• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 27.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only guide dogs are allowed in this hotel

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Legoland
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:122
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample Free outdoor parking. Truck/trailer accessible. Motorcoaches welcome.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:$ 15.00 15.0  USD

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:25
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

San Diego Vacations Start at Escondido Hotel's Site

Travelers seeking San Diego area hotels find the accommodations of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites San Diego - Escondido advantageous. The hotel's proximity to I-15 makes it the perfect home base for business and leisure, and the conscientious staff and countless creature comforts provide an environment guests are pleased to call home.

Entertainment in Escondido runs the gamut from slots at Harrah's Rincon Casino to
View More

San Diego Vacations Start at Escondido Hotel's Site

Travelers seeking San Diego area hotels find the accommodations of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites San Diego - Escondido advantageous. The hotel's proximity to I-15 makes it the perfect home base for business and leisure, and the conscientious staff and countless creature comforts provide an environment guests are pleased to call home.

Entertainment in Escondido runs the gamut from slots at Harrah's Rincon Casino to shows at California Center for the Arts, Escondido. In the hills of the northern San Diego area, the hotel's patrons can discover one of the country's most extraordinary attractions: San Diego Zoo Safari Park, a wildlife sanctuary home to more than 3,500 animals. For even more fun, guests can visit the Gaslamp Quarter, LEGOLAND California and SeaWorld San Diego. Iceoplex Escondido is less than one mile away.

For corporate guests lodging at this hotel in Escondido, business is truly a pleasure. The new Palomar Pomerado Hospital and countless corporate locations are minutes away for more convenient travel. There's also 700 square feet of event space on site, ideal for meetings of up to 40. With a 24-hour Business Center and free Wi-Fi access, every necessary business resource is at your disposal.

Enjoy the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. Guests can work out in the Fitness Center 24 hours a day and enjoy a seasonal, outdoor pool at their leisure, too. Book now!

View Less
Features
An excellent location off I-15 makes this hotel in Escondido the place to "Stay Smart." Guests are within walking distance of eateries like the Olive Garden, and Target is adjacent to the property.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 95 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Once again Holiday Inn Express has lived up to its reputation of a hotel of quality and comfort. Looking forward to staying at one of the facilities again the next time we travel. Thank you. August 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to snuff in Carlsbad Upon arrival for our 6 day vacation we were impressed with the hotel. It looked very nice and was everything we come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express and t was in a good location. When checking in I requested 3 keys one for each of the occupants of the room. I was told that I was allowed two keys and no more than two. I tried explaining that we would all be in and out at different times and it would be an inconvenience to only have two keys. Front desk attendant explained that if was hotel policy to issue a max of two keys per room. This necessitated a situation where we had to hide a key on property so all three people could have access to the room as needed. As a Priority Club member I stay in IHG brand hotels exclusively when I can. I usually get a nice bag with a bottle of water and cookies upon check in. I am usually greeted by the front desk clerk every time I enter the hotel. At many locations I get a bag with water and cookies every evening. At this location I was greeted most of the time with a simple" hello and how is your day." which was very nice. I did not get my priority club bag of water and cookies at check in. I saw the bags behind the desk but I was not offered one when I checked in. I was very unimpressed with the service from the start. The room was nice clean and everything I have come to expect. Clean bath, comfortable bed and spacious room. Our first morning we went down to breakfast at 845 only to find the entire room filled with people eating. There was no where to sit and the food line was at least 30 people long. Rather than fight the crowd we simply waited outside for it to empty out. At 920 we went back inside to find the line and seating had not changed. While we waited in line for food it became 9:30 at which time the food worker began shutting off the display case lighting and stopped putting additional food out on the line. For the most part the food was gone. I want to emphasize that there were at least 11 people still waiting to get food at this time. We got what little we could and the food handler replenished a few items at the request of some of the disgruntled guests. The remaining five days the food service improved as a large group checked out. I was displeased to see that the country gravy that usually accompanies the biscuits never made its way out to the food line. One afternoon we went out to enjoy the pool and spa. What we found was rather uninviting. Lounge chairs were over turned on the deck and the cushions on many of the chairs were tattered torn and very unsightly. Two hotel employees came out to replace towels and walked right by the overturned furniture as if it was the norm at this hotel. I ended up straightening the furniture and got a few nice comments from the other guests for my efforts. On the 3rd day we slept in til 10 am. we seemed to have missed the maid service. I took our three towels later in the morning to the maid in the hall to get them replaced. Yes, i took 3 towels to be replaced. She handed me two in replacement. I politely asked for a third and was told I could only have two. I showed her that I was giving her three and I wanted three in return." No", I was told "only two could be given in return". Needless to say I had to go to the pool to get a couple more towels. Arrg! We really enjoy Carlsbad and visit the San Diego area at least twice a year. Unfortunately, I don't think we will be returning to this hotel anytime soon. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very nice stay for our family This is an excellent hotel for families. It is close the the freeway and easy to get to downtown San Diego or Camp Pendleton. It is also near major attractions such as Legoland. There is a shopping area across the street, and you can walk to the beach in 10 minutes. The pool area is large, and nicely maintained. There are towels available, and lots of seating. The one drawback is that the wireless internet service is lousy in the rooms. It is better in the lobby, but generally only when the hotel is empty. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay Upon check-in the front desk clerk upgraded our room. We had a corner room on the top floor with a view. It was perfect for our needs: quiet, clean and comfortable. We really liked how the room had a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We didn't know the hotel offered a daily HOT breakfast - that was a plus! Though it had many bready items, it was still good. The staff was great at replenishing the food items and tidying up - hard to do when it was especially busy but they did a pretty good job. The pool area was also nice and comfortable, with good seating areas and towels for everyone. It's a small area but it wasn't crowded at all. Parking was very easy too. The staff was great and the hotel is very family friendly. If I could make a suggestion, it would be to install a ceiling fan in the rooms so it won't get stuffy at night. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay! August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Legoland stopover A great place to spend the night for your Legoland adventure. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, reliable service I am a repeat customer and my expectations for quality, comfort, and relaxing was maintained,. July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Nice property Excellent location with easy on-off access to I-5 and the beach. Easy walk to South Carlsbad State Beach which is a nice beach with smaller crowds AND bathrooms! Also liked that a grocery store, drug store, bank and several restaurants were right across the street to pick up items we forgot. All rooms, lobby and pool area were clean and in good shape. Really enjoyed our stay, but if there were any negatives it would be the breakfast. Same options every morning (we stayed 4 nights) and seating was limited after 8:00 am. Other than that my entire family enjoyed the hotel and would stay again in the future. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by COMODIDAD REGRESARIA NUEVAMENTE............................................................................................................................................................ July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just as expected! The hotel was updated and clean. Plenty of parking. Clean and comfortable rooms. Free Wifi but it was a little spotty. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and great location. The hotel was very nice and clean. Location is very close to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The only complaint was the noise from the room above and in the hallway outside of the room. Would definitely stay at this hotel again. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LegoLand Vacay I really liked this hotel. The rooms are AMAZING very comfortable and relaxing! The breakfast they serve is pretty good as well. Aside from having a nasty experience at check in everythign else was great. WHne you check in ask for Ritu I think is her name. Shes a very nice Indian girl with glasses she went above and beyond to help me out! July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service and no stairs I wouldn't recommend this location for any business travelers. Very close to Legoland. I am a platinum member and recieved absolutely no recognition. When I checked in the desk was empty, no note or sign. I waited over 10 mins when the employee came from the back room. I understand that things call them away at night, but at least have the courtesy to leave a note. I was checked in and sent on my way. I stay 200+ nights a year in hotels and generally frequent IHG properties. In all my travel I've always been recognized as a platinum member. The employee said nothing and when I asked about it I got deer in the headlights look and she appeared to have no idea what I'm taking about. The hotel has stairs, but they are only available for leaving the hotel, which is very inconvenient. I won't fault them for all the families in the hotel, but having to battle kids for the elevator isn't fun. At least make the stairs accessible. I will be in Carlsbad for 10+ weeks and I'm sorry to say I've taken my patronage elsewhere. I travel too frequently too put up with inconsiderate employees and inconvenience. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Great for a family. When visiting Carlsbad or the San Diego area, I would again stay at this great central location. The nearby beach is awesome. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent value Love this Hotel! The staff is excellent and the rooms are very comfortable, clean, and quiet. The breakfast is out of this world and really makes the room rates a great value. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 excellent I want to thank you all for the outstanding service. Our stay at your place was excellent. I enjoyed every minute of my stay at the Holiday Inn. Thank you all for making my families vacation memorable. Oh by the way thank you for not closing the pool at 9pm. We jumped in around 830 and I was concerned at what time the hotel staff where going to kick us out. But that wasn't an issue at all. My son loves the pool and you made his evening. I will strongly recommend your hotel to all my family members and friends. You can count on us returning in our near future. Thank you Holiday Inn for an amazing time. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lacking in Hospitality Service IHG hotels are always clean and comfortable at a reasonable rate. That's why we choose to stay with them. This hotel was no exception to that standard. We were very disappointed in the service we received at this particular Holiday Inn Express. We attempted to check in early, around 1 p.m. but were told our room would not be ready until 2 p.m. We took our kids to the beach and came back around 4 p.m. and were told our room still wasn't ready. They checked us in, but we could not get into our room until after we returned from a rehearsal dinner around 8 p.m. Even after requesting late check-out for the next day, someone came to our room at noon to ask when we were leaving. Each time we visited the front desk there was usually 3-5 waiting, even with 2 ladies behind the counter, either on the phone or staring blankly at their computers. ?? At check-in we supplied our rewards number, since it hadn't been provided when we made our reservations. Three weeks later, we called to find out why our points weren't credited to our account and were told that there was no record of the rewards number listed on our reservation and that we could not receive the points retroactively. Overall, a very frustrating visit on the staff and service side, but still a comfortable and clean night's rest. The pool and jacuzzi area are very nice and relaxing, as well as the breakfast area, which is very casual and doesn't feel like a dining room at all. July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Less than typical HI Express Near Legoland so heavy usage with a lot of children, so probably gets harder wear July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice family hotel Stayed for 2 nights, family of 4, kids aged 9 and 11. Great neighborhood location, very close to the beach and Legoland, about a half hour to sea World and San Diego Zoo. Breakfast was pretty good but they need more seating. Second morning we had to sit out by the pool and the 3rd morning we brought the food to our room July 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Fair Make sure you don't ask staff for Direction, They will get you LOST!!! July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Area of Carlsbad has many hotels, mostly facing beach. This one slightly away. It is good like any Holiday Inn Express, pretty much at the standard of Holiday Inn Express. I recommend this hotel. July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Hotel was nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only two concerns. In the Executive Suite, we used the sofa bed. When the sofa bed was extended it blocked access to the bathroom and the hotel room door. Also, it did not seem that the breakfast staff was prepared for a full house since the food ran out. Seating in the breakfast area was crowded. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff Ellen made my day. She said she would call around to find me a specific hat, which I could not find. In 2hours she found me a store in Carlsbad. I went to the store and the lady there said that Ellen called earlier and asked her to reserve the hats as I would be in to get it. I was able to get 2hats. That is customer service you don't see every day. Give her a raise as she deserves it and is an asset to your hotel. Robert July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable rooms and excellent staff Very comfortable beds and clean rooms I work on the road all the time and it is nice to be treated so well by the Management and staff Namely Sid and Shawanda they were very polite and courteous. would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family as well as business associate. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! We stayed at this hotel for a week and had a wonderful experience! I am a bit of a clean freak and our room was wonderful! It was nice to have a couch, table and small sink so that we could eat small meals in and relax between family visits and activities. Favorite perk: the beach is a short walk away! This is close to Project Walk if anyone is interested. We had a room on the bottom floor at the end of the hallway. Lots of smokers in and out, a bit noisy at times (early and later hours). Nice to have an easy in and out route, but doors are heavy and these could be a little noisy. Request a room away from outside door is you want it a little quieter. I appreciate no smoking in the hotel! June 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by poor customer service it all started with reservations on to the manager . the reservation staff was not helpful nor do they care if they inconvenience people in wheelchairs. The manager kept telling my husband there was nothing he could do and we all know he could have tried to do something to help. The staff once there have no idea what is going on I think if you have people in wheelchairs you should know. The elevators went down on one day of our stay and my husband called to ask if they knew when they would be fixed and they said they were working on it and he could use the stairs to get down. kinda hard in a wheelchair. I booked this hotel based on the fact they have a wheel in shower for my husband . Really disappointed in how was treated from the beginning June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by new Experience at HI Express I choose this hotel base on my previous decent experience on Holiday Inn Express at other locations, but I was rather disappointed to this one at Carlsbad. Room privacy and quietness are the main concern I have for staying here. Hopefully my next experience with HI Express will be better. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and nice place. Good experience! This is good priced hotel. Very comfortable, clean, modern and nice. It included breakfast, which is always a plus. Recommended! June 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by unfriendly and ridgid facility was nice, clean in good neighborhood. Staff seemed un interested or willing to accommodate. no cribs or roll away beds for children. Charged credit card a $50.00 fee, in case there was damage. They argued that it would be refunded to credit card in 3 days if room was not damaged. I sure did not like that! Over all attitude of reception area was punitive and un-friendly. No, we wont go back there. Place was very crowded. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and nice hotel Very new and clean hotel. Highly recommended for leisure and holidays. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent LOVED the convenient location of this property. I arrived later than expected due to a flight delay. The young lady at the front desk, Rutu, was extremely helpful in correcting a problem with my room. She then found a staff member that was able to press my suit for a funeral the next morning. THAT is what customer SERVICE is all about... I will continue to search out Holiday Inn Express in the future. June 16, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby 4.5 miles away to Lake Hodges 17 miles away to Del Mar Beach 15 miles away to Legoland California 6 miles away to Orfila Vineyards and Winery 13.5 miles away to Valley View Casino Walking distance to Escondido Promenade 16 miles away to Harrahs Rincon Casino 4.7 miles away to California State University San Marcos A mile away to Iceoplex Escondido 13 miles away to Bates Nut Farm 4.5 miles away to Westfield North County Mall 4.6 miles away to Kit Carson Park 10 miles away to San Diego Safari Park. 30 miles away to Seaworld 6 miles away to Frances Ryan Park 30 miles away to Red Hawk Golf Course 2 miles away to Stone Brewery 2 miles away to Center for the Arts Escondido 5 miles away to Vineyard Golf Course 16 miles away to Del Mar Race Track
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading