• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: GRAND RAPIDS
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. Hindi
  3. Serbian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Crossroads Conference Center adjacent to hotel
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Craig's Cruisers Family Fun Center
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Gerald R. Ford Museum
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
John Ball Zoo
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free uncovered parking in the hotels parking lot for up to 200 vehicles.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:35
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:79
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Guests Wowed by Grand Rapids Hotel's Facilities

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn Express® Grand Rapids - South hotel, a number-one stop for business and leisure travel in Grand Rapids. The hotel's remarkable facilities, from state-of-the-art meeting space to the Little Dip indoor splash pad, combine an ideal location and proximity to downtown in a way that's sure to provide an unforgettable experience.

Corporate travelers seeking hotels in Grand Rapids, MI prefer
View More

Guests Wowed by Grand Rapids Hotel's Facilities

Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn Express® Grand Rapids - South hotel, a number-one stop for business and leisure travel in Grand Rapids. The hotel's remarkable facilities, from state-of-the-art meeting space to the Little Dip indoor splash pad, combine an ideal location and proximity to downtown in a way that's sure to provide an unforgettable experience.

Corporate travelers seeking hotels in Grand Rapids, MI prefer this great location right off US-131 at the M-6 interchange with easy access to major area corporations. The hotel's modern banquet, conference and meeting space make our facility an ideal venue for your next corporate or social event. Ask about special overnight room rates when having meetings at Crossroads Conference Center adjacent to the hotel.

Families and vacationers can have the time of their lives when they stay with us. For starters, we are just one of a few Grand Rapids, Michigan hotels with an indoor splash pad. Guests can also explore local attractions like the Grand Rapids Art Museum, the world's first LEED Gold-certified museum.

Guests can take advantage of free wired and wireless Internet access. Take a ride down the pool areas mini slides, play in the zero depth toddler area, or spin around in the Vortex pool. Reserve today and see for yourself how this Grand Rapids hotel is revolutionizing modern travel for guests who want to "Stay Smart."

View Less
Features
Relax and splash around in the hotels 10,000 foot, expanded pool area featuring a wet and wild splash pad, zero depth toddler play area with mini slides and tipping buckets. Or simply relax in the hot tub, and single lane swim area featuring a swirling vortex pool.
Announcements
The hotel has permanently removed the large, three story water slide. We apologize for your inconvenience, please contact the hotel directly for updates on the new splash pad features coming later
View More
Announcements
The hotel has permanently removed the large, three story water slide. We apologize for your inconvenience, please contact the hotel directly for updates on the new splash pad features coming later this fall.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 160 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This is a nice hotel and it was clean. I was disappointed with how chilly the pool was. My kids stayed more in the hot tub because of it. The breakfast was fantastic, probably one of the best I have had at a hotel and the staff was very friendly. My only other issue was that the guy in the room next to us and the people across from us were partying until after midnight which was loud and obnoxious, it kind of ruined our night. The walls are very thin but I guess a lot of hotels are. November 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Businrss at the airport Airport pick up was great. I rode over with a flight crew. I had to wait until clerk took care of flight crew even though I was inside at check in desk before the flight crew. Also clerk almost seemed annoyed to have to help me. No thanks for being a rewards member. The trash in the room had not been emptied. Free happy hour is not free you must buy two drinks in the lounge. Service in the restaurant was great. have not seen my dinning rewards points yet. The hotel is close and convenient to the airport with the shuttle. I know this sounds negative but I have stayed here before and had no issues. I will stay again. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience These days, it's so hard to know what to expect from a hotel. I think we get accustomed to a certain level of quality, sometimes lower quality than we should expect, and our perspective is out of line. I was well pleased with the staff at this hotel, especially the staff in the restaurant/bar at the hotel. The room was immaculate every day when I returned to the hotel after a full day of learning at the University of Farmers. Very comfortable bed, pillows, and amenities. Overall, a great experience. November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend for park and fly Recommend this facility. Nice room, clean, nice staff. Shuttled us for a park and fly with great attitude. Definately recommend. November 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired worn hotel This property is in dire need of a refresh. Bed sagged in the middle. Furniture very fragile and old. Room lighting very out dated. Bar out of all draft beer and most bottled beers. I suspect they cannot pay their bills. it is not hard to get beer delivered. Common areas have no heat. This used to be a good property but time has not been kind. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Highly recommended The rooms and staff was great, and close to shopping and dining. I enjoyed my stay. October 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old and worn Checked in bed spread has a 4" hole and tear dead center. How this could not have been seen is beyond me. Tile everywhere is cracked. Needs a retro bad. October 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Crowned Plaza Lansing Mi The public areas of the hotel were very nice, however when I went to my room my toilet had not been cleaned. There was stained water and toilet paper in the bowl and urine stains on the rim. I was also surprised and disappointed to find that as a Platnum IHG member when I asked about bottled water for the room I was referred to the gift shop. I have become accustomed to receiving a complimentary bottle at most every hotel I stay at, and I stay in hotels three nights a week every week. The overall appearance of the hotel was very nice. The bed was very comfortable. I just wish customer service matched the outward appearance and more attention was paid to house keeping. S D October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location. We enjoyed our stay at this location. Very close to friends that live nearby, close to Downtown. Great breakfast, with an excellent waitstaff, and quick turnaround from order to delivery. Would definitely stay again. October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All together....ok. clean and friendly. It was ok. It was a clean room and nicely prepared for guests. Some light bulbs needed replacing and bathtub took forever to drain. Furniture could use updating too. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My recent stay I recently stayed at the crown plaza grand rapids for the a local event. I felt the room, and amenities were fabulous. I had 2 rooms and not one single complaint. I travel a fair amount and would stay here again if I return to the area. The staff arranged for a 5am transport to the airport and a 415 am wake up call. October 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Crowne Plaza Standards The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom door handle was broken. The place needs to be updated. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated hotel This hotel was ok...just ok. It was clean and comfortable but very outdated (ie carpeting etc). I also didn't care for having to pay $8.00 for a continental breakfast (cereal, milk, etc). Just not someplace I would visit again. September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy with the room and service The thing I HATED was being harrassed by the person I spoke to when I made the mistake of saying I would be willing to talk to a "representative" about the rewards program. I didn't realize what that was about. He would not take no #about joining the timeshare program# for an answer. I finally had to be rude and hang up! September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place While parts of the facility seem rather outdated, I was still impressed with the value and level of service received at the Crowne Plaza in Grand Rapids. The elevators are very outdated and food is very costly. But if you need a nice place to lay your head and take a dip in the pool, then you can't go wrong at this location. September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by "over and above" The staff at Crowne Plaza went "over and above the call of duty" in helping us with our unique needs. My elderly parents needed * a wheelchair and *assistance finding the way back into the hotel. They took their time to care for us and assist us with these needs This has been a repeat visit for us. We enjoy the breakfast buffet, and the location and ambience are great! Thank you! September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GR always a great place to come back too I have had the opportunity to visit this Crown Plaza in GR often through the years, the staff is always very welcoming, the rooms clean and fresh and overall service outstanding. As a business traveler I would highly recommend this IHG location for business or pleasure travel. They also recently upgraded their internet service. This location has 5 thumbs up from this traveler - keep up the great service and work! September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Accommodations, Very Good Location & Good Rate Our two day stay was very comfortable. The location, if you have a car and need to travel to different areas, was situated on and by good thoroughfares. A good place to stay. September 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Below expectations The hotel maid service leaves much to be desired. Romm not cleaned some day by 5:00 PM. Hotel Internet service is spotty at best and totally unusable during 40% of my stay. Food in the restaurant of poor quality. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Definitely recommend Crowne Plaza Airport Grand Rapids This is a really nice hotel. The hotel's catering is AWESOME! I was there for a business event. Very nice indoor/outdoor swimming pool and gym. Gym needs another elliptical. Enjoyed the karaoke at the hotel's restaurant. The only problems were: general areas were too cold in my opinion!. Clock in my room was set 4 minutes behind. Other than that, everything was really, really good. August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A little pricey for what it was. Room was clean and comfortable but sink leaked and was not adresses even after we reported it twice, there was a very strong musty odor in the hallways and our room still wasn't cleaned at 5pm. The breakfast bar was nice and the service was really good. August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Frequent visitor ...for a reason As a frequent visitor to Grand Rapids who's visited other hotels, the Crowne Plaza has come to be my hotel of choice. In addition to this, have noticed - especially this year - that the front desk and restaurant staff are truly making an effort to provide top-notch service. Yes, while the hotel isn't as new or up-to-date in decor as others, I do not hesitate to recommend the Crowne Plaza as the best overall value in town. August 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This site needs new leadership I have stayed at this site 4 times now and will not stay there again if possible. I had to file a complaint concerning my last stay and the site Manager was no help in resolving my issues. I'll be sure to share my experiences with others! August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the spa! This is a great hotel for everyone. The room, bed and pillows were very comfy. I had a room off the pool, which was very convenient. And, the water temp and water jets in the spa were "just right." A truly Goldilocks experience! August 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Regular visitor, hotel value for money is excellent Have spent more than 50 nights at the Grand Rapids Crowne Plaza during the past 3 years and know the hotel well. I keep choosing this hotel even though my company allows me to select from several hotel choices in town. Have found the Crowne Plaza to be the best value for the money. Occasionally stay at some of the much newer hotels for the same price in town (just to confirm the Crowne Plaza is worth it) and so far, it keeps coming out on top. Wifi can be a problem but I've found the key is to stay on the 1st or 2nd floor and ensure your room is not at one of the far ends of the hotel. August 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Love the service but not the Front Desk I have stayed at your hotel on three different occasions and have yet to be welcomed by the Front Desk. I have definitely received better Front Desk service at other hotels within your organization. Frankly, the treatment I have received borders on rudeness. After three times receiving the same experience I will consider another hotel for my next visit to town. Everyone else at the hotel has been fabulous! August 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great experience at all. When we first got into the room, we figured out right away that the wifi was awful and did not work. The bed we had had a crevice in the center of it, so if more than one person slept in it, you were rolling into the middle. The toilet did not flush properly. The worst thing of all was that our phone rang at 3:57 AM with a wake up call for SATURDAY that we did not ask for, especially considering that it was SUNDAY MORNING!!!!! In other words, we got the wake up call for the person who was previously in the room! I mentioned it to the front desk clerk and he had the audacity to laugh about it! It was not quite the reaction that I had expected. We will not be back!!! August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older hotel, but adequate A little past its prime, but comfortable room, airport shuttle and nice staff. Landscaping could use some TLC. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommended, but with reservations The hotel itself was great. Everything was clean and seemed relatively new. The carpet was in great shape and the bathrooms, though small, were nicely furnished. A few things that did not meet my expectations: 1) There were three sets of towels in the room for a family of four. 2) The balancy was great, except you can't see over the brick wall that's built for your safety, so why bother?. 3) I was there with a group and there was some discrepancy over the room rate and whether it included breakfast or not. 4) The food on the breakfast buffet was great. The coffee and juice were served by the staff - bad move. We did not get enough to drink. Because there was two large parties in the dining room, the server never came back to our table. The beverages should be self-serve as well as the food. 5) not enough seating for breakfast with the large groups in house. Maybe it's sufficient on a regular day, but it was not on Sunday morning after a wedding. The pool looked great and was pretty busy - we didn't have time for it, but it looked very inviting! August 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Spend your money elsewhere! Where to start.....after getting into my room, found that the Wifi didnt work. Front desk provided me with a cable so I could plug in to the jack in my room. Found that the jack was disconnected. The following afternoon after maintenance came up to look at it along with the clogged bath tub, was told there is only Wifi in the hotel. Had already spent $40 out of pocket on cellular data because of this issue. Asked for a room with better Wifi and was told at 5pm that they'd call me when the new room was ready. At 9 had to go to the front desk to ask about the room since no one called. Switched rooms and still kept losing Wifi signal. Spent a total of $80 on cellular data charges. To top that off, although I paid for all of my restaraunt charges on a separate credit card they put some of the charges on my room bill. Have no idea why since I handed over my credit card each time. They reversed some charges on my room, gave me a new receipt and then charged me for the full amount anyways. Had to call to find out what happened and they told me that whoever reversed the charges didnt have authority to do so. I can go on and on........I would never stay there again! July 31, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel front entrance in the evening.
Hotel front entrance in the evening.
Select to close.
Hotel front entrance in the evening. Hotel Lobby Hotel service desk where it's always our pleasure to assist you! Unique, painted sky view lobby decor. Hotel features spacious areas with beautifuly landscaped grounds.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading