.50 per night on a first come first serve basis. Furthur parking is available at NCP St James Centre at a discounted price of £13.50 per 24 hours, please swipe your token at reception to obtain your discount.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:161
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable
View More

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower.

You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas.

It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station, with the tram stop located at York Place, the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre.

The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.

View Less
Features
Ask our helpful Front Desk staff about the range of discounts available to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre guests. You can save money on city bus sightseeing tours and get discounts at nearby restaurants. Children under 18 stay free in Family rooms.
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do
View More
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do contact the hotel directly for more information
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 309 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay in edinburgh I really liked this hotel, it was very quiet, just off the royal mile, the staff were the nicest i have ever met at any hotel and the room was cleaned daily. definately going to stay again. December 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised Always thought of Holiday Inn Express as a budget hotel brand, however, we were really surprised. The room was clean, comfortable December 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money I stayed for 5 nights in this hotel, just around the corner from the Edinburgh training centre. Throughout my stay, staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was basic, as expected, but clean and all the essentials were there. The bed was too short and too soft for my liking. I regularly have this isssue as I'm 6'4''. However, most hotel now have beds that are long enough. It might be worth checking with the hotel. Overall, I do think this hotel provides value for money. Location, cleanlineS's and friendly staff go a long way. December 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thoroughly satisfied I took my two year old daughter for a trip to Edinburgh for a few days and the hotel suited our needs superbly. We had a great stay and the staff were very friendly in all aspects. November 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couldn't fault it. Arrived early but this was no problem. Our bags were securely stored for us and we were allowed to check in as soon as housekeeping had completed their rounds. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect for the business conference I was attending. Room was very clean November 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by home from home We liked everything about this hotel including the fact that it was in the centre of Edinburgh. November 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great central quiet hotel Well located for walking to rail station and Royal Mile and close to many restaurants. Nice clean room with all you need. Very helpful friendly staff with soya milk and gluten free bread available at breakfast. November 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Excellent value for money, superb location, clean rooms, very helpful, friendly staff. Highly recommended. November 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and nice rooms The hotel is in a great location in Edinburgh, convenient for the train station and tourist activities. Overall the hotel and rooms are clean and comfortable and the room was a decent size with decent facilities. The majority of the staff members were helpful and friendly. My scores are lower than expected due to bad nights sleep from a noisy air conditioning unit in my room which although not switched on made intermittent noise throughout the night thus disturbing my sleep. Didn't feel like staff handled the issue very well. Breakfast was average with fairly good choice of continental style food. November 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive service in small scale environment The compact room worked effectively and the overall service was excellent. The room was very quiet, free from noise within the hotel and the operable windows, which were greatly appreciated, did not bring in significant street noise. November 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great venue for exploring Old Town Well situated in Old Town of Edinburgh. Easiest reached from Waverley Station by taking Market Street exit, (by climbing steps up) then turning left into and up Jeffrey Street, crossing Royal Mile (High St) then going down St Mary Street. Hotel is just to the right on the Cowagate. Saves going up lots and lots of unnecessary steps November 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Royal Mile We took a short break while in the UK and went to Edinburgh. This hotel is very well located indeed. It is most convenient for those who want to say in the city and be close to all that goes on there. The place (rooms adn bathroom) are rather small which is to be expected in a hotel situated in the old city. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast very good and with quite a choice for a hotel of this standard. I would certainly recommend this hotel for those on a holiday in Edinburgh. November 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Property Good location for visiting the centre of Edinburgh. Very modern hotel with very friendly staff November 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Basic but good value Very basic, more like Travel Lodge bud clean and friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Very central location, just off Royal Mile. No power points near bed so not convenient to charge phone away from you on desk. No seat to relax in. Booked through work so had to be best value. Would not stay here for personal/leisure visit. November 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location for sight seeing Perfect location for sight seeing in Edinburgh. Good value for price paid. Excellent breakfast November 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Good location, comfortable rooms, helpful and friendly staff. Good value overall November 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff make up for tired furnishings In need of refurbishment and pricey for location that is not near the centre of the city. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by City Break This was intended to be a mini city break to see the sights of Edinburgh. It turned out to be one of the best mini holidays we have had for years. The hotel was excellent, just what we wanted and placed equidistant between the Castle and the Palace so it was easy to walk to both, enjoying the sights and shops along the Royal mile. Parking so close to the centre of such a famous city difficult? no- there was a multi-storey car park within a short distance and you can drop off your bags at the Holiday Inn before parking the car. It cost £14- £15 for 24 hrs. with the 20 percent discount from HIE. Entering the hotel there is a nice hint of elegance in the décor and fittings with the reception greeting being warm and easy going. A lift to all floors and the room/bathroom being clean and comfortable. There was a good telly and tea making facilities. Breakfast was help yourself, cooked or continental - or both if you wanted to fill up for the adventure ahead! All in all excellent!! November 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by central location a great weekend break in edinburgh a good base to to see sights of edinburgh from November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exellent value for money Very hospitable, friendly service. Clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. Great location for city and Royal Infirmary. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff The atmosphere, the staff and the accommodation was superb. We travelled with our two young grandsons who also had a wonderful time. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in Edinburgh Stayed for three nights during mid term break. Arrived at hotel after an early morning flight and lady at reception was so welcoming and helpful taking our luggage so we were free to start exploring straight away. This hotel is a fantastic place to stay. The staff were pleasant at all times, hotel is clean and comfortable and in a central location and from our experience truly deserving of 5/5. November 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms, Courteous Staff, Small Rooms Good location, courteous staff, decent breakfast, good housekeeping. Rooms are small, wi-fi keeps disconnecting, need new codes everyday, breakfast opens at 7 am - late for business travelers November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff A very good hotel ideally situated. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful Will definitely stay there again. November 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Well situate But the rooms don't fit fot a three people family. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a weekend I had a wedding in Edinburgh which wasn't far from the hotel so the location was first class, the service was superb. I left my driving licence and was called just after I got on a train home. The staff called me and sent it to me which was no hassle to them. I was obviously very grateful for this. There were a few other little things that the staff were very good about so all round first class service and next time I'm in Edinburgh I will be staying there again. November 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean and friendly excellent location near Royal Mile. very welcoming staff, very helpful. Rooms very clean and a nice size. good breakfast included in the price. October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service. Staff were really helpful during our stay in october 2014. Specially Amanda at reception desk was really helpful. Room servcie good. We requested for extra pillows and towels as we were two adults and two children and booked one room with sofa bed for children. Comfortable and Pleasant stay. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, central location Hotel modern, clean, tidy with efficient and helpful staff. Rooms bright and with a little more soul than some cheaper hotels. Only one lift so tiresome waits at busy periods and our family room was a bit cramped but ok as we only stayed one night. Breakfast fine, bit basic but again, better than a lot of budget hotels October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay The staff were without exception genuinely friendly and welcoming at all times. The hotel was spotlessly clean The breakfast food was excellent. The location was central but quiet, a rarity in a City! The only downside was that there was not enough space or equipment for breakfasts for the large number of people in the hotel. It was hard to find a table even when they opened up the adjoining conference room. There were long queues in the serving area. One reason for this was that there was only one hot water machine for people to make tea or coffee. Due to pressure of demand the machine was frequently out of commission because it was in the process of refilling or coming back to the boil. Surely a second machine would not be too much to ask! October 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Scenery / Landscape Reception & Foyer Area Attractions - Holyrood Park Reception Lobby Area Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Front Desk Area Attractions - Edinburgh Castle Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place by night Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre 16-22 Picardy Place Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading