• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FREEPORT
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We apologize, but we do not allow pets to stay in the hotel. However, we happily accept service aminals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Atlantic Cruise
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
120 Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
LL Bean Flagship Retail Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Wolf's Neck Park
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • 84 parking spots. Free parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:77
  • Total number of suites:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:77
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are
View More

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are only a few miles from our hotel's location. In Freeport, Maine, we help our corporate patrons stay connected by offering free high-speed Internet access, and we also have a 24-hour business center which features copy, Internet access and print services.

Leisure guests are overwhelmed by the wealth of attractions near our hotel in Freeport, ME. Shopaholics can head over to the L.L. Bean flagship store while outdoor enthusiast may want to check out Bradbury Mountain State Park for a day of hiking. Historians should be sure to visit one of our beautiful lighthouses like the Portland Head Lighthouse. Kids are also excited that our property is only minutes from Funtown Splashtown USA.

During your stay at our hotel in Freeport, ME, you can enjoy quality amenities, which include a heated, indoor pool and hot tub, free Wi-Fi access, a fitness center and a complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our delicious cinnamon rolls. Make your reservations today!

View Less
Features
When you're looking for hotels in Freeport, Maine, remember that we offer great amenities, such as a heated, indoor pool and whirlpool where you can relax after a long day of sightseeing or working.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 305 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, Centrally located Really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were large and had a nice view of the bay. The shuttle service was a nice bonus. We used it almost daily to get to restaurants and sight seeing. Our only complaint was housekeeping. We asked for sheets to be changed and they were not, the 3rd day we asked again - they were not. We called and complained and finally got them changed. The floors were never swept or vacuumed our entire stay. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Respite from Nerves for Maine Half Marathon This property is exactly what I needed after a long drive North the day before the Maine Half Marathon. The staff were super nice, parking was easy (on site garage), wifi worked great, and was in walking distance of some great places to eat - convenient for my post race brunch. The room was clean and comfortable and QUIET. I was pleased to learn the morning of the race that there was a free shuttle from the hotel to the race. A relative of mine decided to stay at a much higher priced/ high-end hotel, which I will refrain from naming. The morning of the race I jumped on Twitter to read the hashtags for #mainemarathon to get psyched. I saw LOADS of complaints about that hotel and how 'runner' or guest UNFRIENDLY they were. My brother didnt get any sleep due to how loud it was among a host of other complaints. In any case, this isnt a review about that hotel...I digress. In the end I am pleased I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn and I plan to stay here again for race weekend 2014 and will suggest it for my annual girls weekend to Maine. THANKS October 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor food Food selection was poor. Buffet overpriced and poor selection. Needed more help in bar. Busy for conference (which they knew) and only one bartender. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay For a Holiday Inn this hotel was great. Great view, modern style furnishing. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely view and excellent service Portland's Holiday Inn by the Bay is the most expensive Holiday Inn I've ever stayed at, but it was also far and away the best. Service, from Shuttle pickup at the airport to front desk and restaurant was really first class. We were on the 10th floor (with an extra cost) and the view was lovely, even if it included a parking lot and was somewhat spoiled on Saturday morning by fog. Location was good; just across the street from the Portland Art Museum, not far from the Longfellow House, and catty-corner from a little Taproom where we had an excellent lunch. I'd stay there again. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Had a nice and comfortable stay here. good location near the centre. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Parking I have stayed at this properety twice this month. First time parking was free, second time $10.00 Not a big deal, but why? I would have thought that parking would be free for IHG members. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No Surprises Very helpful staff. Shuttle service to airport and/or in town very nice. Great view from Harbor side rooms. September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Your hotel offered a more reasonable rate than other hotels in the area during our 3 day outing in Portland. We were very impressed with your Hotel Shuttle service. We used it four times during our stay. We met two drivers---- each one was courteous, friendly, professional, and PROMPT! They truly were outstanding representatives of your hotel. Thank you for providing such a service! September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and good AC temp. Overall pleasant stay. Enjoyed lemonade and coffee in lobby and restaurant breakfast was excellent. Beds were super comfy with lots of pillows.Need a bit of decorating upgrade in rooms and hallways, but pleasant entrance lobby, and comfy seating area. Only comment was tub didn't drain, and bath fan didn't work , but great water pressure and nice hot water. An outdoor garden area would be nice for sitting, but we enjoyed the walk downtown to the water view. September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent view We were at the hotel for 6 nights for a convention. Check in was quick and easy, even though our room was not ready upon arrival at 3 pm. We did receive the type of room we requested and were very pleased with the location in the hotel and the stunning view. The staff was very courteous and offered help even before being asked. The restaurant however was not prepared for the number of guests wanting to eat there. There were frequently long lines and a long wait time once you were seated. Some of the meals were just fair. Nothing to write home about. I heard many complaints about this during the convention. In fact we never ate at the hotel except for the luncheon and banquets due to the wait for a seat. We also had long waits in the bar for a drink. Even when there was bar service available at cocktail hour before the banquets. PLEASE have more than one bartender on duty!!! Overall I was pleased with our stay and enjoyed being within walking distance of the Old Port. We enjoyed the food, shopping and nightlife in Portland and hope we can visit again. September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Servie!!! My Mother and I recently stayed at this hotel for a Convention of approximately 500 people. The staff were great and provided shuttle service wherever we wanted to go and picked us up within ten minutes of calling them. The hotel is conveniently located and has great views of the Bay. All meals were served promptly and even though this was a large convention, we received the meals while they were still hot. I've stayed at a lot of hotels, but this one will definitely be on my favorite list!!! September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service & Value with a View Loved the free shuttle from the small clean Portland ME airport. So enjoyed talking to Mike the driver. Fun Bawstan accent. ;-) Had requested a high floor room with a Casco Bay view (DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED - but away from the elevators. That's where the staff are, and can hear the door slam, at times often). Got there in the AM, room wasn't ready understandably, but offered a lower-floor room that was ready. I was ok with waiting, (and it was worth it). Staff were so friendly and professional. Joined their IHG Reward Club prior (free) and recommend it! Goodie bag waiting w/free drink coupons & snacks. Also gives you late check-out (2pm) usually no problem. Room was beautiful - clean, spacious, INCREDIBLE Casco Bay view. Free WiFI always a HUGE plus. Gym was very small, but clean. Indoor pool huge - clean and a great place to hang out esp when it gets cold. Bartender at lounge for (free) drink was so nice and informative of the happenings of the city. Free juice/lemonade & coffee in the lobby a plus. A wonderful stay, everything one could want, especially for the price point. And Portland is spectacular. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and very clean room I enjoyed my stay at Portland by the Bay very much. Your staff is very knowledgeable and courteous. As a matter of fact, I left a very important tri-fold poster in my room (415), called the hotel and the housekeeping staff found it, called me back and I expect to receive it by Friday. Of course, it's too large to mail and I agreed to pay the Fed Ex postage. Your housekeeping staff deserves a gold star. Again, tell them I said "Thanks" Bridie September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Service The staff were so attentive to the needs of our organization. How special we felt when able to call for pick-up from the shuttle. September 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a Fan.... I came here for a Convention and was dissapointed with the hotel's preparation for a large crowd. The first day, it was pouring rain outside and we needed to grab a quick bite before ceremonies were to begin. The hotel claims to have a top notch restaurant and lounge, however, this day they were extremely understaffed and couldn't handle the crowd. The hostess at the restaurant told us we would be better off NOT using the restaurant, lounge or room service because they just couldn't handle it. True words.... had to stand in line in the lounge to order a beer and a burger and it took an hour before it came. Glad the rain let up and we were able to go elswhere for rest of our stay. Tiny drinks - very large prices! Rooms were clean and pleasant as was the front desk staff. For the price, I think I would try a different hotel in the area next time I am in Portland area. September 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Handicap Parking Nightmare There were not enough handicap parking spaces and those that did exist were way too small. I suggest that the hotel come up with some system of assigning a legitimate size space to each handicap room assignment. The accessible bathroom was a bit awkward. You had to wheel in next to the toilet and lean back to shut the door in order to turn and get under the sink. The threshold into the bathroom was a bit high. The shower head was well placed in the roll in shower. You could reach the controls from the bench. The a/c was extremely loud. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room but really enjoyed the shuttle service to places we would have never known! Our shuttle drivers were fabulous!!! Very friendly, polite and accommodating for us as we are seniors and needed assistance. I had to go to the eye doctor while there and they found his office for us and dropped us off and picked us up, which was not expected but oh so convenient! Love this place and would and will come back! September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay! I always stay here when I go visit portland. It is a great location to walk to many sites, easy parking right at hotel, staff are very helpful & rooms are always clean. It's worth the little higher price because of the location and the bay view from your room. September 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Staff I love the hotel and the location is great. The staff was very friendly and treated me very well. September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn by the Bay Older property in need of renovation. room was adequate, but not outstanding. I frequent this property, recently they began to charge for parking in addition to the hotel room charge, this would be acceptable to me in a more modern facility, but seriously this is not a 5 star location. cleanliness of the room leaves to be desired, heat / ac are loud and outdated. not sure how this property escaped the mandatory Holiday Inn updates, but it was unfortunate. September 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty Room and expensive parking. We were not satisfied at all. The room was dirty. There was dust on the tables, chairs etc and a lot off dirt (e.g. crumbs, parts of fingernails) on the floor. After complaining it was not much better. The parking was really expensive although the hotel is not located in the center of the city. The beds were too soft and incomfartable. On the second morning other guests stepped into our room at 7:30 am. September 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable beds We stayed at Holiday Inn By the Bay in August. Right away, our first impression was not a very good one. The rep checking us in was somewhat rude, barely cracked a smile or made any eye contact. Our room was clean. We got two beds instead of one King but, unfortunately, neither one of the beds was comfortable (to say the least). The mattresses felt old and worn out. The pillows were lumpy and sheets were so old they even have "fuzzies" on them. Needless to say, we did not get any sleep during our stay. We asked to be moved to a different room but were told that the hotel was fully booked. Upon checking out, we got yet another rude rep. While she did inquire about our stay, she did not seem interested in hearing what we had to say. She gave us a very short "Mattresses were replaced last year" and handed us the bill. We have done extensive travel for business and leisure but have never encountered such bad service and such horrible sleeping accommodations. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location Near the harbor and conveniently walking distance to restaurants and night life. Quiet and pay parking available at the hotel. Nice, spacious pool. Coffee and Lemonade available to hotel guests near the entrance. Probably an isolated incident where a cleaning personnel walked passed a spilled coffee on the floor without taking action and neither did the concierge. I told the front desk about it and the problem was immediately resolved. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Portland made perfect! Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted at the front desk by Amber, who was fantastic. She immediately and proactively upgraded us, provided us with late checkout, and directions to the restaurants we wanted to visit. The hotel room was clean and quiet, updated and modern. The location cannot be beat and it really wasn't that expensive. Will definitely be back! August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Attendant was obnoxious Our stay at this hotel overall was very good. First let me point out what was Excellent: the room, housekeeping staff, and the overall cleanliness of the hotel (and my son had a blast in the pool too). The food in the restaurant was fine, nothing exceptional. I appreciated the server attending to my special order due to food allergies, although he was a tad condescending and did admit to wearing someone elses name tag that day when I called him by name. However, what puzzled me is why he gave us 2 bills for our breakfast. One was inclusive of the price of my 8 year-old son's meal (kids eat free), and one with his meal taken off the bill. Huh? Well my husband almost fell for it and nearly paid the more expensive bill. Having said all that, my initial impression at this hotel was destroyed by a front desk attendant #I think her name was "Amanda". I stood in a line of, well only me, for about 10 minutes watching another couple signing in and being given the most exceptional help, directions, and friendly customer service I rarely see. I noticed 2 other staff ("Amanda" and another male) typing away at their computers and refusing to even look up and acknowledge me. Normally I would have spoken up, but I was actually hoping to get the same girl helping the other couple. At any rate, I finally got a "are you with them?", and when I said no then I received a "oh, I couldda helped you". Right. From there I got the coldest, most unfriendly service as I was handed my room keys and (whippee) a half off coupon for a drink in the lounge. Nothing else. No directions to my room. No directions as to where we could unload our car, no directions to anything in the hotel. "I guess so" was the reply when I asked if I could use a dolley to bring our stuff to the room. Really?? I guess it was up to us to figure how to get around the hotel. I'll stop there. On a better note, that evening there were different staff at the front desk, and a young gentleman did produce a map of Portland and did a great job of recommending some eats for us as we were headed to dinner. I would stay here again, but hopefully somebody gets some customer service training in the meantime. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Perfect place to stay in Portland We were vacationing in New England for 16 days in August, 2013, and spent the first 2 days and last day of our trip at this Holiday Inn. We couldn't have been more pleased. In fact, the last night, they upgraded us to a deluxe king room. If you have the chance, be sure to get a bay side room that overlooks Casco Bay. Everyone on the staff was super accommodating. We scheduled a shuttle to return us to the Portland Jetport. The shuttle was unavailable so they gave us cash to cover a taxi that they called for us. This hotel is within easy 10-minute walking distance to Old Port and the harbor. Best place we stayed at during out entire trip. Thanks to the people who work there. August 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Holiday Inn Nice Holiday Inn with excellent location. Near all to do and see. Rooms were clean but could use an update. Did find a dark hair on pillow case. We have very light hair. Sometimes our room had a vague damp scent. We had a bay view which was wonderful. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast that was off the menu was very good. Would not get the buffet. The napkins over the hot food were a turn off. I was not recognized as a IHG Club member on arrival. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location and great service I have stayed here maybe 10 times in the last 10 years, and the hotel consistently exceeds expectations. Room servcie orders were pricey (as are most), but the portions more than compensated for the price. My only complaint is with the in-room coffee. We never received refills, cups, or sweeteners for our second night's stay. I asked for additional supplies at the front desk, a note was made, and we still never received the supplies after several hours. I then phoned down to the front desk after which we received additional coffee supplies. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Check in and check out service was very easy, Staff was attentive, answered all my questions, and accommodated a special request flawlessly. August 22, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading