• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FOREST CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 19
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Kennels are available nearby, including Tri City Animal Care located 1 mile from property.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:75
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:63
  • Total number of suites:19
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:38
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:25
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:59
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy Great Amenities at Our Forest City Hotel

Whether you're headed to Forest City to enjoy the scenery of Western North Carolina or to take care of business, you're sure to enjoy our charming Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Forest City.

You can host an event in our meeting room or attend to business at nearby textile companies like 3TEX, National Textiles and Tanner Companies. Our Forest City hotel's location is near Isothermal Community College and major businesses, including
View More

Enjoy Great Amenities at Our Forest City Hotel

Whether you're headed to Forest City to enjoy the scenery of Western North Carolina or to take care of business, you're sure to enjoy our charming Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Forest City.

You can host an event in our meeting room or attend to business at nearby textile companies like 3TEX, National Textiles and Tanner Companies. Our Forest City hotel's location is near Isothermal Community College and major businesses, including Duke Energy, First Choice Armor and Eaton Corporation. We offer print, copy and fax services in our 24-hour Business Center and free Wi-Fi access throughout the property.

If a love for the outdoors brings you to Forest City, NC our hotel is a great starting point for exploring the area's natural wonders. You can travel to the top of Chimney Rock for a view of Hickory Nut Gorge, play a round of golf at the top-rated Cleghorn Plantation or take a romantic sunset cruise on nearby Lake Lure. Our hotel is also near downtown Forest City where you can see an original fountain from 1914. Enjoy local restaurants and fun activities like KidSenses InterACTIVE Museum or tubing down the Broad River, too.

No matter if you're here to conduct a meeting or relax on the shores of Lake Lure, our hotel's amenities are sure to make your stay more comfortable. We have a Fitness Center, free Wi-Fi access and a free Express Start Breakfast Bar, so make your reservations today!

View Less
Features
Staying in touch is a breeze with our Forest City hotel's free high-speed Internet access, it's available throughout the hotel. You'll love the 24-hour coffee service and the USA Today newspaper.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 61 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Love this place!! Excellent!!! I would definitely come back every time I am in Shelby NC August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience While we were only there one night, the rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, staff extremely polite and noise level was excellent. In addition, the location was excellent. Everything you could want was located near by. I would definitely stay here again and again. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service at a Great Price I travel on business a couple of times monthly and see the inside of lots of hotels. But this one was an exceptional value. Just off Highway 74 and located near the Cleveland Mall and a number of restaurants, the hotel was extremely clean and well-maintained. My room was well-equipped, wireless access was easy, and a comfortable bed with firm pillows combined with a quiet location to make for a good night's sleep. It was everything that I needed to be rested for a full day of meetings, and certainly one that I will return to in the future. A good stopover place on Highway 74. July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Durchschnittlich Bett sehr gut! Sauberkeit des Fußbodens und der Möbel war nicht gegeben. Personal sehr freundlich. Zimmer sollte besser aufgeräumt werden! Frühstück OK! July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by July stay Everything was great and the people were very nice. The free pizza was a hit with my children. The only complaint would be the ants around the pool and the pool was not very clean. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in Shelby We took a 922 mile road trip to the nearby Earl Scruggs Center and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our visit. Registration by phone was a breeze, and throughout our visit the staff was courteous, attentive and professional. As an added bonus, the terrific Red Bridges Barbeque Lodge is right up the road! July 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Hotel We had a very nice stay and the staff were great,The only bad thing I have to say is if you are on the bottom floor be prepared to hear the guests above you it was loud...I turned my ac on constent and had my tv louder then normal to blur the noise of footsteps and running above us....I was so tired from flying and being up many hours at the hospital in Shelby that it wasnt long before I fell asleep so it didnt bother me long.....The room was clean and the beds were AMAZING.....We love the breakfast in the morning but wished they had biscuits July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice overall hotel The hotel was clean and comfortable. My granddaughter loved the pool. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This hotel was very nice. Will definitely stay here again when in this area. The staff was excellent. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HI Express - Shelby The attentiveness of the staff and support employees was above reproach. Sleeping was quiet and relaxing. Only two issues presented itself during my stay at this property. 1. Upon arrival, I inquired as to parking of our vehicles and trailers. I was told that the Cleveland Mall parking lot was to be used without any question as the Hotel and the Mall had an agreement, without any reservation. After working long hours throughout the night and up into the day on 7/4 I received a phone call stating that we needed to move our vehicles and trailers into the small parking area at the hotel. As we had been working a straight 28 hours and ready for some sleep, this was a little upsetting. I did make a phone call to the principal owner of the Cleveland Mall property to complain about the rude behavior and comments of the Mall security staff to our office staff regarding the parking of our vehicles (3), trailers (2/large) and mobile electronic messaging equipment (2/large). 2. During my morning sleep (I work most nights), my door became the pounding stone for someone wanting to check the fire/smoke alarm batteries... That should have been scheduled when the room was not occupied. Other that those two instances, the stay was quite enjoyable. Access to the mall and the theatre was nice when I had time to take advantage of the close proximity, July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to GWU Very clean and nice, near shopping, and near GWU which was great. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant and safe stay. We enjoyed our short visit.The restaurant choices were good and close by. The pool needed some care, but otherwise- all was good. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by work traveler Excellent stay, friendly staff pectect for what is was needing. The only issue the needed to be a larger parking lot. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stop Good stop before going through the MT. Like to see weights in fitness room. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service in Shelby Once again GREAT SERVICE in Shelby at the Holiday Inn Express! The staff were great, room was spotless and very very comfortable for sleep! Anytime I'm in Shelby I'm at the Holiday Inn Express!!! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff Christie did a fine job at the front desk. She was courteous, patient, knowledgeable, accommodating, and friendly. There were a little more than 20 people in our party and everyone felt she did an admirable job. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI Express Shelby, NC Overall I would recommend this hotel to stay. I was disappointed in the hot breakfast, eggs were the same, bacon was like cardboard. Fruit was fresh, and everything else was okay. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, tasteful, clean, comfortable and accessible! I reserved an accessible room for my 94-year-old aunt and her great granddaughter. There were no two-bed accessible rooms available, but this room had a king. Turns out my aunt and her g.g.daughter slept in the same bed, with plenty of room--and consequently enjoyed a little pillow talk! They reported that mattress was very comfortable. This motel was the only one in the area that (1) seemed nice and clean and (2) offered an accessible room guaranteed on first floor. The Shelby HI Express was a key factor in making my aunt's visit to Shelby a success! She flew in from Nashville and deserved the best. She got it at this motel. Nice staff, too. The only thing I would have liked, that wasn't available, was to have been able to charge the room to my credit card over the phone (I was out of town). To do so, I would have had to photocopy/scan my card and license and send to the motel. Not doing that! Had to have someone in Shelby go in a swipe his card, then we settled up. April 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Visit Very clean and very hospitable staff at this location. April 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay BUT no internet connection due to equipment problems I am an IHG Gold Member. I stay at this Hotel every time I come to Shelby, NC area. I was disappointed that the Internet Connection was not working during my stay. I need to make an important payment using my online banking. I ended up paying it one day late. When I checked in Sunday night, I notified front desk staff. She mentioned that "IT is working on the problem and should be working in an hour". That one hour never happened. In fact next morning, the Internet was still down. No one had actually worked on the problem. In today's day and age, this is very unusual that staff can NOT reset the routers/equipment to try to restore the connection. PLEASE DON'T LET YOUR GAURDS DOWN AGAIN. I hate to give your staff and service "AVERAGE" rating due to this incident. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Wonderful service and great location. Highly recommend! March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service The staff was very helpful this was my first time to the area. The gave great directions and advise on places to eat and the points interest in the area. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lighting in Bathroom I was lodging In room suite #126, the light over sink should be brighter for shaving purposes. December 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping needs some attention When I arrived, the ironing board and iron was still set up in the room from a prior guest and there was toothpaste on the sink counter. There was only one washcloth in the room. The walls are thin enough that I could hear the person in the next room snoring. The breakfast was edible and hot, but the choices are very limited. (The breakfast is one of the things I look for in an HI Express and it was low to mediocre at best). I think the room rates are too high for these kind of deficiencies. The staff I dealt with were quite nice and courteous. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Staff was very friendly and attentive to their responsibilities December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff assistance After driving for 9 hours and arriving at this Holiday Inn Express tired and weary..the nice woman that checked me in was very polite and helpful. My wife was really tired and not feeling well, the staff on this night assisted me in getting our stuff into the room so i didn't do it all alone. I didn't ask, but the nice woman assisted in this task depite it being about 25 degress out... I owe a big thanks even though thank you isn't enough. November 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Best in town. Though this property would not win any awards in a larger city context, it is certainly the best in this area. The rooms are relatively clean and comfortable. Most of the staff are helpful and pleasant. Though we did not try the free breakfast, it was nice to have the option. Overall, this is an average hotel (though again, the best this small town has to offer). November 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad for a small town This hotel had sits next to the Cleveland Mall. McDonald's, Ruby Tuesday's and Denny's. Up and down the street there order shops and eatery's For the business person the desk area is adequate and functional. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff I recently attended a Continuing Education Course in Shelby, NC and stayed at the Holiday Inn. I was very pleased with all the staff who were friendly and went out of their way to speak and make sure you were enjoying your stay in their Hotel. I also was pleased with the breakfast each morning. The food was good and there was a good variety from which to choose. The awesome staff and the good food just gets your day off to a Great start. My thanks to the Holiday Inn staff. Its wonderful to see people take pride in their jobs. Keep up the great attitudes. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit with high school classmate! We had a great time catching up, it has been 50 years since graduation. Hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay a memorable one. Thanks to everyone! October 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Inviting Hotel entrance
Inviting Hotel entrance
Select to close.
Inviting Hotel entrance Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Forest City Welcome to Forest City Inviting Welcoming
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading