• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome and assistance dogs welcome without charge Please inform reservations at the time of making a booking, to confirm availabilty, generally we accomodate guests with dogs on the ground floor of the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:13
  • Car Parking Available
  • 9 spaces at the hotel charged at £13.50 per night on a first come first serve basis. Furthur parking is available at NCP St James Centre at a discounted price of £13.50 per 24 hours, please swipe your token at reception to obtain your discount.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:161
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a free buffet breakfast and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free
View More

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a free buffet breakfast and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower.

You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas.

It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station and the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre makes keeping in touch a breeze.

The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.

View Less
Features
Ask our helpful Front Desk staff about the range of discounts available to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre guests. You can save money on city bus sightseeing tours and get discounts at nearby restaurants. Children under 18 stay free in Family rooms.
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do
View More
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do contact the hotel directly for more information
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 181 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Glad I gave a second try! Have stayed at the property once before and was much happier this stay. As it is a boutique hotel, each room is different. This visit, once again, had wonderful, helpful staff. My room this stay was much better for my tastes. It was quiet, roomy and comfortable. I was informed that I had been upgraded and appreciated the effort. My last room was lovely and large but right under reception with hardwood floors - a bit noisy for me. I had mentioned this when I booked. Also all the roadwork has been completed! Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay on my visits to edinburgh September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, ideal location. A lovely boutique hotel with ultra modern decor. Excellent location for shopping and sightseeing, although if arriving by car it can be a little problematic loading/unloading due to the hotel being on a very busy road (the day we left the road reopened after a long closure for tram works) but the staff did their very best to assist. The hotel does provide a very convenient parking space just around the corner. If you are arriving by car I suggest you call ahead to let them know your estimated time of arrival. We stayed on a higher floor over looking the main street. It was very quiet, very modern and very clean. The bed was fabulously comfortable. The bathroom is ultra modern with an excellent power shower with Aveda toiletries, towels were lovely and fluffy along with dressing gowns. A complimentary mini bar was provided in the room which was a very nice touch. We had dinner in the bar which was very pleasant and I can highly recommend the coffee, the latte's were excellent. The staff were very pleasant and I would personally like to thank the gentleman on reception on the morning we checked out who went that extra mile to help us with our luggage and loading our car, even using his own phone to check road directions for us. My only negative comments would be that in our room some thing, furniture I'm guessing had badly scratched the floor and it did look very unsightly. When it rained, the floor of the lobby became very wet and dirty so I would suggest either a mat or it be cleaned regularly, as it was both slippy and unsightly. Overall, a lovely hotel a very pleasant stay and I look forward to returning. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel I stay regularly at the Indigo in Edinburgh. It's one of the few best hotel I recommend. Very clean, refreshing look and great ambience! September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Some in Room issues The hotel had just opened and was experiencing a few in room maintenance issues. The staff worked thru these well. September 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Six days in Edinburgh The Hotel was excellent located to the center of Edinburgh, and updated in a modern style. We will recomend the Hotel in the best way to all users. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Gorgeous Hotel Absolutely fabulous hotel! We booked a "family room" - very stylisch, modern and spacious. The bath room deserves a five star award. Much more than we expected. Excellent breakfast buffet. Unfortunaltely, a construction site was right in front of the hotel (road works). September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We went just for 2 days and we felt so comfortable in the Hotel. Warmful staff. Good breakfast but not excellent. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice interior, comfortable, worth it The staff were really friendly, rooms are very nice and comfortable! The neighborhood was quiet and nice. Always worth a visit! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by distinctive & delightful I have been (sent to) the Indigo by my employers a number of times now and it is my hotel of choice in Edinburgh. within walking distance of the station (always a plus) but quietly situated the hotel is not too big and retains a quirky flair for decor and design. Close to the shops (very dangerous) and with a tram line soon to be completed outside it is located in a premium second rank position, in my view the best of all possible worlds because it has to work to attract customers. It has comfortable beds and rooms with a fridge stocked with free drinks and nibbles (why can't all hotels do that?). OK, the rooms are not overlarge, but they are individually decorated and finished and the overall effect is pleasing. The staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast is good (no endless so-called breakfast hotplate here - all is individually cooked!) and the restaurant in the evening is excellent. You can keep your premium location hotels grown fat on passing trade - this is a much better bet and I look forward to going back there. Can we have more hotels like this please? September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay We stayed at Hotel Indigo during our first visit to Edinburgh. Wow, what a place! Very friendly and helpful staff, cool contemporary design, immaculately clean and right in the center of the city (no more than 5 minutes walk from the train station)! The bar has a wide selection of drinks on offer and the breakfast, although quite expensive, is excellent. Our room was very comfortable with high ceilings and a beautiful en suite. The walk-in shower with water-fall shower head was powerful and hot - a perfect shower, although there was no bath. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh, we shall be staying again next time without doubt. September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Enjoyed my short stay. Stylish rooms and quality staff made the stay enjoyable. Scottish breakfast excelled. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and individuality Firstly, the negatives: the receptionist was on her own and couldn't take us to our room - we got lost. (This hotel is not designed to a standard template!). Our room (212) seemed to be next to an engine room, and there was a fairly loud constant background noise. I did think of asking to be moved, but it was the height of Festival time and we were staying only one night. Now the positives: the room was well equipped, very clean and had one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. The background noise went off at night, although it did resume early in the morning. We slept well, however, and enjoyed a very good room service breakfast. I'd certainly recommend the hotel, but when I come back I'll specifically request not room 212. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Edinburgh hotel Hotel Indigo is an excellent choice for a stay in Edinburgh. It's not cheap, but then nothing is in Edinburgh. The staff are friendly and efficient, the restaurant has good quality food. The rooms are small (as all are in Edinburgh), but there are creative uses of space so the room doesn't feel cramped. It is located within walking distance of all the important sites. The current tramline construction makes it a challenge for taxis, but they are accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you. August 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A good night's sleep.... Plus points: Excellent staff service at all times no matter who approached you. Good layout and decor throughout the hotel very modern almost boutique orientated. Excellent beds for a good nights sleep. Comfortable air con. Down points: Didn't get the King bedroom I had paid for. Broken hair dryer attachment - the good lady didn't want to complain and persevered with it. Broken mirror in the room - we thought it was art decor until closer inspection did reveal it was broken in several places, receptionist said'There was probably a domestic in the room'! Broken volume control in the bathroom. Wardrobe space totally inadequate for the length of clothes to hang as the shelving was too high and clothes were left crumpled .Bar area - Very little on offer other than two real ales and a smittering of european lagers. Not quite sure who that market is aimed at. Pricey to say the least. Breakfast not included- i was convinced I had read that breakfast was included so had to pay extra for this. Not on my own on this one as a couple checking in after us also complained they were sure breakfast was included, be sure to check this out! For a 4 star hotel they clearly need to have attention to detail on everything with the charges they ask for. Would I stay again - No because I've done this. Would I recommend this hotel to others - Yes! If they ironed out the points I've raised then maybe I would have written a completely different experience. It has a lot of potential and I'm sure others will not have experienced what we did. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel with excellent staff I love the Indigo, and what makes this little hotel so special is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are comfortable and well serviced, and a mini-bar crammed with free snacks is nice. Would happily stay in the Indigo whenever I visit Edinburgh. August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room - comfortable bed We stayed at the hotel for three nights and enjoyed the room very much. Breakfast was good - not excellent! The staff did not clean the tables; they need to be much more attentive and efficient.. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel - thoroughly recommended Stayed for a night during the Fringe. Rolled up too early so had lunch. Very tasty tapas. Recommend it. Returned at 0130 after Tattoo and were allowed in after security checks. Impressive. Lovely room and bathroom. Great breakfast and lovely service throughout. Thoroughly recommended. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service, lovely setting Fantastic experience at the Hotel Indigo in Edinburgh. We went for our mini- moon and found that the whole experience was really worthwhile. It is a lovely hotel with super facilities and service. As a boutique hotel it feels spacious yet intimate in design and the atmosphere is relaxing. The staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel really welcome. Although there are many strong points to this hotel, i feel that the staff service is one of the very highest. Our room was fully equiped with modern technology with a media hub and flat screen plasma at the end of the bed; a comfy and spacious bed; a desk; complimentary mini-bar; modern bathroom; funky decor. The thistle retaurant attached to the hotel is very nice with a relaxed atmosphere. The location of the hotel is central and easy to find. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the near future. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ticked every box I so enjoyed my stay at this hotel and didn't want to leave and will definitely return the room was outstanding the staff very attentive and nothing too much trouble my parents where staying at another hotel nearby as they had booked at Christmas time to see the Edinburgh tattoo. When they came to meet and eat at the restaurant they were so made to feel welcome too.The bar and restaurant was very well set out and the food to die for All the staff at this hotel are really wonderful and extremely helpful I wanted a spa whilst I was staying they gave me and recommended one to go to and it was perfect I will most definitely recommend this hotel. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by QUIET LUXURY AT AFFORDABLE PRICE I've stayed at over a dozen 4 star plus Edinburgh hotels and this is the best in my opinion,. Safe and secure accommodation for lone women and quiet, non-intrusive service from helpful staff. Stylist rooms with free wifi and comfy beds with a luxury range of products in the shower rooms. Good quality fixtures and fittings and a nice touch of in room fridge with complimentary water, milk (proper bottles), crisps, biscuits, etc. Tea and coffee making facilities include complimentary Scottish shortbread and Scottish Oat biscuits. Usual range of breakfast items plus freshly cooked items from the menu mean a hearty start to the day. Small well stocked bar with a range of meals available in the bar area plus restaurant. In my opinion the best hotel for people on business as it meets all their needs. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and fun! Fantastic boutique hotel with terrific staff. Genuinely blown away by the customer service. The location is really good with shopping and bars only a stones through away. The only negative I guess would probably be the parking but if honest...its only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. oh...we also got a complimentary mini fridge which was a great little top up to the experience! Highly recommended August 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful hotel. Great staff and location. What a treat. Delightful boutique hotel with excellent decor with a nod to old Edinburgh. Breakfast excellent. Complementary snack bar a treat. Will be using the Indigo group of hotels as a preferred brand now. August 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing room, friendly staff I would highly recommend Hotel Indigo, great location for Princes street. Bedroom large & beautiful also great rain shower. Staff very friendly & helpful. Only disappointment was the room service - food was not cooked properly & slighly cold but when I mentioned this to the reception staff it was resolved. The hotel also supplies Aveda products which are a lovely touch. I would definitely stay again & highly recommend to friends. The hotel also offers free mini bar with soft drinks & snacks which is stocked daily, I've not had this in any other hotel I've stayed in & again a nice touch, little extras go a long way to making your stay plesant. August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel We really enjoyed our stay and loved the hotel. Room, staff and breakfast all of a very high standard. I have already recommended it to friends. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and Surprised First time at Indigo and was pleasantly surprised! August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A surprise! Very efficient and helpful staff. Excellent value for money. Superbly situated for museums and shops. August 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel, lacking organisation A lovely hotel with well designed and presented rooms - the free mini-bar was a very pleasant surprise. Unfortunately the organisation leaves something to be desired. On arrival, having followed the directions provided, we waited half an hour to be let into the car park and then only after a second telephone call. The promise, "... we will take your luggage ..." didn't materialise as one staff member was insufficient to carry luggage for four people. I would also have preferred it be made clear that there is a significant walk from the car park. The allocated parking spot was already occupied so I was directed to another, unfortunately, returning to it on the second day this too was occupied by another car. It should be a simple matter to log occupancy. I was promised a boxed breakfast for an early morning Saturday start but this was not prepared. In fairness the gentleman on reception did his best to put something together but it was inadequate. This was rectified on the Sunday morning after my wife had spoken with the duty manageress. This lady promised to deduct the cost of breakfast from the bill but, seemingly, failed to register this in the system. Again, I have to be fair - on checking out, after explaining about the breakfast, the cost of one day's parking was deducted. Overall, we were all impressed with the hotel and better organisation would have made it an excellent weekend and mover the rating from average to good or, possibly, excellent. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by cyclops1972 The whole experience of our stay was excellent. The staff were very courteous and helpful and whilst not knocking the non Scottish staff it was delightful to deal with so many well presented, well spoken and efficient young Scots. I had a minor problem one evening and I am pleased to say that it was dealt with great aplomb by the management. Whilst I didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening it was refreshing to have a freshly cooked breakfast served to you at the table. Overall my experience was excellent and I would have no problem recommending the hotel to friends and associates. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great servicegreat place to stay great place to stay. very friendly staff and excellent amenities, had a great stay. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time...would liked to have stayed a lot longer. Very relaxing time. Well looked after. Thanks to all the staff at HI Indigo Edinburgh who made our wedding anniversary all the more enjoyable. July 22, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Scenery / Landscape Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Area Attractions - Holyrood Park Area Attractions - Edinburgh Castle Front Desk Reception & Foyer Entrance Reception Lobby Area Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place by night Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre 16-22 Picardy Place Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay revved up.