• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: FREEPORT
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We apologize, but we do not allow pets to stay in the hotel. However, we happily accept service aminals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
LL Bean Flagship Retail Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Atlantic Cruise
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
120 Factory Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Wolf's Neck Park
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • 84 parking spots. Free parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:77
  • Total number of suites:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:77
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are
View More

Stay at One of the Best Hotels in Freeport, Maine

Located just off I-295, our Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Freeport, ME is waiting to welcome you with its coastal New England charm. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our property is an ideal destination because we are just minutes from all the adventures this city has to offer.

Business guests are sure to appreciate that Bowdoin College, Naval Air Station Brunswick and Portland International Jetport (PWM) are only a few miles from our hotel's location. In Freeport, Maine, we help our corporate patrons stay connected by offering free high-speed Internet access, and we also have a 24-hour business center which features copy, Internet access and print services.

Leisure guests are overwhelmed by the wealth of attractions near our hotel in Freeport, ME. Shopaholics can head over to the L.L. Bean flagship store while outdoor enthusiast may want to check out Bradbury Mountain State Park for a day of hiking. Historians should be sure to visit one of our beautiful lighthouses like the Portland Head Lighthouse. Kids are also excited that our property is only minutes from Funtown Splashtown USA.

During your stay at our hotel in Freeport, ME, you can enjoy quality amenities, which include a heated, indoor pool and hot tub, free Wi-Fi access, a fitness center and a complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our delicious cinnamon rolls. Make your reservations today!

View Less
Features
When you're looking for hotels in Freeport, Maine, remember that we offer great amenities, such as a heated, indoor pool and whirlpool where you can relax after a long day of sightseeing or working.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 324 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by extremely disappointed....... we were very disappointed with our stay at your hotel, our son and family live nearby, so this is our second xmas stay here. first of all $10. per nite parking. i could understand if it were the season or just $10. for our stay. ridiculous!!! when we checked into our FIRST room we could not get in even though the green lite came on, so back down to the front desk and when we told them they asked if we turned the handle both up and down, duh..... then they put us on the 11th floor. when we went into the room the front of the heat facade was off. it was quite chilly we turned the heat on to 71 and left the room we mentioned to the desk clerk that it was cold, but she assured us it just takes 1/2 hour. so we left when we came back at 9 pm the room temp. had not changed. so we called down to the front desk for room no 3. he came up and escorted us to our 3rd room which was adequate. a room upgrade would have been nice. extremely disappointed, don't have any plans to stay there again. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you all so much First, you should know, my wife and I are champion complainers. We find silly things to criticize and can find a problem in nearly anything. That said, we loved our experience with this hotel. We had an awful experience dealing with the airlines and Newark International Airport, in trying to get out to Portland. Our connecting flight was canceled while we were in the air. So we were supposed to arrive in Portland that night, but instead were stuck in Newark and had to spend the night in a different hotel. We finally made it to Portland the next morning around 10:30am. The shuttle came and picked us up at the airport immediately. We explained how the airline messed everything up. They helped us out by granting some discounts to offset the fact we had to stay in a different hotel the previous night. They then bent over backwards to help us make the most of our stay, by pointing us to neat little hidden gems in town. We were to check out on a Sunday and fly back into Newark to get our connecting flight back home. Yet again, Newark canceled our flight, and we were stuck in Portland for an extra night. The staff helped us out tremendously. They put us right back in our old room at a significant discount, the shuttle took us to the airport so we could talk to a representative and iron out the details and figure out how to get the flights for the next day arranged, the shuttle waited for us at the airport until we were ready to head back to the hotel, and the staff helped us coordinate a very early morning shuttle to get back home. The room was great, the view was great, the location was great, the rate was great, and the staff was great. We were extremely happy with our experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone. December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We Had a Pleasant Stay! Overall very nice stay. We were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff--van drivers, front desk, bar, restaurant, and housekeeping! The room was nice (although bathroom was smallish) and clean and the beds comfortable. A microwave and refrigerator were an added plus in the room. We were on the 11th floor and the internet signal was very weak/hard to connect to for rooms facing the city. The hotel vans will take you to local attractions and restaurants, which is nice if cold outside. The lounge could probably use a cocktail waitress/waiter in addition to the bartender. We really liked the free coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby! We liked our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone! December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient & spacious room This hotel was close to everything. We stayed here one night for a show a few blocks away. Was an easy walk (just with construction around hotel) to and from the venue and around the area. We had thought we booked a non-smoking room, but when we checked in, the hotel had us down for a smoking room. The employee checking us in was nice enough to easily make the switch. The room was very large with 2 beds, sofa, and large windows to enjoy the view. The bathroom seemed a little small, but that was probably the only negative. The staff was very polite and greeted us every time we entered the building. Would definitely stay here again. November 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Stayed for a conference. Great location and helpful staff! November 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This place stinks (literally). I guess it's possible to gave a good stay here, in that maybe my experience is an isolated one. However, here's what happened to me: I checked into this hotel, got up to my room, and found that the room absolutely REEKED like red onions. A very distinct and pungent odor, and it slapped me in the face when I entered the room. I called the front desk immediately, the sent up someone who sprayed air freshener in the heater to cover the smell. I guess it worked for a little while, although it wasn't much of an improvement. Normally, I would've asked to be moved to a different room, but I overheard a hotel employee at the front desk tell someone that the hotel was completely booked out, so I knew that would not be a possibility. I left the room for several hours for dinner. When I came back, the smell was worse than ever, as if it had actually gotten worse while I was out. It was late, and I was very tired, and frankly I was too beat to complain about it (again) to the skeleton night crew. Well, I wish I would've been more tenacious, because the smell became overwhelming in about an hour or so, and I basically got no sleep at all that night because of the incredibly pungent and noxious smell in the room. There was no escaping it. At one point, I actually considered going down to my car in the garage and sleeping there- that's how desperate I was to get a few hours of sleep. When I was ready to check out, I called the front desk to tell them about this, so that at the very least someone else would not have to deal with that stench. They said they were sorry, but that was it- they didn't send anyone up to check it out, or offer anything beyond that. I went down to the front desk to check out, and again told them about the awful smell in the room. The front desk employee apologized, and took $25 off of my bill. Thanks, I guess. While I appreciated the sentiment, I left like the hotel didn't go very far to deal with this problem, at all. I guess I should've complained more and been more of a jerk about it, but frankly I was so tired from the sleepless night I didn't have it in me to make more of stink (pun intended). Also, how many times am I supposed to call with an issue like this? The room was unsuitable, it shouldn't have even been allowed to be rented. This wasn't a cheap room, so knocking $25 off of the bill doesn't really go very far, and I don't feel like they cared whether or not I was satisfied, and they just wanted get me out of the door. Based on this experience, I would never stay at this hotel again. If you plan on staying here, I hope you don't get room 914, or that you really like the smell of red onions. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great experience. My stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland was great overall. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The dining areas offered great atmosphere with delicious food. The shuttle service was on point and transported my colleagues and I safely. It definitely is the place to stay for a vacation atmosphere without too much cost involved. Although I had an overall great experience, there are a few things I'd like to note that may be irritating for potential customers. Listed below are 2 major items that people should be aware of. First, the internet is very slow. No matter where I was in the building, it was not working efficiently. Although it is understandable that with such a large capacity hotel, there is a lot of room for improvement. I also had a room with an ethernet router I can plug into that did not work. Second, the parking deck was very tight, very limited, and costly. I'm not sure how many potential customers would enjoy getting charged daily for a parking deck they can't even park in because attendees to events and conferences take up all the parking spaces. Also, the spots are very tight, which holds a high risk of cars being scratched. To conclude, other than the 2 major items that made my experience somewhat uncomfortable, everything else was great. I definitely enjoyed the people and the staff. Very friendly and very professional. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Excellent place to stay. Great location, perfect hotel, excellent customer service and nice bedding. November 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great venue Nice ammenites , good food and responsive staff make for a great time. November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, comfortable surroundings, great location We were greeted immediately upon arrival. The desk agent was extremely friendly, informative and professional. Our room was spotless. Impressive 40 inch television, great bedding and sitting area. We visited the bar soon after. Our bartender was super friendly. Gave us tips about the area and chatted sports with us at length, which we love! We actually made it a point our second day to visit him again. That is impressive in a city full of restaurants and bars. All in all it was a fabulous stay. We had a little hiccup at checkout, but it doesn't change our opinion on this hotel. We never ate at the restaurant, but the food we saw looked appetizing. They also offer free apps on the weekend afternoons. It was an easy walk to the downtown, also. I would suggest this hotel to friends and family. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Complimentary Water I enjoyed having complimentary coffee & tea in the front lobby but I would also like ice tap water. Thank you for the complimentary coffee & tea setup. I appreciate the small things. November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service The plug ins for electronics did not work, so I called front desk. After that, I had to endure 3 visits of the service personnel, who checked and rechecked all devices, replaced clock and lamp. However, the plug ins still did not work. It turned out the phone worked poorly too. Next day my room entry card stopped working. They replaced the card, but nobody cared to apologize for these problems. There was very large and noisy company in the next room, which came there at about mid night. The stay was miserable. Next time, I will stay in some motel: it will be not worse, and cheaper. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitable and clean The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the amenities we could have needed. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean hotel - great experience I requested a room with a view upon booking as we were celebrating my wife's birthday in Portland and I was really happy that they accommodated my request. The hotel lobby and was clean and checkin was fast. Parking was very convenient as well - we could come and go as we pleased and it was competitively priced to surrounding garages. I particularly liked it was self park and enclosed. Our only gripe was the sheets weren't as soft as we would have liked. We had housekeeping change the sheets and found they were still a bit too rough. I find it funny I am writing this as the negative for the hotel - I never thought I'd be picky about the sheets as I'm not that type of person. Otherwise we had a great stay and recommend the hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome bag I was very appreciative of the welcome bag I received on check-in that contained snacks, a bottle of water, magazines, and coupons for free drinks. That was a very nice touch! I wish that the rooms with 2 beds had queen beds in them instead of doubles. That would have definitely made the stay more comfortable, though I was pleased with the hotel overall. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by October in Maine Very nice rooms with a great view of the Portland Harbor. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and impeccable cleanliness Everyone on the staff greted us with a smile and offered to help us, including shuttle drivers, front desk, housekeepers. The rooms, inlcuding meeting rooms and public restrooms were impeccably clean. The shuttle even took us to a good seafood restaurant. My only negative was that the food in the restaurant was boring and limited for people on healthy diets. The service in the lounge was poor - it seemed like the bartender had more than she could handle alone. October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shame about the restaurant What would have been an otherwise enjoyable stay was marred by our experience at the hotel restaurant. Service for the one dinner we had took was brusque and not the standard normally experienced at IHG properties. At breakfast the first morning we were seated and given the a la carte menu; no mention of the buffet option was made. Our waiter did inform us that this was available, so we asked for this the next day. The hostess said that the buffet was being 'taken down' and recommended a la carte. This was at 08.10 which seems very early. We took the buffet and as we were returning to our table the hostess commented: 'I told you the buffet was being taken down'. That certainly sounded like I'd been told-off for ignoring her recommendation. The room was fine, reception and room attendant staff were helpful and courteous. The hotel is in a good location with splendid views over the harbour. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was perfect Enjoyed a pleasant stay at this hotel. Everything was excellent. Highly recommended. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, Centrally located Really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were large and had a nice view of the bay. The shuttle service was a nice bonus. We used it almost daily to get to restaurants and sight seeing. Our only complaint was housekeeping. We asked for sheets to be changed and they were not, the 3rd day we asked again - they were not. We called and complained and finally got them changed. The floors were never swept or vacuumed our entire stay. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Respite from Nerves for Maine Half Marathon This property is exactly what I needed after a long drive North the day before the Maine Half Marathon. The staff were super nice, parking was easy (on site garage), wifi worked great, and was in walking distance of some great places to eat - convenient for my post race brunch. The room was clean and comfortable and QUIET. I was pleased to learn the morning of the race that there was a free shuttle from the hotel to the race. A relative of mine decided to stay at a much higher priced/ high-end hotel, which I will refrain from naming. The morning of the race I jumped on Twitter to read the hashtags for #mainemarathon to get psyched. I saw LOADS of complaints about that hotel and how 'runner' or guest UNFRIENDLY they were. My brother didnt get any sleep due to how loud it was among a host of other complaints. In any case, this isnt a review about that hotel...I digress. In the end I am pleased I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn and I plan to stay here again for race weekend 2014 and will suggest it for my annual girls weekend to Maine. THANKS October 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor food Food selection was poor. Buffet overpriced and poor selection. Needed more help in bar. Busy for conference (which they knew) and only one bartender. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay For a Holiday Inn this hotel was great. Great view, modern style furnishing. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely view and excellent service Portland's Holiday Inn by the Bay is the most expensive Holiday Inn I've ever stayed at, but it was also far and away the best. Service, from Shuttle pickup at the airport to front desk and restaurant was really first class. We were on the 10th floor (with an extra cost) and the view was lovely, even if it included a parking lot and was somewhat spoiled on Saturday morning by fog. Location was good; just across the street from the Portland Art Museum, not far from the Longfellow House, and catty-corner from a little Taproom where we had an excellent lunch. I'd stay there again. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Had a nice and comfortable stay here. good location near the centre. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Parking I have stayed at this properety twice this month. First time parking was free, second time $10.00 Not a big deal, but why? I would have thought that parking would be free for IHG members. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No Surprises Very helpful staff. Shuttle service to airport and/or in town very nice. Great view from Harbor side rooms. September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Your hotel offered a more reasonable rate than other hotels in the area during our 3 day outing in Portland. We were very impressed with your Hotel Shuttle service. We used it four times during our stay. We met two drivers---- each one was courteous, friendly, professional, and PROMPT! They truly were outstanding representatives of your hotel. Thank you for providing such a service! September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and good AC temp. Overall pleasant stay. Enjoyed lemonade and coffee in lobby and restaurant breakfast was excellent. Beds were super comfy with lots of pillows.Need a bit of decorating upgrade in rooms and hallways, but pleasant entrance lobby, and comfy seating area. Only comment was tub didn't drain, and bath fan didn't work , but great water pressure and nice hot water. An outdoor garden area would be nice for sitting, but we enjoyed the walk downtown to the water view. September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent view We were at the hotel for 6 nights for a convention. Check in was quick and easy, even though our room was not ready upon arrival at 3 pm. We did receive the type of room we requested and were very pleased with the location in the hotel and the stunning view. The staff was very courteous and offered help even before being asked. The restaurant however was not prepared for the number of guests wanting to eat there. There were frequently long lines and a long wait time once you were seated. Some of the meals were just fair. Nothing to write home about. I heard many complaints about this during the convention. In fact we never ate at the hotel except for the luncheon and banquets due to the wait for a seat. We also had long waits in the bar for a drink. Even when there was bar service available at cocktail hour before the banquets. PLEASE have more than one bartender on duty!!! Overall I was pleased with our stay and enjoyed being within walking distance of the Old Port. We enjoyed the food, shopping and nightlife in Portland and hope we can visit again. September 12, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express.  Enjoy free wifi, free breakfast, and your choice of pillows.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading