• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: HARRISBURG
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Small to medium sized dogs, up to 50lbs, allowed to stay at the hotel. There will be a 25.00 PER DAY pet fee charged to the hotel bill. If pets are left unattended in the hotel, the pet owner must provide contact telephone information.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Hersheypark
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Spacious well lit parking lot will handle all guest needs including motorcoach and tractor trailer parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:114
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:109
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:PA0135
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. Our convenient location, eight miles to Hershey, PA and just four miles to downtown Harrisburg, PA is perfect whether you are traveling on business or leisure. In addition, our great location at exit 48 off Route 83 provides easy highway access to Harrisburg International Airport, Gettysburg, Carlisle and Lancaster, home of the Amish and the PA Dutch Attractions.
Features
Complimentary hot buffet breakfast.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 181 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by silk purse makes a nice first impression, with newly updated decor in lobby and the room we stayed in. However, bathroom is unbelievably cramped/tiny. Can live with for one night, but wouldn't want to long stay in that room. A/C was LOUD. Needs updating. Paid for bed and breakfast but didn't get breakfast - was turned away by staff at 9AM on Sunday morning after waiting 5-10 minutes with others in line. Was told "you'll have to come back in 20 minutes." This is for a buffet breakfast with about 5 tables visibly available. Not sure how a buffet could tax the service staff so much they felt they had to turn guests away. Other guests that were also turned away went to the buffet anyway and took muffins, etc. as they couldn't wait. I asked for an adjustment to our rate, as we couldn't wait around for them - we had flights to catch. Front desk staff was accommodating and friendly. Desk/Valet staff were great, food staff not so much. just a bummer way to end the stay. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service My husband and I were in town for the Corvette show. We both enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Harrisburg. The room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk was very friendly. The valet was not a problem at all. The staff was very nice and brought us our car very quickly. I really do not have a negative thing to say. I would stay there again. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, service was lacking..... I only stayed one night, and while the rooms were nice enough, I had minor problems both time at the bar/restaurant. In my mind these annoyances should never happen in the service industry. The first issue came when I went down to the bar to get a couple glasses of wine. The bartender asked if I was getting them for the bar or taking up to my room. They were for my room. He then proceded to get out two champagne type glasses. I asked if I could have them in a wine glass, and could see the glasses I wanted right on the shelf. He said "not if I was taking away from the bar". he went on to tell me that these glasses commonly get broken in rooms and they were almost out, so he was instructed not to let them leave the bar. I explained that as a bar tender he should understand that red wine was served in such a large glass to allow it to breathe better, and that anything else was really unacceptable. He said he understood this but his hands were tied. It was not until after going to the front desk and speaking to a manager that they "authorized" him to trust me with a couple of their precious wine glasses. The second issue came the next morning when going down for our breakfast, which was included in the rate. Even though we could see empty tables, we were told it would be twenty minutes before we could be seated for the buffet because everyone " came down at the same time". We asked if there was at least a list we could get on and we were told no, just to come back in twenty minutes. We had plans for he morning and this seemed silly so it was only after pushing a little that we convinced the Host to start a list for us and the others who were starting to gather. It seems petty, but it's hard to believe they aren't better prepared for the breakfast rush at 8:30 on a sunday morning, especially when they know exactly how many guests they have in the building, and you don't need much of a waitstaff when most people are having the buffet. August 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Terrible I am stillt trying to get multiple charges made to my credit card removed because of customer relations department is terrible. I was charged for a one night hotel stay that I had previously paid for two weeks in advance then I had to call and spoke to the front desk and manager at the hotel four times and instead of them reversing the charges they charged me again. I tried to speak to management and he told me to hold on and sent me to his voice mail...I called back and he told me he was busy and would have returned my call later. Poor customer service and to think this hotel was recommended by a reputable travel agent who booked the room for me. THE HOTEL itself is nice and very cozy (rooms are a breadbox, but what do you expect in downtown PA). If you plan to just sleep there, .....Disgruntle..... August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location and food was excellent! We celebrated my sister birthday at restaurant. Food was delicious and service was super friendly. We would definitely come back here again. Thank you! August 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would Not Go Back Curtains had Mould on them. Blood on the sheets, Mould on the windows, rain was coming throug frame of window. Plaster was all cracked and falling down. Air-conditoner was as loud as an airplane engine. August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We had a lovely room and the bed was very comfortable. We slept well and enjoyed the clean sheets and spotless bathroom. When it was time to get our car from valet, it took about 30 minutes for the valets to get cars for the guests. Once they began getting the cars, it wasn't long. It just seemed that there was no activity in that regard for the first 20 minutes while guests stacked up at the front entrance. Otherwise, everything was great! August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nan56 Right from the fast check in to the valet parking attendants, the Crowne Plaza was fantastic. The beds were extra comfy, especially after long days with the grandkids at Hershey Park!! August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible One of the worst hotel stays I've ever had. I will never stay at this property again. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay over for Joyce Meyer Conference the staff was wonderful. So pleasant to deal with. We talked to Toni who let us know about the walk way by the river. It was a beautiful walk by the river and away from the traffic. Valet service was prompt and friendly. Over all wonderful experience. I think an update on the valet only parking would really enhance your website description of Parking. We didn't know it was valet only and we clogged up the system. LOL Thank you crown plaza for making my stay in PA a pleasant one. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excelleltn staff Staff was very courteous, Everyone was very pleasant and polite. Excellent brunch. However the bathroom was very small and the air conditioning unit sounded like a cement mixer. August 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced The room was not at all what I expected for the price I paid. When I checked in I was asked to leave a deposit? I planned on staying at another hotel in the area and have NEVER been asked to leave a deposit. I left a cash deposit and the hotel clerk insisted on trying to run my credit/debit card anyway after I told him there was no money available. He then made it a point to tell me he tried to run it for $15 but it didn't go through and he understands??? I will NEVER stay here again and would NEVER suggest this hotel to anyone I know. If you like wasting your money on mediocrity this is the hotel for you!!! August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Freindly Staff and a great place to stay. Recommend highly August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room clean the room was clean and well cared for. the restaurant opened late on weekends and there was no coffee available-thought that was odd. the pool needs work and the elevator broke. for the price it could have been better. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room and absolutely terriffic service During our recent stay, we were extremely pleased with the staff. Their friendliness, courtesy, and service were outstanding. We chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza for a conference at another hotel that was within walking distance. The staff, from parking attendants to elevator service person, to bell hop, to guest accommodations person, to front desk - was courteous and helpful. I can't think of a single negative thing to say. As for the room - good size, very comfortable bed. The bathroom was small, very small. We have stayed at other Crowne Plaza hotels previously and will again. The parking cost seemed high for this area. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lauer Family The Hotel Staff was very nice! The Desk help was great with the issue of the price I got from --------- and honored the Games of America price. It would be nice if we knew about the $18.00 a day parking fee up front. The down fall that we had a issue with was the restraunt. The first night we were there we got back late. The restraunt was slow. There was 2 familys three kids 4 adults. It took over hour and 1/2 to get our food. The waitress was nice and kept trying to get our kids food. The kitchen said the food would be ready when it was ready. We had the Breakfest buffet but the danish area was very poor. It wasnt fresh but frozen box stuff as we were told. The taste did prove it. The room was clean and the help other wise was great. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better than expected Someone's been paying attention. The front desk staff is so much better than the last time I stayed here. Everyone seemed engaged and interested in my comfort and happiness. Once I was recognized as a member of the hotel rewards program the swag kept coming! Free breakfast buffet (better than most) with gratuity included. Waitress wouldn't let me leave a tip! One drawback: Sad bar scene and the bartender didn't know how to make a Manhattan. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by consistently pleased I have stayed at this hotel twice within the 2013 year so far...each experience has been positive and I will continue to book with them each time I stay in Harrisburg. The rooms are nice and the staff is wonderful. The staff I book with over the phone are always willing to do what they can to give me the best rates and most comfortable experiences. I am a club member and very satisfied with this service group. As I travel elsewhere....I will continue to book with this line of hotels as long and my experiences continue to be wonderful. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good clean room Great room, clean.... Parking for my oversize pickup was not issue. Happy with the price too. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not A Stranger I'm not a strager to this hotel. I stay here at least once a year and generally I'm satisfied with my stay and service. This year, I was particularly disturbed by the guests staying beside me. Although I didn't report it to the hotel staff, the guests were extremely loud and constantly slamming the doors throughout the night. Other than that, my experience with this hotel is a positive one. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service overall Everything works better this time than my last stay, so I'll be coming back. July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good and Friendly Nice (albeit dated) property. Good, clean rooms and a very cheerful staff. The room was a good value but the parking (valet only) was unacceptable. They charge too much for parking (I've paid less in Beverly Hills) and make the guest wait in the lobby, in my case ten precious minutes, because there's no "call-downstairs" option from your room to see to it that the car awaits the guest. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by American Legion Convention Our convention was held at the Hotel up the street I prefer to stay at the Crowne , The staff is very helpful and extremely friendly. Daniel and Maria in the lounge were fantastic and very nice, made you feel at home. Only complaint would be the potatoes in the morning for breakfast (warm not hot) and the bacon was not crisp, but the staff was great and remembered us each day and greeted us with coffee each morning. Can't wait till next year I know I have recruited more people to stay at the Crowne and walk up the street. Oh and don't forget to try the massage oil for you legs and feet a real treat for tired feet. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Caitlin at the front desk was awesome! We were in town for a wedding and were very pleased with our stay at the Crowne Plaza. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Also, the breakfast wedding buffet was lovely. Above all, we sincerely appreciated Caitlin (the person manning the front desk) who addressed our need for a wine opener. She was awesome!! July 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated Bathrooms and Non-existent Valet Parking Crowne Plaza was suggested by the bride and groom, thus we booked at this hotel. Room is small by conventional standards. Bathroom is very small. Outdated fixtures, very little counter space important to ladies getting dressed for a wedding. Was not pleased to learn my vehicle, which I paid $18/night to valet, was actually two blocks away at a meter. Should I expect to receive a parking ticket by mail??!! How many vehicles are vandalized when left on the street??? When I asked for my vehicle at checkout, the attendant suggested I simply carry our bags over two blocks rather than have her bring it to the lobby! July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and helpful We stayed at this hotel because our family member was in the hospital. They had great hospital rates. The staff was very flexible with late check in times and early check out. The service was wonderful. The staff was always helpful in helping us with a map of downtown and local places to eat. The pool was great, the temperature was warm and so very nice. They offered free ice cream to everyone staying at the hotel. That was a great treat since it was 97 degrees outside. This was our first time every staying in a Crowne Plaza. We would stay here again and recommend this hotel to everyone that is in there area. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Evening Arrival I usually stay outside of downtown Harrisburg avoiding downtown. Let me get the negative out of the way 1st. The valet parking person I dealt with was rude and obviously a non-Crown employee. In addition, my bathroom was tiny, very clean but tiny. Getting that out of the way, the front desk staff were great, Andrew recommended a great place for a late night cocktail. I was offered water and snacks which really helped me that evening. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is in a nice location as well. If you have something going on for work or entertainment in that area, it is a great spot to stay. I will try this location again but maybe look for external parking without the hassle. July 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel experience in decades 1. After check in, I was informed by the valet they had no parking space in the garage and could I look for parking on the street!. Locating the GM, she found space. 2. Hotel elevators are small and packed. Expect to wait two or three passes. 3. 'City view' was the side of the building adjacent. 4. Air conditioners noisy, sleep limited. 5. Asked the restaurant host in the morning if I could get a cup of coffee. She gladly poured it and said that will be $3. 6. Ignored by the valet on check out, cars were being brought out for people behind me in line. Finally confronting the valet I was informed I needed to swipe my ticket 'under the TV in the lobby. Never informed at the checkout desk. 7. No assistance with luggage or any offer. 8. Staff uncaring and probably looking for good jobs. July 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very friendy staff nice rooms disappointed there was no where to grab a bite to eat for a very early departure, I feel a cart with coffee,tea and perhaps a muffin would have been a nice touch as the reasturant did not open until 7:30. July 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by friendly services but very small and old hotel my group recently stayed at this hotel, I must say that the overall experience was good and the staff on duty were friendly; however the hotel is old and the rooms were small; The pool was out of towers in the evenings and no one was picking up the used towels. we had to call the front desk twice for clean towels. July 19, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express East
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express East
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express East Night view of the State Complex Holiday Inn Express East Hotel Lobby Concierge Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express East Main Entrance Guest Registration Hotel Lobby State Capital Building & Museum
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading