• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome and assistance dogs welcome without charge Please inform reservations at the time of making a booking, to confirm availabilty, generally we accomodate guests with dogs on the ground floor of the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:13
  • Car Parking Available
  • 9 spaces at the hotel charged at £13.50 per night on a first come first serve basis. Furthur parking is available at NCP St James Centre at a discounted price of £13.50 per 24 hours, please swipe your token at reception to obtain your discount.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:161
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable
View More

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower.

You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas.

It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station, with the tram stop located at York Place, the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre.

The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.

View Less
Features
Ask our helpful Front Desk staff about the range of discounts available to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre guests. You can save money on city bus sightseeing tours and get discounts at nearby restaurants. Children under 18 stay free in Family rooms.
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do
View More
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do contact the hotel directly for more information
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 255 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Rooms Required room change at 11.30 pm diue to noise from faulty refrigeration unit. Woken early 5.00 am due to noise from Plumbing. Very poor nights sleep December 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent all round stay! Everything that I needed for a comfortable stay was available. Good internet access, clean warm room, great view from the 5th Floor of Edinburgh up to the castle. I November 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by polite and helpful staff Good experience, better than our last stay at one of the holiday inn in london. November 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, comfortable hotel Friendly welcome, a clean room, good breakfast and good location November 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and great service I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Edinburgh. With close access to public transportation it makes this location ideal. The staff is very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We enjoyed several meals at the hotel and was quite impressed at the the quality and value we received. November 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Upgraded to a mini suite I was given an upgrade to a mini suite and made the stay very comfortable. November 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room and great location Were primarily looking for location which was near people we were visiting and the city centre. Of course the price and comfort of the accommodation were also important, but having stayed in Holiday Inn many times over the years we were confident that these would be fine, and they were. November 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort Initial booking straightforward. Alterations to reservation a complete shambles!!! Mini suite did not match up to the advertised description. 3 staying, towels for 2 provided. Furniture covered in sticky mug rings and table had newspaper print like a transfer over the top. Coffee mugs were still dirty from previous occupants. No slippers provided, and only one torn shabby robe hanging in bathroom! Bed like a brick, woke each morning with a sore back. Quilt and pillows completely worn out and in need of renewing. But putting these negative house-keeping issues aside, the saving grace for this hotel are the staff. Each and everyone we encountered was happy, attentive, sociable, helpful and efficient in their position. Good job! :) November 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay The hotel provided us with everything that we were looking for in our overnight stay. November 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff exceed the standard of this building. Reservations and changes online, by telephone and through the reception desk itself at this hotel a complete and utter shambles! Arrived to be told the upgrade I had asked for had not been arranged, although had been confirmed by reservations staff online, and by phone the following day. Then further confirmed by reception 3 days later!!! But issue was efficiently dealt with by lady on reception and rectified within two minutes of arrival. However, her efforts were unfortunately let down by the room given. The furniture in the room was covered in sticky cup ring-marks. The coffee mugs had not been cleaned. The net screens on the windows had tears in them. Only one torn robe was supplied and no slippers at all. The mini-suite has a sleep capacity for four, but we had two sets of towels for three of us. The mattress was very hard, and we both had restless sleep and woke with sore backs each morning of our stay. The pillows and quilt were also worn out. These administration and house-keeping issues aside though, the public areas of the hotel are clean and well kept. The food was good, but the hotels definite saving grace is it's staff. Each and everyone we came in contact with excelled in customer service, above and beyond the level of this hotel and should all be commended for their standards in dealing with guests. November 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All round good hotel No complaints, room upgrade on arrival and quick room service. November 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a fantastic hotel! From the moment we arrived we were treated as VIPs. Both of the duty managers, Shubhank and Lee were fantastic,most helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were amazing too. Everything so clean and fresh. We had everything there you could possibly need. We slept so well because we were relaxed knowing it was such a great place to be. Definitely will be back and hopefully very soon!! Thank you. November 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gereat Service and Staff The service and friendliness of staff really differentiate this hotel. Well done to all on this. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly, with a genuine caring attitude to make sure everything was as good as it could be. If travelling by foot then entrance into the hotel is not particularly well signposted and a little confusing but not an issue really. Warm welcome from reception, with membership recognised and acknowledged, in a genuine way it did not feel like going through the motions. Very well done on this. Meals were good in the restaurant and service very good. We had booked Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package which represents good value for money, with a good range of choices. Added to this kids eat free so it works out as a very good option if travelling with the younger ones. Drinks prices at the bar are a little on the expensive side, and same could probably be said for dining if you aren't on the inclusive deal, but prices are probably what you expect in hotels with captive market. Good rooms, slightly let down by small bath and minor housekeeping attention to detail issues, otherwise this would be perfect. Great views across the city from the rooms on the high floors, if you are fortunate enough to be on the right side for this. Overall highly recommended and would be happy to stay there again, the staff really made a difference and went that extra mile. Well done and thanks. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet location Convenient location for the city centre by bus from the stop outside, or taxi. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and have great views of the city. Attentive,efficient staff November 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh Good value for money and location. Staff did enough no more or less. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with great staff. Booked room at reception with competitive rate and great services and great staff. Loved my stay!!! November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Edinburgh Break Oct 23- Nov 4 2014 We chose the Holiday Inn because we had stayed before (1st time) and were very impressed with all facets of the Inn. Returning proved to be the correct option because all our expectations were fully met. Its location is important because we do not require a car and the excellent bus service meets all our requirements. We shall certainly use the Holiday Inn again when we return to the City. November 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money We chose the prepay option and booked 21 days in advance. We did not use the hotel facilities other than our room and our stay was comfortable and excellent value. Reception staff were extremely helpful in resolving a specific prior arrival request which had been overlooked. This oversight was handled efficiently to ensure our requirements were met. Very good customer service here in resolving a customer problem. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent stay A warm welcome from Lee on arrival and upgraded to a suite which was very spacious. Once again no problems and a very enjoyable stay. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by PLEASANTLY SUPPRISED Enjoyed our stay very much and would return if visiting Edinburgh November 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Restaurant staff were excellent throughout our stay as were the receptionists. I would not hesitate to go back November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic place to relax Superb hotel, easy access by bus into central Edinburgh, hope to stay here again soon. November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable staging post A comfortable staging post on a long journey. Generally up to Holiday Inn standards (ie good) but staff were overly fawning instead of being crisply businesslike. Music in the bar/restaurant was more reminiscent of a rock concert that calmingly atmospheric - wailing women (and men) are not music! Lighting levels in the restaurant suggested they had something to hide. November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer care spent 3 nights at the Holliday Inn Edinburgh west, Very friendly and helpful reception staff, good food, good quality room what more could you ask for. November 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value, good location We chose this hotel as it was close to the city centre and not far from the zoo (the H I at the zoo had poor reviews). The hotel was excellent value for money, was spotlessly clean and our room on the sixth floor had spectacular views of the city. The only thing that let it down was the chaos in the restaurant at dinner and the lukewarm breakfast in the morning. Solve these food based issues and you'd get 5 stars from us! Special mention for Lee on reception who went out of his way to make our stay special for our daughter's birthday. Overall don't hesitate to stay here, but probably find somewhere else to eat. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, excellent facilities I thoroughly enjoyed a single night at this hotel. Upon arrival, I found reception to be extremely friendly and willing and able to provide relevant information and answers to my questions. The room was quite large and very comfortable. Variety of pillows was greatly appreciated. In general, the hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable and staff were absolutely delightful. Only criticism was in relation to the bathroom being very small and the grout in the tiles needs some attention. Restaurant was too dark, making it very difficult to read the menu but the food was quite nice. All in all, a very enjoyable experience and I would definitely stay here again. October 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service. Comfortable room with spectacular view. Good transport links for our theatre break. Ideal for early morning hospital treatment. October 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and good concierge service helpful staff, nothing too much trouble and they were flexible to meet my requests. However the two double bed room was squashed and the bedroom very small - actually difficult for me to get in to the toilet past the door. We were on the 6 floor so dependent on lift access for which we had to wait significantly at busy times. On the up side the view was amazing - panoramic view of Edinburgh from the sea to the city. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No surprises. A friendly and relaxing refuge after a busy day, consistent with many visits over a long period. Even though staff changes occur from time to time, the new faces seem to blend in with the overall atmosphere and join with regular staff members very quickly to help make a visitor seem genuinely welcome. Full marks to Management October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay One of the best Holiday Inns we have stayed in. The staff were so helpful both at reception and in the Restaurant. Wish we had stayed longer, and look forward to staying there again. Please thank the staff for us for a wonderful stay and for their caring attitude. October 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Scenery / Landscape Reception & Foyer Area Attractions - Holyrood Park Reception Lobby Area Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Front Desk Area Attractions - Edinburgh Castle Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place by night Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre 16-22 Picardy Place Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading