• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

You are most welcome to bring your pet to our hotel. The cost is 20 GBP per night as a cleaning charge. One dog per room. Dogs are not allowed in the Great Room or public lounge unless they are Assistance Dogs. We look forward to welcoming you.
Pet fee amount  20.00  GBP  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Mary Kings Close
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Auld Reekie Tours
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Dynamic Earth
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • No onsite parking at the hotel. St Johns Hill NCP car park is located a 2 minutes walk away. Hotel users are offered a discounted price . Prices are not controlled by the hotel and are subject to change.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:50
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:78
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and
View More

Enjoy a warm welcome from the team at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile, conveniently located in the charming old town and just a 15 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle, one of Edinburgh's most iconic Scottish tourist attractions hosting great family days out and famous for staging the Edinburgh Military Tattoo & Hogmanay Celebrations.

This quiet city centre hotel has excellent transport links and is just a 25 minute drive from Edinburgh Airport, 1 hour and 20 minute drive from Glasgow Airport and a 10 minute walk to Waverley Train station.

For your enjoyment, we offer breakfast included in our rates , free Wi-Fi and 24-hour bar & snacks menu available for those of you who like to stay up late. If arriving early or after departure, the hotel offers free baggage storage.

Our guests rooms are welcoming and refreshing where you can catch up on emails at the desk, with the hotel's free in-room Wi-Fi or just relax in our comfortable beds as we're all about keeping things simple, smart, spot on.

Business guests benefit from our close vicinity to major local companies, such as Scottish Parliament, Universities & Local Council Offices and a meeting room with free Wi-Fi throughout, accommodating up to 40 people.

Discounted parking is available at the NCP St. John's car park 3 minutes' walk from the hotel.

View Less
Features
For your enjoyment, we offer breakfast included in our rates. Our hotel also offers free Wi-Fi throughout and we provide a PC with Internet for our guest's use. We have air-conditioned rooms and public areas. We are conveniently located in the city centre and only a few minutes walk from all the major tourist attractions and lots of bars and restaurants.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 309 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great short break Though we only stay 80 miles away on the West coast of Scotland it is nicer to have a short city break staying in Edinburgh than travelling home on the same day. This is our third visit to this hotel . All stays have been good but this stay was the best probably because of the friendly and professional staff - especially at reception. The location, while not in the centre of Edinburgh, is good being opposite a shopping centre and a cinema. There are also excellent and frequent bus services to the city centre. There are several good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel was clean and the bed very comfortable. Everything worked in the room which has not been the case with some recent stays. Breakfast was the standard for the chain but as it is included in the price it was more than adequate. Although we did not take advantage of the extended check out time offered we were able to leave our car parked in the hotel car park while we visited the city. May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Visit Enjoyed our visit to Hotel,clean tidy,rooms very comfortable.Plenty variations for Breakfast.Staff very helpful,friendly.Great location for local transport,shopping site seeing etc.Will use Hotel again on next visit to Edinburgh. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location ideal for business in the local area As always, good service, comfortable room and pleasant surroundings. Plenty of choice close to the Hotel for a meal / bit to eat without having to drive. Second stop in two weeks - speaks for itself. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn V Premier inn This hotel had great staff at reception. The room was very basic compared to the premier inn and I found the bed un -comfortable.The breakfast was also fine however, the freshness of some of the breakfast products could have been better. I would now in future always book premier inn its a all round better product. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location My husband is wheelchair user. We parked and accessed hotel without a problem on busy Saturday lunchtime. The bedroom was fully accessible and comfortable. We were able to leave car and go across to cinema within shopping mall and enjoy meal with glass of wine afterwards. Staff friendly and helpful throughout, May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh Trip Reception staff friendly and welcoming, also arranged taxi for return to station. Nice breakfast selection in clean surroundings. Bed sheets were a bit grey in colour, but clean. En suite was clean and kept so by hotel cleaning staff. Overall a good stay with good public transport connections to the city. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic hotel If your looking for frills, this is not the place to stay, but if you happen to need to need a great value hotel and be in the area of Leith like we had to, this is a great place to stay. Staff were lovely. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and excellent location Room had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. The hotel was ideally located for our visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia and the shopping centre had a good range of shops and restaurants and was in walking distance of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Also as the hotel is pet friendly we were able to take our dog with us. Would definitely stay there again in the future and would recommend to others. Not to detract from the above review, minor maintenance issues should be addressed by the hotel group, for example, the desk lamp wasn't working in our room and also the sealant around the shower needed replacing. April 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent accommodation with easy access to city transport Third time staying at this hotel did not disappoint. We were very warmly welcomed by hotel staff who were able to give us all the necessary information re public transport. A parking spot at hotel, very close proximity of bus stop, frequency of buses and very reasonable costs allowed us the opportunity to relax and enjoy our visit to the city centre. The ample breakfast served in the spotless dining area set us up for the day. I had left my hair straighteners in the hotel and this was posted on to my home ASAP. A short walk to the Ocean Terminal shopping mall is also worthwhile. Would definitely use this hotel again. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay this hotel is close to all attractions a few mile from Edinburgh great bus service if needed close to ocean terminal,the staff are very helpful in all we had a great stay April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff were a joy There was a card in our room asking for the name of one member of staff who we thought deserved praise, but all the staff deserve praise at this Holiday Inn, from the managers to the girl who cleaned our room. Everything was done with a smile. Being the Easter holidays, there was a real family feel to the dining area at breakfast with plenty of chatter, and there was no shortage of anything to eat - first class. Next time we are in Edinburgh, we will definitely make this our place to stay. April 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always made to feel welcome We have used this particular Holiday Inn Express and we have never been let down. The staff are always welcoming and the rooms clean and tidy April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend. Great location and was very clean. April 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short break We found the overall facilities to be excellent but felt that we would have liked a few more tea/ coffee sachets than was provided. The bed was really comfy and the whole place was very clean. A free car park was most welcome and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to our friends. Well done the staff at Edinburgh Waterfront. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location with parking. This was our second visit, and we would stay at this hotel again. All aspects satisfactory. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay and good location. We wanted somewhere to stay in Edinburgh that would be easy to access by road, avoiding awkward directions and long traffic queues but close enough into the city as to be convenient for the shops and sights. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh is situated in Leith, just opposite the Ocean Terminal shopping centre. Bus connections into the heart of Edinburgh are excellent and at £3.50 for an all day ticket at the time of our stay, very good value, so is an ideal base for exploring the city, but far enough away from the centre to be quiet and relaxing. There are plenty of eateries nearby and local facilities are good. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, giving good local information, providing change for the buses and pleasant about our room key-cards which didn't always work. Our room was comfortable with clean bedding and the décor was tidy. The bathroom was a reasonable size, clean and well set-out. The fixed soap dispensers (as opposed to loose toiletries# and hair dryer wired into the wall gave the game away about the accommodation being towards the budget end of the market, but the shower was piping hot and powerful, so no complaints here. Our only quibbles with the room were a window that didn't shut properly, and air conditioning which seemed rather temperamental. However, we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast selection was very good, but we were a little surprised not to find bacon on the cooked breakfast menu. The hot food #sausage, scrambled egg and beans) was not the highest quality we've had, but par for the course at the price and at least breakfast was included in the price. We'd definitely stay here again and recommend the Holiday Inn Express to others. It's not luxury accommodation, but if you want somewhere comfortable and welcoming in Edinburgh for not a huge amount of money, it fits the bill perfectly. April 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by power shower Room 246 a bit noisey (poor double glazing).Expensive drink's at the bar. The rooms could do with having some means of central heating in them . On the plus side the power shower was to Die for April 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Is This an IHG Property?!? The room was about average. Clean but nothing special. The trouble came when I tried to get on the internet. AirAngel is an absolute disaster!! Overpriced and under-performing! When I informed the staff that it was not working, one of them did come up to my room and then concluded that it was my computer. Not possible! The previous night I was in another IHG property and it worked fine. The following night, in another IHG property, it worked fine again. I didn't have another issue with wireless until I had to deal with AirAngel again. Ok, I can get beyond that. When I went out for dinner, all of the shops and eateries were shuttered and closed. The neighborhood seemed a bit suspect. I actually feared for the safety of my car in the car park. There seemed to be a "see who has the loudest radio" contest going on in a adjoining car park. The snack area, for purchase, had only 1 sandwich, crisps and candy. I asked the staff, they said that there was no more. This was bout 1830. Later in the evening, about 2000, I was walking by the front desk and learned more about the staff than I ever wanted to know as personal matters were being discussed rather loudly. Unacceptable behaviour. I was happy to leave the next morning and continue my journey. This is NOT what I have come to expect from IHG and Holiday Inn Express specifically. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff This hotel is in a great location opposite Ocean Terminal, close to the restaurants etc of the Shore and very well served by public transport. Our room was comfortable and a problem with the shower was dealt with very promptly. We were very impressed, as on a previous occasion, with the staff who were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. April 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A most uncomfortable night I was apprehensive when I left my room on the fourth floor at 8.30pm. Adjacent room doors were ajar and guests were moving about. On returning at 11.00 pm form the Kitchin, a fantastic experience, the people next door spent the evening singing, whistling playing the TV loudly and other unmentionable activities. We did not contact reception as we did not want a confrontation and left the next mornong. This was around the fifth time that we have visited Holday Inn Edinburgh Waterfront and it is highly unlikely that we will return. April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brand new hotel, very confortable and well located. Brand new hotel: All spaces and rooms in perfect condition. Very confortable: Room, bathroom, bed and pillows. Well located: Near the ocean port, close to shopping center and restarurants. Bus stop to go to historic places in front of the hotel. Highly recommendable. March 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Book here as a last resort. Overall, disappointing. Cramped room. Family room had one double sofa bed, thus children had to share. Considering the breakfast was poor with limited choice of hot/cold foods to select from counter, we have enjoyed much better quality elsewhere. No we would not recommend. March 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff Room was clean but we couldn't get the window shut but a very helpful member of staff came and shut it "the best she could" Returned at night ready for a cup of tea but the kettle wasn't working : ( March 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value Very convenient for the great nearby restaurants in Leith also right beside Ocean Terminal mall March 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A real comfort zone This is one of the favourite Holiday Inns Express for my wife and me It is literally at the end of a journey-through various Scottish scenes, then Edinburgh city and at last into Leith. Great surrounding amenities just across the road, including shopping and bus terminus We always receive a friendly welcome, the rooms are compact and very comfortable, everything to hand. Breakfast is a very welcome inclusion , not by any means gourmet standard but quite sufficient to start the day and no limits! In winter months all rooms and public spaces are quite cosy.. March 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by every thing was great well pleased with location, room and comfort. staff were pleasant and always there to help March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay perfect location, reception staff brilliant Exceptional reception staff very friendly room was great warm and comfortable. Breakfast ok but a little mass produced but excellent value for money as we weren't expecting breakfast so was a welcome surprise and we didn,t have to go and buy any. Great location for the royal yacht. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service first class and good location We had a great time at Holiday Inn Express, made very welcome. Room 240 good, only complaint noise from lift when trying to sleep. Can definately recommend hotel for value and friendliness, will use anytime in Edinburgh as buses are frequent to Princes Street from Ocean Terminal. March 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and welcoming: one or two glitches Very welcoming after a long journey with friendly and helpful staff - advice on local eateries and vouchers most welcome. One or two things to improve: Temperature control in bedroom - warmth from the heater/AC unit was hard to maintain and warmth associated with blower noise and draught annoying My room had floodlights outside but the curtains allowed light around the edges. Never dark! Breakfast is limited choice - fine if all the elements are there. Fresh fruit limited to apples when no bananas! Wifi rather expensive for use in rooms March 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Excellent location for a weekend in Edinburgh. While not being able to walk out of Reception onto the Royal Mile or Princess Street the availability of parking at no extra cost and a simple bus ride to and from the front door main it ideal. The fact Ocean Terminal is next door with it's shops and restaurants plus the Royal Yacht Britannia (if not already seen) and great restaurants a short walk away in Leith March 11, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 12 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Edinburgh City and Carlton Hill Hotel Front Desk Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood PPark Edinburgh Princes Street  from the Royal Mile Exterior Feature Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile hotel reception Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile on Cowgate Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile Cowgate entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading