Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Center for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage Reservations
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 682 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

682reviews

  • 5 Stars
    433
  • 4 Stars
    188
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    7

Comfortable room in convenient location

By

July 21, 2016

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel was excellently located for many of Edinburgh's high spots - the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, National Museum, Princess street etc. The hotel was clean and very comfortable with very friendly, efficient staff,

Read More
Read Less

Castle Concert

By

July 20, 2016

club

very clean and comfortable, close to attractions, our stay here added to our experience

Read More
Read Less

Immer gerne!

By

July 16, 2016

club

Sauber, in Stadtzentrum, freundliche Mitarbeiter und super service.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 17, 2016
Dear G1970, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very well situated in the centre of our lovely city and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The whole team here take great pride in our excellent customer service and I will certainly relay your lovely comments to them all. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read More
Read Less

great hotel

By

July 16, 2016

great place to stay, very central to all the shops and castle.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 18, 2016
Thank you lynette48 for staying with us and for your great 5 star review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read More
Read Less

Excellent hotel! Second time & will stay again!!

By

July 13, 2016

Hotel location is PERFECT, within walking distance of the castle and the Royal Mile. The bus line and train station are also within a short ealk. The staff are awesome! The room somes with an excellent hot breakfast as well

Posted byHotelStaff
July 15, 2016
Dear E. Hyman, many thanks for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. We were delighted to welcome you back again and it is great that your second visit was every bit as great as your first. Many thanks for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back for a third visit to the glorious Old Town of Edinburgh!
Read More
Read Less

A short stay in Edinburgh

By

July 11, 2016

A great affordable place to spend the night while you explore the beautiful city of Edinburgh. The room was minimal, but you have the necessities to make your stay alright. Furniture isn't great quality but I didn't expect anything grand. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The staff was incredibly courteous and went out of their way to assist us. They really made our stay memorable and we cannot praise them enough. Overall, a good stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 14, 2016
Dear Anne713, many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that our team made you feel welcome for your epic city-break here in the heart of the Old Town of Edinburgh. We hope you’ll come back again soon.
Read More
Read Less

Great hotel

By

July 06, 2016

platinumelite

This has a great location and breakfast is included. It was clean and a nice hotel. Great service and friendly staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 11, 2016
Dear Joy777B, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. Your comments have been passed on to the team who were delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Location of the hotel is great with just being off the Royal Mile with access to all the sights in walking distance and the Hop on Hop off bus. To ensure all our guests get ready for their busy days ahead we offer a continental buffet breakfast with sausage, beans and scrambled eggs for everyone at no extra cost. Again it was great reading you review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Read More
Read Less

good hello

By

July 05, 2016

club

As we were doing a night vigil at the Castle the banging of doors did not help our sleep the next morning.

Posted byHotelStaff
July 11, 2016
Dear floppytop, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh Royal Mile. The team hope you had a good time at the Castle and that the rain kept away. Very sorry to hear that your sleep in the morning was disturbed. We do ask everyone to be mindful of others staying in the hotel regardless of what time of day/night it is and we are very sorry that you did not get a good sleep. Again thank you for your comments and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and should you receive any disturbance please do not hesitate to contact a member of our team who will be more than happy to help.
Read More
Read Less

Apart from Location the hotel has nothing to offer

By

June 30, 2016

club

If you are looking for a good location near the Royal Mile then you can choose this hotel...but be aware there is nothing else this hotel offers. Basic amenities for the cost you pay...I did not see value in the deal. Also please ensure you book on IHG website as they don't seem to like the idea of you booking on other aggregator websites

Posted byHotelStaff
July 03, 2016
Dear NitinT, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. I am very sorry to see that we did not meet the standards that you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express and that you did not find us value for money. We are part of the Express brand of the Holiday Inn family and we offer a variety of services at no additional charge. There is free wifi throughout the hotel making browsing the web or keeping in touch with friends as easy as abc. We offer an inclusive continental breakfast with sausage, beans and scrambled egg available to all our guests at no additional cost to get you started fore that busy day ahead. The team here are a bunch of friendly individuals who are always looking to help our guests where possible and if you felt there was anything not to your esatisfaction please feel free to let the team know who will be more than happy to help to the best they can. Location of the hotel is brilliant for getting around Edinburgh. We are just situated off the Royal Mile and everything is within walking distance. The Castle, National Museum and Holyrood Palace to name a few. We have our hotel advertised on many 3rd party websites and this is the majority of our guest’s preference as we understand that it is good for a one stop shop for organising your trip. IHG and Holiday Inn have a lowest price promise and to be eligible for this we do let your guests know that becoming an IHG Rewards member and booking direct you are guaranteed the best rate on the day and promise to be cheaper than any where else. All we wanted to ensure was that you received the best deal possible making us better value for money. Again thank you for your feedback. I would love to discuss your stay further and if you would like to get in touch please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@hiexpressedinburgh.co.uk
Read More
Read Less

Not up to standard

By

June 26, 2016

Unfortunately our recent experience with HIE Royal Mile Edinburgh was far from what I would expect from Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast was inedible all three mornings. On morning 1 I even found mould growing in my tub of yogurt. The WIFI wouldn't work reliably anywhere in the hotel and the lift had a mind of its own. Whilst we have stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express hotels and will continue to do so we will never stay at or recommend HIE Royal Mile.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 29, 2016
Dear Perthtravller, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express and please accept my sincere apology that we were not to the standards you would expect from the Express brand of the IHG family. As mentioned in previous response we are looking to improve our breakfast and would have loved to get your feedback personally. Upon investigation it was found that the yoghurt was not out of date in any way. It had a small hole, which had allowed air in to the yoghurt, but please accept my sincere apology for this as this should have been found prior to going out to our guests. We guarantee 512mb of internet throughout the hotel and have not been made aware of any issues regarding this speed. It is free to all our guests for checking emails and browsing the web, but since your review we have spoken to our supplier to see if there are any issues with the equipment. We are a small hotel and only have the one lift, unfortunately it has been found that when guests keep pushing the call button reputedly it can confused the lift and mean it can take longer to get to its destination. We will look in to seeing how we can resolve this problem and thank you for letting us know your experience. We appreciate our guest’s feedback as it allows us to improve our service and would have liked for you to let us prior to check out give us the opportunity to resolve any issues. We do hope that should you be back in Edinburgh that you chose to stay with us again so you can see the improvements that we have in place to make your stay better
Read More
Read Less

Good location, mediocre value

By

June 24, 2016

platinumelite

This Hotel has good location, just off the Royal Mile. Staff members were polite and helpful. Room and bathroom are small and spartan. Hot part of the breakfast was terrible - tasted totally artificial. Main complaint - the whole week the lobby was in renovation and repainting mode - very unattractive and we were afraid of getting fresh paint on the clothing. We were not able to use the lobby at all. We were not warned about the fact that hotel is in renovation mode and it was not reflected in the rate.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 29, 2016
Dear newyorker06112016, many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. I was sorry to hear of the displeasure you experienced during your stay with us while we were refreshing our public areas and please accept our apologies for any discomfort experienced. Our rates during this period were the great value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express and are amongst the most competitive in Edinburgh and we hope you’ll give us another try when you return.
Read More
Read Less

My Stay was Awesome

By

June 22, 2016

platinumelite

Loved it. Loved every minute of it. Would do it again and again and again.

Posted byHotelStaff
June 25, 2016
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are so glad that we were able to meet the standards that you expected from a Holiday Inn Express. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Read More
Read Less