• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: HARRISBURG
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Small to medium sized dogs, up to 50lbs, allowed to stay at the hotel. There will be a 25.00 per day pet fee charged to the hotel bill. If pets are left unattended in the hotel, the pet owner must provide contact telephone information.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Hersheypark
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Spacious well lit parking lot will handle all guest needs including motorcoach and tractor trailer parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:114
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:109
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:PA0135
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. Our convenient location, eight miles to Hershey, PA and just four miles to downtown Harrisburg, PA is perfect whether you are traveling on business or leisure. In addition, our great location at exit 48 off Route 83 provides easy highway access to Harrisburg International Airport, Gettysburg, Carlisle and Lancaster, home of the Amish and the PA Dutch Attractions.
Features
Complimentary hot buffet breakfast.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 90 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NICE HOTEL HOWEVER THE FRONT DESK CLERKS DID NOT ACKNOWLEDGE MY GOLD ELITE STATUS. September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love the pool/spa and breakfast We are repeat customers to this hotel (4 years ago) and are just as impressed. Everything you need is within a mile. Very family oriented. Had a plugged toilet and the staff handed my husband a plunger. Problem solved. Hope to be back BEFORE another 4 years! September 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Stayed here for three nights the end of August. It is extremely convenient being so close to HersheyPark. Breakfast in the morning is put on very well with a good variety of items. Would recommend. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal place to stay very close to Hershey Park Holiday Inn Express was very reasonable compared to other hotels around the area. Set off on a side road, not on the Highway, tucked back behind a bank. Its with in minutes of all Hershey attractions and fast food McDonalds, Wendy's, Taco Bell and Pizza Hut (I think) and fuel right all outside of the entrance! Minutes from Indian echo Caverns a must see while in Hershey! Very clean, no smell of cigarette smoke! Rooms were very quiet and you didn't here any neighboring noise. Heated indoor pool was small but children loved it! A very nice clean place to rest after your adventures in the Hershey area. Staff was pleasant. Would stay here again and definitely recommend to anyone just needing a place to stay for a day or to to rest in between days! :- August 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the stay and convenience During the 3rd week in August my family which includes my wife and two sons who are 18 and 9 decided to spend the day at Hershey Park. As part of our visit we decided to stay over night near the park rather than drive back home after a tiring day at the park. The Holiday Inn Express was convenient to our route of travel as it was just off of the main road leading to the park and only a few minutes away. The room was clean and comfortable and the two queen beds were a perfect fit for my family. We had a restful night sleep and woke up to a tasty breakfast of eggs, bacon, pancakes and coffee. We found checking in and checking out to be effortless. the stay was satisfying and met our needs. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Great Hotel. Great Spot. Great Time. Would recommend for a nice long weekend getaway. Close to ALL the attractions and many restaurants. Wonderful breakfast every morning. Definitely will be returning. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Expectations holiday inn express is suposed to be a short stay with minimal emenities. This holiday is excellent from the front desk to the people that clean the rooms. Everyone greats you with a smile and is very pleasent. The rooms are what you would expect from an express. At this price range you cant go wrong. the only negative were; wish they had a bar and an outside pool August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Me & my family love this hotel!!! We love holiday Inn express great service, We like the free breakfast and the check in then left to Hershey park, we got there one hour early, they let us check in at that time. We had alot of fun. Thanks!!! August 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not great service Staff was not friendly at all. Barely talk to us. Not even a good morning. Breakfast time was to short. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean quiet good place to stay-would recommended it-stayed august 6 and 7 August 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the Sweetest Place on Earth Came to Hershey to celebrate both my children's birthdays by taking them to Hershey Park, the sweetest place on earth. The location of the Hotel was excellent in relationship to the Park. We arrived early and immediately went to the hotel to see if they could check us in. This was around noon. Per the IHG membership we are supposed to be offered the opportunity to check in early if available. They said they did not have any rooms ready. We decided to try and find something to do while the room was being prepared and asked for a phone call when the room was ready. We came back around 2:20pm. Check in was 3pm. When we returned a couple was being checked in, yet we never received the courtesy of a call to let us know we could check in. Wondering how may others got in before we did. This is the first hotel I have not been able to check in early. The hotel indoor pool was very noisy. When a large family entered, the area was at capacity and the decibel level was so high we felt the need to leave the area. The room was very small and cramped. The bathroom was the smallest of any HI I have ever stayed at. The staff also was the most unfriendly group of hotel staff I have ever encountered. If you work in hospitality services you should at least try to put on a smile once in awhile and treat the guests like you value our business. If I had a question, I got the impression I was bothering them. Without guests you don't have a job. I could go on, but I think I have made my point. Will not be returning. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Happy experience I brought my son and two granddaughters to Hershey so they could visit the Park. I chose this hotel because it had good reviews and was close to the Park entrance. After riding around town I discovered that this hotel is probably the closest one to the Park entrance and it was really easy to get to the Park. There are are several eating places within walking distance from the hotel, which was a plus. I was surprised by the variety of breakfast foods offered at the hotel, and they were all tasty. The hotel also has coffee and tea available all day, and a bowl of apples beckoned from the sideboard. I was delighted by the comfort of the beds, soft (but not too soft) mattresses, and a soft plus a firm pillow for each person. The hotel and parking lot were very clean, as were the pool and hot tub. Everything necessary was provided. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Other reviewers mentioned a train and smoke from the campground nearby. We saw and heard the train but it didn't bother us at all, in fact the kids were excited to see it. It wasn't noisy enough to wake me up, which was all I cared about. We did get smoke from the campground one night but it was gone the next day. I can heartily recommend this hotel. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, close to Hershey Park Minutes from Hershey Park, Chocolate World and Hershey Gardens. Walking distance to lots of fast food like Taco Bell, Wendys, Pizza Hut, Red Robin, and KFC. This was very helpful having 2 children who like different things to eat. Room was spotless, and had a mini fridge, microwave, iron and board, hair dryer and coffee maker. All came in handy. There is a small indoor pool but it was crowded when we tried to use it and the water was not clear. Breakfast buffet was great. Lots of choices and plenty of them. The breakfast area was small and crowded but I have found that in many places that offer complimentary breakfast. My advice is Go Early, beat the crowd. I would definitely stay here again and would recomend it to families looking for a good value for their money. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great experience! Highly recommend hotel. great value, excellent staff, terrific breakfast. Very clean. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location! This holiday inn is conviently located near hershey park, hershey world, Indian echo caverns and so much more. Several dining options nearby, something for everyone! Hotel has a nice pool/hot tub area :) great place to stay!! August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff the staff at this location went above and beyond to make our stay (and that of the rest of our group) just right August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to spend time at Hershey Close to Hershey. Very close to fast food eating. Pool is a bit small. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay With Grand-kids We loved this hotel. Although busy, the breakfast area was well stocked with quality products that we enjoyed. This hotel is located conveniently close to Hershey Park. Definitely recommend. I did have to ask for my rewards bag...! August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet & Comfortable The room was perfect for our weekend tournament trip to Hershey. Close to the fields and the park, as well as local restaurants. Beds were amazingly comfortable and hotel was quiet given how many teams were staying there. Breakfast offered something for everyone...including one very picky eater. Will recommend this location to others. July 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by room smelled and could feel bed springs. Found this hotel way over priced for what it offered, the room had a very musty smell and the beds were very uncomfortable and you cound feel the springs poking your back. The pool was the size of a large bath tub and the so called fitness room was down a flight of a stairs in a small non-air conditioned room, which only offered 3 pieces of equipment. The gym was really a large closet in the basement. I thought the hotel would be a good value if it cost around 70.00 dollars a night and not the amount of money i paid..... The staff was nice and the breakfast very good..... July 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, too many kids running up and down the first floor hall screaming on Friday night On that first night (Friday night), we stayed on the first floor and there were too many kids running up and down the halls screaming. We told them to stop several times and even called the front desk to ask the Manager to do something, but nothing was done, except that one of those kids had the nerve to steal our "do not disturb" sign off our door that night. I was very disappointed that the Friday night manager did nothing to solve the problem. :( Other than that first night, the hotel was nice and very close to the Hershey Park attractions. Breakfast was great. If we were to ever go to Hershey again, I would stay there, but just make sure to get a room on the very top floor away from the extremely noisy first floor. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming employees The staff at this location were wonderful! Very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. I loved the location and proximity to Hershey Park. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service I came to Hershey for the one direction concert. it was great location out of the traffic area and surrounded by many food choices. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Even though it was a sold out night for the hotel, they did a great job with a full house. Even the breakfast bar was a great treat. July 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to Hersheypark, uncomfortable beds We stayed here for one night so we could enjoy two days at Hersheypark. It was very convenient to the park. The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. The complimentary coffee, fruit, & Hershey's kisses were a treat! The complimentary breakfast buffet was as expected with a variety of choices and the staff was keeping up with replacing empty items during breakfast. The room, however, could have been more comfortable. The beds were too firm and not what we have been used to at other Holiday Inns that we have stayed in recently. The mattresses & pillows just weren't up to par, especially for the price that we paid. Also mildly annoying was the refrigerator had a loud humming that was resolved by unplugging it (we didn't have anything in it), and the room darkening curtains were not made to close & actually darken the room. I'm not sure we'd stay here again. We spent a little more money to stay here, and the beds should have been more comfortable. June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT VALUE AND GREAT LOCATION Hershey park is so close you could practically walk there. usually a hotel this close to such a major attraction would charge upwards of $200 + a night. Great choice and great value! June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best place to stay! We love this place and try to stay here everytime we visit Hershey's! It's close to the park. Taco Bell, Pizza hut and a bunch of other places are a stone's throw away. Sheetz is right across the street too. The staff is very courteous and always willing to help. The complementary breakfast in the morning has an array of choices from cereals, muffins, pancakes, french toast.....etc. The building and the rooms are all well-maintained. All rooms are provided with a microwave and a mini-refrigerator. When the hairdryer in the room was not working and we called the front desk, the electrician was at the door in a couple of minutes. He gave us a brand new dryer to use because we didn't have the time to let him in and work on the broken one. And oh, there's a pool too:-) June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall My only problem was, I had requested a certain area in the hotel weeks before my arrival which was not granted. I had been assured that I would be on a certain floor when I made the reservation (which was for 2 nights) and was annoyed when the girl at the desk put me on a different floor. After discussing this with her, she stated "sorry, that floor has no available rooms." All of a sudden the manager appeared and asked the girl what was going on and HE was able to find a room! I was so happy that he was there! I also felt that the pool needed to be scrubbed around the drain area. Besides that, it was all good. May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Best staff and cleanest hotel around. Many stores around the block,and close to Hershey Park May 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Right next to railroad. Nice enough hotel. Clean and courteous staff. No hassles whatsoever except the railroad is right next to the hotel. Was awaken at 4 and 5 am by two trains. Another was going by as I was leaving early, so no sleeping in if that's what you want. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No Suites This hotel is located close to Hershey Medical Center, the reason for our visit. However, as a Priority Club Platinum Elite Rewards member I was looking forward to an upgrade, which I found out upon arrival that this hotel does not offer. (The website makes it seem as if it does.) The rooms are clean, but the temperature control system is outdated. May 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express East
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express East
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express East Night view of the State Complex Holiday Inn Express East Hotel Lobby Concierge Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express East Main Entrance Guest Registration Hotel Lobby State Capital Building & Museum
Select to close.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Availability
Loading