• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FREEPORT
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We apologize, but we do not allow pets to stay in the hotel. However, we happily accept service aminals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
LL Bean Flagship Retail Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Atlantic Cruise
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
120 Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Wolf's Neck Park
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • 84 parking spots. Free parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:77
  • Total number of suites:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:77
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are
View More

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are only a few miles from our hotel's location. In Freeport, Maine, we help our corporate patrons stay connected by offering free high-speed Internet access, and we also have a 24-hour business center which features copy, Internet access and print services.

Leisure guests are overwhelmed by the wealth of attractions near our hotel in Freeport, ME. Shopaholics can head over to the L.L. Bean flagship store while outdoor enthusiast may want to check out Bradbury Mountain State Park for a day of hiking. Historians should be sure to visit one of our beautiful lighthouses like the Portland Head Lighthouse. Kids are also excited that our property is only minutes from Funtown Splashtown USA.

During your stay at our hotel in Freeport, ME, you can enjoy quality amenities, which include a heated, indoor pool and hot tub, free Wi-Fi access, a fitness center and a complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our delicious cinnamon rolls. Make your reservations today!

View Less
Features
When you're looking for hotels in Freeport, Maine, remember that we offer great amenities, such as a heated, indoor pool and whirlpool where you can relax after a long day of sightseeing or working.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 367 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sparkling Clean Easy to find Hotel, but out of the way...Close to the Old Port and the Civic Center. Super clean hotel, modern and comfortable. Enjoyed my room with the view of the Bay at all different times of the day! Comfortable bed, pleasant hotel staff. 'Goody bag' from the Hotel for using my Priority Club Rewards card was a nice little treat! Thank you for making my stay for a two-day conference a memorable one! I look forward to staying there again! April 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Time for an overhaul! We have stayed here many times because it offers afordable acess to our nearby family. This will our our last stay unless significant improvements are made. It is dated, drab, smells of smoke and seems to attract some questinable types in its common areas and outside. We had to call twice for linens for the sofa bed for our grandchildren, there were soiled linens on the sofa bed when we opened it as well as crushed cookies etc. underneath it and the telephone line was so filled with static that we could barely hear our callers. The dining room staff and front desk staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Unfortunately, this did not make up for the depressing physical plant. Hopefully, help is on the way!! April 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hair In Bed Unfortunately, my recent stay at the HI Portland, ME was not good. First of all they only provide a wireless connection. I need an ethernet line for internet connection for business. Secondly, the sheets were less than fresh. Upon pulling the covers back on the bed when I initially arrived in the room, there were several strands of long blond hair in the bed (and I'm not blond, I'm actually bald), the duvet cover had pill-balls all over it, and the pillow cases were not fresh. I asked for an extra set to be brought up to the room and they brought me a queen set and the bed was a king. The shower rod in the bathroom was barely mounted and hanging precariously off kilter. Needless to say, I planned on staying in this hotel for my entire trip (4 nights) but I painfully only stayed one night and quickly switched to the Hampton Inn right down the street (it was awesome by comparison). April 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor sleep A very disappointing Holiday Inn. I am a Priority Club member and have stayed at many Holiday Inn hotels. On the plus side, I did get a free drink in the bar, which was appreciated. However, I left a day earlier than expected because my room was cold, the bed had insufficient warmth (no extra blankets or pillows to be had in addition to the very light covering), and there was no customary newspaper outside my door in the morning. The hotel needs an overall renovation; it was tired and old. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice! Great stay, great view, very nice restaurant and a very relaxing stay. Thank you TEAM BY THE BAY!! April 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent two night stay. Great room and view. Service fantastic. Lounge area comfortable and relaxing. April 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Security guards The security guards were a bit to much. They walked around and circled us our entire stay because we were with a bunch of kids. Didn't really appreciate a 20 year old want to be cop harassing us and following our every move. At one point I went up to the room because I wanted privacy and he followed us up there and had the nerve to knock on our door to tell us to keep it down when we were playing with a ipad not evening talking. The keys to the room also kept deactivating which was a pain. had to get at least 5 new keys for a 2 night stay. Besides that the room was nice, clean and beds were comfortable. Had breakfast at the restaurant and it was good. April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable Walking distance to the State Theater and the Civic Center April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home sweet home Super place to stay, location is perfect, price is great, service is the best, thank you. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Overall a good stay with a spacious room. Food and service in the lounge was good and front desk staff were very friendly. The only down side was the AC/heater in the room had a rattle that started late in the evening, but didn't want to call to get it fixed at that hour. March 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn by the Bay We travel many places in a year and Keith in sales and the Lady supervisor in the dining room are the BEST. Great service great stay year after year. Thanks for all you do for us each March when we come to the AA convention March 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by worst mattress - sat in desk chair most of the night I.m sorry to say I was dissappointed this stay. I would normally give it an excellent rating my other stays, but the mattress was hard as a rock & wasn't happy with the set up of the executive suite. I think the set up of other rooma are much more comfortable with a table and two comforable chairs. The only other chair was in a cornor off to the side & couldn't be used with couch. The service was great as usual. March 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable, quiet, and accommodating My room was clean, comfortable, roomy, and blessedly quiet. The staff were efficient, pleasant, and helpful. Food was delicious, service was prompt and attentive without intruding. Absolutely no complaints - would stay there again and highly recommend. March 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay As usual I had a great stay at Holiday Inn by the bay. Clean room , great food Thank you March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by sheets I have been staying at this Holiday Inn for years and have always enjoyed my stay. Nancy and the crew are very profesional but at the same time warm and friendly! The only hickup with my last stay was that the bed sheet was clean but very "pilled". I did leave a note for house keeping suggesting that they retire the worn sheets... March 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! My wife and 2 boys(9 & 11) have actually stayed here a few times. It is a great place, pool....real nice. The staff are all excellent. The rooms are clean and kept up nice. We will be back!! February 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Hotel is well located to waterfront and Congress Street action. Portland is a very nice city if you like historic surroundings with today's amenities. View from my room was great and staff is very friendly. February 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great to attend Cumberland Couty Civic Center We went to see Disney on Ice at the Civic Center. It's the best location you can get, it's just a few steps from it. Our 2-3 year old children were able to walk themselves to there ! So no need to find a parking ... & no need to pay for parking for the show ! The hotel's indoor parking is great especially during winter ! Room was a little pricy, but I guess the upside of the location was worth the difference. Rooms were great. Staff at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. Only thing that wasn't top notch has been service at the restaurant ... but hey, can't give the hotel a bad review just because of 1 bad server or 1 good server that was having a bad day ! By the way, buffet at the restaurant was great too ! Children had a blast at the pool ... wished they had a hot tob for the parents ! Priority Club Members that were travelling with us were spoiled ... wish I was one too !! February 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for the ride This is our third visit in the last six months. Having been innkeepers in Camden, Maine for 14 years we know a lot about comfortable rooms and attentive staff. Where the Portland-By the Bay Holiday Inn excels is in guest services. During our visits I have been a patient at Maine Medical Center . On each visit the hotel has provided transportation so that she could visit me at least once a day. The inn is not far from the hospital, but at our age a ride is most welcome. Please pass my thanks to your great staff. Peter T February 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Get-Away We were very impressed with the service of this hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful at the front desk. We ordered a pizza delivery after sightseeing all day and the hotel accommodated us with plates and dinnerware. Quiet and clean hotel and rooms. We will stay here again when in Portland. February 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway from Boston Over the holidays my friends had given me recommendations of fun shops, restaurants, and bars to visit in Portland. In early February, my girlfriend and I were eager to get out of Boston and decided to make a quick trip to Portland to check it out. The Portland-By The Bay Hotel was within walking distance (even on a cold Feb. night) to many of the great restaurants and bars in the Old Port area of Portland. The hotel staff was friendly and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The overall experience was excellent and we would definitely stay here when we have a chance to visit Portland again. February 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel with great staff! Enjoyed the privilege of staying at this Holiday Inn. February 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Downtown Hotel was within walking distance of all the downtown locations! Staff members were very friendly and helpful with entertainment suggestions. January 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine place to stay close to everything The staff makes the stay a wonderful time. The lounge can be a bit short handed as the bar tender has to play all parts, not a good idea but had to judge traffic. All in all I always enjoy my stay January 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely view and great extras I love staying at Portland-By The Bay! The room was absolutely luxurious with an incredible view of Casco Bay. We did not dine at the hotel's restaurant but I loved the free beverages in the lobby. It was such a nice touch. I also really appreciate the free parking at the hotel. We parked right near the door to the elevators that took us straight up to our room. I am looking forward to visiting Portland again and will certainly be staying at this hotel when I return. January 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location I had a great stay at this hotel. The views of Portland Harbor are impressive. January 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Water Views If you are lucky enough to get a room on the bayside, you are in for a treat. This Holiday Inn offers terrific water views....probably the best in the Portland Area. This is my third visit to this Holiday Inn and the staff always does their best to make my stay enjoyable. The pool and exercise room are welcome additions to a winter visit. My only concern is that at this time of the year the fact that this is an older property becomes most apparent. The central heating is continuously noisy in the bathroom, and the random heat from individual units doesn't contribute much to a relaxing environment. Certainly I will be back, but just not in the winter. January 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness The room wasn't very clean. There was a dirty plastic cup under the desk and a lot of food debris on heater and table. If this area was not cleaned I have to wonder how cleans the toilet and bed were. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! We stayed during the New Year holiday, and loved this hotel! We had a great view of the bay with a very comfortable room. This location is walking distance to many restaurants, cafes and clubs, which was great since there was a parking ban downtown due to snow. Fortunately the Holiday Inn has indoor, free parking, so we had no issues parking the car we rented. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. And we opted to have a quick dinner in the lounge, and the food was really good. No complaints! January 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the 12/27/12 snowstorm The Room was clean,the beds were comfortable,the extra towels and pillow i asked for were in the room. the shuttle bus driver was execellent,. the pool area was well kept and clean. worth a repeat stay. the only drawback was they would not accomodate an early checkin that day of the storm. January 3, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading