• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

You are most welcome to bring your pet to our hotel. The cost is 20 GBP per night as a cleaning charge. One dog per room. Dogs are not allowed in the Great Room or public lounge unless they are Assistance Dogs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Pet fee amount  20.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Mary Kings Close
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Auld Reekie Tours
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Dynamic Earth
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • No onsite parking at the hotel. St Johns Hill NCP car park is located a 2 minutes walk away. Hotel users are offered a discounted price . Prices are not controlled by the hotel and are subject to change.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:50
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and
View More

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and 20 minute drive from Glasgow Airport and a 10 minute walk to Waverley Train station.

For your enjoyment, we offer breakfast included in our rates , free Wi-Fi and 24-hour bar & snacks menu available for those of you who like to stay up late. If arriving early or after departure, the hotel offers free baggage storage.

Our guests rooms are welcoming and refreshing where you can catch up on emails at the desk, with the hotel's free in-room Wi-Fi or just relax in our comfortable beds as we're all about keeping things simple, smart, spot on.

Business guests benefit from our close vicinity to major local companies, such as Scottish Parliament, Universities & Local Council Offices and a meeting room with free Wi-Fi throughout, accommodating up to 40 people.

Discounted parking is available at the NCP St. John's car park 3 minutes' walk from the hotel.

View Less
Features
For your enjoyment, we offer breakfast included in our rates. Our hotel also offers free Wi-Fi throughout and we provide a PC with Internet for our guest's use. We have air-conditioned rooms and public areas. We are conveniently located in the city centre and only a few minutes walk from all the major tourist attractions and lots of bars and restaurants.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 341 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Disappointment with Hotel We were given a room on ground floor room no 5, which was adjacent to the public toilet, the bar was opened until 2am, as a result of this we were kept awake with the constant opening and closing of the toilet door which went on well into the morning. The room itself was not particularly clean with several stains on the carpet also dust on the back of the sofa. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over night stay On arrival found staff very friendly and helpfull, we arrived early and our room was ready. Room clean and tidy, bed a little on the firm side. This location was really good for trips to city centre with buses running every 10 to 15 minutes from right out side the hotel. shoping centre and cinema just across the road. Breakfast was average with the choice of hot or cold meals. Booking early gave us a good savings. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service, Pet Friendly, Great Staff Good alternative to the centre of Edinburgh. Easy to find location. Room we were allocated was fine. Great staff - best I've experienced anywhere for a while. Very friendly and helpful. We travelled with our small dog and everyone made us very welcome. September 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very tired hotel We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by friendly staff. The reception area is ok. We wemt to our room which was dusty and extremely tired. The bathroom was in need of an overhaul. Our wonddows were so noisy that they sounded as if they were open, which was very noisy as we at the front of the hotel. It was expensive and disappointing. September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by perfectly positioned Had an enjoyable stay and perfectly positioned for shopping and transport links. The staff were incredibly friendly and efficient .My only gripe is it was very expensive to other Holiday Inns I hav e stayed at which was disappointing as was booked a week in advance to take my daughter to University and Edinburgh was very busy . September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable Stay and good location Nothing negative about the hotel. Few things I would like to highlight that the breakfast was not very lavish and the quality of fruits and croissants was also not very good. Staff is usually very friendly but in one instance while I was with my six yr old sitting in the looby in the evening and my son went to the Bar counter to ask for some water, the staff at the Bar started to tell him that the water in the cold tap of your room toilet can be used and then she pointed him towards the vending machine where my six yr old can buy water. I was surprised with this behaviour, but this could be individual attitude also. All in all good stay September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay at The Waterfront Holiday Inn, Edinburgh We arrived at 12 noon on Monday. The check-in time is 2pm. but we were given our room straight away which was good. The bathroom lights were not working, but the girl from reception came up straight away, and when she could not fix the problem, we were offered another room along the corridor and a free drink at the bar. Our room was comfortable and the bed was lovely and firm. The Waterfront is close to a good shopping centre and The Royal Yacht Brittania. There is also a bus stop directly outside the Inn and buses into Princes Street etc. were around every 10 minutes. Plenty of free parking space available, and I like the fact that breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. I would recommend the Waterfront to anyone who wants an enjoyable stay in a comfortable location with good friendly service and attention. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by service Excellent service Staff very helpful and nothing was to much trouble Rooms spotless and excellent position for seeing the center of Edinburgh. The bus stops outside the hotel and a short journey to the center Would definatley recommend and we will go again September 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice assistance in front desk I would like to recognize the kind and friendly assistance of the staff at the front desk. September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Have stayed at this hotel many times. the reasons I keep returning are Friendly, helpful staff, cleanliness, relaxed atmosphere, convenient for shops, restaurants and public transport, pets welcome, good value (especially in Edinburgh) and free parking. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made our weekend Perfect My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August and it was brilliant. We really dont have anything bad to say at all. Its a little way out but theres a bus stop right outdside the front door, the bus takes 5 mins and they come quickly. It also means that you're away from the hustle and bustle come night time, and if you did fancy the walk its about 15 mins. Our room was so clean and tidy. We had a tv, double bed (which was sooooo comfy), dressing, wardrobe and couch. Our bathroom was equipped with sink, toilet and shower, with good mirrors. Breakfast was simple, buffet style, but not a lot of choice, the same options everyday, we didnt mind but could possibly get fed up after three or four days. The staff were very helpfull, friendly, chatty and someone was always avaliable at reception. We are planning to visit edinburgh again in Feb/March and we will be staying at this hotel again. Thanks Holiday Inn Waterfront for a great weekend!!!! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great Holiday Inn Express We spent two nights here, the staff were always courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was great with plenty of choices. You even get the added bonus of Ocean Terminal shopping centre a couple of hundred yards away. Plenty of shops and restaurants to keep you going for your stay. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by accomodation Holiday Inn Express Waterfront is a very good Hotel, the staff was very kind and the room was very comfortable. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good position for buses but room very very warm We booked here to go to the Edinburgh Festival and found the prices very much inflated at this time of year. We also couldn't regulate the temperature and woke up to find the room at 30 degrees! the receptionist said it was a fault with their heating system when I mentioned it on checking out. However, the hotel is in a perfect position for buses into the city. A number 10 runs about every 10 minutes during the day and costs £1.50 per ride per adult. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and comfortable room A good value medium range budget hotel with excellent attention to cleanliness and service. Plenty of parking space and good range of restaurants nearby. Excellent bus service into Edinburgh city centre so it makes a good base for a holiday in Edinburgh. August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not good value for money Was a bog standard room, would of expected more for money. Was in a quiet location which was good, not too far from city centre. Breakfast was shocking! Stail and over cooked. Would of got a better breakfast from a basic cafe August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Did what is say on the tin Job done - needed somewhere decent to stay for the Edinburgh festival. Apart from a blocked sink, everything else worked just fine. We usually like to stay in this hotel because of the proximity to the shopping centre (which we have not used on this occasion ...) August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, well located but let down by breakfast service Everything was fine - comfortable room and beds, and friendly and helpful staff - except for the breakfast scrum. Too many people for the facilities available resulting in fully occupied tables, running out of some food and a lack of cleanliness. The staff tried but were overwhelmed. Apparently this is only a summer/fringe phenomenon. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in a great location Stayed here many times. Paid a lot this time due to the Edinburgh Festival which is dissapointing if you are a regular. Good rooms, helpful staff and lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Handy also for the City by buses that stop at Ocean Terminal August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super place with great service Arrived at holiday inn and was greeted by very pleasant staff at front desk.....room was very clean..the breakfast' s was excellent ...could have had a better selection....but not complaining....the bed was very comfortable ... And service excellent.... August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent budget hotel Clean, comfortable, spacious, wide variety of food selection for breakfast and extremely friendly staff. Would highly recommend. City centre is a 5 minute bus ride away and the bus stops just outside the hotel. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Friendly, informative and helpful reception staff. Twin room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Quiet location and excellent cheap bus service right outside hotel into city centre. August 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive After staying at Perth and Stirling holiday inn during late june/early July I thought the price at Edinburgh was extortionist . I appreciate that the Edinburgh festival is on in August but to pay more than double the price is wrong especially as the hotel looked tired compared to the other two we stayed at. We found it hard to find a table for breakfast. The food was fine and the staff helpful. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Start of three week trip My mom and I stayed here for four nights at the beginning of our three week Scotland trip back in June. The desk staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was of sufficient size for us. The switches on the outlets and the connections between outlets was a little confusing at first (coming from the U.S.), but we figured it out with no problem. Pay attention to the breakfast queue information in the elevator if you want to avoid the crowds. Within walking distance to shopping (though limited) and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Public transportation stops next to the property. August 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Was ok for one night Stayed at this hotel on many occasions , as a priority card holder , it's comfortable clean and easy to get to. There is plenty car parking space. . As a Gold PC member one of the benefits is usually early check in n late check out , when I did ask about the latter one guy in reception was very abrubt ! However we did find all the other staff very helpful . There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and plenty of buses to take you into the city centre . We will no doubt stay again . August 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Family room I think they need to put proper beds in family room, my 14year old son had to sleep on sofa bed which had seen better days, gratefull we were only there for 3 nights August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First-class service at economy-class prices I was travelling on my own to Edinburgh and don't know the city very well. The staff could not have been more helpful with local bus info., taxi numbers, local restaurants (which they had discount vouchers for), carrying an ironing board up to my room, and so on. I was really impressed. Breakfast was great and the room was spacious and comfortable. Would definitely recommend. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Even the seagulls were singing about the weather Enjoyed our two nights at the Waterfront. We asked for quiet rooms and we were given them, and we slept soundly. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and provided everything we asked for. At breakfast on the second morning... disaster!!! The delivery of fresh fruit had not arrived. The staff were up to the challenge, however. Charlene went across the road to M&S Food To Go and bought their stock of bananas and apples! Thank you Charlene - and your manager - and the rest of the team for making our stay so pleasurable. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and comfortable nice and confortable, very kind staff, location and all services acceptable. it is a good hotel. July 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Parking is Free !! Got your attention ? Good, the parking is indeed free but be prepared to grab your space early to combat those selfish types that want a bay and a half. Either that or IHG get a clamp for inconsiderate parkers. Good value, good location and great staff unlike my experience in the Midlands. Breakfast, internet, reasonable prices in the bar again unlike the Midlands. The barman even coming over to me at the end of his shift to thank me and wish me a pleasant trip. Check out in the morning and again polite friendly desk staff. Brilliant, thanks for a great stay. Maybe it's a management thing ?. July 27, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Edinburgh City and Carlton Hill Hotel Front Desk Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood PPark Edinburgh Princes Street  from the Royal Mile Exterior Feature Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile hotel reception Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile Cowgate entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading