• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

You are most welcome to bring your pet to our hotel. The cost is 20 GBP per night as a cleaning charge. One dog per room. Dogs are not allowed in the Great Room or public lounge unless they are Assistance Dogs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Pet fee amount  20.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Mary Kings Close
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Auld Reekie Tours
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Dynamic Earth
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • No onsite parking at the hotel. St Johns Hill NCP car park is located a 2 minutes walk away. Hotel users are offered a discounted price . Prices are not controlled by the hotel and are subject to change.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:50
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and
View More

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and 20 minute drive from Glasgow Airport and a 10 minute walk to Waverley Train station.

For your enjoyment, we offer breakfast included in our rates , free Wi-Fi and 24-hour bar & snacks menu available for those of you who like to stay up late. If arriving early or after departure, the hotel offers free baggage storage.

Our guests rooms are welcoming and refreshing where you can catch up on emails at the desk, with the hotel's free in-room Wi-Fi or just relax in our comfortable beds as we're all about keeping things simple, smart, spot on.

Business guests benefit from our close vicinity to major local companies, such as Scottish Parliament, Universities & Local Council Offices and a meeting room with free Wi-Fi throughout, accommodating up to 40 people.

Discounted parking is available at the NCP St. John's car park 3 minutes' walk from the hotel.

View Less
Features
For your enjoyment, we offer breakfast included in our rates. Our hotel also offers free Wi-Fi throughout and we provide a PC with Internet for our guest's use. We have air-conditioned rooms and public areas. We are conveniently located in the city centre and only a few minutes walk from all the major tourist attractions and lots of bars and restaurants.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 318 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Start of three week trip My mom and I stayed here for four nights at the beginning of our three week Scotland trip back in June. The desk staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was of sufficient size for us. The switches on the outlets and the connections between outlets was a little confusing at first (coming from the U.S.), but we figured it out with no problem. Pay attention to the breakfast queue information in the elevator if you want to avoid the crowds. Within walking distance to shopping (though limited) and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Public transportation stops next to the property. August 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Was ok for one night Stayed at this hotel on many occasions , as a priority card holder , it's comfortable clean and easy to get to. There is plenty car parking space. . As a Gold PC member one of the benefits is usually early check in n late check out , when I did ask about the latter one guy in reception was very abrubt ! However we did find all the other staff very helpful . There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and plenty of buses to take you into the city centre . We will no doubt stay again . August 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Family room I think they need to put proper beds in family room, my 14year old son had to sleep on sofa bed which had seen better days, gratefull we were only there for 3 nights August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First-class service at economy-class prices I was travelling on my own to Edinburgh and don't know the city very well. The staff could not have been more helpful with local bus info., taxi numbers, local restaurants (which they had discount vouchers for), carrying an ironing board up to my room, and so on. I was really impressed. Breakfast was great and the room was spacious and comfortable. Would definitely recommend. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Even the seagulls were singing about the weather Enjoyed our two nights at the Waterfront. We asked for quiet rooms and we were given them, and we slept soundly. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and provided everything we asked for. At breakfast on the second morning... disaster!!! The delivery of fresh fruit had not arrived. The staff were up to the challenge, however. Charlene went across the road to M&S Food To Go and bought their stock of bananas and apples! Thank you Charlene - and your manager - and the rest of the team for making our stay so pleasurable. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and comfortable nice and confortable, very kind staff, location and all services acceptable. it is a good hotel. July 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Parking is Free !! Got your attention ? Good, the parking is indeed free but be prepared to grab your space early to combat those selfish types that want a bay and a half. Either that or IHG get a clamp for inconsiderate parkers. Good value, good location and great staff unlike my experience in the Midlands. Breakfast, internet, reasonable prices in the bar again unlike the Midlands. The barman even coming over to me at the end of his shift to thank me and wish me a pleasant trip. Check out in the morning and again polite friendly desk staff. Brilliant, thanks for a great stay. Maybe it's a management thing ?. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just 1 night - suited us perfectly Lovely cool room during a hot summer. Reception team were so so friendly and great characters. Made to feel extremely welcome. Well done to the team. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Have enjoyed staying at Holiday Inn , Ocean Drive. This was a two night break to sight see Edinburgh. It was a good location, we were next to the Royal Yacht Britannia. The hotel staff where very helpful and very attentive to your needs. The room was very clean and comfortable. The Breakfast was all you could want to choose from. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just right for the start of a cruise, or a haven from site- seeing overload I chose this hotel as it is right next to the Cruise Terminal in Leith. The room was clean tidy and of the usual standard for Holiday Inn. The staff were extremely helpful in regarding my husbands medication, and effeicent in all that we asked of them. I would certainly recommend this hotel. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, and the shopping mall is just across the street with a variety of restaurants. If visiting Edinburgh to see the sites, it is easy to access by public transport and this hotel is a haven away from the bustle if that is your requirement after a hard days siteseeing. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by spacious and clean fresh room excellent service We had an excellent stay here. We came to scotland for our daughters graduation and was recommended the holiday inn from a friend as he had stayed here. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel was excellent with nearby restaurants and a shopping centre in walking distance. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Problems handled nicely This is a very nice hotel and the staff is great. Upon checking in we encountered several facility problems with our room. This can happen at any hotel. The way the staff went out of their way to satisfy us speaks strongly for the way this hotel is managed. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel was lovely The staff at Reception did answer calls from the room and acknowledged us when we checked in, however when leaving or entering the hotel during our stay there did not seem to be much interest. July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by night in edinburgh Good location, close to city centre by bus, taxi or walking. Clean, comfortable bed and a good base for night out in auld reekie. June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice friendly atmosphere, 2nd time at this hotel, the staff are friendly the rooms are clean and tidy June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Stayed in a double room on the top floor with a sea view. Lovely hotel with helpful staff and a clean room. Location was convenient for the city and airport (bus stop right outside the hotel) but quiet and away from busy Edinburgh itself. Would recommend for people looking for a quiet break. Some good Priority Club benefits too! June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great location & great service. Front of house staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was a added bonus. Bedroom clean & Tidy…. June 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Stayed overnight as our daughters were taking part in moonwalk. Reception staff were very helpful. Would stay again June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by MADE TO FEEL WELCOME VERY COMFORTABLE,STAFF FRIENDLY ALTOGETHER A VERY ENJOYABLE STAY June 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff were extremely helpful. Could not fault service. Very good shower! We had a good comfy two night stay - very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Good value and would use again. June 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Goold location, friendly, helpful staff. Hotel in good location near Ocean Terminal, Leith. Bus stop at front door for journeys into Edinburgh or Leith Shore. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room though comfortable enough was in need of a little TLC. Free car park a boon. Would use this hotel again. June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Did what it said on the tin, provided a bed, room and breakfast. Room a little small but clean as was the bathroom, great powerful shower though. Breakfast OK reasonable selection, we were a little concerned about getting a table but even at .9.00 it was fine. Bus stops right outside and plenty of places to eat at the Ocean Terminal. Staff maybe could have been a little more friendly and the main lift took an age, there was obviously something wrong with it as the plant door was always open. June 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful reception staff Our stay at Edinburgh Waterfront was greatly enhanced by the helpful staff on Reception who willingly helped us out with several taxi arrangements and were always cheerful and efficient. June 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, good location Stayed here over Edinburgh Marathon Festival weekend. Good location with car parking, frequent buses in & out of town and close to Ocean Terminal. Room excellent & well priced. Staff helpful & knowledgeable. Late check out option appreciated - worth becoming a Priority Club member fir that alone. Lobby and eating/bar area a bit jaded and untidy slightly lets down the overall experience down. May 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice for my family We enjoyed our stay. My family and I found the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and attentive. The location near bus stops was convenient, and parking was sufficient. We were in Edinburgh as tourists, and the only thing to consider is that the hotel is somewhat far from the city center, so you'll need a bus or you'll need to drive to parking. Another consideration is that one is near the docks, and there seemed to be few nearby restaurants of interest. We were told there was a shopping center at the cruise ship dock, but we did not investigate. The only other considerations were the very slow WiFi in the lobby. It was good enough for checking email and very brief, light, work. It would have been frustrating if I had important things to do that required Internet access. We choose this hotel for its value, and it did not disappoint! May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good locality and comfortable staff very good,helpful,stay was worthwhile,i would choose it again-Dr.RS Patil,Bangalore,India May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great reception We arrived at this hotel knowing very little about the area. When we asked about dinner available locally, we were given a list of recommended hotels and discounts too. We were also given a map of the area. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Breakfast was up to the usual Express standard. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend break From the moment of booking untill checkout the staff were most helpful and friendly. Clean comfortable rooms and drinks machine available in the lounge all day. May 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by does the job Good location for a couple of days, next to ocean terminal. Rooms are large and functional. Parking can be tricky if you get there late. May 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice I had read that this hotel was too far from the city which is insane. It is a short 10-15 minute walk depending on your walking speed to the main strret Deansgate. A taxi to the train station was under 10GBP. The breakfast was reasonably priced and had a good variety. The staff were excellent and so helpful. This hotel was recently renovated and it shows. It is clean, looks clean and is kept clean. We had a small issue with the water not being hot enough and it was immediately taken care of. The evening meals were reasonably priced especially the bar menu and very good. I would recommend the rooms away from the road because while this is not a main road there can be a little traffic in the morning but quiet at night. There is a shopping mall approximately 100 yards away with stores, a drug store, Boots and pharmacy. The free With-Fi was a nice bonus. We walked to Old Trafford but a taxi is only around 8GBP. May 14, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 12 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Edinburgh City and Carlton Hill Hotel Front Desk Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood PPark Edinburgh Princes Street  from the Royal Mile Exterior Feature Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile hotel reception Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile Cowgate entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading