Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 274 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Essex wedding Hotel is quite new and clean. Rooms are good, and considering its proximity to the A12 no noise could be heard. From our experience the hotel seemed to be run by the one girl behind the Reception counter; didn't see any other front-line staff. Breakfast was appalling. I've covered it in my review. Terrible; can't say more. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal hotel to use near to Harwich For anyone travelling to Europe via Harwich this hotel is just 30 minutes away. It is ideally placed, reception is great and paperwork was already waiting for me when I arrived. The room was good although I did find the bed a little on the soft side. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. I would recommend this hotel. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beds menu needs updating with more selections both breakfast June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed Reception staff need to think about how they word things, on first contact. the first sentence led us to believe we didn't have a room. So conversation got a little stressed. Bed was wonderful, got a choice of pillow firmness. lovely clean room, would have like more breakfast choice. and breakfast area not monitored enough by staff re table wiping, spillage clearance and food and crockery top up May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Brilliant service Our stay at the Birchwood Road branch was was really good I would recommend it to anyone. The only problem was the bed. It wasn't very comfortable....rather thin mattress. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort of beds The beds at this Holiday Inn Express are very soft and the settee bed mattress was very poor. According to the staff this is the standard of mattress now used on the main beds. If you have any type of back complaint avoid this chain. At breakfast there was only one member of staff on duty and even though he was running around as fast as he could he was swamped. The staff were friendly and cleanliness was good. The problems were more due to head office decisions rather than staff at the hotel. May 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by First impressions are lasting impressions On arrival at this hotel which is tucked behind a shell petrol station we were greeted by cigarette butts all over the floor at the hotel entrance. On check in the man behind reception had difficulty understanding that I wanted to check in for only one of the rooms out of the five our group had booked. My husband mentioned to the senior member of staff at reception about the unsightly cigarette butts and was informed that smokers did not put the butts in the ashtray provided and the hotel was short staffed and unable to clean up. The hotel public areas were clean and tidy (with the exception of the cigarette butts) we had booked a family room which sleeps up to 2 adults and 2 children the room was clean with shower (no bath) but we knew this would be the case only 2 sets of towels 1 large 1 small were provided on request extras were provided promptly as well as extra pillows. The sofa bed mattress is not very comfortable you could feel the springs, the mattress on the double was far too soft for my liking. Apart from the hanging space with hangers provided there are no shelves or drawers to put your clothes. Tea and coffee facilities provided. Room has a Flat screen TV, full length mirror and table. Breakfast was adequate, I found it strange that there was eggs,beans and sausages but no bacon! in the hot section, yoghurt, bread to make your own toast, pastries, juices and hot drinks. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere the nearest pub/restaurant is a car ride away. A taxi into Colchester cost between £12-£15. May 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room, good service We arrived a tad after 9pm and had to wait a little while to check in as the staff were busy serving in the bar/restaurant! But as soon as we were greeted and it was noted we were IHG members it was swift and professional as usual! Check out was the same the next morning! Only gripes are the sausages were not particularly nice, as they usually are and fresh fruit selection was apples! Plus wireless internet only available downstairs! But otherwise a great stay as we always do at the many Holiday Inns we have stayed at both here and abroad! Great value for money! Will be back soon! April 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I have sent 1 review I have sent a review in reply to a questionnaire re my visit but have had no response When I arrived the TV was on with a welcome message that I could not get rid of as the remote control was not working. We had booked as a couple but the sofa bed was made up reducing room considerably The bathroom extractor was not working the shower gel dispenser was completely empty, I found out whilst in the shower. The bathroom door lock was broken and cold only be locked from inside so was constantly opening itself. The rad noise was loud and constant. Breakfast choice was not good and no ware to sit down as all the empty tables was cluttered with the previous person’s breakfast. I had to ask one of the staff to clean some tables so we could sit down. Worst H.I. visit I have had and surprised I have not had any response to my review April 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay A very disappointing stay as I am a frequent guest at holiday inn express hotels. Room was not adequately serviced prior to our arrival ( but was addressed by reception staff). Hotel toilets by reception not very clean and the sofa bed was so uncomfortable, could feel the springs in the mattress. Reception staff were apologetic, not entirely their fault, but I do expect better as I enjoy staying at the hotel chain with my family. April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but mattress on bed not very comfortable. Great service,breakfast good.Sofa bed and bed mattress not very comfortable. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Three Night Stay The reception on arrival could not be improved with a smart and friendly lady on duty who has good knowledge of the area. The room was very clean and the bathroom had the best shower unit of any hotel we have had in 50 years of holidays. The INCLUDED breakfast has enough variety for anyone to set you up for the day. I would recommend this Holiday Inn Express to all who want a base to stay to explore a very nice part of England. April 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice dinners convenient to the highway surprisingly the dinners were quite tasty. This is a great place to stay if you are working in the area or vacationing. It is quiet the staff is Great rite on the A12 so a quick jaunt to London or the beach. April 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worse Holiday Inn Express ever. I arrived late evening, the clerk disappeared when I went to front counter. The breakfast was terrible, the scrambled eggs overlooked, the food was terrible. Had to wait 5 minutes to book out, as no one there. Would not stay here again. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room Great service Clean hotel and room modernly decorated. Looked very smart and we were pleasantly surprised. Bed was very very soft though Breakfast was just sausage and egg and cereal not a wide variety of choice also a fridge would have been fab and put icing on the cake! Would definitely recommend it April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! Staff were very friendly throughout the stay. Room was faultless. First time of staying at a Holiday inn would certainly use this hotel chain in future. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't fault it Great value family stay in quiet, comfortable room. Very helpful reception member printed off local map to show us where some great local wakls were, so especial thanks to him. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The only issue was the TV didn't work due to a defective remote control. I reported it at check out and they reduced the cost of the stay. Very fair cant complain. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding value For the price we paid for the two night stay, we fully expected a rather basic hotel. Upon arrival we were pleaseantly surprised by the reception area and seating areas, the check in was quick and very friendly, we asked if we could be accommodated at the rear of the hotel as I had read a few reviews about noise from the main road on the front of the hotel; our request was met. Three of us shared a room, it was a double with a sofa bed, the sofa bed was already set up as a bed for us, the mattress on the sofa bed was rather thin and I felt the springs through it, so I asked if I could possibly have another duvet to put over the mattress to sleep on, it; was brought to the room within minutes of the request and made the sofa bed a comfortable sleep. We also requested more pillows, as there was only one for each of us, and again they were brought to the room within minutes. The rooms were spotless with a very modern and very clean bathroom, it had good curtains in the rooms to block out the morning light, all in all the rooms were superb, could not find fault apart from the sofa bed which was very quickly remedied. The staff at the hotel were all so friendly and approachable, all you could ask for. The breakfast was great there is such a variety, of cereals, yoghurts with fresh fruit, pastries, toast with jams and marmalade, cold meats and cheese, and hot eggs, sausages and beans etc. No bacon, as many other reviewers have mentioned, but with the choice on offer of everything else, to be honest I didn't even notice there was no bacon, and this didn't actually bother us at all. there is also a coffee machine that you can have a choice of cappuchino, latte, mocha etc as well as tea bags for hot tea. You certainly won't leave hungry as it is a buffett and you can eat and drink as much as you like. All in all this was an exceptionally good hotel, value for money was amazing and the main thing that I think we all want is cleanliness, we could not fault this hotel, it was excellent. March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good service good value for money brilliant bed service was good shame about breakfast they only do sausage hash brown and scrambled egg need to add bacon etc March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by From the top down I experienced high standards indeed when staying at the Holiday Inn Colchester. The most noteworthy aspect, however, was the welcome attitude of staff members - without exception, every member of staff that I met was helpful and attentive and looked to go beyond the normal level of service expected. In one or two individuals this could be due to their own personal high standards, but encountering the same highly motivated attitude in all staff members, speaks of a management ethos and style that permeates throughout - well done to all, you are to be highly commended! March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommended for all but light sleepers Overall an enjoyable stay. Slight disappointments included a lot of road noise, did not concern us too much but might do if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast was slightly chaotic as layout of equipment did not assist in the 'traffic flow'. Other than 'no bacon' it was fine as a breakfast. I am not generally fussy but thought as they asked for a review I should do so warts and all! March 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisey We stayed on the ground floor in a family room, not a lot of space between beds, not enough towels between the 3 of us after showering Could hear people in an out all night, shouting as they walked through Even heard a man shouting and banging on doors at 7am swearing for his friends to let him in the room Wouldn't go back an stay here again I've stayed in lots of holiday inn's an had some very pleasant stays that I would highly recommend but this I'm afraid I would not recommend at all February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room Lovely room fantastic staff. The road is a little noisey during the week but Sat was fine. Breakfast was good but I'm not a lover of scrambled egg and would've been nice for some bacon, but the sausages made up for it :) As my brother and sis-in-law don't have room when the entire tribe arrives we'll most definitely be back. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best sleep ever The bed was extremely comfortable with a great soft mattress. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent location Perfect everything, staff are always polite and greet you with a warm smile. February 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic room. Great service. Modern and contemporary rooms. Stylish bathroom. Quiet room but disappointing view of factory! Good breakfast and lovely evening meal. Fantastic and friendly service all round. Only stayed one night but will definitely return. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and excellent service We have stayed twice now in this holiday Inn - both stays were for 3 days. The hotel is ideal situated. Very pleasant lounge area. Rooms are clean and tidy. Extra pillows were provided when requested as one pillow each person is not adequate. Staff are friendly and helpful and very polite. Very good hotel. Member of staff that was especially helpful and incredibly kind was Josh. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room, easy to find, friendly staff. Room was very nice, large and clean. Had own air con unit so could control temp of room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty standard but with a lovely view over fields. Would recommend. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What makes a good hotel a great hotel !! What makes a good hotel a great hotel are the people that work there. If you travel frequently away from home there is nothing more refreshing than checking in to a hotel and someone remembers your name - asks how you are. Sounds simple maybe trivial to some but these are things you can't teach but to a weary traveller makes all the difference. Our company book all their consultants into this hotel. Yes its great value for money Yes its better than any other holiday Inn/ express hotels. we have used but what makes the difference and this a hotel & destination you want to return to are the people that work there and Kirsty is the heart and soul of Holiday express Colchester..FabTastic ! February 10, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>