• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

You are most welcome to bring your pet to our hotel. The cost is 20 GBP per night as a cleaning charge. One dog per room. Dogs are not allowed in the Great Room or public lounge unless they are Assistance Dogs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Pet fee amount  20.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Mary Kings Close
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Auld Reekie Tours
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Dynamic Earth
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • No onsite parking at the hotel. St Johns Hill NCP car park is located a 2 minutes walk away. Hotel users are offered a discounted price . Prices are not controlled by the hotel and are subject to change.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:50
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, one hour
View More

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, one hour and 20-minute drive from Glasgow Airport and a 10-minute walk to Waverley Train station.

For your enjoyment, breakfast is included in our rates, free Wi-Fi and 24-hour bar & snacks menu available for those of you who like to stay up late. If arriving early or after departure, the hotel offers free baggage storage.

Our guest rooms are welcoming and refreshing where you can catch up on emails at the desk, with the hotel's free in-room Wi-Fi or just relax in our comfortable beds as we're all about keeping things simple, smart, spot on.

Business guests benefit from our close vicinity to major local companies, such as Scottish Parliament, Universities & Local Council Offices and a meeting room with free Wi-Fi throughout, accommodating up to 40 people.

Discounted parking is available at the NCP St. John's car park 3 minutes' walk from the hotel.

View Less
Features
Our fantastic quiet city centre location is only a few minutes walk from the Royal Mile and all the brilliant tourist attractions with lots of bars and restaurants. Only 10 minutes walk to Edinburgh Castle. This is an ideal family hotel to enjoy our breakfast inclusive rates for up to two adults and two children with a great continental selection as well as sausages, scrambled eggs and beans.
Announcements
Enjoy the best of Edinburgh's Christmas 21st November - 4th January 2015 with outdoor ice skating, stunning views of the city from the big wheel, Christmas markets, lots of shows and kids will love
View More
Announcements
Enjoy the best of Edinburgh's Christmas 21st November - 4th January 2015 with outdoor ice skating, stunning views of the city from the big wheel, Christmas markets, lots of shows and kids will love santa land. There will also be many events for St Andrew's Day on 30th November. Not to mention the fantastic Hogmany celebrations to bring in 2015!
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 402 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Night Away From Home When I travel I always try to use a Holiday Inn for the quality of the accommodation. The Holiday Inn in Edinburgh proves this to be correct again. November 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Quiet and relaxing As first time users of Holiday Inn Express we were very impressed by our overall experience and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 OK for one night! We were 4 ladies on a shopping trip. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful. We were allowed to check in early to leave our luggage while we went for lunch and shopping. The room was well equipped and modern if a little small. Bed was comfy. Shower excellent. Room temperature ok. Breakfast was excellent and a good choice but no bacon or haggis or black pudding. On checking out we were allowed to leave our luggage again to do more shopping before catching the train home. Good wifi. All in all it was worth what we paid and would stay again when next visiting edinburgh. November 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Staff during my 2 day stay were always polite, helpful and cheerful. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast had plenty of options. Amazing price. Central for the Playhouse and Princes Street. Would quite happily stay again next time I visit Edinburgh. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good base for visiting Edinburgh A warm, clean and value for money hotel in the City centre ideal for any City break. Will be back again!! November 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing room room situated at rear of hotel on ground floor, was just what was needed to get on with the last part of work, reports emails etc. the front hotel rooms would I'm sure offer an excellent view of the area, with shops and many places to eat... worth looking into. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by chill out overnight stay from the excellent position of hotel to the very pleasant November 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No frills, good service, great location My experience here was consistent with that in Holiday Inn Express locations in the US. No frills stay, decent price (I booked well in advance). A bus from Edinburgh airport takes you to within walking distance of the hotel. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We spent 1 night here and couldn't fault anything. The staff at reception were very helpful and the cleanliness of the rooms 1st class . Will certainly recommend this Hotel and hope to be back. November 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2014. We arrived late morning and were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst we went off exploring. The hotel is well located, close to the tram and local buses. Also close to numerous restaurants and a cinema. The room was a bit sparse but otherwise okay and the bathroom was not as updated as some HIE places I have stayed at. It was very stuffy in the room overnight and I needed to put a fan on as I felt like I was suffocating - there is no AC in the rooms. The breakfast room was cramped and busy. It pays to breakfast at 7 - 7.30! Some of the advertised breakfast items were not available. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would easily recommend to anyone wanting to visit Edinburgh. November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient and well located The title says it all, for work stays it is great, even if the sausages aren't ;) November 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First visit but not last Convenient location to tram system, quiet room at rear of hotel , friendly accommodating staff , standard fair for breakfast which is included in room rate November 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel ever to be in Watch out for flies in food. Staff not cooperating Be prepared to sleep on springs of the bed. October 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hotel visit My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your Edinburgh city centre hotel. With the staff very helpful in all aspects of their preferred work .This is the handiest place to stay if you are going to the Playhouse Theatre because of its location and also for shopping. October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location Very good location for theatre, cinema, restaurants, shops, train and bus stations. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Excellent location near to visitor attractions. George Street and Princes Street minutes away and also not far from Waverley Station. Very handy for us as we were at the Playhouse Theatre which is just across the road. October 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location overall very good in terms of price and location - tv didn't work and window wouldn't open October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bar prices. Thought the prices for drinks were expensive. I know this is city Centre prices but the hotel is not tourist area. Overall I will be back. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Professional, well-run hotel Nicely located and well-presented, the hotel has a lot going for it. It seems well-managed, with pleasant staff and agreeable decoration,and looks as if somebody cares about appearances. The big gripe was breakfast: it felt like a feeding frenzy - nowhere to sit, no space. We had to carry our tray of breakfast down the stairs to the bar below on our first morning. No big deal. But breakfast couldn't be relaxed and the choice stayed the same each day and the choice wasn't appealing. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Night away from home My stay was great the only thing i thought was a problem was that i neede more towels other than that it was good October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Have used this hotel for overnight stays while at the theatre opposite. It has always been clean and tidy and the staff always helpful. Room was comfortable and well equipped, breakfasts were a bit chaotic but you soon get the hang of it, plenty to eat and drink, great variety or beverages. Luggage storage is a great benefit. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay Clean, comfortable quiet room. Friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere in bar in the evening. Only complaint - breakfast very busy and a bit stressful but the hotel was full. October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, ideal location, great value for money. This is a Holiday Inn Express hotel, so it has a bit less luxury than the regular HI hotels (no in-house gym, for instance). But I was positively surprised. The rooms were basic but clean, breakfast was good (again, more basic than the HI hotels), and checkin / checkout was very efficient. Besides, the location of the hotel is great. Recommended! October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Booked this hotel as being the most convenient for visiting the theatre which was immediately across the road. Reception staff was welcoming and explained about breakfast times and free Wi-Fi etc. The room was a good size as was the shower room. The breakfast was a self-service buffet. The breakfast room was very crowded as it was not very big and it was difficult to get a table. Over all our one night stay was ideal and met all our needs. October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Theatre Break We have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express throughout the UK including 2 others in Edinburgh and this particular Hotel tops the list for us,excellent access to all attractions especially the Playhouse Theatre would highly recommend to all. October 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and reliable city centre hotel We normally stay in this hotel when visiting Edinburgh, and always find it just right for our needs. On this occasion, one or two small things needed attention in the bathroom, and we were disappointed by finding very stale croissants at breakfast; but apart from that, HIE lived up to our expectations, and we shall continue to use it. October 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, poor breakfast I booked two rooms at this hotel due to it's close proximity to the Edinburgh Playhouse. The staff were helpful and pleasant, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the carpark was a bonus. In the morning we went down for breakfast, the selection looked good, but unfortunately the coffee was foul, the scrambled eggs were like tasteless rubber and the remaining cooked items looked so unappealing we left to go to a nearby coffee shop for breakfast. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location For shopping,theatre or sightseeing the hotel is perfect. Clean and comfortable room and very helpful and pleasent staff Nice relaxing bar with music and TV not to loud overall we had a excellent stay October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for a theatre visit. It was an excellent location just across the road from the theatre and very close to many excellent restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable.The staff were helpful and welcoming. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel but needing some minor caring The hotel is in a very central position ans would suit theatre goer or business guest. It was very busy and the breakfast in the "great room " was a squeeze with too many tables and chairs for the space allocated. The room we were given had a very annoying squeaking floor when we moved about in the room and air conditioning was not fitted at all. The shower gel ran out and no replacement was in the bathroom, I would have to go off to find a maid in the middle of my shower (I didn't bother !!) All in all the hotel was satisfactory but as a loyalty card holder I would have expected more. October 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
City Centre location within 10 minutes walk to Waverely station
City Centre location within 10 minutes walk to Waverely station
Select to close.
City Centre location within 10 minutes walk to Waverely station Hotel Front Desk Climb Scott Monument on Princes Street, a short walk away Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Park only 10 minutes walk Edinburgh City and Carlton Hill with 15 minutes walk Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile hotel reception Quiet central location only 10 minutes walk to Edinburgh Castle Quiet location but minutes walk to many great pubs & restaurants
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading