• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome and assistance dogs welcome without charge Please inform reservations at the time of making a booking, to confirm availabilty, generally we accomodate guests with dogs on the ground floor of the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:13
  • Car Parking Available
  • 9 spaces at the hotel charged at £13.50 per night on a first come first serve basis. Furthur parking is available at NCP St James Centre at a discounted price of £13.50 per 24 hours, please swipe your token at reception to obtain your discount.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:161
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable
View More

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower.

You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas.

It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station, with the tram stop located at York Place, the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre.

The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.

View Less
Features
Ask our helpful Front Desk staff about the range of discounts available to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre guests. You can save money on city bus sightseeing tours and get discounts at nearby restaurants. Children under 18 stay free in Family rooms.
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do
View More
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do contact the hotel directly for more information
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 320 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Friendly, informative and helpful reception staff. Twin room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Quiet location and excellent cheap bus service right outside hotel into city centre. August 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive After staying at Perth and Stirling holiday inn during late june/early July I thought the price at Edinburgh was extortionist . I appreciate that the Edinburgh festival is on in August but to pay more than double the price is wrong especially as the hotel looked tired compared to the other two we stayed at. We found it hard to find a table for breakfast. The food was fine and the staff helpful. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Start of three week trip My mom and I stayed here for four nights at the beginning of our three week Scotland trip back in June. The desk staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was of sufficient size for us. The switches on the outlets and the connections between outlets was a little confusing at first (coming from the U.S.), but we figured it out with no problem. Pay attention to the breakfast queue information in the elevator if you want to avoid the crowds. Within walking distance to shopping (though limited) and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Public transportation stops next to the property. August 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Was ok for one night Stayed at this hotel on many occasions , as a priority card holder , it's comfortable clean and easy to get to. There is plenty car parking space. . As a Gold PC member one of the benefits is usually early check in n late check out , when I did ask about the latter one guy in reception was very abrubt ! However we did find all the other staff very helpful . There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and plenty of buses to take you into the city centre . We will no doubt stay again . August 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Family room I think they need to put proper beds in family room, my 14year old son had to sleep on sofa bed which had seen better days, gratefull we were only there for 3 nights August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First-class service at economy-class prices I was travelling on my own to Edinburgh and don't know the city very well. The staff could not have been more helpful with local bus info., taxi numbers, local restaurants (which they had discount vouchers for), carrying an ironing board up to my room, and so on. I was really impressed. Breakfast was great and the room was spacious and comfortable. Would definitely recommend. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Even the seagulls were singing about the weather Enjoyed our two nights at the Waterfront. We asked for quiet rooms and we were given them, and we slept soundly. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and provided everything we asked for. At breakfast on the second morning... disaster!!! The delivery of fresh fruit had not arrived. The staff were up to the challenge, however. Charlene went across the road to M&S Food To Go and bought their stock of bananas and apples! Thank you Charlene - and your manager - and the rest of the team for making our stay so pleasurable. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and comfortable nice and confortable, very kind staff, location and all services acceptable. it is a good hotel. July 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Parking is Free !! Got your attention ? Good, the parking is indeed free but be prepared to grab your space early to combat those selfish types that want a bay and a half. Either that or IHG get a clamp for inconsiderate parkers. Good value, good location and great staff unlike my experience in the Midlands. Breakfast, internet, reasonable prices in the bar again unlike the Midlands. The barman even coming over to me at the end of his shift to thank me and wish me a pleasant trip. Check out in the morning and again polite friendly desk staff. Brilliant, thanks for a great stay. Maybe it's a management thing ?. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just 1 night - suited us perfectly Lovely cool room during a hot summer. Reception team were so so friendly and great characters. Made to feel extremely welcome. Well done to the team. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Have enjoyed staying at Holiday Inn , Ocean Drive. This was a two night break to sight see Edinburgh. It was a good location, we were next to the Royal Yacht Britannia. The hotel staff where very helpful and very attentive to your needs. The room was very clean and comfortable. The Breakfast was all you could want to choose from. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just right for the start of a cruise, or a haven from site- seeing overload I chose this hotel as it is right next to the Cruise Terminal in Leith. The room was clean tidy and of the usual standard for Holiday Inn. The staff were extremely helpful in regarding my husbands medication, and effeicent in all that we asked of them. I would certainly recommend this hotel. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, and the shopping mall is just across the street with a variety of restaurants. If visiting Edinburgh to see the sites, it is easy to access by public transport and this hotel is a haven away from the bustle if that is your requirement after a hard days siteseeing. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by spacious and clean fresh room excellent service We had an excellent stay here. We came to scotland for our daughters graduation and was recommended the holiday inn from a friend as he had stayed here. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel was excellent with nearby restaurants and a shopping centre in walking distance. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Problems handled nicely This is a very nice hotel and the staff is great. Upon checking in we encountered several facility problems with our room. This can happen at any hotel. The way the staff went out of their way to satisfy us speaks strongly for the way this hotel is managed. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel was lovely The staff at Reception did answer calls from the room and acknowledged us when we checked in, however when leaving or entering the hotel during our stay there did not seem to be much interest. July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by night in edinburgh Good location, close to city centre by bus, taxi or walking. Clean, comfortable bed and a good base for night out in auld reekie. June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice friendly atmosphere, 2nd time at this hotel, the staff are friendly the rooms are clean and tidy June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Stayed in a double room on the top floor with a sea view. Lovely hotel with helpful staff and a clean room. Location was convenient for the city and airport (bus stop right outside the hotel) but quiet and away from busy Edinburgh itself. Would recommend for people looking for a quiet break. Some good Priority Club benefits too! June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great location & great service. Front of house staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was a added bonus. Bedroom clean & Tidy…. June 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Stayed overnight as our daughters were taking part in moonwalk. Reception staff were very helpful. Would stay again June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by MADE TO FEEL WELCOME VERY COMFORTABLE,STAFF FRIENDLY ALTOGETHER A VERY ENJOYABLE STAY June 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff were extremely helpful. Could not fault service. Very good shower! We had a good comfy two night stay - very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Good value and would use again. June 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Goold location, friendly, helpful staff. Hotel in good location near Ocean Terminal, Leith. Bus stop at front door for journeys into Edinburgh or Leith Shore. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room though comfortable enough was in need of a little TLC. Free car park a boon. Would use this hotel again. June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Did what it said on the tin, provided a bed, room and breakfast. Room a little small but clean as was the bathroom, great powerful shower though. Breakfast OK reasonable selection, we were a little concerned about getting a table but even at .9.00 it was fine. Bus stops right outside and plenty of places to eat at the Ocean Terminal. Staff maybe could have been a little more friendly and the main lift took an age, there was obviously something wrong with it as the plant door was always open. June 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful reception staff Our stay at Edinburgh Waterfront was greatly enhanced by the helpful staff on Reception who willingly helped us out with several taxi arrangements and were always cheerful and efficient. June 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, good location Stayed here over Edinburgh Marathon Festival weekend. Good location with car parking, frequent buses in & out of town and close to Ocean Terminal. Room excellent & well priced. Staff helpful & knowledgeable. Late check out option appreciated - worth becoming a Priority Club member fir that alone. Lobby and eating/bar area a bit jaded and untidy slightly lets down the overall experience down. May 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice for my family We enjoyed our stay. My family and I found the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and attentive. The location near bus stops was convenient, and parking was sufficient. We were in Edinburgh as tourists, and the only thing to consider is that the hotel is somewhat far from the city center, so you'll need a bus or you'll need to drive to parking. Another consideration is that one is near the docks, and there seemed to be few nearby restaurants of interest. We were told there was a shopping center at the cruise ship dock, but we did not investigate. The only other considerations were the very slow WiFi in the lobby. It was good enough for checking email and very brief, light, work. It would have been frustrating if I had important things to do that required Internet access. We choose this hotel for its value, and it did not disappoint! May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good locality and comfortable staff very good,helpful,stay was worthwhile,i would choose it again-Dr.RS Patil,Bangalore,India May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great reception We arrived at this hotel knowing very little about the area. When we asked about dinner available locally, we were given a list of recommended hotels and discounts too. We were also given a map of the area. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Breakfast was up to the usual Express standard. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend break From the moment of booking untill checkout the staff were most helpful and friendly. Clean comfortable rooms and drinks machine available in the lounge all day. May 18, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 12 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Scenery / Landscape Reception & Foyer Area Attractions - Holyrood Park Reception Lobby Area Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Front Desk Area Attractions - Edinburgh Castle Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place by night Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre 16-22 Picardy Place Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading