• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
(e.g. Oct-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: GENT
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+02:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Dutch

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

NO PETS ALLOWED SERVICE ANIMALS TRAINED TO AID A PERSON WITH A DISABILITY ARE WELCOME . . CITY TAX EXCLUDED: A tax is imposed by the city: 2014: EUR 2.5 per night pp age 12 and older. 2015: EUR 3 per night pp. Kids age 17 and younger are free.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Artevelde Football Stadium (Ghelamco Arena)
Distance From Hotel:0.5KM
Attraction:
Decascoop Movie Theatre (kinepolis.be)
Distance From Hotel:3.0KM
Attraction:
Fine Arts Museum (Museum voor Schone Kunsten)
Distance From Hotel:3.0KM
Attraction:
Municipal Museum of Contemporary Arts (SMAK)
Distance From Hotel:3.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Large outdoor car park 150 spaces with barrier access, just 100 meters from E17 motorway. (at a charge: 10 eur / night for residents) . This hotel is GREEN KEY ECO-LABEL CERTIFIED and offers a FREE CHARGING STATION for electrical vehicles.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  EUR)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Premium Internet Service is free for All Elite IHG® Rewards Club Members
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee for Non-Elite IHG® Rewards Club Members: 3.50 3.5  EUR

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2006
  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.

Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.

You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular
View More

Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.

Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.

You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with complimentary wireless Internet.

The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms.

This eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging station for electrical vehicles. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express Gent is surrounded by major business and cultural centres. As well as nearby Gent city centre, the cities of Brussels, Brugge and Antwerp are all under 35 minutes' drive away. Explore the Flanders region or use the hotel as a base for your business trips.
Announcements
In 2014, come commemorate the First World War 100th Anniversary in Flanders with us. Use the excellent central location of Gent to combine the battlefields in West-Flanders with picturesque cities
View More
Announcements
In 2014, come commemorate the First World War 100th Anniversary in Flanders with us. Use the excellent central location of Gent to combine the battlefields in West-Flanders with picturesque cities such as Gent, Antwerp, Bruges and Brussels. Discover our medieval towns where culture and gastronomy meet, with Gothic buildings, paintings by Breugel and Van Eyck, canals and cool shops!
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quality hotel Great location near Gent, just off J14 of E40 motorway (Calais-Gent-Brussels). Wanted to stay 4 nights but the 1 accessible room with walk-in shower was only available for 2 of the nights we wanted. Room 188 is not so large but it has everything we needed. I've encouraged hotel to consider making more "accessible" rooms available....as we really want to return. Relaxing place to stay! Despite issues with disabled parking (on both occasions we stayed here) I'm confident hotel will resolve. Entrance is elevated so being able to park immediately outside reception entrance is important to those who cannot walk. Day-time reception staff were delightful; we had a warm "welcome" on arrival. On departure, Jessie offered my young son some complimentary chocolates, very much appreciated. Spacious eating area with plenty of choice at breakfast. This time, we stayed with IHG loyalty points (but the room rates seemed good) October 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay but Not Connected It's a Holiday Inn and it's OK, my biggest gripe and every time I stay here they say they will fix it is the WiFi. In simple terms if you need to be able to connect and a suitable speed do not stop here, it takes me back to the days of dial up. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good service and nice room Very good experience for a family week end in gent. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Our car wouldn't start in the morning of our departure and even though we had already checked out, the staff at reception made every effort to contact a garage where we could get the car fixed. It wasn't easy on a Saturday morning but they managed to find us the right person for the job and we were on our way soon after. October 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by poor wifi The hotel is fine. However, the wifi was terrible. As an ihg member, I would expect much more from the wifi. Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't realize how important this is for a business traveler. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideally situated situated hotel I stayed at this hotel with my wife and in In-laws for a long weekend. The position of the hotel close to the tram made it easy for us to get into the centre of Ghent. The hotel rooms were clean and welcoming, the staff was attentive and polite. I would happily recommend this hotel and will come back again. September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved Gent My lady and I had three nights at this excellent hotel. Used my Award points and we were upgraded to a lovely Executive Room. (Platinum member.) Staff very helpful and attentive. Hotel fantastic for visiting the area and we took in Bruges (and nearby coast), Antwerp and Lille. Hotel is 150m from the tram stop that takes you straight into Gent, plus it runs late. Gent is lovely city with some great restaurants - Mussels to die for!! Only had breakfast at the hotel, which was great - lots of variety and the fresh orange juice machine was superb. If I have a criticism, I do not like paying for car parking (€10), especially in an out-of-town location.(Same moan for any hotel.) Free Wi-Fi though. Overall a lovely stay - thoroughly recommend the hotel. September 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a GREAT TEAM they have !! This was the 3rd time we've stayed at Holiday Ghent. It's a great Hotel, and very handily placed for the Tram into the city centre. I've always found the Hotel to be clean, quiet and very helpful. BUT this time they went the extra mile for us... We had traveled from HI Mulhouse, nearly 400 miles away and we had (for the first time ever!) left our passports behind. We had to catch the Eurotunnel and without passports we were stuck in Belgium. At this point Nicolaus and Jessie stepped up to the mark... The Hotel should be really proud of these two members of staff. They were relentless in pushing for the passports to be couriered over to us, ringing Mulhouse on numerous occasions and helping me to book two extra rooms for our unexpected extra nights holiday... They even made sure that we didn't have to change rooms... What great staff, they really helped us cure a really stressful situation... Mr/Mrs Hotel Manager, please pat these two on the back for a job extremely well done... August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Middle of no where It was a nice hotel and one of the best holiday inns but its location is bad. Unless you are intown just for the expo it's still a 5-10min tram to the train station and ubsceanly far away from the city center. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff attentiveness I went to HI Gent Expo only for one night, with my wife and two babies, the hotel was very nice,the room comfortable, and the food was also good, the only negative point was the attentiveness of the staff. Our room was on the 3rd floor, we had with us a trolley for our two babies (a big one) witch was too wide to fit into the lift, so I asked at reception if it was possible to use the staff lift, witch it was also too narrow for my trolley, so every time we wanted to use the lift we had to take out the babies and fold the the trolley, it was an inconvenience but nothing else. But from inconvenience we passed to disappointment at Check Out, when I realized there were rooms available on the ground floor and nobody proposed us to have one. I hope the staff will learn from my experience and next time they will be more proactive when someone has difficulties to fit into the lift. Thanks for reading my feedback. Kind Regard Omar July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY GOOD CHOICE HI Gent Expo, is a little far from the Gent's center, but the tram stop is about 200m away, and its service very frequent and reliable, so you will have no problem to reach the city center. At the front desk you will find maps and city guides, and also the staff there is really very helpful. Breakfast and hotel's restaurant are very good, providing true value for money. Note that they really recognise priority club members. My last visit to Gent was a memorable due to Holiday Inn, and I will return bak there for soon. Perchaps during excibition days thinks may change, because I think that due to hotel's location it will be very busy during these periods. July 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good connection to city, but problems with the beds We booked with 3 people a DOUBLE BED with SOFA BED: 1) But the "double bed" was one bed for two people with only one blanket. I asked at the reception for a second blanket and I got one, but without duvet cover. 2) The "sofa bed" had a coating mattress with bedspring you feel everyone. Thies qualitiy ist today not acceptable! Positive: Very good connection with tram to city. July 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location & Rates Overall a pleasant visit. Very convenient location to catch the tram into Gent. Rates very reasonable. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great stay.... from the moment we arrived. The staff was friendly and helpful.They answered our questions and were knowledgeable about area attractions. We were able to purchase tram tickets at the front desk The hotel was very clean. The bed was comfy. Breakfast buffet was plentiful. June 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff: heart of any good hotel I have stayed at Gent Expo for nearly two months, excluding weekends, and have had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The hotel is modern, open plan and kept very well. The restaurant is great; although menu somewhat limited and the rooms clean and well tended. Best part about the place, however, are the staff. Enthusiastic, well mannered and attentive, they have made my stay memorable. A credit to Holiday Inn! May 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Very helpful staff, especially the front staff on reception one man in particular was very knowledgeable on attractions an transport even making a booking for a restaurant in the town centre for us. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and convenience the Gent Holiday Inn treats its guests with the highest quality and the breakfast was outstanding. It is close to the tram stop to make it very convenient for a day of exploring of the city while close to the autobahn. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable pillows Not all the pillows were great for sleeping. We appreciate the friendly connectable source. April 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Really pleased with this hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great tram ride into Gent, with the timetable provided for us by hotel staff. The breakfast had lots of variety and good value for money. We plan to return again next year, but come earlier in the day so that we have time to explore the very beautiful buildings in Gent in the daylight. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great bed, noisy lobby Very nice staff and lovely room spoiled by noisy singing at 2.30 in morning from a few well lubricated guests. Half an hours disruption which should have beeb dealt with but overall the hotel is good April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gent, Amazing City Best location to visit Gent. Tram stops at the hotel entrance, lots of parking, and you do not want to try to drive into this town. It is probably the best town in Belguim for a visit. Fantastically Beautiful!!! Negative, the desk man charged me 3 euros the first 2 days for an International Herald Tribune, On day 3 a new man told me it was free , and gave me one. A 6 Euro loss. It was a Priority Club Benefit I did not get March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable bed and great service but... Everything was ok except the shower at 8:00 pm, very few hot water, during the 5 days of the show nearby. February 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good choice for a comfortable stay I tried a couple of hotels in Gent, but since I discovered the Holiday Inn Gent Expo in 2006 I kept coming back. The standard rooms are comfortable with enough space, free wifi and a sofa in half of the rooms. The sofa makes the stay extra pleasant and comfortable. It's a lot more relaxed watching tv just sitting at the sofa then having to lay down or sit on your bed as in most hotels. Half of the rooms have a window with view on the surrounding area, the other half have a view at the atrium where the restaurant is. There are also executive rooms, which are great. Did I say great? I meant: wonderful, marvellous! A king size bed, two sofa's, plenty of room, a lot of amenities and so comfortable you hardly want to leave your room at all. The rooms (both standard and executive, I stayed in both) are also clean and maintained very well. I also appreciate the rest and calmness in the hotel very much. The staff is the greatest asset of the hotel. They are all as friendly as one can wish for and always prepared to help. No matter what, they will always be there for you, whether you are a regular or whether it's your first stay. One is friendly and polite, without overdoing it (as I experienced in many hotels). Their friendliness is sincere, giving you just a welcome feeling. There is always a hotel available for an overnight stay, but in my opinion it's the staff that makes or breakes a hotel. These people definately are doing a wonderful job. The hotel also has its own restaurant, which is quite large. It's in the atrium, quite a nice place where you can also find the bar. And if you would rather use room serice: the desired food will arrive quickly and nicely served. The hotel is easy accessible, since it's not located in the city centre, but close to the highway. And if you use public transport like me it's just as easy to get there. Just take the tram for a ten minutes ride from the main trainstation. The same tram will take you from the hotel to the city centre within 15 - 20 minutes. It's convenient and quite cheap (0,90 eurocents for a ride). And even more convenient: you can buy the tickets for the tram at the reception desk. So the hotel is suitable for both business and leisure I believe and I would certainly recommend it. Already looking forward to my next stay! January 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! I have stayed at this hotel six times over the past year, and found it to be a very comfortable business hotel. It is easy to reach from the main highways, and close to the tram to go into the historic city of Gent. What really makes the hotel is the excellent staff. They are welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable. Very well run hotel, great value, I strongly recommend staying here. January 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay, bad service in restaurant This is an excellent hotel where I've stayed numerous times. Good rooms with excellent beds, however I would not recommend the restaurant. I have eaten here two times, both times were not very good. It took the waiter about 45 minutes to come over to take our order (seems they were also bad-tempered) and then it took another 45 minutes for our first dish to arrive. No it was not busy at ALL in the restaurant. The food was expensive, but only average in quality. January 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location Nice hotel with easy access to st pieters railway station and into city by way of regular tram service.We stayed as priority members on a points stay and received a complimentary upgrade to an executive room. the hotel provides free wifi access with a higher speed for business customers or at a small charge.we did have problems with housekeeping and one day bath towels were removed but not replaced. we also had to ask for tea,coffee and toiletries to be replenished and rubbish to be removed. There was a safe in our room BUT unfortunately we couldnt use it as it was locked and staff did not know how to open it. we did not use the restaraunt or bar as it seemed rather pricey and preferred the variety of restaurants in Gent city centre. OVERALL we enjoyed our stay and would stay at the hotel again as it was so easy to get to. Also would recommend it to anybody attending events at the EXPO which is next door. January 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice for staying in Gent A convenient rather than inspiring location just off the E40 on a small commercial estate just a 100m from the tram in to town. But you don't stay here for the romantic views, you stay here because it is excellent value, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfasts very good and the service always (I've stayed several times) fantastic. December 1, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn My wife attended the a Scrapbooking workshop for the weekend and the whole family tagged along (Oct 5-7). The Hotel was conveniently located where the workshop was going on and it was easy enough to get to the city centre from the hotel. Nice friendly and helpful staff, free internet. Generally a good stay...apart of this incident: We asked for adjoining rooms way in advance but that we some how not noted in the booking. We were transferred to nearby rooms so not a real hassle...at night while we were asleep someone came to our room opened the door only to realize it was already occupied! It was a non-even but could have been potentially embarrassing if circumstances were different. This was reported to the front desk the next day. October 21, 2012
<<prev 2 3
Holiday Inn Express. Green Key eco-label certified Gent hotel
Holiday Inn Express. Green Key eco-label certified Gent hotel
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express. Green Key eco-label certified Gent hotel The Ghent Light Festival end of January The Ghent Light Festival end of January Christmas Fair on the Korenmarket in December Downtown: the Graslei (old port) by night Downtown: Graslei 4km The Gent Festival in July: Pole Pole on the Graslei The Gent Belfry: 4km from the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel exterior view Front Desk at the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel A tasty complimentary breakfast buffet is waiting for you... The Blaarmeersen Park (8 min) Daily Flowermarket on the 'Kouter'square: 4km Downtown: shopping in Veldstraat and Brabantdam GRUUT, the Gent City Brewery Museum of Fine Arts (3km) Downtown: The old Port of Ghent Downtown: The Castle of the Counts Opening parade at the Gent Festival City crier at the Gent Festival Music at the Gent Festival
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading