• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: GRAND RAPIDS
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. Hindi
  3. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Crossroads Conference Center adjacent to hotel
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Craig's Cruisers Family Fun Center
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Gerald R. Ford Museum
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
John Ball Zoo
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free uncovered parking in the hotels parking lot for up to 200 vehicles.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:35
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:79
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Guests Wowed by Grand Rapids Hotel's Facilities

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn Express® Grand Rapids - South hotel, a number-one stop for business and leisure travel in Grand Rapids. The hotel's remarkable facilities, from state-of-the-art meeting space to the Big Dip indoor water park, combine an ideal location and proximity to downtown in a way that's sure to provide an unforgettable experience.

Corporate travelers seeking hotels in Grand Rapids, MI prefer this
View More

Guests Wowed by Grand Rapids Hotel's Facilities

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn Express® Grand Rapids - South hotel, a number-one stop for business and leisure travel in Grand Rapids. The hotel's remarkable facilities, from state-of-the-art meeting space to the Big Dip indoor water park, combine an ideal location and proximity to downtown in a way that's sure to provide an unforgettable experience.

Corporate travelers seeking hotels in Grand Rapids, MI prefer this great location right off US-131 at the M-6 interchange with easy access to major area corporations. The hotel's modern banquet, conference and meeting space make our facility an ideal venue for your next corporate or social event. Ask about special overnight room rates when having meetings at Crossroads Conference Center adjacent to the hotel.

Families and vacationers can have the time of their lives when they stay with us. For starters, we are is just one of a few Grand Rapids, Michigan hotels with a water park. Guests can also explore local attractions like the Grand Rapids Art Museum, the world's first LEED Gold-certified museum.

Guests can take advantage of free wired and wireless Internet access. Take a ride down the Big Dip's three-story water slide, play in the zero depth toddler area, or spin around in the Vortex pool. Reserve today and see for yourself how this Grand Rapids hotel is revolutionizing modern travel for guests who want to "Stay Smart."

View Less
Features
Looking for summer fun year-round during your stay in Grand Rapids, Michigan? This hotel's expanded pool area is the place to play! Featuring childrens mini slides, a zero depth toddler play area with tipping buckets, and 2nd floor deck area where you can enjoy fresh made pizza and drinks with seating for up to 35 people.
Announcements
The pool area will be closed September 2, 2014 through September 11, 2014. The hotel is permanently removing the large, three story water slide. We apologize for your inconvenience, but stay tuned
View More
Announcements
The pool area will be closed September 2, 2014 through September 11, 2014. The hotel is permanently removing the large, three story water slide. We apologize for your inconvenience, but stay tuned for futrue updates on new splash pad features coming at a later time this year.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 261 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by College Graduation Visit I had to come in to town for a graduation ceremony. The hotel was very close to the Arena the ceremony was held. The hotel was an absolutely perfect choice! Not only was it close, but it was very nice and extremely clean. The staff were very friendly, and the restaurant and bar were very nice and offered plenty of choices. The price was very reasonable for a downtown hotel in the middle of many attractions. I will definitely stay here again! April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our favorite GR Hotel The location is great, the staff is friendly and the room is clean; is there a better combination? When we come to Grand Rapids for the night, our only choice is the Holiday Inn on Pearl- and since GR is Beer City, there is a bottle opener in the room! April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Best place to stay in Grand Rapids Excellent location with a great staff, comfortable rooms and a great restaurant. Very clean. April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restful night, great location Location was ideal for my trip. Nice view as spring arrived. Room was clean and comfortable. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location! From the moment of arrival to departure everything went beautifully. Being across from the tow museums is priceless and, the Douwe Egbert coffee made each morning a pleasure to wake up too! April 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location We enjoyed our stay. Very convenient to be able to walk to the museum and other downtown venues. Being across from the ice machine interrupted my sleep a few times. Front desk staff were extremely nice and courteous and kind to our kids. Rooms are a bit smaller than we expected but seemed very clean. We will stay here again. April 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Modern and convenient Very easy access off US 131 convenient location near attractions in Downtown Grand Rapids. Hotel was very modern and up to date. Great restaurant inside hotel, with great food. Kids eat FREE with voucher from hotel desk (unlimited) . Very nice bar and lounge area separate from restaurant if you enjoy an evening cocktail. Rooms are also comfortable and up to date. Staff was quick and efficient. They also offer museum packages be sure to check those out. Would absolutely recommend and stay. The only thing I didn't like was the pool is freezing!! Our kids braved it, but whoa! That being said the pool area is very nice and the hot tub even better. April 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really nice hotel Great accommodations, good restaurant and in great location. Only thing I have to say is we were sold a room in a bock. We were close enough to go home after our concert but stayed under the assumption we would be in a group of rooms together with other concert goers and were weren't even all on the same floor. April 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay for conference the hotel was very nice, clean, and the staff helpful and friendly. The food variety was pretty good, I had a turkey reuban that was very tasty as was the beer dip with pretzels. Beds were comfortable. Excellent availability of outlets for multiple appliances and electronics. Would stay here again. April 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay!! Be back again same time next year!! Restaurant is handy and open till 9:30 pm. Great location and easy access off 131. Walking distance to Devos Place. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, amazing management team Located in an ideal spot, very close to 131 and right in downtown GR. I had a small issue, which I brought to the management team's attentention. They immediately addressed the issue and made the situation right. The follow up from Ellen was top notch. Hotels are in the service industry and issues happen, it's how you react to them that seperates you from the competition. I give mega kudos to the team on how they handled, thank you! March 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room across from the elevator I stayed at this hotel last week. The location is great, the hotel is nice, but I was given a room across from an elevator. The walls in the room must not have bee very soundproof because I could hear the elevator and people in the hall the entire night. I am usually a very sound sleeper, but didn't get sleep that night. As an IHG Platinum member I am surprised that I wasn't given a better room. Also, I had reserved a king room and upon check in was informed that they were sold out. What's the benefit of being a Platinum member? March 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Desk Manager I travel for business all over the country and a few overseas and stay mostly at Holiday Inn properties. As a Platinum member it is nice to be able to book a room on the fly and know you will get a room upgrade if available. I normally don’t complain but at this location I just wanted to get to my room after a long day and after finishing my check in process I noticed I was getting a double bed, and politely ask for a King if available. The Desk manager Catilyn said no problem, and Yes a King is available at an additional fee. Wow, this has never happen to me before at any IHG properties, and Kings where available, but at additional charges / only this location. Manager was not friendly at all, and I would not recommend dealing with her again if you are a loyalty member of IHG. Find another hotel… It only takes one to ruin a trip… The other front desk staff members where polite and understanding, Thank You and Sorry... March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Would be nicer if it included breakfast. Short walk across bridge to bars and restaurants. Can be a bit noisy due to nearby highway. Staff very friendly and professional. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another enjoyable stay! This hotel is top notch! Great location for the trade show I attend and always a great stay! Room is very nice. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's the best.....around. Nothing's ever gonna keep it down. But for real, this place kicks a lot of butt. Especially if you have a show to play at Founders or something. Jerry is one of the most helpful people I've met. I demand that everyone who works there get a raise for being so awesome. Shoot, I had Kelsey (I think that was her name) help me straighten out my IHG stuff. Since I barely use that kind of stuff, It was very appreciated that she did that. And quickly, too. Super professional staff. And the 2pm Checkout. We needed just about every second of it. Awesome. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Excellent location if you're interested in exploring DT GR. The room was clean and had great bedding. The bar has a good selection of MI beer and the cafe has a nice breakfast. Friendly staff and fast check out. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by pool was closed I reserved a room a month in advance for my gf birthday. Thinking it would be good to get a pool or hot tub for a night in this cold Michigan weather. The pool was room was closed on a Saturday night? Not to impressed. The hotel manager did give me a small refund and said it was posted on their website. Which means I would have to cancel my reservations which would of cost me any ways so might as well keep them. February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff and a nice room. My stay was very nice here. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful even asking questions that led to reducing the cost of the room for me as I was in town on business with a company with a corporate relationship with this hotel. The food in the hotel restaraunt was tasty and the portions were generous all at a reasonable price. When the weather is nice, there are several interesting establishments and attractions close to this hotel to visit. I do recommend this location to anyone who plans to stay in Grand Rapids. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place I had a most enjoyable business stay at the hotel. Time did not allow me this time to visit the museums that are just across the street. The weather was snowy and cold so I ate my evening meals at the hotel each of the three nights. Excellent food and service. I really enjoyed myself. I do have an issue with the heating. As stated the weather was snowy and cold, but my room heater never was quite up to getting the room as warm as I wanted. I was ok in the room because of the extra blankets. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice everything was great. The bartender in the evening was very nice. The breakfast food was very good but the prime rib dinner was just so so. The service was great both meals. January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent I stayed there for 2 nights for my best friends wedding and had a great experience. The only thing that I was surprised on was the fact there wasn't a complimentary breakfast, considering the price of the hotel room one would think that would be included, but over all it was a great experience. January 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Improved Menu, Lounge Just a fun note to start this, my last three stays here have all been on the same floor, within the same four room numbers. I guess when you travel a couple nights a week, that's what you take away from the stay :) This was my second dinner from the "new" menu in the restaurant. The food has definitely improved a bit. I am sure there were no major changes, but the last couple of meals I have had here have been great - and now it is more standard for me to stay in to eat vs. heading out to find a meal. The lounge staff here is outstanding. I tend to work through the night, but hate to lock myself in my room for the night. So, whenever I can, I will head downstairs and either set up shop in the lounge or lobby with my laptop. The bartender is awesome with this, the only thing she couldn't help me with was a plug when I ran out of battery - but that's not her fault! The new WiFi is still slower it seems, and entering a new password is definitely less exciting than being able to log on instantly like I could last year. Its only a few more minutes, but its different and certainly not an improvement on my end. The staff here is what seals the deal and keeps me coming back. They are truly an outstanding asset. January 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Changes in the new year... Not entirely sure what happened but it seems in the two weeks since I had stayed here, there were some changes made. First, there is no longer an IHG/Priority Club check in gift. That was always an added perk to this property and it meant I always grabbed breakfast, or at least a snack/granola bar, before checking out. Second, there is a new internet system. It doesn't seem like a big deal, but while the staff explained to me it was faster, the log in was incredibly slow. All in all, I am still very happy with the hotel. They take great care of it, but changes are always a "kink" when you are so used to the normal. January 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So close to the sights Stayed at this location to enjoy what downtown Grand Rapids has to offer. This hotel was right on the edge of the city center and made walking to everything very easy. The hotel and rooms looked great. Rooms were quiet, except for one instance during the middle of the night where some people were running up and down the halls making noise, but this could happen at any hotel. My fiance and I were very happy with our stay and the quality of the room. Only complaint, like others rating this place was the highway noise, which is evident. I sleep soundly, so it never affected me. Compared to other hotels that are near a freeway, it was no different. Great value for the money, and the parking was free! January 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by great Stay Easy access from expressway. Nice walk to the Van Andel Arena. Very nice room, bed very comfortable. Would stay again. the food at the restaurant was very good. free parking is a plus, and there is also covered parking, which is nice. January 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Like trying to sleep in a noisy room. The paper thin walls do nothing to afford one a good nights sleep! The location, overall services and staff are great. What could have been a nice stay ended up a very unpleasant experience. Every sound from the elevator, guests opening and closing doors, walking in the hallway, and more are heard through the walls. Drunken guests were cause for alarm when they tried to pound their way though a door that connected our rooms. My son, at 3:00am, ended up getting security and management to put a stop to the noise. My seven year old granddaughter definitely learned that staying at a hotel isn't always a pleasant experience. I do appreciate the staff handling the disruptive guests but I must honestly say that another stay there most likely won't happen because your hotel is not conductive to a good nights sleep. To maximize a guests overall comfort please do take note that furnishings are only part of what makes ones stay pleasant. January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location,Great Stay, and Helpful staff I stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown for a local family wedding in early January. Great location next to museums and walking distance from downtime restaurants. Emily at the front desk was very helpful and worked with me on delayed arrival as a result of a regional winter storm. Great place to stay in Downtown Grand Rapids. January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Year's Eve DT GR I never expected staying at a sold out hotel on New Year's Eve to be such a positive experience. The hotel was very well prepared for the busy night.. They even had a reservation list and parking attendant confirming and directing hotel guests in their parking lot. Check-in and out was simple and quick. The room itself was very comfortable, I wish I could have taken the mattress home! As far as value goes, it was pricey compared to other Holiday Inn's I've stayed at, but considering it was New Year Eve I expected to pay much more than I did. The other three hotels downtown were charging $150+ more and not offering free parking. I would definitely return to this hotel! Great Experience!!!! January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super service . The front desk personnel were very pleasant, helpful and greeted us warmly. The breakfast we had at the hotel restaurant was very good and the staff there just as friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the family in the adjacent two rooms. They were loud and did nothing to advise their children of hotel etiquette. January 1, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Hotel front entrance in the evening.
Hotel front entrance in the evening.
Select to close.
Hotel front entrance in the evening. Hotel Lobby Hotel service desk where it's always our pleasure to assist you! Unique, painted sky view lobby decor. Hotel features spacious areas with beautifuly landscaped grounds.
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express.  Enjoy free wifi, free breakfast, and your choice of pillows.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading