• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

You are most welcome to bring your pet to our hotel. The cost is 20 GBP per night as a cleaning charge. One dog per room. Dogs are not allowed in the Great Room or public lounge unless they are Assistance Dogs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Pet fee amount  20.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Mary Kings Close
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Auld Reekie Tours
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Dynamic Earth
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • No onsite parking at the hotel. St Johns Hill NCP car park is located a 2 minutes walk away. Hotel users are offered a discounted price . Prices are not controlled by the hotel and are subject to change.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:50
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and
View More

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and 20 minute drive from Glasgow Airport and a 10 minute walk to Waverley Train station.

For your enjoyment, we offer breakfast included in our rates , free Wi-Fi and 24-hour bar & snacks menu available for those of you who like to stay up late. If arriving early or after departure, the hotel offers free baggage storage.

Our guests rooms are welcoming and refreshing where you can catch up on emails at the desk, with the hotel's free in-room Wi-Fi or just relax in our comfortable beds as we're all about keeping things simple, smart, spot on.

Business guests benefit from our close vicinity to major local companies, such as Scottish Parliament, Universities & Local Council Offices and a meeting room with free Wi-Fi throughout, accommodating up to 40 people.

Discounted parking is available at the NCP St. John's car park 3 minutes' walk from the hotel.

View Less
Features
For your enjoyment, we offer breakfast included in our rates. Our hotel also offers free Wi-Fi throughout and we provide a PC with Internet for our guest's use. We have air-conditioned rooms and public areas. We are conveniently located in the city centre and only a few minutes walk from all the major tourist attractions and lots of bars and restaurants.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 245 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by will come back just a one night stay on Friday night but the hotel was first class from welcome to departure. Room and furnishings were of highest quality and very quiet at back of hotel. Staff were very welcomimg and mannerly. next time I will stay longer, location was excellent for theatre , cinema, shops and pubs. January 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by unprofessional staff very sad to say that staff was not really friendly. we did not feel warm welcoming plain cold hello. room was clean bad we had to change room 3 times because of the noise from the roof so we could not sleep first night at all. I am a member of IHG rewards Club and I was not even welcome as member just simple hello, not even welcome to Indigo Edinburgh. internet was slow, in our first room TV did not work. very sad... we had good memories about Edinburgh as a city and bad memories about hotel. please review my feedback that i left few days after my leave on automatic survey email. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Great place to stay with a team who listen and that are attentive to their guests January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel I like this hotel and its style. However, the Access to the hotel is a little difficult as it is no possibility for taxi or private car to stop outside the hotel. It is in Edinburgh center and a bus stop just close to the hotel stairs. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great hotel but bad experience Great room but extremely noisy neighbors in the next room. When the night staff was told about the noise about 2:30am (slamming doors, furniture breaking, yelling, etc) they did nothing nothing to try to control the situation. It ruined a otherwise great stay at a great location. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent small hotel in great location This was our second stay at this excellent hotel. It has a great location near to the rail and bus stations and the soon to be up-and-running tram terminus. It is also close to the Playhouse and the not-so-impressive St James Centre. There are some good restaurants and cafés on the nearby Broughton Street, and when we were there, just before Hogmanay, the Christmas markets were still on the go. Hope you manage to retain the intimacy of a small, welcoming hotel once the trams are running! January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good service with very comfortable bed. The facilities are best you ever get from the top hotel. The room size is hugh so you can relax and enjoy the stay to the highest standard. Staff are very nice and helpful. Definitely return for the next Edinburgh journey. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Came to visit the city for the first time for a long weekend away before Christmas. The hotel was lovely, in a good location and the staff were great. We can't wait to come back. December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A business stay made pleasurable Thank you for the recent stay. The hotel was comfortable warm friendly and comforting after a days's work. Staff very helpful, with everything An interesting experience with a young waiter one breakfast has left me chuckling, when my porridge was servers on the same plate as poached egg on toast with baked beans! Probably my fault for not explaining myself! Kept me on my toes for subsequent food orders! December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always delights I stay regularly at Hotel Indigo in York Place and it never fails to delight. So where to begin ... the rooms are all individual, delightfully presented and provide a free minibar (which can be dangerous, because of the ever-present temptation to demolish the contents). The breakfasts are excellent and prepared individually to guests' requirements. Full Scottish to your liking? Okay. Mushroom omelette (my favourite)? Okay. Scrambled eggs and bacon? Okay. And the staff, from reception to bar to restaurant, will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Oh, and the location near the city centre is excellent. Overall, one of the most enjoyable IHG hotels I have experienced. December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Briliant The staff could not have been any more helpful or hospitable. Great night stay! December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel Stayed with my partner and 3 year old son, we were given room 112, an executive twin/family room. Great size, lovely decor, very comfortable. Lovely bathroom with bath and separate shower. Staff were kind and helpful. Breakfast was very enjoyable. We had a lovely stay, it was just a shame it was only for one night. Would definitely recommend the hotel and will use again next time we are looking to stay in Edinburgh. December 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good comfortable central hotel. Had a one night stay in December which was very enjoyable . The staff were excellent and helpful and we were quickly checked in . The bedroom was very comfortable with good on suite and mini bar facilities and we had a peaceful nights sleep . Breakfast had a good choice and the cooked English Breakfast was excellent . We had the evening meal which was the Christmas menu and found it very disappointing . The choice was very limited and the main courses were bland and very small portions .Some of our party felt the food in general could have been warmer .Drinks in the bar were also priced on the high side . December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and great value I am very fussy when it comes to hotels and cleanliness and I was very impressed with the standards here. I felt like I could relax. We just had one night here and would come again. Nice touches like luxury products in the bathroom and a complimentary mini bar really make a difference. The staff were lovely and breakfast was great. December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Break fast service is too slow Perhaps they need an extra chef as service at Break fast is awfully slow. If you are in a rush to go to office or airport, you just can't risk waiting for 25 minutes for your break fast arrive. Apart from this, its an excellent hotel. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for our wedding party Great hotel with attention to detail that made my wedding guests very happy!! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, even when we stayed in the bar until late and arrived late for breakfast, the friendly staff did everything they could to help. Dominic (the manager) and Daniel (Front of House) were great, and made us feel at home, making the wedding day less stressful!!! The only slight issue is the lack of nearby parking, but we were able to pull up outside where the staff helped us to take our belongings into the hotel - no reflection on the actual hotel at all. Thanks everybody November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding anniversary visit My wife and I visited the hotel on our wedding anniversary. For the first time we drove. We were told to pull up in the disused bus stop to grab the key to the car park, simple? This proved a trial. One the bus stop was very much in use, two it's a busy one lane road. After jettisoning the wife at speed, circling the hotel and a modicum of bad language we parked the car. My recommendation park in the loading bay on Elder street and then get the key. However, this was the one stressful moment of our stay. The hotel location is great, convenient for shops, bars, restaurants and the theatre. The decor of the hotel is modern and clean and the breakfast (particularly good) and dinner were excellent. Couple this with great service,the staff and management were very friendly and attentive, and you have a excellent place to stay for a city break. We booked the hotel on a deal which included a three course meal, for the money we thought it was good value. Criticisms. Not a problem to us but there was some traffic noise, however it is a city centre hotel, so comes with the territory and the Hypnos mattress was a touch hard. All in all I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will be back. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent all round but 1 silly mistake This hotel was brilliant! Will not be forgotten and will definitely use this again. He only problem was when my girlfriend and I made cups of tea in the morning. We didn't realise that the milk was actually out of date however were made aware of this fact by the milk curdling in the cup, not a pretty sight. When we informed the receptionist at checkout she seemed a bit unsure what to do and gave a subtle apology before continuing with the checkout. I would have liked tk have been reassured that this would be dealt with and not happen again. I feel that this was just a mistake and would stress that our overall experience was excellent and would recommend this hotel to anyone. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all in great hotel and best comforts Stayed in this hotel on the 14th november for 1 night and found the hotel to be in a great location near the playhouse and it was very clean very comfortable bed no noise at night bedroom itself was a 100% wow factor with fancy shower and toilet stuff and fancy tv with mini fridge all free complimentry stuff. Would love to stay here again in the future and i highly recomend this hotel to anyone and id say it is well over a 5 star hotel id give it 5 star plus. November 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fine hotel but basement rooms? A HUGE NO!! The hotel itself is lovely. In a great location & has everything you require. My main problem was the location of our room. Quite a number are in the basement, under the restaurant, bar & reception. The noise was very loud. Mainly footsteps, possibly due to non carpeted floors. I was happy to accept this until the early hours of the morning but not right through until morning. It's amazing how just one set of footsteps and what sounds like a pedal bin being closed repeatedly can disturb you. Another pointer would be the room door. Ours didn't seal at all well and when doors were being shut around us it would rattle very loudly. I sound like a grumpy old so & so here. But I like my sleep and getting a rare night away from my toddler was seriously expecting some, worst sleep I've had since he was born! I would stay again, but only if I was on the top Floor. November 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Enjoyable Stay Very nice hotel, contemporary in style, good location especially for the theatre. Room very comfortable. Lovely bathroom with top quality fittings. Very noisy guest in next room in early hours of morning but overall would thoroughy recommend. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 star accommodation My mum and I stayed here for one night when we went to Edinburgh to see the lion king. We stayed in an executive king suite. The room was bright, modern and very comfortable. There was a complimentary mini fridge as well as a coffee machine. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom did not actually have a bath but the shower was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful e.g. looking after our bags as we were too early to check in and then putting our bags in our room ready for us. The breakfast was delicious and we had plenty to choose from. I would definitely stay here again. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Away Arrived at Hotel Indigo a bit early for check-in, as we were visiting the Edinburgh Playhouse, this was not a problem as girl on Reception let us check in and leave our luggage as our room was not ready on returning back to hotel we were shown to our room and everything explained to us re breakfast times, telephone etc, and our case was already in our room for us. Room was beautiful, massive comfortable bed and pillows so had a good nights sleep, breakfast was excellent and plenty to choose from with ample tea, coffee and toast available, staff so attentive nothing is a problem to them, as you have a late check out time of 12o'clock there is no need to rush, we did not get our train till 4.30pm and the girl on Reception said we could leave our luggage this meant we could have a look around the shops then collect luggage in time for the train, perfect. The hotel was excellent as were the staff, would recommend and definitely stay here again. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but.. The hotel itself was excellent, I cannot fault the room or the staff. However we had toyed between this hotel and another and I chose Hotel Indigo because it appeared to include car parking whereas the other charged extra. It turned out that Hotel Indigo also charged extra though I didn't discover this until I phoned to find out where the car park was. I was told to book in first and then I would be given access to the car parking space (at a charge of £12). This is impossible as there is nowhere to stop on the busy road outside so I ended up having to park in the NCP car park after all. Also, on arrival I was told that I was being charged extra because I had booked a twin room but they don't do twin rooms! So they had moved an extra bed into a junior suite and I was being charged for this. If they don't do twin rooms then don't take the booking. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent centrally located boutique hotel If you're looking for a boutique hotel in a quiet but central location this is the perfect hotel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Lovely bathrooms and tea and coffee making facilities. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A nice bar and restaurant and an excellent breakfast. All in all a fabulous hotel where we would definitely stay again. October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Realy good staff, couldnt ask any more. 2 night stay. Pleased with location close to main ares. Arrived at 11 45 check in not till 3. However staff were realy helpfull and checked us into a room that was available at no extra cost. Realy good start. Room was lovely, clean and had a quirky colour scheme that was a nice change from the usual chain hotel. Complementry soft drinks in the mini bar was a nice touch as well. Bed was extra comfy tv was good. Only thing missing was sky sports from tv. Bathroom was nice, wife liked aveda products. Pre ordered champagne full scottish breakfast to room for the next morning. It came on time and was cooked to perfection. Hotel has a nice small bar had a couple of nice cocktails in there. Again staff realy friendly and seemed to enjoy working there and were happy to chat. All in all a good hotel with friendly, helpfull staff, good rooms and good location. Would recomend and would go back. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay! All the amazing reviews are true! We had a wonderful stay here! From the incredibly attentive staff to the lushly appointed rooms (many thanks for the special room in honor of our honeymoon--we sincerely appreciate the kind attention of the staff and management during our romantic trip) to its great location in the city, we could not have asked for a better place to stay. We look forward to returning soon! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Special person Our stay was perfect, everything about the facility was excellent. The reason for my additional comment though is to compliment one of the employees. There is a young man at the reception desk whose name is Daniel, this man was by far and away the most wonderful, helpful and professional individual I have ever met at any IHG facility. I travel over 100 days per year and get to see a lot of places and meet a lot of staff at these facilities, the entire staff at this hotel should be complimented!!!!! Thank you to all for your great service. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay at Indigo again when I return to Scotland. I got really sick my first day at the hotel and I believe that Jen and Daniel probably saved my life. I ended up in the hospital on an emergency basis and was unable to make full use of the hotel's facilities. However, everyone took care of my wife Patsy. Bill October 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet needs upgrading The Hotel is fine except for speed o internet. Speedtest.net showed 0.87 downstream and 0.35 upstream. Upgraded to business plan for £15 and get 3.47 down and 0.87 up. Not fast enough for reliable webex, facetime or Skype video. For tourists, this may be sufficient but for a road warrior, it is insufficient. To contract, my home speeds are 70Mbps down and 30Mbps upon cable. October 5, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Edinburgh City and Carlton Hill Exterior Feature Edinburgh Princes Street  from the Royal Mile Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood PPark Hotel Front Desk Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile hotel reception Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile Cowgate entrance
Select to close.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading