• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome and assistance dogs welcome without charge Please inform reservations at the time of making a booking, to confirm availabilty, generally we accomodate guests with dogs on the ground floor of the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:13
  • Car Parking Available
  • 9 spaces at the hotel charged at £13.50 per night on a first come first serve basis. Furthur parking is available at NCP St James Centre at a discounted price of £13.50 per 24 hours, please swipe your token at reception to obtain your discount.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:161
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable
View More

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower.

You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas.

It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station, with the tram stop located at York Place, the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre.

The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.

View Less
Features
Ask our helpful Front Desk staff about the range of discounts available to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre guests. You can save money on city bus sightseeing tours and get discounts at nearby restaurants. Children under 18 stay free in Family rooms.
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do
View More
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do contact the hotel directly for more information
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 274 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by superb I only wish the included breakfast was more variable, not everyone wants to go for a full English. Otherwise really pleased with our stay, excellent staff and comfort. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location Stayed for 5 nights to and it was a great experience. Room was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel This was my second stay in Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, and once again it was absolutely wonderful. The staff are so helpful and friendly and the rooms are outstanding, the quality of the furnishings and the towels, and the free snacks/soft drinks are a lovely touch. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Edinburgh, it is in a great location, but quiet, and it's a lovely size, not too enormous, therefore the staff have time to assist you should you require any help or information. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel The hotel is excellent, very modern design inside, and excellent location with a tram stop and numerous bus stops right outside the front door. The room was a good size, the bed was massive and lovely, there was plenty of space in the bathroom and a nice big window made the room very airy. Very little noise from outside made it a perfect hideaway in the middle of the city! August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5* Hotel Overall great place to be, good hotel, room and breakfast. 5/5. good internet as well... August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Could be better Looking forward to stay but too many annoying things left me feeling disappointed. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Time Stay Charming, friendly front of house staff. A warm welcome means a lot when guests have made a long journey to get to Edinburgh. Excellent, light, quiet room. Quality bathroom, good shower. Our upgrade was appreciated. Thoughtful extras e.g fresh milk, Tunnocks Scottish caramel wafers in fridge, decaffinated T-bags. Breakfast delicious (good quality eggs used) but staff need training - rather chaotic and slow, but well meaning. Please turn off the irritating background 'musak' at breakfast. Try this for a month and see if any guests request 'musak'! 'Musak' doesn't create ambiance at breakfast - just annoyance. A lot of work has gone into this hotel redevelopment, it just needs a few tweeks to make it perfect. August 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, very, very bad room The hotel is lovely, but only stay there if they can guarantee that you do not stay in a basement room. You will be woken early by stomping, herds of elephants from above. Also, it is very dark in the basement rooms and if you open the curtains people can look into the room from above. Whoever decided that these rooms could be used to house guests needs to rethink their plan. It is totally unacceptable and such a shame for a hotel that otherwise would have been a delight to stay in. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay was OK Nothing to fault other than the mattress which was just too soft and sagged in the middle. My personal preference is for something much harder, July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming staff The staff were welcoming, efficient and attentive. The hotel was confortable. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The staff at the Hotel Indigo in Edinburgh were absolutely wonderful. From the front desk check-in, to helping with directions, reservations and overall making us feel very welcome, they were outstanding in their customer service. July 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Should be a Holiday Inn express Having stayed in various Indigo properties I was extremely disappointed here. My room was a shoebox, in fact I could not open the right hand door of the wardrobe as the desk was in the way. I really despise when hotels such as this take advantage of their location, offer substandard room and service quality yet price themselves at the top end of the market. Can't recommend. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No action even after multiple calls I am not happy with the room service and when we call the response time is poor. Welcoming and reception service was good July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shame about the poor service The hotel staff seemed uninterested in this hotel. The Indigo Newcastle and Liverpool are a different class in terms of customer service. With loads of choice for the consumer when booking hotels I always thought that the hotel Indigo really stood apart with great customer service. That was until Edinburgh. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Glad we choose this hotel, had a two night stay. Good location , tram stop at the door, bus terminus a very short walk away, and easy walking distance to shops and sights. Staff very helpful, great breakfast cooked to order. Stored our bags after check out time as we wanted to do a bit more sightseeing , would we stay there again , definitely ! July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay The cleaness of the room, comfortable bed and lovely modern decor of this hotel complimented our stay at Edinburgh. Helpful staff and the location is great just a few minutes away from the centre. Wifi is free and we really appreciate the free mini bar items especially the water and fresh milk, which were replenished daily. Would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers. July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location, disappointing stay Room was small (which I expect in the UK). But, it was also laid out poorly. One person would have had no issue with the room, but two people would find the room we had a bit cramped. When going in opposite directions, we found ourselves climbing over the bed to get across the room, because only one person could fit between the bed and the wall. Sitting area was nice, but I would have sacrificed it for more space in the main area of the room. Breakfast was an absolute rip off. Skip it and go buy a scone down the street for 1/4 the price. Staff service below expectations. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, helpful and friendly staff I spent two nights as a tourist, then left for 3 nights and returned for 2 more nights. They were very willing to allow us to keep our large bags there for our return. They also packed us a breakfast on the final day when we had a 7 AM flight. I have a hard time commenting well on value as the dollar is rather weak relative to the pound now, so everything seems expensive. We never used the fitness room, but it is rather small. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay A lovely experience with very accommodating staff. Would visit again and recommend to others. July 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by wasn't all that impressed. I couldn't find the switch to turn off the blue light in the washroom and enjoyed a view of a brick wall. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great guest service - would highly recommend We stayed for our wedding and could not fault the staff, the service or the hotel rooms we had. Many thanks to Daniel and the team. From reception staff to bar staff to housekeeping. Everyone was friendly helpful and attentive. We would definitely recommend friends and family to stay here. Many thanks June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great spot great hotel in a great location with wonderful staff and a room with everything you need in and more! June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful hotel I only stayed here for one night but what a discovery! I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world and Indigo stands out as one of the best. Small, welcoming, very quiet and comfortable and lots of extras - like the Aveda toiletries and the free mini bar. I will never stay anywhere but here next time I am in Edinburgh. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tolles Hotel an guter Lage. Tolles, modernes Hotel an guter Lage. Das neue Tram fährt direkt vom Flughafen vor die Haustüre des Hotels. Sehr komfortables Zimmer und Bad mit gratis Getränke in der Minibar. Das Bett war etwas hoch aber die Matratze sehr bequem. June 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room shame about the location of rooms On arriving at Hotel Indigo our first impressions were that it looked modern, inviting and we were looking forward to seeing our room. We had booked the Hotel Indigo's Junior Suite as this stay was a mini moon after we got married. The reception staff were friendly and talkative and genuinely seemed interested in speaking to us. However all went wrong when we arrived at our room. First of all the way to our room was like a warren, we felt like we were getting taken to the depths of the hotel, I suppose on the other hand understandable given the type of old building. When we arrived in our room, the first thing we noticed was that we were just below ground..... this meant that the only natural light came from patio doors which showed people's feet going by and people being able to see in from further across the road- no privacy at all- given this was a mini moon (which we had told the hotel of) we were extremely disappointed that we couldn't open the alarmed doors a smidge and that we had to then close the curtains for privacy. I went back to reception to ask for the situation to be rectify by transferring us to another room. I was advised that apart from one other Junior suite on the 4th Floor that all other Junior Suites were on the same floor and position as ours. I find this extremely bad planning. When you pay a lot more for a room you expect to be given the best position of room. I didn't mind being at the front just not when people can actually look in and no natural air is able to come into the room which made it stuffy. The reception staff didn't apologise and advised they would speak to the manager and get back to me regarding the issues.... I am still waiting to this day. The fourth floor Junior suite had been occupied from the prior eveing for three days, so understandably not available to move to. I can say the room was clean, fresh and modern with a gorgeous bathroom and shower. I know that a hotel room is just a room and that you are barely in it but after coming from Australia and staying with relatives to get married we were looking forward to having a honeymoon expierence. I was so disappointed. The breakfast was gorgeous in the morning and checkout was not until 12noon which was extremely generous. I am sure the standard rooms were nice but please don't pay extra for the junior suites unless you are able to get the fourth floor one. The Trams had just started right outside the hotel, so every 10minutes the bleeping for the tram became a permanent fixture. I can imagine people paying a premium will start complaining about this. Wouldn't reccommend due to the room location unfortunately. Such a shame as otherwise a nice place to stay overall. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic rooms Had a wonderful stay, we had twin room which was a very big room. The beds were king, huge and very comfy, although a little on the high side! Bathroom was very spacious with bath and a huge shower. Only wish I had a shower like it at home. Staff were all very nice and helpful. Ideal location with the Tram stop just outside the hotel, which makes it very easy to get to the heart of the city. We hope to come back and stay again! June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great City Centre Hotel The Indigo is a great asset to the IHG hotels. The Indigo Edinburgh is friendly and comfortable. The rooms, while not huge, are big enough for a few nights stay. Well appointed and well maintained. Larger than average shower cubicle with a great "soaker" shower head. The new Edinburgh trams stop right outside the Indigo so its easy for commuting (as long as where you want to go has a nearbytram stop). Highly recommend the Indigo Edinburgh! June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Television Channel Option The only criticism of my stay this time was that there were not sports channels available in the room I stayed in (221) June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good, value for money hotel Very clean, comfortable room. Bathroom very good. Poor air conditioning ie did not work. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay We couldn't have asked for a better experience on our first trip to Scotland. Every member of the staff was so gracious and helpful. Our room was perfect. Every request was handled immediately and professionally. i would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Edinburgh. June 6, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Scenery / Landscape Reception & Foyer Area Attractions - Holyrood Park Reception Lobby Area Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Front Desk Area Attractions - Edinburgh Castle Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place by night Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre 16-22 Picardy Place Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading