• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

You are most welcome to bring your pet to our hotel. The cost is 20 GBP per night as a cleaning charge. One dog per room. Dogs are not allowed in the Great Room or public lounge unless they are Assistance Dogs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Pet fee amount  20.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Dynamic Earth
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Mary Kings Close
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Auld Reekie Tours
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • No onsite parking at the hotel. St Johns Hill NCP car park is located a 2 minutes walk away. Hotel users are offered a discounted price . Prices are not controlled by the hotel and are subject to change.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:50
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and
View More

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and 20 minute drive from Glasgow Airport and a 10 minute walk to Waverley Train station.

For your enjoyment, we offerbreakfast included in our rates , free Wi-Fi and 24-hour bar & snacks menu available for those of you who like to stay up late. If arriving early or after departure, the hotel offers free baggage storage.

Our guests rooms are welcoming and refreshing where you can catch up on emails at the desk, with the hotel's free in-room Wi-Fi or just relax in our comfortable beds as we're all about keeping things simple, smart, spot on.

Business guests benefit from our close vicinity to major local companies, such as Scottish Parliament, Universities & Local Council Offices and a meeting room with free Wi-Fi throughout, accommodating up to 40 people.

Discounted parking is available at the NCP St. John's car park 3 minutes' walk from the hotel.

View Less
Features
For your enjoyment, we offer breakfast included in our rates. Our hotel also offers free Wi-Fi throughout and we provide a PC with Internet for our guest's use. We have air-conditioned rooms and public areas. We are conveniently located in the city centre and only a few minutes walk from all the major tourist attractions and lots of bars and restaurants.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 226 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fine hotel but basement rooms? A HUGE NO!! The hotel itself is lovely. In a great location & has everything you require. My main problem was the location of our room. Quite a number are in the basement, under the restaurant, bar & reception. The noise was very loud. Mainly footsteps, possibly due to non carpeted floors. I was happy to accept this until the early hours of the morning but not right through until morning. It's amazing how just one set of footsteps and what sounds like a pedal bin being closed repeatedly can disturb you. Another pointer would be the room door. Ours didn't seal at all well and when doors were being shut around us it would rattle very loudly. I sound like a grumpy old so & so here. But I like my sleep and getting a rare night away from my toddler was seriously expecting some, worst sleep I've had since he was born! I would stay again, but only if I was on the top Floor. November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Enjoyable Stay Very nice hotel, contemporary in style, good location especially for the theatre. Room very comfortable. Lovely bathroom with top quality fittings. Very noisy guest in next room in early hours of morning but overall would thoroughy recommend. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 star accommodation My mum and I stayed here for one night when we went to Edinburgh to see the lion king. We stayed in an executive king suite. The room was bright, modern and very comfortable. There was a complimentary mini fridge as well as a coffee machine. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom did not actually have a bath but the shower was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful e.g. looking after our bags as we were too early to check in and then putting our bags in our room ready for us. The breakfast was delicious and we had plenty to choose from. I would definitely stay here again. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Away Arrived at Hotel Indigo a bit early for check-in, as we were visiting the Edinburgh Playhouse, this was not a problem as girl on Reception let us check in and leave our luggage as our room was not ready on returning back to hotel we were shown to our room and everything explained to us re breakfast times, telephone etc, and our case was already in our room for us. Room was beautiful, massive comfortable bed and pillows so had a good nights sleep, breakfast was excellent and plenty to choose from with ample tea, coffee and toast available, staff so attentive nothing is a problem to them, as you have a late check out time of 12o'clock there is no need to rush, we did not get our train till 4.30pm and the girl on Reception said we could leave our luggage this meant we could have a look around the shops then collect luggage in time for the train, perfect. The hotel was excellent as were the staff, would recommend and definitely stay here again. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but.. The hotel itself was excellent, I cannot fault the room or the staff. However we had toyed between this hotel and another and I chose Hotel Indigo because it appeared to include car parking whereas the other charged extra. It turned out that Hotel Indigo also charged extra though I didn't discover this until I phoned to find out where the car park was. I was told to book in first and then I would be given access to the car parking space (at a charge of £12). This is impossible as there is nowhere to stop on the busy road outside so I ended up having to park in the NCP car park after all. Also, on arrival I was told that I was being charged extra because I had booked a twin room but they don't do twin rooms! So they had moved an extra bed into a junior suite and I was being charged for this. If they don't do twin rooms then don't take the booking. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent centrally located boutique hotel If you're looking for a boutique hotel in a quiet but central location this is the perfect hotel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Lovely bathrooms and tea and coffee making facilities. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A nice bar and restaurant and an excellent breakfast. All in all a fabulous hotel where we would definitely stay again. October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Realy good staff, couldnt ask any more. 2 night stay. Pleased with location close to main ares. Arrived at 11 45 check in not till 3. However staff were realy helpfull and checked us into a room that was available at no extra cost. Realy good start. Room was lovely, clean and had a quirky colour scheme that was a nice change from the usual chain hotel. Complementry soft drinks in the mini bar was a nice touch as well. Bed was extra comfy tv was good. Only thing missing was sky sports from tv. Bathroom was nice, wife liked aveda products. Pre ordered champagne full scottish breakfast to room for the next morning. It came on time and was cooked to perfection. Hotel has a nice small bar had a couple of nice cocktails in there. Again staff realy friendly and seemed to enjoy working there and were happy to chat. All in all a good hotel with friendly, helpfull staff, good rooms and good location. Would recomend and would go back. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay! All the amazing reviews are true! We had a wonderful stay here! From the incredibly attentive staff to the lushly appointed rooms (many thanks for the special room in honor of our honeymoon--we sincerely appreciate the kind attention of the staff and management during our romantic trip) to its great location in the city, we could not have asked for a better place to stay. We look forward to returning soon! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Special person Our stay was perfect, everything about the facility was excellent. The reason for my additional comment though is to compliment one of the employees. There is a young man at the reception desk whose name is Daniel, this man was by far and away the most wonderful, helpful and professional individual I have ever met at any IHG facility. I travel over 100 days per year and get to see a lot of places and meet a lot of staff at these facilities, the entire staff at this hotel should be complimented!!!!! Thank you to all for your great service. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay at Indigo again when I return to Scotland. I got really sick my first day at the hotel and I believe that Jen and Daniel probably saved my life. I ended up in the hospital on an emergency basis and was unable to make full use of the hotel's facilities. However, everyone took care of my wife Patsy. Bill October 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet needs upgrading The Hotel is fine except for speed o internet. Speedtest.net showed 0.87 downstream and 0.35 upstream. Upgraded to business plan for £15 and get 3.47 down and 0.87 up. Not fast enough for reliable webex, facetime or Skype video. For tourists, this may be sufficient but for a road warrior, it is insufficient. To contract, my home speeds are 70Mbps down and 30Mbps upon cable. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel with excellent service My husband and I had a 2 night stay here and found the hotel be be clean, modern and very comfortable. The food and service were excellent, we particularly enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. The room we had, whilst small, was very comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate. We highly recommend this hotel and was excellent value for money. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely well planned Room Very nice hotel in a very central position. Friendly staff. If coming from North leave your car at Park & Ride at South Queens Ferry. The bus goes to the main bus station just around the corner from the hotel September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by smashing !!! thanks for a great stay. Room was great service great location spot on just one tip don't forget to book parking in advance we will be back September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice discovery! It was the first time for us to stay with Indigo. They exceeded our expectations and we have made a very nice discovery and will be seaching for this brand for our next trips. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Glad I gave a second try! Have stayed at the property once before and was much happier this stay. As it is a boutique hotel, each room is different. This visit, once again, had wonderful, helpful staff. My room this stay was much better for my tastes. It was quiet, roomy and comfortable. I was informed that I had been upgraded and appreciated the effort. My last room was lovely and large but right under reception with hardwood floors - a bit noisy for me. I had mentioned this when I booked. Also all the roadwork has been completed! Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay on my visits to edinburgh September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, ideal location. A lovely boutique hotel with ultra modern decor. Excellent location for shopping and sightseeing, although if arriving by car it can be a little problematic loading/unloading due to the hotel being on a very busy road (the day we left the road reopened after a long closure for tram works) but the staff did their very best to assist. The hotel does provide a very convenient parking space just around the corner. If you are arriving by car I suggest you call ahead to let them know your estimated time of arrival. We stayed on a higher floor over looking the main street. It was very quiet, very modern and very clean. The bed was fabulously comfortable. The bathroom is ultra modern with an excellent power shower with Aveda toiletries, towels were lovely and fluffy along with dressing gowns. A complimentary mini bar was provided in the room which was a very nice touch. We had dinner in the bar which was very pleasant and I can highly recommend the coffee, the latte's were excellent. The staff were very pleasant and I would personally like to thank the gentleman on reception on the morning we checked out who went that extra mile to help us with our luggage and loading our car, even using his own phone to check road directions for us. My only negative comments would be that in our room some thing, furniture I'm guessing had badly scratched the floor and it did look very unsightly. When it rained, the floor of the lobby became very wet and dirty so I would suggest either a mat or it be cleaned regularly, as it was both slippy and unsightly. Overall, a lovely hotel a very pleasant stay and I look forward to returning. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel I stay regularly at the Indigo in Edinburgh. It's one of the few best hotel I recommend. Very clean, refreshing look and great ambience! September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Some in Room issues The hotel had just opened and was experiencing a few in room maintenance issues. The staff worked thru these well. September 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Six days in Edinburgh The Hotel was excellent located to the center of Edinburgh, and updated in a modern style. We will recomend the Hotel in the best way to all users. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Gorgeous Hotel Absolutely fabulous hotel! We booked a "family room" - very stylisch, modern and spacious. The bath room deserves a five star award. Much more than we expected. Excellent breakfast buffet. Unfortunaltely, a construction site was right in front of the hotel (road works). September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We went just for 2 days and we felt so comfortable in the Hotel. Warmful staff. Good breakfast but not excellent. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice interior, comfortable, worth it The staff were really friendly, rooms are very nice and comfortable! The neighborhood was quiet and nice. Always worth a visit! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by distinctive & delightful I have been (sent to) the Indigo by my employers a number of times now and it is my hotel of choice in Edinburgh. within walking distance of the station (always a plus) but quietly situated the hotel is not too big and retains a quirky flair for decor and design. Close to the shops (very dangerous) and with a tram line soon to be completed outside it is located in a premium second rank position, in my view the best of all possible worlds because it has to work to attract customers. It has comfortable beds and rooms with a fridge stocked with free drinks and nibbles (why can't all hotels do that?). OK, the rooms are not overlarge, but they are individually decorated and finished and the overall effect is pleasing. The staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast is good (no endless so-called breakfast hotplate here - all is individually cooked!) and the restaurant in the evening is excellent. You can keep your premium location hotels grown fat on passing trade - this is a much better bet and I look forward to going back there. Can we have more hotels like this please? September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay We stayed at Hotel Indigo during our first visit to Edinburgh. Wow, what a place! Very friendly and helpful staff, cool contemporary design, immaculately clean and right in the center of the city (no more than 5 minutes walk from the train station)! The bar has a wide selection of drinks on offer and the breakfast, although quite expensive, is excellent. Our room was very comfortable with high ceilings and a beautiful en suite. The walk-in shower with water-fall shower head was powerful and hot - a perfect shower, although there was no bath. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh, we shall be staying again next time without doubt. September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Enjoyed my short stay. Stylish rooms and quality staff made the stay enjoyable. Scottish breakfast excelled. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and individuality Firstly, the negatives: the receptionist was on her own and couldn't take us to our room - we got lost. (This hotel is not designed to a standard template!). Our room (212) seemed to be next to an engine room, and there was a fairly loud constant background noise. I did think of asking to be moved, but it was the height of Festival time and we were staying only one night. Now the positives: the room was well equipped, very clean and had one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. The background noise went off at night, although it did resume early in the morning. We slept well, however, and enjoyed a very good room service breakfast. I'd certainly recommend the hotel, but when I come back I'll specifically request not room 212. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Edinburgh hotel Hotel Indigo is an excellent choice for a stay in Edinburgh. It's not cheap, but then nothing is in Edinburgh. The staff are friendly and efficient, the restaurant has good quality food. The rooms are small (as all are in Edinburgh), but there are creative uses of space so the room doesn't feel cramped. It is located within walking distance of all the important sites. The current tramline construction makes it a challenge for taxis, but they are accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you. August 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A good night's sleep.... Plus points: Excellent staff service at all times no matter who approached you. Good layout and decor throughout the hotel very modern almost boutique orientated. Excellent beds for a good nights sleep. Comfortable air con. Down points: Didn't get the King bedroom I had paid for. Broken hair dryer attachment - the good lady didn't want to complain and persevered with it. Broken mirror in the room - we thought it was art decor until closer inspection did reveal it was broken in several places, receptionist said'There was probably a domestic in the room'! Broken volume control in the bathroom. Wardrobe space totally inadequate for the length of clothes to hang as the shelving was too high and clothes were left crumpled .Bar area - Very little on offer other than two real ales and a smittering of european lagers. Not quite sure who that market is aimed at. Pricey to say the least. Breakfast not included- i was convinced I had read that breakfast was included so had to pay extra for this. Not on my own on this one as a couple checking in after us also complained they were sure breakfast was included, be sure to check this out! For a 4 star hotel they clearly need to have attention to detail on everything with the charges they ask for. Would I stay again - No because I've done this. Would I recommend this hotel to others - Yes! If they ironed out the points I've raised then maybe I would have written a completely different experience. It has a lot of potential and I'm sure others will not have experienced what we did. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel with excellent staff I love the Indigo, and what makes this little hotel so special is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are comfortable and well serviced, and a mini-bar crammed with free snacks is nice. Would happily stay in the Indigo whenever I visit Edinburgh. August 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Edinburgh City and Carlton Hill Exterior Feature Edinburgh Princes Street  from the Royal Mile Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood PPark Hotel Front Desk Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile hotel reception Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile Cowgate entrance
Select to close.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading