• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 23.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Hotel accepts pets under 25 pounds, limit 2 pets per room. Pet Fee 25.00 per day per pet.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Westfield Shopping Town (Mall)
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Schiele Museum & Planetarium
Distance From Hotel:4.3MI
Attraction:
Belmont Abbey
Distance From Hotel:10.4MI
Attraction:
Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens
Distance From Hotel:13.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • free self parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:38
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:43
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Discover Gastonia, North Carolina's charm and rich textile history at our hotel, with displays designed to educate, enrich & entertain.

The Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte West - Gastonia is as beautiful as it is convenient. Located just off I-85 and Hwy 321, it is easy to get to Charlotte and downtown Gastonia. Our hotel's business-minded guests love our services: a meeting room is available to host your next seminar complete with A/V equipment, and a business center with PC's, fax
View More

Discover Gastonia, North Carolina's charm and rich textile history at our hotel, with displays designed to educate, enrich & entertain.

The Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte West - Gastonia is as beautiful as it is convenient. Located just off I-85 and Hwy 321, it is easy to get to Charlotte and downtown Gastonia. Our hotel's business-minded guests love our services: a meeting room is available to host your next seminar complete with A/V equipment, and a business center with PC's, fax and copy service. Nearby businesses include AT&T Training Centers, Stabilus, Daimler Trucks, Dixon Valve, Wix Filters, Dole Foods, Roechling, Gaston College, and Eaton.

Looking for something fun to do? No worries! Our location means you are near Charlotte and all area attractions. You can go whitewater rafting on the Catawba River, rediscover nature at the Schiele Museum, catch a Grizzlies Game at Sims Park, take a walk to Rankin Lake, thrill to a race at Lowe's Motor Speedway or spend a day at Carowinds Amusement Park. You're sure to have a blast while staying with us!

It does not take long to see why guests think we are the best hotel in Gastonia, NC. Our pet-friendly property has a refreshing indoor, heated pool, fitness center, free Wi-Fi access and an outdoor gazebo & patio area. Join us for free treats throughout the day, from the hot Express Start Breakfast Bar each morning to cookies and snacks in the evenings Monday to Wednesday. See you soon!

View Less
Features
Discover why other hotels in Gastonia, NC can't compare with our friendly service. Not only is our textile-themed decor beautiful and unique, but our facilities are always clean and ready to serve our valued guest.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 54 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice overall hotel The hotel was clean and comfortable. My granddaughter loved the pool. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This hotel was very nice. Will definitely stay here again when in this area. The staff was excellent. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HI Express - Shelby The attentiveness of the staff and support employees was above reproach. Sleeping was quiet and relaxing. Only two issues presented itself during my stay at this property. 1. Upon arrival, I inquired as to parking of our vehicles and trailers. I was told that the Cleveland Mall parking lot was to be used without any question as the Hotel and the Mall had an agreement, without any reservation. After working long hours throughout the night and up into the day on 7/4 I received a phone call stating that we needed to move our vehicles and trailers into the small parking area at the hotel. As we had been working a straight 28 hours and ready for some sleep, this was a little upsetting. I did make a phone call to the principal owner of the Cleveland Mall property to complain about the rude behavior and comments of the Mall security staff to our office staff regarding the parking of our vehicles (3), trailers (2/large) and mobile electronic messaging equipment (2/large). 2. During my morning sleep (I work most nights), my door became the pounding stone for someone wanting to check the fire/smoke alarm batteries... That should have been scheduled when the room was not occupied. Other that those two instances, the stay was quite enjoyable. Access to the mall and the theatre was nice when I had time to take advantage of the close proximity, July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to GWU Very clean and nice, near shopping, and near GWU which was great. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant and safe stay. We enjoyed our short visit.The restaurant choices were good and close by. The pool needed some care, but otherwise- all was good. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by work traveler Excellent stay, friendly staff pectect for what is was needing. The only issue the needed to be a larger parking lot. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stop Good stop before going through the MT. Like to see weights in fitness room. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service in Shelby Once again GREAT SERVICE in Shelby at the Holiday Inn Express! The staff were great, room was spotless and very very comfortable for sleep! Anytime I'm in Shelby I'm at the Holiday Inn Express!!! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff Christie did a fine job at the front desk. She was courteous, patient, knowledgeable, accommodating, and friendly. There were a little more than 20 people in our party and everyone felt she did an admirable job. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI Express Shelby, NC Overall I would recommend this hotel to stay. I was disappointed in the hot breakfast, eggs were the same, bacon was like cardboard. Fruit was fresh, and everything else was okay. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, tasteful, clean, comfortable and accessible! I reserved an accessible room for my 94-year-old aunt and her great granddaughter. There were no two-bed accessible rooms available, but this room had a king. Turns out my aunt and her g.g.daughter slept in the same bed, with plenty of room--and consequently enjoyed a little pillow talk! They reported that mattress was very comfortable. This motel was the only one in the area that (1) seemed nice and clean and (2) offered an accessible room guaranteed on first floor. The Shelby HI Express was a key factor in making my aunt's visit to Shelby a success! She flew in from Nashville and deserved the best. She got it at this motel. Nice staff, too. The only thing I would have liked, that wasn't available, was to have been able to charge the room to my credit card over the phone (I was out of town). To do so, I would have had to photocopy/scan my card and license and send to the motel. Not doing that! Had to have someone in Shelby go in a swipe his card, then we settled up. April 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Visit Very clean and very hospitable staff at this location. April 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay BUT no internet connection due to equipment problems I am an IHG Gold Member. I stay at this Hotel every time I come to Shelby, NC area. I was disappointed that the Internet Connection was not working during my stay. I need to make an important payment using my online banking. I ended up paying it one day late. When I checked in Sunday night, I notified front desk staff. She mentioned that "IT is working on the problem and should be working in an hour". That one hour never happened. In fact next morning, the Internet was still down. No one had actually worked on the problem. In today's day and age, this is very unusual that staff can NOT reset the routers/equipment to try to restore the connection. PLEASE DON'T LET YOUR GAURDS DOWN AGAIN. I hate to give your staff and service "AVERAGE" rating due to this incident. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Wonderful service and great location. Highly recommend! March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service The staff was very helpful this was my first time to the area. The gave great directions and advise on places to eat and the points interest in the area. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lighting in Bathroom I was lodging In room suite #126, the light over sink should be brighter for shaving purposes. December 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping needs some attention When I arrived, the ironing board and iron was still set up in the room from a prior guest and there was toothpaste on the sink counter. There was only one washcloth in the room. The walls are thin enough that I could hear the person in the next room snoring. The breakfast was edible and hot, but the choices are very limited. (The breakfast is one of the things I look for in an HI Express and it was low to mediocre at best). I think the room rates are too high for these kind of deficiencies. The staff I dealt with were quite nice and courteous. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Staff was very friendly and attentive to their responsibilities December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff assistance After driving for 9 hours and arriving at this Holiday Inn Express tired and weary..the nice woman that checked me in was very polite and helpful. My wife was really tired and not feeling well, the staff on this night assisted me in getting our stuff into the room so i didn't do it all alone. I didn't ask, but the nice woman assisted in this task depite it being about 25 degress out... I owe a big thanks even though thank you isn't enough. November 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Best in town. Though this property would not win any awards in a larger city context, it is certainly the best in this area. The rooms are relatively clean and comfortable. Most of the staff are helpful and pleasant. Though we did not try the free breakfast, it was nice to have the option. Overall, this is an average hotel (though again, the best this small town has to offer). November 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad for a small town This hotel had sits next to the Cleveland Mall. McDonald's, Ruby Tuesday's and Denny's. Up and down the street there order shops and eatery's For the business person the desk area is adequate and functional. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff I recently attended a Continuing Education Course in Shelby, NC and stayed at the Holiday Inn. I was very pleased with all the staff who were friendly and went out of their way to speak and make sure you were enjoying your stay in their Hotel. I also was pleased with the breakfast each morning. The food was good and there was a good variety from which to choose. The awesome staff and the good food just gets your day off to a Great start. My thanks to the Holiday Inn staff. Its wonderful to see people take pride in their jobs. Keep up the great attitudes. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit with high school classmate! We had a great time catching up, it has been 50 years since graduation. Hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay a memorable one. Thanks to everyone! October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good location for business nice room and well situated for business. I will consider returning here the next time I am in the area. Thanks. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Comfortable, and Relaxing Had an enjoyable stay. Staff is friendly and courteous. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean Hotel A clean and pleasant hotel. Good service and efficient staff. Easy check in and out. Hot breakfast with many selections. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff and place All is good here except the yellow colored drink named "orange juice". It is not juice. I recommend this hotel. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Excellent Staff and Service Great stay. Visited for my best friend's wedding. Had to do some last minute wedding preparations and I requested some florist ideas from Mary who worked there. She was immensely helpful and ended up giving me the right name to get the job done. I was very impressed with her gracious demeanor and her sweet disposition toward us. My fiancee and I had a great time. The rooms were orderly and clean and everything was lovely. I would absolutely stay here. It's a small town but the staff have big hearts are are willing to serve. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Average room, amazing staff Incredible staff! Friendly people, good breakfast, but average room and nothing special about the location other then it's next to the mall and main road. Pool was in not so great shape. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, great service Stayed for two nights and it was a typical HI Express. Mary, the breakfast hostess, went out of her way to welcome every guest and keep just the right amount of food out (not too much where it got dry and stale). Loved being close enough to walk to get dinner. Hard to find from GPS as it actually is in the mall parking lot and not visible from the main street. August 5, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Gastonia, NC Hotel Exterior
Holiday Inn Express Gastonia, NC Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Gastonia, NC Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Express Gastonia, NC Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Express Hotel Lobby Scenery / Landscape Holiday Inn Express, Gastonia, Nc Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Holiday Inn Express Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express, Gastonia, Nc Hotel Exterior Hotel Front Desk Entrance Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens US National Whitewater Center Rankin Lake Park  Walking Trail Schiele Museum of Natural History
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading