• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: GAINESVILLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are required to be in smoking rooms only. 25.00 pet fee per pet for the first night, 5.00 each additional night. There are no restrictions for service animals.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Mark Bostick Golf Cours at UF
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Haile Plantation Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Main Street Antique Mall
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Samuel P. Harn Museum of Art
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking. Self Parking at all times.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:115
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:68
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:104
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Holiday Inn Express I-75 Gainesville, FL Hotel's Staff Welcomes You with Hospitality. Just off I-75, the Holiday Inn Express, Gainesville / I-75 SW hotel puts you in the heart of Gator country, half-way between the Wild Adventures and Walt Disney World theme parks. This Gainesville, Florida hotel's location is extremely convenient for corporate travelers. The hotel is near the University of Florida, Shands Hospital at UF and the offices of Nationwide Insurance and Farm Bureau Insurance. For travelers
View More
Holiday Inn Express I-75 Gainesville, FL Hotel's Staff Welcomes You with Hospitality. Just off I-75, the Holiday Inn Express, Gainesville / I-75 SW hotel puts you in the heart of Gator country, half-way between the Wild Adventures and Walt Disney World theme parks. This Gainesville, Florida hotel's location is extremely convenient for corporate travelers. The hotel is near the University of Florida, Shands Hospital at UF and the offices of Nationwide Insurance and Farm Bureau Insurance. For travelers with interests further away, Gainesville Regional Airport (GNV) is just 30 minutes away. Vacationers also have plenty to do in Gainesville, Florida. The hotel's guests can often be found at football games in The Swamp during the fall, the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens in the spring and the Haile Plantation Golf & Country Club almost all year long. Gainesville is also a lively center for the arts. Performances at historic Hippodrome State Theatre are a popular draw, as is the artwork found in the Harn Museum of Art. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, this hotel does the utmost to provide you with touches of home. Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you to manage your work, while a heated, outdoor pool provides a refreshing venue for relaxation. You can even enjoy fresh-baked cookies made daily in the lobby. Make this hotel your home away from home while you explore the vibrant community of Gainesville.
View Less
Features
For tired business travelers in Gainesville, FL, this hotel's location is perfectly situated just outside of the buzzing UF campus and downtown Gainesville. It is a comfortable and convenient haven.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Stay Holiday Inn Gainesville-Unversity was a GREAT STAY. Excellent service from start to finish. All staff members are friendly and hospitable. Great Stay with a peace of mind. This hotel cater to their guest and ensures guests are comfortable at all times. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I stayed a total of five days and everyone was so nice and helpful. This was not a pleasant trip as far as why we were in Gainesville but the Front Office Staff really made it less stressful. The shuttle was so great for me because I didn't have to drive to and from and park my car ( that can be a long ways away from where I was going) or pay for valet service. I will be coming back next month for an even longer stay. Thanks Front Desk for all your help and support! A BIG THANKS to Ryan, Graham, Jason, Matt, and all the Front Desk employees. You guys are the BEST July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay for a workshop This is the third time I have stayed at this facility in the last couple of years. I must say the staff was very nice. July 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dated hotel but customer service was GREAT A gentleman named Matt provided some of the best customer service I have ever experienced from hospitality staff. I booked my stay and made a huge mistake online just before boarding a flight. I placed an urgent phone call to the front desk and Matt was more than accommodating. Matt went above and beyond and is obviously extremely knowledgeable. When I got to the hotel and noticed how old and overpriced it was, I considered heading over to the new Hilton on 43rd, which was priced about the same but light years ahead from an design standpoint. However, Matt's assistance stuck with me and I patronized this location. For the rate I paid, I expected much more. This location needs to be gutted and upgraded ASAP. The cosmetic facelift outside and in the lobby is only lipstick. The location sits on prime real estate at a major intersection near UF, but ownership needs to step up and invest in capital improvements because this place is a few years away from being considered 2 star at best. Free internet and breakfast is not enough for me to overlook the dated and deteriorating structure. July 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Only As A Last Resort The hotel is old and it shows on the inside. Even worse, it smells on the inside. This is a run-down property that's been painted over one too many times and is in need of serious upgrading. When I arrived at a little after midnight, there were unsupervised children playing in the lobby and running the hallways. It was very noisy and the whole place smelled musty as if the carpet had been wet, but never properly taken care of. The parking lot is so poorly lit I felt unsafe even driving into it. It was not worth the money. There are much better, newer, and better priced hotels along I-75. Don't make the mistake I did and book here because it's close to UF. The apparent convenience of location is not worth the unsafe and run-down property. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gainesville Week of 7/1 Another great property, can't wait for the restaurant to be open. July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, but a bit pricey. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The sheets were not super smooth and soft, but the mattress and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom lighting could have been brighter. The air conditioner was loud, but kept the room at a good temperature. The continental breakfast was small, but decent. All in all, a nice room - just a little pricey. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The hotel was clean and the staff were helpful. One of the nicest stays at aHotel.The stay was very comfortable. July 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by humid rooms AC ran full blast all day and night and the humidity in the room was overwhelming. Breakfast was a joke ! The hotel is not horrible but would only stay as a last resort. Give credit where credit is due, afternoon staff was awesone. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Close to Campus Hotel staff were friendly and they had a complimentary shuttle to and from the University for our meetings. June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay Staff great. Hotel is old and looks old. Grounds look old and no modern touches. Clean rooms with old looking fixtures. Internet fine but a bit slow. A/C worked OK but thermostat took a bit of time to figure out as it was not accurate. General area around the hotel is generally run down so the neighborhood, while right by the university, is overall run down. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent bedding and pillows While attending UF, I always imagined staying here after I graduated when visiting. The location is central to the University and Gainesville in general. Great walking distance to many things. Not the fanciest rooms but overall, a great stay. The beds are really comfortable! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Staff - Medical Issue I had a very severe medical issue arise while staying at this facility. The staff was amazing staying with me while awaiting the ambulance and EMT's - sending a shuttle to pick me up from emergency room - securing my room so I didn't have to worry about my personal possessions - asking about me when I returned. I felt very cared for and they were so fast and efficient. My daughter will be attending University of Florida in the fall and I will be returning to this property June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I would highly recommend this hotel; the staff were great and very helpful as well as polite. The only thing I would like to see improved is the quality of the breakfast; not much there! June 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Price My Husband and I were staying at the hotel because He was having extensive chemo treatment at Shands. The hotel is close by and offers wonderful front desk personnel and shuttle service. We stayed for seven days on May 4 -11th. and then again on June 1st for one night and returned again on June 3rd till June 9th. 8 nights. We paid Shands rate a night the first visit and on June 1st you increased the Shands rate $16.00 + tax a night. We are scheduled to return to stay 6 weeks the end of June and that amounts to a lot of money. We are dealing with life and death while staying at the hotel and you would think that there could be a better price if there is an extended stay. We spoke with the Sales office and they were not helpful nor did they care. The Front Desk personnel could not do anything and showed sincere concern for our problem. A great BIG THANKS to Linda for solving our problem. She truly understood and got us a lower rate even-tho it was still a big increase. Thanks so much to Ryan, Linda and all the Front Desk Staff and Drivers, you have become my family. You really showed you cared and were most helpful. It meant so much for me to call and have the shuttle pick me up after a very stressful day at Shands. Thanks to all and we will be seeing you again soon. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gainesville Fl the room was quite nice, staff was attentive, and the Breakfast bar was adequate for our needs. Coffee, Yogurt, cereal and fresh mlik. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You!!! My family and I enjoyed our stay at the holiday Inn University Center and are looking forward to our next trip!!! Beds where so confortable and we actually slept in during an out of town get away!!! June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location and comfortable/clean room. Can't wait for pizza place to be finished. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Good I've stayed at this Holiday Inn about 5 times. The Staff is really great. Always tries to help when you need an early or late check out. They are happy to pick you up at the Airport or give you a ride downtown. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will definitely stay here again! Friendly efficient staff; clean, spacious rooms; huge pool AND reasonably priced! Stayed here when we came to visit the Univ of Florida for graduate school for our daughter. We will definitely stay here again when we move her in August May 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Visit Excellent service and compassion for my post hospital experience. May 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Proximity to UF not worth the price I have stayed at this Holiday Inn 9 times in the past year. Each time the quality seemed that much worse. For example, there were ants all over the walls in the bathroom during my March visit. The shower leaked all over the floor during my last visit. For the amount of money one pays, you can get a much cleaner, nicer hotel if you are willing to drive 10 - 15 mins. May 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, helpful staff, comfortable bed, but bathroom and a/c need updating I have stayed at this Holiday Inn several times while attending functions at the University of Florida. The location is great. Campus and restaurants are within walking distance. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable. My only problem is that the in room A/C and heating unit are inconsistent and have to be adjusted a couple of times during the night. The bathroom was clean but old and the water temperature kept fluctuating during showering. There is coffee and a continental breakfast in the morning which were both disappointing. The room rate is much higher than other hotels in Gainesville - but what you pay for is the location. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by no restaurant this was booked with room and breakfast because there was a restaurant on site. on arrival we were told the restaurant was closed ( for several months). we should have been advised about this before travelling. check in was not very efficient: we were originally given the wrong room and did not get elite recognition. however we were given a reduction in the cost due to having breakfast in the lobby. April 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! We booked a room at this hotel to visit the University of Florida and Gainesville for the first time. It was a stressful trip but this hotel and its great staff made it so much easier. Everyone was so friendly, professional and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Their business center was temporarily closed so Linda printed our 2 boarding passes at the front desk-thank you Linda for giving us personal attention. We also wanted to spend more time on campus so they happily allowed us to check out an hour and half later than the typical time, Great hotel location & personnel!! :) April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience I stayed for a father daughter sorority weekend. Everything was fine with the hotel. Much better than some of the cheaper hotels up by the mall. April 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn experience out of 100s Dirty, smelly rooms. My key pad never, ever worked and had to go get new key every time. There is no doubt that the A/C was full of mildew, or worse. This hotel does not rate to have the Holiday Inn name and I have debated making more of a ruckus concerning my stay. If I was with my family and not alone, I would have left. April 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by They rest too much on their location providing business Yes, this Holiday Inn has a great location, right across the street from the business school. However, the maintenance of the rooms lacks a little. This time, the shower drain would not stay open so I ended up taking shower in a pool of my own dirty water. I complained and the 2nd day it still wasn't fixed. I don't know where the problem is but one of these areas is broken: The maids must have noticed this problem - are they reporting it? My a/c unit's front cover was half on/half off too. I know maintenance is lacking but it could be management is not communicating their expectations. Or the maintenance team is lacking resources to maintain the room. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it and love to go back. This hotel is in a town, nothing much but the University of Florida. So I was worried if I won't find a good place to stay. No, this Hotel. Was really nice, clean, close to every place you want to go to. There is also a microwave in the room, I could not believe it. Good restaurants were located close by with a price that was less than $13. Staff were so kind and sweet. There was a shuttle to the airport for free. Thank you for making my stay lovely, I love to come back. March 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a makeover Other than the location, this hotel has nothing to offer. Rooms must be over 15 years old and smell musty. Management needs to renovate before i would consider staying again. March 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading