• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FREEPORT
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We apologize, but we do not allow pets to stay in the hotel. However, we happily accept service aminals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
LL Bean Flagship Retail Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Atlantic Cruise
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
120 Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Wolf's Neck Park
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • 84 parking spots. Free parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:77
  • Total number of suites:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:77
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are
View More

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are only a few miles from our hotel's location. In Freeport, Maine, we help our corporate patrons stay connected by offering free high-speed Internet access, and we also have a 24-hour business center which features copy, Internet access and print services.

Leisure guests are overwhelmed by the wealth of attractions near our hotel in Freeport, ME. Shopaholics can head over to the L.L. Bean flagship store while outdoor enthusiast may want to check out Bradbury Mountain State Park for a day of hiking. Historians should be sure to visit one of our beautiful lighthouses like the Portland Head Lighthouse. Kids are also excited that our property is only minutes from Funtown Splashtown USA.

During your stay at our hotel in Freeport, ME, you can enjoy quality amenities, which include a heated, indoor pool and hot tub, free Wi-Fi access, a fitness center and a complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our delicious cinnamon rolls. Make your reservations today!

View Less
Features
When you're looking for hotels in Freeport, Maine, remember that we offer great amenities, such as a heated, indoor pool and whirlpool where you can relax after a long day of sightseeing or working.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn by the Bay We travel many places in a year and Keith in sales and the Lady supervisor in the dining room are the BEST. Great service great stay year after year. Thanks for all you do for us each March when we come to the AA convention March 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by worst mattress - sat in desk chair most of the night I.m sorry to say I was dissappointed this stay. I would normally give it an excellent rating my other stays, but the mattress was hard as a rock & wasn't happy with the set up of the executive suite. I think the set up of other rooma are much more comfortable with a table and two comforable chairs. The only other chair was in a cornor off to the side & couldn't be used with couch. The service was great as usual. March 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable, quiet, and accommodating My room was clean, comfortable, roomy, and blessedly quiet. The staff were efficient, pleasant, and helpful. Food was delicious, service was prompt and attentive without intruding. Absolutely no complaints - would stay there again and highly recommend. March 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay As usual I had a great stay at Holiday Inn by the bay. Clean room , great food Thank you March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by sheets I have been staying at this Holiday Inn for years and have always enjoyed my stay. Nancy and the crew are very profesional but at the same time warm and friendly! The only hickup with my last stay was that the bed sheet was clean but very "pilled". I did leave a note for house keeping suggesting that they retire the worn sheets... March 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! My wife and 2 boys(9 & 11) have actually stayed here a few times. It is a great place, pool....real nice. The staff are all excellent. The rooms are clean and kept up nice. We will be back!! February 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Hotel is well located to waterfront and Congress Street action. Portland is a very nice city if you like historic surroundings with today's amenities. View from my room was great and staff is very friendly. February 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great to attend Cumberland Couty Civic Center We went to see Disney on Ice at the Civic Center. It's the best location you can get, it's just a few steps from it. Our 2-3 year old children were able to walk themselves to there ! So no need to find a parking ... & no need to pay for parking for the show ! The hotel's indoor parking is great especially during winter ! Room was a little pricy, but I guess the upside of the location was worth the difference. Rooms were great. Staff at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. Only thing that wasn't top notch has been service at the restaurant ... but hey, can't give the hotel a bad review just because of 1 bad server or 1 good server that was having a bad day ! By the way, buffet at the restaurant was great too ! Children had a blast at the pool ... wished they had a hot tob for the parents ! Priority Club Members that were travelling with us were spoiled ... wish I was one too !! February 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for the ride This is our third visit in the last six months. Having been innkeepers in Camden, Maine for 14 years we know a lot about comfortable rooms and attentive staff. Where the Portland-By the Bay Holiday Inn excels is in guest services. During our visits I have been a patient at Maine Medical Center . On each visit the hotel has provided transportation so that she could visit me at least once a day. The inn is not far from the hospital, but at our age a ride is most welcome. Please pass my thanks to your great staff. Peter T February 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Get-Away We were very impressed with the service of this hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful at the front desk. We ordered a pizza delivery after sightseeing all day and the hotel accommodated us with plates and dinnerware. Quiet and clean hotel and rooms. We will stay here again when in Portland. February 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway from Boston Over the holidays my friends had given me recommendations of fun shops, restaurants, and bars to visit in Portland. In early February, my girlfriend and I were eager to get out of Boston and decided to make a quick trip to Portland to check it out. The Portland-By The Bay Hotel was within walking distance (even on a cold Feb. night) to many of the great restaurants and bars in the Old Port area of Portland. The hotel staff was friendly and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The overall experience was excellent and we would definitely stay here when we have a chance to visit Portland again. February 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel with great staff! Enjoyed the privilege of staying at this Holiday Inn. February 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Downtown Hotel was within walking distance of all the downtown locations! Staff members were very friendly and helpful with entertainment suggestions. January 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine place to stay close to everything The staff makes the stay a wonderful time. The lounge can be a bit short handed as the bar tender has to play all parts, not a good idea but had to judge traffic. All in all I always enjoy my stay January 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely view and great extras I love staying at Portland-By The Bay! The room was absolutely luxurious with an incredible view of Casco Bay. We did not dine at the hotel's restaurant but I loved the free beverages in the lobby. It was such a nice touch. I also really appreciate the free parking at the hotel. We parked right near the door to the elevators that took us straight up to our room. I am looking forward to visiting Portland again and will certainly be staying at this hotel when I return. January 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location I had a great stay at this hotel. The views of Portland Harbor are impressive. January 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Water Views If you are lucky enough to get a room on the bayside, you are in for a treat. This Holiday Inn offers terrific water views....probably the best in the Portland Area. This is my third visit to this Holiday Inn and the staff always does their best to make my stay enjoyable. The pool and exercise room are welcome additions to a winter visit. My only concern is that at this time of the year the fact that this is an older property becomes most apparent. The central heating is continuously noisy in the bathroom, and the random heat from individual units doesn't contribute much to a relaxing environment. Certainly I will be back, but just not in the winter. January 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness The room wasn't very clean. There was a dirty plastic cup under the desk and a lot of food debris on heater and table. If this area was not cleaned I have to wonder how cleans the toilet and bed were. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! We stayed during the New Year holiday, and loved this hotel! We had a great view of the bay with a very comfortable room. This location is walking distance to many restaurants, cafes and clubs, which was great since there was a parking ban downtown due to snow. Fortunately the Holiday Inn has indoor, free parking, so we had no issues parking the car we rented. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. And we opted to have a quick dinner in the lounge, and the food was really good. No complaints! January 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the 12/27/12 snowstorm The Room was clean,the beds were comfortable,the extra towels and pillow i asked for were in the room. the shuttle bus driver was execellent,. the pool area was well kept and clean. worth a repeat stay. the only drawback was they would not accomodate an early checkin that day of the storm. January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We have always had good experiences at this hotel. Every time we travel through New England, we stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay, The room is clean, comfy, and in close proximity to the waterfront and easy to get to/from I-295. The bar is friendly and nice and the property is well maintained. January 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by okay to book when other nicer hotels are not avialable The hotel is below average. Room: When we entered the room for the first time there was a pile of bedding on the floor. We were not sure the room had been thoroughly cleaned and changed out or not. Called front desk and house keeping supervisor promptly corrected the issue and assured us the room was cleaned. HVAC unit in room stopped on its own. Maintenance showed us how to reset it so we could have heat. Bathroom: Hair, lent and dust behind the bathroom door. Strands of hair in the tub. Drain in tub was slow to drain. Called front desk on drain and it was dealt with quickly. Wad of hair pulled out of the drain. Chatted with housekeeping next day to have the area behind the door cleaned to remove lent, dust and hair. Bar and Restaurant: Bar was staffed with 1 bartender to tend to about 25 people at once in the bar area. Bar crowd was heavy due to restaurant not taking patrons because a 'big party' was booked. It made for a very frustrating evening to find dinner due to other places local to the hotel closed at 9:00 p.m. Other guest: Hotel was hosting a 'home grown' convention. This is the equivalent of a moderate number of marijuana users having issues navigating in the hotel from their rooms, to snacks to the convention area. I see in 1999 Maine legalized marijuana so that explains why the convention was booked. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed & furnishings. This is my 3rd stay here. The location is great & with your free covered parking garage we only have to use the car if we want to travel outside Portland. January 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Water Heater Broke We weren't able to take a shower because the water heater broke. It would have been nice if the hotel had told us prior to us having to call the desk. December 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always the best place to stay in Portland This hotel is always our first choice when visiting Portland Maine. The location is perfect for walking to any shops and bars. We love the comfort of the rooms and that they include a fridge and microwave. Loved the Bath and Body works amenties in the bathroom. I do wish they had a hot tub after a long day of walking,but the pool is also very nice. December 14, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service As a platinium member my profile indicates a no-smoking room. This was not the case when checked in. They offered to ozone room and a free breakfast. The room smelled of smoke and the front end people were rude and I felt like they just did not care. December 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by getting around shuttle was great to get picked up & dropped off!!! December 8, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Customer Service Let me start by saying that the room was very comfortable and clean. The issue that I had was with the customer service. I booked the hotel online through the hotel company's Priority Club without using any points on the purchase. When I checked out I asked for a receipt but I was told since I booked online they were unable to give me a receipt and it should come to me via email. The receipt did not arrive via email. I called the front desk a few days later and they still refused to give me a receipt saying that I had a contact Priority Club. I called Priority Club and they told me that the hotel needs to give me the receipt. Only after asking to speak to a manager did the Priority Club employee call the hotel and explained my situation. Even though they called the hotel to help me work things out, I was then forced to call back the hotel. The person that I spoke with at the hotel was rude, cut me off while I was speaking, and claimed that the reason they did not give me a receipt is because I told them I used my Priority Club points (which I did not say). Finally, they emailed me a receipt. Isn't being part of a Priority Club supposed to make you a priority. Not in this hotel apparently. Don't stay here, they care little about simple requests from their guests. November 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Our favorite hotel in Portland We stay at the Bayside Holiday Inn when we travel to Portland, at least twice per year. It is in a perfect location for exploring and enjoying all this great city has to offer. The view from the bay side rooms is spectacular! Though, the housekeeping staff could do a better job on keeping those windows clean. With that view, they should be sparkling! Staff are always friendly and helpful, the restaurant is good, typical fare and prices for the chain.. I must mention the lobster bisque... The waiter was correct when he proclaimed it the best! November 24, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and value, one glitch Like other Holiday Inns we've stayed at, the reception staff, housekeeping quality and overall comfort level were very good. The enclosed on-site parking garage in this downtown location was a bonus. The location, next door to the art museum, and a moderate walk to the Old Port district, was just right for our two-night midweek sightseeing stay. The dining experience was less satisfactory. We were in no particular rush, but it was more than an hour before our meals -- salads!! -- arrived. There were perhaps a dozen diners in the restaurant, hardly an overwhelming crowd. Maybe the chef was having a bad night. Our breakfasts the next morning was served promptly and well-prepared. November 20, 2012
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading