Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 278 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Cheap, clean and very good value Was a little apprehensive on staying at this Holiday Inn after reading the reviews but I must say we had no complaints whatsoever. Room was very nice and very clean, lovely walk in shower and bed was comfortable and no noise at night. Ok the breakfast was basic but still adequate and what was available was nice. Staff very friendly and helpful and would definitely use again. October 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean room, polite staff, good food, good value Staff all polite and friendly, good choice and plenty of food at breakfast. Room was clean and spacious. Good value for money :-) October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel. Great value for money. Needed room for a family overnight stay. Room was very well furnished and very quiet. Would certainly return in the future. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A shining light in the darkness Due to many reasons we were extremely late, hungry and very tired when we looked for the Holiday Inn Express on the A12 as we had stayed there before. We arrived well after 9 o'clock without a booking and expected to have trouble getting a room, pay over the odds and probably unable to get a meal. All concerns proved totally unfounded when a lovely receptionist organised a very nice room at a competitive rate and kept the kitchen open after hours to provide a good meal (and a pint!). The breakfast, which was included, had improved since our last stay though the sausages/eggs could be better. September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mr Great place to stay, staff are very friendly and the rooms are great September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable place for an overnight stop. Clearer signage from the northbound carriageway needed. Followed the directions on the website and satnav, but there is no obvious sign to the HIE until you are in the filling station. We turned left the first time at the final tee junction as the right turn just appeared to lead onto the southbound carriageway and ended up in the country! Breakfast on Sat at about 9 am was chaotic - we had to wait 1/2 hour before any sausages appeared. There were initially no plates or bowls either. Staff numbers were inadequate for a full dining room. We were there at about 8 am on Sunday am, before many other guests were around and everything was fine. Could do better..! September 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure stay In this hotel it had been recently re-decorated and looked good, however clearly the air con units had been left untouched, and as it seems with most Holiday Inn's the air conditioning did not have a cooling function, it only worked as a big fan. Mugs and spoons in room were left with coffee stains on from previous guests (this seems to be normal as well). Mattress just sank in the middle. I will not return unless desperate to this hotel September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and welcoming Spotlessly clean room with helpful and friendly staff. Very comfortable and spacious room. September 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A brief stay Colchester Holiday Inn was difficult to find- a sign at the junction round the corner would be helpful...and I wasn't alone with this error. Otherwise- quick to get back into town or anywhere else. The bottle bin was emptied at 6 1 morning and 6.30 the next, I didn't sleep again after that. The rooms were brilliant except for dirty shower head, comfortable bed, extra sofa bed if I wanted it- I didn't so put it away. Adequate lighting- nice bright bedside light- my father usually takes a head torch to read at night as hotel lights are usually dim but these were fine. Litter and weeds at the front around the car park made it look a bit scruffy but we were only using the hotel to sleep and not spend time so we were not that bothered. September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all the basics in place Excellent basic facilities. Liked the large walk in shower. Bed comfortable, clean towels, good wifi connection, easy to work TV. Would have eaten in the hotel had evening menu been more appealing. It was not cheap either. Breakfast OK, basic and a bit budget. Liked the view across the fields at the back. very pleasant surroundings and a petrol station adjacent - useful. Can hear the hum of the A12 in the front of the hotel and one night a guest had the television on until 3am. In all for the price - fine. September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by outstanding value for money the hotel was very clean comfortable and a large room September 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good solid performance! Only criticism is that the breakfast was a little limited, otherwise for a first stay in Holiday Inn very good. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff A very good hotel. Need to move the smoking area. The breakfast would benefit with more variety, suggest high quality porridge. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. September 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Low noise and basic but comfortable This was not my best experince for cleanliness or friendliness /helpfulness of staff, but I did get a good nights sleep and felt the layout of the room really good. Good points- Nice size and room layout. Quiet for a good nights sleep Free internet Good breakfast and long times to attend it. Not so good points- Room not clean Plates dirty....and dirty glass Toilet had blood round it Unclean bathroom floor and bedroom area. Plastic cup under the dressing table. Was still there when I left Staff unpleasant. Told on checking out- Yeah just dump key in there.....no pleasantries! September 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible- uncomfortable bed Uncomfortable bed and a terrible nights sleep. Over priced food and poorly prepared September 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by small beds staff lovely, very small beds, poor breakfast area not suitable for people with limited mobility, and not replenish for an hour, there was no fruit when we come down at 9 am and they didn't put more out till just after 10 am, no separate smoking area we had to walk through everyone smoking to get in or out of hotel. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding attendance I was attending a wedding in Colchester. I utilized this hotel because of experience in other Holiday Inn Express hotels. Excellent quality. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for a good value break! My partner and I came to stay for a long weekend as we were visiting friends in Colchester. We found the whole stay brilliant, the only gripe we had would be poss the cooked breakfast could have been more varied. Also as it was a beautiful weekend we would have liked to have sat outside on our return but there was no grassed area with a bench to sit on! But overall it was brilliant! Thank you. September 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Slightly disappointed Room was clean and well presented, bathroom was good and nice power shower. The main disappointment which was a big one was the bed, the best way to describe it was like a water bed. Whilst I have never slept on a water bed, I envisage it would be like this, the mattress was to soft and if me or my wife happened to move or rolled over, then the other would also move, as both suffer from back pain on occasions this could have aggravated matters (fortunately it didn't). Also surprised no bacon in cooked breakfast, plus sausages and eggs were cold. When we arrived we were asked for our initial impression (having just walked through the doors) but were not asked anything when we checked out, apart from that, staff were friendly and helpful September 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet accessible hotel This hotel is a very tranquil one just off the A12 however it is a little difficult to find if you are not too sure or do not have a sat nav. I got lost on a couple of occasions, and one was quiet worrying driving about te Essex countryside late at night. The hotel is well laid out and just far enough from the A12 to cut the noise but close enough to it to get places easily. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant but what turned me off was the hot food at breakfast. The cereals, toast, drinks etc at breakfast was great just the scrambled egg put me off. Dedham was close by with great pubs and at a pinch you could walk (I did). The room was large and had all the facilities but not a lot of storage space. If I had stayed one night then it was ok but 2 nights and a few shelves would have helped me. The places to go includes Dedmha sorry it should be Dedham, this is on the website and the TV. All in all a great place to stay and to get out from just needs some tweaking September 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditionig a plus This was a very clean Hotel, all the staff from desk clerks to the cleaners were very helpful especially when we didn't know how to make the lights to switch on,(it's the key card you use to open the door. its so you don't leave the lights on, very energy saving). Because i get very hot at night and have sleeping problems the air conditioning was GREAT, i can't remember the last time i slept so well, i will be going back for that reason, even if my wife has to wear pajamas. The breakfast was nice but an English Breakfast is not English if there is no bacon but there was a wide variety of things to eat.. September 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Sofa Bed Sofa bed had a poor quality mattress with springs that could be felt. It needed at least a mattress topper. Poor attitude of receptionist. Set of towels short, requested another but they never turned up. Noisy volatile neighbours throughout the night. Breakfast good but no staff in attendance to answer queries. September 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Night away Nice hotel, friendly staff, but disappointed with my reception for my mobile phone. I understand it isn't the issue for the hotel, but in its place was the hotel WIFI, which in itself was poor and in my room, ground floor close to the reception desk, I had no mobile signal nor picked up the WIFI for the 24 hours of my stay. The breakfast seemed very processed, but edible and thats in complete contrast to the numerous other HIEX hotel breakfasts at other stays, which seemed fresher and laid out better. Clean room and comfortable......... August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Loation Great hotel I found this hotel to be ideally situated for my destination the availability of the dates were good the appearance of the hotel was good and parking outside the entrance was ample upon arrival the receptionist took several minutes to find my reservation a lift to the second floor was available which I found useful upon approaching my allocated room the hallway was obstructed by housekeeping trolleys as they were still cleaning well after check in time inside the room a fold out bed settee was laid out with bedding although I had not requested it, this prevented me from using the chair and desk as there was no room and later that day I had climb over the bed settee to close the curtains, and again to open them August 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, quiet hotel - although resturant could be better I'll start with the bad points - (1) Phoned prior to arrival to ensure a cot would be in the room. When we arrived there wasn't one and so needed ot request one from Reception. (2) Upon arrival, no acknoledgement of Rewards club memebership, or bounus point offer. (3) Resturant choice limited and no children's menu. No lunch menu so had to walk to the petrol station to get sandwhiches. Breakfast choice limited, but that's a common issue with Holiday Inn Express. Good points - (1) Staff resolved the cot issue very quickly. (2) Staff were able to direct us to a great family pub/resturant for dinner. (3) Staff were able to prodive us with a great taxi firm to take us into the centre for the wedding we were attending and wasa resonable price. (4) Nice, out of city centre lcoation which si great for getting kids off to sleep and not being disturbed by drunken clubbers. August 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed not comfortable mattress very worn out Having stopped in 4 holiday inn ( express) over 4 nights this was the most uncomfortable bed , also the bed was not made up as good as the other hotels it still looked unmade , even so it did not spoil our stay, good breakfast, helpfully staff good price and good location for Colchester. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean & Friendly with some minor issues Staff were very friendly and helpful, we were allocated room 104 which just so happens to be above some sort of plant room. This had a constant noise coming from it which was a bit disturbing as we had travelled nearly 500 miles and were a bit weary so I would avoid this room if I go back. The mattress sagged a bit which took a bit of getting used to. Breakfast was much better than what I have read in some reviews however on Sunday morning we were on a schedule and when we went for breakfast there was no places available so we had to give breakfast a miss. The only other complaint would be that I bought a pint of lager and a cup of tea from the bar and was charged nearly £7. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would use again when we come back to Colchester August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by pull out sofa bed very uncomfortable, springs in my back all night. but explained to Reception staff, a duvet was put over the mattress + good night Very helpful staff, very clean rooms, nice breakfast, good location. No drawers or wardrobes so room looked untidy as clothes spread out on room desk!! Would stay again. great Wedding, lovely weekend. Thank you. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable for the price Price and comfort were good but my wife did not get a good night's sleep. This was due to the pillows not being comfortable and some outside noise. The breakfast was adequate but not as good as normal Holiday Inn where we have stayed at Colchester. The coffee provided in the eating room was dreadful. In future, when I again visit relations, I will probably pay more to stay again at the main Holiday Inn in Colchester. August 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not the greatest I signed up to the rewards scheme as have stayed a few times before with this chain and thought I would certainly be staying in other hotels but I have to say after this visit I may change my mind the staff I encountered gave the impression they would rather not be there and small little things in the room overlooked as if room had been done last minute. I had booked a room with dinner I know the choices would be limited but there was a sign with check out our specials but when asked I was told most of those were eaten the night before so forget them and reading between the lines got the distinct impression I was being told the food was not the greatest so ended up eating out which again was limited due to location of hotel all in all not the greatest of hotel stays. August 25, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>