• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Afrikaans
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome and assistance dogs welcome without charge Please inform reservations at the time of making a booking, to confirm availabilty, generally we accomodate guests with dogs on the ground floor of the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:13
  • Car Parking Available
  • 9 spaces at the hotel charged at £13.50 per night on a first come first serve basis. Furthur parking is available at NCP St James Centre at a discounted price of £13.50 per 24 hours, please swipe your token at reception to obtain your discount.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:161
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:161
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable
View More

Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. .

A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a buffet breakfast included in your room rate and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower.

You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas.

It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station, with the tram stop located at York Place, the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre.

The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.

View Less
Features
Ask our helpful Front Desk staff about the range of discounts available to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre guests. You can save money on city bus sightseeing tours and get discounts at nearby restaurants. Children under 18 stay free in Family rooms.
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do
View More
Announcements
Please be aware the hotel has steps to the front of the building, we do however have wheelchair access to the rear of the hotel via a cobbled street which brings you to our car park, please do contact the hotel directly for more information
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 294 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice for my family We enjoyed our stay. My family and I found the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and attentive. The location near bus stops was convenient, and parking was sufficient. We were in Edinburgh as tourists, and the only thing to consider is that the hotel is somewhat far from the city center, so you'll need a bus or you'll need to drive to parking. Another consideration is that one is near the docks, and there seemed to be few nearby restaurants of interest. We were told there was a shopping center at the cruise ship dock, but we did not investigate. The only other considerations were the very slow WiFi in the lobby. It was good enough for checking email and very brief, light, work. It would have been frustrating if I had important things to do that required Internet access. We choose this hotel for its value, and it did not disappoint! May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good locality and comfortable staff very good,helpful,stay was worthwhile,i would choose it again-Dr.RS Patil,Bangalore,India May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great reception We arrived at this hotel knowing very little about the area. When we asked about dinner available locally, we were given a list of recommended hotels and discounts too. We were also given a map of the area. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Breakfast was up to the usual Express standard. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend break From the moment of booking untill checkout the staff were most helpful and friendly. Clean comfortable rooms and drinks machine available in the lounge all day. May 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by does the job Good location for a couple of days, next to ocean terminal. Rooms are large and functional. Parking can be tricky if you get there late. May 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice I had read that this hotel was too far from the city which is insane. It is a short 10-15 minute walk depending on your walking speed to the main strret Deansgate. A taxi to the train station was under 10GBP. The breakfast was reasonably priced and had a good variety. The staff were excellent and so helpful. This hotel was recently renovated and it shows. It is clean, looks clean and is kept clean. We had a small issue with the water not being hot enough and it was immediately taken care of. The evening meals were reasonably priced especially the bar menu and very good. I would recommend the rooms away from the road because while this is not a main road there can be a little traffic in the morning but quiet at night. There is a shopping mall approximately 100 yards away with stores, a drug store, Boots and pharmacy. The free With-Fi was a nice bonus. We walked to Old Trafford but a taxi is only around 8GBP. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy with this place Comfortable room and bedding provided and the price is exceptional. No noise - wonderful May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable service with a smile. We have stayed here on several occasions and have always found staff to be very helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are always clean and the beds comfortable. The choice of soft and harder pillows is always welcome. The position of the hotel is great for browsing in the Ocean Terminal Centre with its choice of eateries or for visiting the Royal Yacht. Plenty of car parking room on site and with easy bus access to the city centre, this means you don't have to drive into town! May 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor reception service When I was received, the staff who attended to our check-in didn't bother to look up to even smile and say hello or make any Casual eye contact conversation. His tone was not at all welcoming and he treated as we were just a waste of time. I am sure, I was paying to be there, I have been in several holiday inn express and well as holiday inn's in other cities and countries for both business as well as personal visits, but never have been treated that manner. He was like "You have to pay, before you check in" well I know that I will be paying but I felt like he doubted if I could pay. I wouldn't like to be treated in such a manner in any circumstances. He didn't even say "enjoy your stay", looked down and handed the room accessing cards. All your other staff treated us well but I am sure first impression should be the best impression. I felt insulted and my whole mood was spoiled. Disappointed. Now I will rethink before booking in holiday inn in the future. May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lovely room brilliant staff we had an exellant stay staff were briliant great location very helpfull and friendly staff there could have been a bit more variasion to the english breakfast very little to choose from but the heating in the room leaves very little to be desired extra blankets wouldnt go a miss we wer freezing at night and the heating kept blowing cold apart from that lovely many thanks mr r nuttall May 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ALL ROUND - GREAT! GREAT - As always... I have been told that my "review text is too short" what more can I say? .... If you want/need to stay in Edinburgh this is the place to check in. - They'll look after you there : ) May 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy to be in Scotland Situated in the Leith/ Ocean terminus area this hotel was perfect for shopping, with all the visitor attractions either a short bus ride away or in the case of the royal yacht brittania right on the doorstep. The hotel staff were excellent in all respects, the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent hotel , but... Hotel location, service, staff all first class! - the only minor niggle was the state of the carpet in the room - rather stained and worn. That apart we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will be back! May 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Ideal place to stay near Leith. We have stayed here quite a few times, just gets better, handy for town and Leith. Great service and friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Will return. May 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean & bright our night was a bit spoiled due 2 our room being next 2 the lift & we were disturbed most of the night with people comming & going at various times we have 3 children & this was supposed 2 be a peaceful night , had we realised this would have been a problem we would have ased for a room change when we booked in. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great short break Though we only stay 80 miles away on the West coast of Scotland it is nicer to have a short city break staying in Edinburgh than travelling home on the same day. This is our third visit to this hotel . All stays have been good but this stay was the best probably because of the friendly and professional staff - especially at reception. The location, while not in the centre of Edinburgh, is good being opposite a shopping centre and a cinema. There are also excellent and frequent bus services to the city centre. There are several good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel was clean and the bed very comfortable. Everything worked in the room which has not been the case with some recent stays. Breakfast was the standard for the chain but as it is included in the price it was more than adequate. Although we did not take advantage of the extended check out time offered we were able to leave our car parked in the hotel car park while we visited the city. May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Visit Enjoyed our visit to Hotel,clean tidy,rooms very comfortable.Plenty variations for Breakfast.Staff very helpful,friendly.Great location for local transport,shopping site seeing etc.Will use Hotel again on next visit to Edinburgh. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location ideal for business in the local area As always, good service, comfortable room and pleasant surroundings. Plenty of choice close to the Hotel for a meal / bit to eat without having to drive. Second stop in two weeks - speaks for itself. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn V Premier inn This hotel had great staff at reception. The room was very basic compared to the premier inn and I found the bed un -comfortable.The breakfast was also fine however, the freshness of some of the breakfast products could have been better. I would now in future always book premier inn its a all round better product. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location My husband is wheelchair user. We parked and accessed hotel without a problem on busy Saturday lunchtime. The bedroom was fully accessible and comfortable. We were able to leave car and go across to cinema within shopping mall and enjoy meal with glass of wine afterwards. Staff friendly and helpful throughout, May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh Trip Reception staff friendly and welcoming, also arranged taxi for return to station. Nice breakfast selection in clean surroundings. Bed sheets were a bit grey in colour, but clean. En suite was clean and kept so by hotel cleaning staff. Overall a good stay with good public transport connections to the city. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic hotel If your looking for frills, this is not the place to stay, but if you happen to need to need a great value hotel and be in the area of Leith like we had to, this is a great place to stay. Staff were lovely. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and excellent location Room had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. The hotel was ideally located for our visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia and the shopping centre had a good range of shops and restaurants and was in walking distance of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Also as the hotel is pet friendly we were able to take our dog with us. Would definitely stay there again in the future and would recommend to others. Not to detract from the above review, minor maintenance issues should be addressed by the hotel group, for example, the desk lamp wasn't working in our room and also the sealant around the shower needed replacing. April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accommodation with easy access to city transport Third time staying at this hotel did not disappoint. We were very warmly welcomed by hotel staff who were able to give us all the necessary information re public transport. A parking spot at hotel, very close proximity of bus stop, frequency of buses and very reasonable costs allowed us the opportunity to relax and enjoy our visit to the city centre. The ample breakfast served in the spotless dining area set us up for the day. I had left my hair straighteners in the hotel and this was posted on to my home ASAP. A short walk to the Ocean Terminal shopping mall is also worthwhile. Would definitely use this hotel again. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay this hotel is close to all attractions a few mile from Edinburgh great bus service if needed close to ocean terminal,the staff are very helpful in all we had a great stay April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff were a joy There was a card in our room asking for the name of one member of staff who we thought deserved praise, but all the staff deserve praise at this Holiday Inn, from the managers to the girl who cleaned our room. Everything was done with a smile. Being the Easter holidays, there was a real family feel to the dining area at breakfast with plenty of chatter, and there was no shortage of anything to eat - first class. Next time we are in Edinburgh, we will definitely make this our place to stay. April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always made to feel welcome We have used this particular Holiday Inn Express and we have never been let down. The staff are always welcoming and the rooms clean and tidy April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend. Great location and was very clean. April 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short break We found the overall facilities to be excellent but felt that we would have liked a few more tea/ coffee sachets than was provided. The bed was really comfy and the whole place was very clean. A free car park was most welcome and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to our friends. Well done the staff at Edinburgh Waterfront. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location with parking. This was our second visit, and we would stay at this hotel again. All aspects satisfactory. April 12, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Scenery / Landscape Reception & Foyer Area Attractions - Holyrood Park Reception Lobby Area Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Front Desk Area Attractions - Edinburgh Castle Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place by night Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre 16-22 Picardy Place Entrance Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre Picardy Place entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading