• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: GRAND RAPIDS
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. Hindi
  3. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Crossroads Conference Center adjacent to hotel
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Craig's Cruisers Family Fun Center
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Gerald R. Ford Museum
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
John Ball Zoo
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free uncovered parking in the hotels parking lot for up to 200 vehicles.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:35
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:79
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Guests Wowed by Grand Rapids Hotel's Facilities

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn Express® Grand Rapids - South hotel, a number-one stop for business and leisure travel in Grand Rapids. The hotel's remarkable facilities, from state-of-the-art meeting space to the Little Dip indoor splash pad, combine an ideal location and proximity to downtown in a way that's sure to provide an unforgettable experience.

Corporate travelers seeking hotels in Grand Rapids, MI prefer
View More

Guests Wowed by Grand Rapids Hotel's Facilities

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn Express® Grand Rapids - South hotel, a number-one stop for business and leisure travel in Grand Rapids. The hotel's remarkable facilities, from state-of-the-art meeting space to the Little Dip indoor splash pad, combine an ideal location and proximity to downtown in a way that's sure to provide an unforgettable experience.

Corporate travelers seeking hotels in Grand Rapids, MI prefer this great location right off US-131 at the M-6 interchange with easy access to major area corporations. The hotel's modern banquet, conference and meeting space make our facility an ideal venue for your next corporate or social event. Ask about special overnight room rates when having meetings at Crossroads Conference Center adjacent to the hotel.

Families and vacationers can have the time of their lives when they stay with us. For starters, we are just one of a few Grand Rapids, Michigan hotels with an indoor splash pad. Guests can also explore local attractions like the Grand Rapids Art Museum, the world's first LEED Gold-certified museum.

Guests can take advantage of free wired and wireless Internet access. Take a ride down the pool areas mini slides, play in the zero depth toddler area, or spin around in the Vortex pool. Reserve today and see for yourself how this Grand Rapids hotel is revolutionizing modern travel for guests who want to "Stay Smart."

View Less
Features
Relax and splash around in the hotels 10,000 foot, expanded pool area featuring a wet and wild splash pad, zero depth toddler play area with mini slides and tipping buckets. Or simply relax in the hot tub, and single lane swim area featuring a swirling vortex pool.
Announcements
The hotel has permanently removed the large, three story water slide. We apologize for your inconvenience, please contact the hotel directly for updates on the new splash pad features coming later
View More
Announcements
The hotel has permanently removed the large, three story water slide. We apologize for your inconvenience, please contact the hotel directly for updates on the new splash pad features coming later this fall.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 366 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay An excellent stay, in a great city. We were able to walk to GRAM, which was the reason for our visit. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was quick, and delicious. November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room overlooking our vacation area! Just a great time visiting Grand Rapids for ArtPrize and only topped off with a great place to stay! November 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location friendly staff Close to everything where you can walk or ride a bike, free parking, welcoming staff and clean room. It is downtown it is a bit noisy at night. No free breakfast. Pool and excercise room are nice. November 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Downtown grand rapids only Smelled outdated noisy As a platinum member I would never go back If I could have a redue I would pay to stay somewhere else And would have saved my points October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall experience Our recent stay was very enjoyable. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The staff was very professional, helpful and friendly. Our waitress in the restaurant was very nice. When I had a problem printing out our boarding passes, the manager took the Overall, a great time. October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value in downtown Grand Rapids... As a long-time loyalist of another hotel brand, I've been skeptical of IHG properties; but this one is very good. My only complaint is the internet offering, which is too slow to be of much use, so I have to do my internet-based work from a cafe down the road; however, that probably has more to do with IHG overall, as I'm finding this to be a common thread at each IHG property I go to. The rest of my experience at this property is very positive. The staff are extremely courteous and friendly, and the condition of the property is clean and updated. The location is great, giving you plenty of options for dining, nightlife, etc. within a short walk. I do a lot of business in Grand Rapids and enjoy this property as my 'go-to' for each trip. October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Enjoyed a nice weekend at this hotel in Grand Rapids for a marathon. Hotel was in walking distance to the race and that was why we choose to stay here. Room was extremely clean and comfortable, bathroom was small and cramped. Staff was friendly and helpful. No breakfast service but there is a restaurant in the hotel with decent food and prices. Right next to highway but having the fan on all night took away traffic noise. Wifi worked extremely well. Price was high but for a downtown hotel and for the overall experience, value was OK. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service The front desk went above and beyond the call of duty to help me and my staff. Great experience. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The room, lobby and hotel staff was great! The room was great but the heating/cooling unit was quite noisy. Also the food at the restaurant was OK but was a little over-priced and the service left a lot to be desired. Overall all though a nice hotel with a great location for my business trip. October 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff but unable to sleep due to freeway noise The hotel and staff are okay but for me, the location was bad for noise. The hotel is located near the interstate highway and I could hear cars driving by all night. I have very good hearing and this constant noise kept me from getting any sleep. I ended up with a 3 day headache until I was able to get a good night's sleep. The staff was very accommodating in letting me out of my reservation without having to pay for another night. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has difficulty sleeping away from home. If you can sleep anywhere, you will probably love it. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb in downtown Grand Rapids This is a great hotel, friendly staff upon arrival, clean lobby area, clean rooms. The elevators are dated, there is not much of a view from any room. However, the location is excellent. Walk across the road to the Gerald Ford Presidential library. Right across the way is a museum that looks very interesting indeed, although we didn't go in. Then there are plenty of other shops, cafes, restaurants, and art shops. My wife and I had a great weekend in GR and thanks goes to the Holiday Inn. Keep up the good work. October 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Location Stayed here to attend an event in Downtown Grand Rapids. The hotel is an excellent location, walking distance to everything including Arena, Bars October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Close to exit, very convenient to Art Prize exhibits, free parking. Very clean. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service I was in town for a conference which was held at the hotel as well. Our conference accomodations were exceptional. My room was clean and relaxing. The hotel location was perfect to enjoy the art fest going on throughout the city. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable Hotel - Great Location A very nice experience from ease of booking to check out. No disappointments with room, staff or amenities.Visited Grand Rapids to attend the Art Festival. Hotel a short walking distance to downtown activities. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel is conveniently located. It is appealing as soon as one walks in the door. The lobby is attractive. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The room is comfortable. The bathroom is a bit small but clean. The restaurant is excellent. We had a toddler with us. The children's menu is varied and included the option of fruit. our meals were tasty and ample. The lobby bar is comfortable and friendly. The location is convenient - across the street from the Ford museum. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Art Prize We loved our stay in Grand Rapids.The location was perfect for Art Prize, we could walk to everything. The room was excellent and the bed provided comfort so we had a great night's rest. Thank you October 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown GR Holiday Inn Excellent location, very good service, clean & comfortable rooms. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Very nice hotel. Slept amazingly well - bed, sheets, duvet all first class. Very comfortable. Room was well appointed and extremely clean. Went at a very busy time so couldn't get king bed, but queens were great alternative. This hotel is in a great location for activities in Grand Rapids. Didn't use restaurant this time, but did on prior visits and is very good - not a typical "hotel restaurant". Highly recommend and would stay here again. October 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very accommodating staff - great location My husband and I booked this 2 night stay 5 months ahead using our built-up rewards points. Our stay was during ArtPrize, so we knew it'd be a busy weekend for the city. We were happy that it was not blocked out for ArtPrize! Thanks to the terrific staff who change our room type for the second night booked even though the hotel was totally solid. The desk staff rocks! This hotel is a perfect location - right next to the GR Public Museum and an easy walk to most everything! Our only "complaint" is that it's right next to Rte 131 and a wee bit noisy (but it could be us - we're used to perfectly quiet nights, living in a rural area of Ohio. We'll definitely stay here again next time we visit GR! October 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally located hotel I selected the Holiday Inn in downtown Grand Rapids due to its good location (close to museums and ArtPrize venues). Although the hotel is an older property and not fancy, the common areas were nice, the room was comfortable, and the restaurant convenient for breakfast, although one day we had to wait about 10 minutes. The restaurant and front desk staff were very nice. I would stay there again. October 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cleaning in am Was awoken 3 times in the morning by the cleaning staff in which check out was at noon. Last 2 times were within 10 minutes of noon. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service I like that it is walking distanct from downtown. Easy off and on from the highway.We stay here last year for our Artprize visit and was very happy and very pleased this year. We asked for our 3 rooms to be close together. The staff did that with ajoining rooms and the other room next to it. My only suggestion would be to have a queen size bed room option. There was only king or double rooms available. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ArtPrize stay We were excited to be able to find hotel room for one night during the second week of ArtPrize. Never stayed in Grand Rapids before so wasn't sure of the location. There was a mixup in our reservation made on-line - we were given a handicap room with a double bed. When we returned to the check-in desk and told them the bed was too small (I looked at my email confirmation and discovered my reservation was for one person, not two). We were upgraded to a king size room at no extra cost and without any problems. Our room was probably the cleanest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Great location for ArtPrize too. Totally enjoyed our stay there. Was great that parking was included in our hotel. We will be back next year. October 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but mixups Other than several mix-ups with reservations that took a bit of effort to resolve, it was a pleasant, comfortable experience. My friend had reserved several rooms. Several weeks before arrival, I called to put my room (only) in my name and under my credit card. Without me knowing, both rooms were put under my name and credit card. Before arriving, I called to see if my AARP discount could be used. ("Yes," I was told. ) I then found out both rooms were now under my name and credit card and was asked if the second should be cancelled. (The hotel was full. I said "no," but put my friend's name on one of the rooms -- my credit card. AARP was put on mine.) On arrival, we straightened it out, though her room -- with extras -- was mistakenly put under my name and vice versa. When I checked out, I was told I couldn't get the discount, and it wasn't available to me. Since it was confirmed verbally, I wouldn't get it. The person at the desk checked and said I couldn't several times. My friend had been given the discount and had checked out the day before. I finally got the manager to agree to give me the discount. (She was there when I checked in and checked, verbally, to make sure the discount was listed on my room.) October 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid if you are a Platinum Member This location has inexperienced check in stat (they interrogate you before letting you to your room). They also don't recognize or upgrade Platinum Members. October 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Food and Beverage There was some unsatisfactory behavior from the PM bartender on Friday of our visit. The manager was notified and remedied the situation with 4 comp tickets for breakfast. My sister and I had no problem getting in for breakfast on Sunday morning however my two nieces had to wait 40 minutes. I understand that Sunday is a heavy check in and out day. What was confusing was the many open tables that remained that way through the duration of their wait It appeared that there was adequate wait staff. However, the F & B manager was running food instead of managing. I can only guess that they were running short staffed in the kitchen. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location, close to downtown and wonderful staff October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff I was very impressed with the front desk staff at this hotel. Very accommodating and friendly. Thank you. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff I recently stayed at this hotel during a regional conference and also during the fall festival ArtPrize, which meant that the hotel was sold out, and the staff was extremely busy. In spite of this busy time, my colleagues and I were impressed with the staff's professional attitudes, their friendlinss, and their attention to detail. Unlike many other hotels that only have one or two people working, this hotel was fully staffed. In addition, the manager on duty was assisting the staff in their duties so that customers would not have to wait. Everything that we asked for, such as extra towels and blankets, were brought to the room promptly. One time the manager delivered them himself. The lobby has two computers and an office area to check email and print copies. The on-site restaurant was reasonably priced and served delicious food. Also, the location of the hotel allows those who stay here to be within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. In summary, I highly recommend this hotel. October 9, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
Hotel front entrance in the evening.
Hotel front entrance in the evening.
Select to close.
Hotel front entrance in the evening. Hotel Lobby Hotel service desk where it's always our pleasure to assist you! Unique, painted sky view lobby decor. Hotel features spacious areas with beautifuly landscaped grounds.
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading