• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FREEPORT
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We apologize, but we do not allow pets to stay in the hotel. However, we happily accept service aminals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
LL Bean Flagship Retail Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Atlantic Cruise
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
120 Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Wolf's Neck Park
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • 84 parking spots. Free parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:77
  • Total number of suites:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:77
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are
View More

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are only a few miles from our hotel's location. In Freeport, Maine, we help our corporate patrons stay connected by offering free high-speed Internet access, and we also have a 24-hour business center which features copy, Internet access and print services.

Leisure guests are overwhelmed by the wealth of attractions near our hotel in Freeport, ME. Shopaholics can head over to the L.L. Bean flagship store while outdoor enthusiast may want to check out Bradbury Mountain State Park for a day of hiking. Historians should be sure to visit one of our beautiful lighthouses like the Portland Head Lighthouse. Kids are also excited that our property is only minutes from Funtown Splashtown USA.

During your stay at our hotel in Freeport, ME, you can enjoy quality amenities, which include a heated, indoor pool and hot tub, free Wi-Fi access, a fitness center and a complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our delicious cinnamon rolls. Make your reservations today!

View Less
Features
When you're looking for hotels in Freeport, Maine, remember that we offer great amenities, such as a heated, indoor pool and whirlpool where you can relax after a long day of sightseeing or working.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 395 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great All around Totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was terrific!! Had breakfast every morning at the hotel it was very good. The waiter and the hostess were excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Enjoyed!!!! Thanks August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and comfortable Walking distance to everything yet quiet and comfortable. Restaurant was excellent as well. August 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An Affordable Choice for Families that Offers Cleanliness & Great Views We have stayed here a few times visiting family in Portland. The rooms are clean and the views of the harbor are stunning. There are no particular luxuries, but the location and views (if you get one and ask) make this a better choice than other family-priced hotels. On the down side, the full beds seem smaller than a regular full and now that my children are teenagers, they were hard to share. The bedding itself felt very institutional, like a hospital's, just not homy. I was also told the fee was all-inclusive, yet I was hit with a $10.00 parking fee for each night and a tax. If you don't care about the views and location, you might find a better price in South Portland, a place that offers complimentary breakfast and free parking. Really, the beds' size was the biggest problem. Also, the Wifi was really, really slow. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great reservation coordinator, got the room I wanted on the bay side. Clean room, support help was appreciated, and friendly staff made my stay enjoyable! August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great I had a nice room, very clean, very quiet, for a very good price! August 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed I asked for a king bed and got two very small full beds. Too small for two people to sleep in the same bed. The hotel was too over priced for the condition and comfort of the room. I would rather pay more money to have something more comfortable. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and calm Nice place to stay. Good location for walking around Portland. Staff is very helpful, friendly, and kind August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bed was comfortable, nice pillows, had what you needed to relax I enjoyed my stay and the location was great, close enough to the wharf and other shopping areas. Easy to get around. The room for the most part was clean except for the mildew in the shower, I expected better. Airconditioning was louder than I would have appreciated. I had ordered the room under my name for multiple days and had another couple staying with me. I was surprised to learn that the hotel tried to charge the couple staying with me one day of room charges. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by parking Staying here for a few years now. Excellent customer service. Great asccomidations. Reserved room 5 months in advance was told at checkin they now charged a $10.00 parking fee and had to park on the lot next door with no connection to hotel. Hotel parking lot said full-it wasn't. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great stay! Whenever I travel to Portland, I always stay here. It's in the heart of downtown and you can walk everywhere in the downtown core. The rooms are great and the bed is super comfortable! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convention Delight I attended the Delta Kappa Gamma Society Northeast Regional convention for four days in July at this hotel. The meeting rooms were pleasant and the main meeting area in the ballroom was excellent. Large screens made it easy to see the speakers no matter where one was seated. The food was superb and the wait staff was very accommodating throughout the conference. Our room overlooked the city, but the ones across the hall had a fabulous view of the bay. There was a restaurant inside the hotel and a nearby restaurant (less than a block away) with excellent food and drinks. The art museum lies directly across the street and there are many things to see and do in Portland. The hotel staff directed us to Exchange Street for shopping and to some local shops such as a cupcake store and an amazing candy store that had chocolate covered blueberries! The entire hotel was neat and clean and everyone went the extra mile to be sure we all had a great experience. I will return! August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Special Rates for Maine Med Patients and Families Thank you to the Holiday Inn by the Bay for the special rate available to patients being admitted to Maine Medical Center in Portland and their families. Because of the reduced rate, my husband and I, along with my mother, were able to stay comfortably at the Inn for the night before her surgery, then for two more nights while she was recovering at the hospital. This is a valuable service, and helped us during a most stressful time. We really appreciate this special consideration. Thank you. August 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Normal room but bloked TV Movie selections on the Holiday Inn TVs for my kids was: 1 movie. I tried connecting my computer with an HDMI cable and also tried playing directly from my USB on the TV (I have the same model at home and it works great). Holiday Inn TVs are modified to block connections to any external source. Why? So you only have their poor selection of movies to watch at their rates. Seriously at the price of their room, this seems awfully cheap on their part. Trying to gouge every penny from your customers is not a great long-term strategy. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Discounted stay for local hospital visits We stayed at the HI by the Bay in order to monitor a parent who was having surgery at MaineMed. The HI provided a heavily discounted rate, which we greatly appreciated. Our stay started with two rooms, one being a handicap accessible (roll-in shower) unit. (Unfortunately, it had one bed, so my wife used a cot, which are never very comfortable.) The location for anything in Portland is great, with lots of nearby restaurants and walking distance to the Old Port and Waterfront sections. And only 0.8 miles from MaineMed. We never tried the pool, gym, or TV, so can't comment there. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice view from the 10th floor of the sunset and a bonus was the free apps in the lounge at the hotel My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn the last week in July 2013. Nice room, comfortable bed, free WIFI. The gym was small, no free weights, they do have a sauna but need a jacuzzi instead. Nice Keurigs in each room was also a bonus for us along with the free apps in the lounge and bonus drinks for IHG members. The sunsets were spectacular from our basic room ont the 10th floor facing the citiy. Not on the water but a 10 minute walk to commercial street so we felt it was a good value. The parking was $10/day but the spaces were extrremely tight so don't bring your big SUV. August 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by a very average hotel a fairly long walk to downtown ask for a bay view room. we asked them if the two vans parked outside would take us anywhere and the front desk said no, we don't shutttle. I thing we heard later that that' what the vans are for. We won't stay here next time August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not by the Bay. In my opinion, the name Holiday Inn by the Bay is deceiving. The walk to the bay was 0.9 miles down and then back up. The flooring in Room 706 was shabby; the air conditioner loud. The maid service was attentive to details; as was the front desk. The shuttle drivers helpful and informative. August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This property was comfortable,and relaxing. The proximity to the waterfront and downtown section was perfect for both areas. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The shuttle service was unbelievably convenient! The workout room was a little too small for the size of the property and the increased population of people who work out. Overall a wonderful week was had at the HIBy the Bay. August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service The week of July 22-28 I was attending the NE Regional of Delta Kappa Gamma. This was a most pleasant experience. All employees were most accommodating and friendly. The dining room hostess was always very pleasant and eager to please. All wait staff was also extremely accommodating. I loved the Port of Call Lounge. It was so relaxing to just go in and enjoy the atmosphere and quiet. I was so surprised at this quality of the Holiday Inn. Thank you for making my experience in Portland so pleasant. Also the shuttle service is a grew service for your guest. I will reccomend this hotel to any one who is going to Port;and Mane. Thank you for making my trip to Maine so pleasant August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service The staff was very friendly. I was there during a conference when so many guests can be quite needy. All of the staff were great. The restaurant even stayed open a bit longer to accommodate all of us. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location Nice hotel in a quiet, centrally located area. Short walk to the water and great restaurants and shops. We loved our stay in Maine! July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You will love it!! July 20, 2013. We arrive at the Portland, Maine airport. Went straight to baggage claim to call for our free shuttle. (Nice) Arrive at the hotel checked in promptly. Got the room and it was facing the water nice view from being higher floor (sixth). for one night. Then my other reservation was for the remaining four nights was a great room. Two reservations because I already booked it from sat – wed. but I wanted to start my vacation in Portland on Friday.  So they told me to leave our bags and they will take care of the move. The room was great. We had coffee every morning in the room and half and half was available all day right by the lemonade and coffee station by the front desk. They think of everything. I could not remember everyone name because everyone was so nice. I have never had everything completely done for me and it was from the front desk to the lady who cleaned our room. She kept me fully stocked with coffee and cream. We are the kind who also does not need our room cleaned either every day. I got fresh towels and coffee and I was a happy lady. We had coupons for a free drink one night and I ate four bowls of popcorn while we sat there. It was so much fun and relaxing. The hotel was clean, my room was clean and floor and the bed were clean. The air condition was great, since we are from the south, the heat is bad. So I wasn’t ready to come home. I enjoyed everything about the hotel and Portland. I remember reading a lot of post about the hotel being on a hill. The Holiday Inn on the Bay is not on a hill it is a slight incline, which was great for me because I needed a nice walk every night after eating all my delicious meals at all the restaurants in town. Like a Hotel on Mason street in San Francisco in on a hill, because every night my husband had to push my back to get me up that hill a few years ago. This is a nice ten minute walk up from the main drag Commercial Street where all the restaurants are in the middle maybe 15 minutes if you were all the way down by at the end. Most of the time we walked fast and it was great. We felt safe everywhere. You would not get this great service and hospitality anywhere else but at the Holiday Inn. It was near restaurants and neighborhoods too. Wonderful and quaint. We found some great diners every morning like Marcy’s a block away. On Oak street small but we like to sit at the bar. Very good prices. Becky’s on Commercial street, take High Street to the water and you are there. All the other things we ate were places were good for chowder, lobster and lobster roll. First night we went to Gilbert’s great chowder. We just wanted soup that night. It was great. The second day went on a beer tour and a great big pretzel to go along with the great beers we tried on the Maine beer tour. We had a ball. That night we took some advice and tried J’s Oyster bar, another great find. I come from the gulf seafood, so I love fresh salty oysters and the blue point oysters were delicious. The chowder and the lobster stew were great I kept trying to eat my husband’s stew. Both were great. I thought, but all were great I thought by the time I left Portland. They had a great Italian restaurant too called Paciarino, one block down going towards town. We each got the lasagna and ate it all. We came for beer and lobster and all the other great foods we tried. If you go to Eventide, they do not have crackers, so you have to order fresh potato chips to put your oyster on with tabasco sauce. Duck Fat restaurant was great you have to get the fries. I got the ham Panini great, hubby got some tongue Panini. He said it was delicious. Down here cow’s tongue is a delicasee. If you can rent a car from Enterprise on Marginal Street we walked to from the hotel walk from the main street High street left went you walk out of the hotel. Drive to Kennebunkport for the sights, then drive back and go to Cape Elizabeth to Lobster shack at two lights it was a wonderful view and people brought their own table cloth and wine. They do not serve liquor. I got one lobster for 18.99 and the second one was 9.99, so I got two. My hubby had a lobster roll everywhere. Everybody was taking pictures from the rocks at Cape Elizabeth. They were by far the best lobster. Because it was pure lobster meat with one little dollop of mayo which he took off and a slice of pickle that was it. The Portlan Lobster shack was second. Nothing was hidden on there lobster roll either. I went shopping too, love it. K.Collette. I wish was my house. Motifs lots of neat home accessories I shipped everything home. I have to get back to my hotel subject. It was superb. The hotel topped it all off my whole trip... This trip was too good to be true. I thank you for having such a great group of people working here. I really appreciated it. Thank you thank you thank you!!! July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Stay! We were only in Portland for a night. We had never been to Portland before, and we were thrilled with the recommendation from the front desk for a great place for dinner. We stayed on the 11th floor, and had a beautiful view of the water - it was just perfect! The bed was really comfortable, and the little touches at check-in and within the room were appreciated. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Downtown Portland, ME Hotel We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Downtown Portland, ME and it was a great time. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk to the waterfront and all the restaurants, shops and bars. Plenty of parking on site. The king bedroom was definitely big enough for my wife and I. We never ate at the hotel other than one breakfast and that was on par with other places we've stayed at. The nightly rate was a good deal. We could have paid more to stay right in the waterfront area, but we saved roughly $75 per night at the Holiday Inn and with it being so close to everything we never used our car and just walked everywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are going to downtown Portland, ME. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - helpful desk staff In the three days we spent in this hotel, we never had to move the car. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The view of the harbor (after we cleaned the window) was beautiful, especially at night. July 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by adequate The hotel was adequate with a good location. We've been staying in the Portland area for 15+ years and never had to pay additional for parking. We were told upon check in that there would be an additional charge for parking. The lot was full, so as weary travelers with heavy bags we had to drive around to another lot that they own which was adjacent but not in the hotel. That whole process took a long time for us when we were so tired and ready to just check in. For that reason alone, I would not recommend this hotel. There are plenty others in the area with at least as many amenities that are hassle-free. July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn by the Bay Great location. Not enough on site parking. Staff was great. Food was wonderful and the prices was great. Coffee maker in our room should not be in the bathroom because it had hair and foreign particles in it, each time we attempted to mkae coffee. We feel the coffee maker should be placed in the sleeping area. July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable option; great location Ideal location in Old Port; an easy walking distance from so many places and convenient parking so we could drive to other places. Overall, this was a clean, comfortable place to stay. It is pretty basic - don't expect lush towels - but the staff was friendly. I appreciated the Keurig machines in each room. Free Wi-Fi in each room too. My friend commented that the lobby had an odd smell to it. July 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay and Service Stayed at the Holiday Inn by the Bay before taking our cruise. Hotel provided transportation from the airport and also to our ship. Shuttle driver courteous and gave us information on where to eat . Front desk staff was helpful with directions and gave us suggestions for dinner. Room was clean and the beds comfortable. We will be staying here after our cruise. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great front desk staff The location of this hotel is perfect. From the top of the hill, the view was outstanding. At night, all of the city lights with the mountains in the background were especially beautiful. We arrived a bit before check-in, and the front desk staff was kind enough to let us get to our room early. She also told us about the valet in and out service, which was quite convenient. We called down right before leaving to have the car ready and it was waiting for us each time. The actual valet (person at the bell desk, I unfortunately did not get his name), was pretty rude, but he parked our car nonetheless. We simply decided to just deal with the front desk staff since they were so nice and bypass the other gentleman. We talked several times with Amber at the front desk, who gave us directions for several nearby attractions and tips on where to watch the sunrise. She also has a fantastic recommendation for breakfast. Being from Texas, the morning cold caught us a bit off guard when we were going to see the sunrise. John (again, at the front desk) was kind enough to lend us bellman jackets when we mentioned the cold. They turned out to be perfect! With just a couple of exceptions we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We did not eat at the actual hotel. When trying to use the pool at about 10 p.m. it was full of children so we didn’t use that amenity either. However, the room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was great. Overall, we had a short but amazing stay. I would definitely stay at that location again if in the area. July 19, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading