Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice relaxing stay On this visit of many I have had here. I always find it relaxing and peace full. and will many times in the future. January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Express / INN My job involves frequent travel to our head office in Ipswich. I would travel that 15 minutes out of Ipswich to stay at the holiday Express in Colchester than choose closer more local hotels in in around Ipswich .. I include other Holiday Inn hotels in that statement . There is plenty of parking . The rooms are NEW spacious clean and tidy and the staff are happy and glad to see you and if you have forgotten anything arrive late want a bite to eat or need a taxi they are only to happy to help. Did I forget to say fantastic value for money !. Big thank you to Tamara and Josh ! January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by They always look after me I stay here frequently and am always treated well, with respect and looked after. Thank you January 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Thy room was very spacious and although bed not huge it was very comfy and I had a good nights sleep. Very clean and full facilities in room. Room temperature was ideal particularly as we were able to open the window. Highly recommend this hotel for all of the above and the fact that it is very good value for money. Can't comment on breakfast as we didn't have any. January 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 2 night stay Reception and accommodation very clean and welcoming. Only thing that detracted from this was the overpowering odour of the deep fat fryer emanating from the dining area. Staff were friendly and helpful, however their efforts could not extend to the limited menu on offer from the restuarant and the food that was served was of poor presentation and quality. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value, good service and pleasant staff. Needed a hotel close to Colchester with good parking and peace and quiet. Chose this for convenience of good road in/out of town. Greeted by Kirsty on reception who was polite and professional. Our room was large with a decent double bed, modern en-suite facilities, a good TV, and plenty of desk space to work. Had a slight problem with the reading lamp not working at first but Adrian (the other member of staff on duty) quickly found a replacement lamp insert and after fiddling with the switch it was soon working. After working until the early ours went to bed and slept like logs. Woken up by some early risers chatting outside in the car-park but by then it was time to get up anyway. We chose to have our evening meal there which was reasonably priced and more than adequate. Cooked breakfast was buffet style with scrambled egg, beans and sausages. Cereals and toast, croissants etc available too with as much tea and coffee as we wanted. All in all a functional business hotel and excellent value. Pleasant and attentive staff. I would choose to stay there again without hesitation. Thank you. January 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for onward business travel The good bits: For business use this is a good location at a reasonable price. I always find the staff friendly & helpful. Rooms are clean & comfortable and pretty quiet. Breakfast is OK, usual HI Express std as found in all the hotels. The disappointing bits: No WIFI in rooms and WIFI reception is minimal if you have a personal WIFI dongle. There is a wired connection but this is no good for your Ipad type devices. There is WIFI in the bar/reception area I understand. The bar only has bottled non/alcoholic beverages no draft. This certainly makes non-alcoholic drinks expensive, its far cheaper to walk over to the Shell station and by drinks there if you want them for your room. Rooms (either side of and including 36 I would suggest) can be a little noisey, as the corridor doors from reception have no buffers on them so you can hear the doors hit the frames each time they close. Not excessive but for a light sleeper this is certainly annoying. That said all other rooms I have stayed in have been quiet. January 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and brilliant service A beautiful hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. Location is so close to Dedham which is a beautiful day out . Food served at hotel is beautiful, very tasty and freshly cooked. January 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic accomodation The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows (soft/hard). the TV was adequate but not many channels. There was wifi only in the lounge area and I understood you have to pay for a line connection in the bedrooms. Usual amenities ie hairdryer, basic tea/coffee making paraphanalia, but no biscuits :-) The bathroom was modern with a good size shower for a change. No bath, but I prefer showers anyway. Lighting was good for make up etc. Heating was warm air and the vent was located close to the ceiling so it took a while for the room to get warm. Windows open on a security catch but ok for ventilation. Breakfast was very basic, lots of toast available etc but only cooked items available were scrambled eggs,sausage and beans. Not very appertising. not the best Holiday Inn I've stayed in but it was ok for the money. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our Christmas Stay This hotel is located very conveniently next to the A12. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The sofa bed mattress is so thin the springs can be felt through the material and my daughters could not sleep on it. The staff were extremely helpful and put two duvets on top of the mattress for the rest of our stay. The grouting near the bottom of the shower was black and there were no muffins at breakfast! However, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff meant that we enjoyed our stay and would return (if the sofa bed mattresses are replaced!!). January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and great service We stayed here for 2 nights in dec 2013 and got a great deal of 60 pounds for a family of 4 including breakfast for the stay. Excellent value, great room, modern, clean and looked recently decorated. Breakfast included, buffet, well stocked. Reception staff great, friendly and more than happy to help with anything we desired. Lady on the desk, tamara, was fab, really made our stay. We will definitely be back! January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas stay This was the best Holiday Inn I have been in. Would not hesitate to go there again if the need arose. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super location near Dedham This was a lovely spacious and clean room. Can't. Believe what good value it was too! December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely clean room great value for money The room was very clean and comfortable. Lost one star on comfort as mattress was very soft but that's my personal preference. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb, excellent value for money. It was a buffet style breakfast and was always being topped up before they ran out. You could go up as many times as you wanted. Superb value for money. Definitely be staying here again if we are in the area. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded all my expectations I used to do a lot of business travel staying in 5 star hotels so when I saw the AA 2 star rating, I was expecting a small room with adequate comfort and quality. However the large room, very comfortable bed and quality of fittings / appliances completely surprised me. Everything worked and worked well, the room was spotless, the temperature was just right and easily controllable. Free in-room internet would have been nice but considering the quality of the room vs. price this is a trivial thing. Staff were efficient and helpful. Whilst I can't comment on other rooms, based on my personal experience during this particular stay, this is one of the best stays I've had in any hotel. December 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room but disappointing issues. There was no milk in the room to go with tea and coffee. When I asked whether I could have breakfast a few minutes early in the morning no one was around when I left the next morning. It is no good advertising a free breakfast if you cannot access it! In other Holiday Inn Express hotels breakfast was served at 6.00am why not at Colchester? November 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bit of a let down I enjoyed a very good stay here when it first opened, but this time was a disappointment. All the features and facilities were there and working, but the bed felt quite unstable (like sleeping on a bouncy castle) and cigarette smoke from the hallway infiltrated the room and spoiled our rest. November 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rubbish mattress We like the look of the outside of the hotel and thought inside was even better. The room was very clean and along with the bathroom looked great. But when we tried to sleep the mattress was horrid as it was to bouncy and we kept rolling into the middle. This forced my partner to try and sleep on the couch, so neither of us got a good nights sleep, which is what we paid for. Also the breakfast was cold and the breakfast staff didn't seem interested. As a journalist I travel round the world a bit but I am sorry I can't recommend this hotel because of our bad nights sleep. November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good bed, great shower On Southbound A12, good location, easy to find, rooms good. Overall a good stanard HIE. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clueless Very clean lovely staff great breakfast thanku bar prices are slightly expensive November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value hotel This hotel is easy to access and has good links to all the local places of interest. The welcome is always warm and the rooms always spotless. Highly recommended. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel Fantastic hotel with very helpful and polite staff. Always make my stay there so comfortable and always do there best to make stay as comfortable as possible. November 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by our stay When we arrived the man ob reception was very abrupt and didnt seem to want to talk or answer anything we asked which made us abit warry. As we got in our room was very impressed with the cleanliness although on closer inspection there was only 1coffee and 1 teabag. there was also a big rip in the duvet. When we ventured back down was met by a new receptionest who was very helpful and very plesent to talk to. she was also there in the morning and again was very plesent. this was also our anniversary so was an ok stay. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room, Shame About The Bed! We have stayed in a few HIE hotels recently, including this one, so we knew it was a good hotel and a great location (for us). The young lady on reception during most of our stay was always helpful and friendly. When we checked out, I forgot my alarm clock. I contacted the hotel's front desk, they had the clock. I asked them to post it and I would pay the cost and they were happy to do this (although I still haven't received it - getting a bit concerned now!). Two niggles - firstly the wi-fi. My new phone, my tablet and laptop could pick up no signal at all in our room. In the hotel lounge/dining area, I just about got a connection - very slow and kept dropping out. Second, and more important, the double bed we had sunk in the middle. You would roll together in the night and it was an uphill struggle to get to the edge! It was like sleeping on the side of a hill! I reported this to reception in the morning but was disappointed to find we still had the same mattress/base combination that evening when we arrived back. That kind of night's sleep is not what you need before a 9 hour drive home! Disappointing but it is not putting me off HIE - I will be in another of your hotels this evening - let's hope it has a good bed! November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Excellent value for money though breakfast was not good Breakfast really needs addressing cooked breakfast was below average November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean and great service We stayed for one night. The room is very clean. The staff is very helpful and kind. The donwside is that there weren't so many choices for breakfast and didn't have enough seats for guests on a busy Sunday morning. But, we only paid 51 pounds for staying one night. You get what you paid. Overall, I'll recommend this hotel for people looking for a clean, budget hotel. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed soft and bouncy, but everything else really good. Really good night spent at this hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Limited choice on dinner menu but got something we enjoyed and very nice. Small negatives, bed too soft for us and wifi only in reception and restaurant. October 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE WELL WHAT CAN I SAY, THE STAFF ARE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL, THE ROOMS ARE VERY CLEAN N SPACEY, THE BED WAS A BIT SOFT FOR MY LIKEING? BUT STILL DIDNT STOP ME GETTING A GOOD SLEEP, WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN WITH PLEASURE. October 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reservation problems I reserved the Hotel quite early and saw directly after my reservastion i reserved the wrong hotel. We were going to the bangers at arena essex. i thought this hotel was near the track but this was the hotel we had before when we visited the track at ipswich. The day after my reservation i called to change or cancel my reservation. the hotel didn't want to help me with my problem and i had to pay for my reservation for 2 nights. we only staid 1 night. we arrived saturdaymorning at 8.15 hour at the hotel and checked in. i told the lady behind the desk that we only stay one night instead of 2 (were we had paid for) and asked if it was possible to get an breakfast on that time. she didn't want to coorporate and told us we couldn't get an breakfast. Generally it is an good hotel but i expected a bit more co-operation. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not great but an ok stay The bed was very uncomfortable. Throughout the night there were several power cuts - reception was not very helpful and explained it was the area and theres nothing he could do. The TV doesnt allow you to change the source so no point in taking a dvd player to connect up. Not much the signal in room. Positives - clean, shower is good, service provided when asked for additional items eg pillows. October 17, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>