• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: HARRISONBURG
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry no pets allowed except ADA Animals; however, several kennels are nearby. Please call hotel direct for assistance. A 200 fee will be charged to violators.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Valley Lanes Bowling Alley
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Shenandoah Heritage Farmer's Market
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Rockingham County Fairgrounds
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
James Madison University
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:82
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free to hotel guests. Please bring your vehicle information and license plate number to the front desk at the time of check in so that we can register your vehicle.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:72
  • Total number of suites:10
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:40
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:69
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy this Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Perfect Location

Nestled in the heart of the beautiful Shenandoah Valley, our hotel's location in Harrisonburg, VA is ideal for every traveler. The Holiday Inn Express® Harrisonburg is just off I-81 on Route 11, bringing local businesses and attractions to our doorstep.

Our attentive staff and excellent facilities cater to the needs of corporate travelers. Finish up paperwork in the Business Center using the print, copy and fax services or
View More

Enjoy this Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Perfect Location

Nestled in the heart of the beautiful Shenandoah Valley, our hotel's location in Harrisonburg, VA is ideal for every traveler. The Holiday Inn Express® Harrisonburg is just off I-81 on Route 11, bringing local businesses and attractions to our doorstep.

Our attentive staff and excellent facilities cater to the needs of corporate travelers. Finish up paperwork in the Business Center using the print, copy and fax services or check email from your room using free Wi-Fi access. Companies like SYSCO, Walmart Distribution, Perdue, Packaging Corporation of America and Pilgrim's Pride are all near our hotel's property in Harrisonburg, VA.

Our hotel's guests never run out of exciting things to do in the area. James Madison University always has events going on, from sports to concerts. Discover the variety of natural caverns, such as Luray Caverns and Grand Caverns. And, of course, the breathtaking sights of Shenandoah National Park await you along the historic Skyline Drive.

Whether you're on vacation or business, every guest loves our award-winning quality and service. After a day in the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel's indoor, heated pool and whirlpool bring welcome relaxation. The Fitness Center helps you keep up your workout without missing a beat, and the hot, free Express Start Breakfast Bar prepares you to seize the day. You'll soon see why we've won the prestigious Torchbearer Award!

View Less
Features
With amenities like an indoor pool, hot tub, and full breakfast, it's easy to see why our Harrisonburg, VA hotel's service and facilities are award winners.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 59 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 my stay at candlewood my stay at candlewood was great. nice clean room quite .Great staff very respectful. I give candlewood two thumbs up.... I would deff. stay again. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and excellent front desk From arrival to departure I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is conveniently located off the main street which is full of restaurants and shopping. The room was large and clean and the bed was extra comfortable. The bathroom was one of the biggest bathrooms I have been in, for any hotel chain, and was very clean and the towels were not the standard towels found in most hotels. I loved the idea of the lending closet and dvd lending, it was my first time experiencing that ever, GREAT idea!! Front desk staff was terrific. There is also mini menus for local restaurants that you can take with you and help make meal decisions, the really came in handy. And check-out was by far the quickest ever. We will be returning for another, longer stay. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved my stay! I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel while visiting family in the area. It was easy to access off of the Hwy and provided an enjoyable place for me and my family to stay. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Pleasant Evening After 8 hours of driving and very tired at the end of the day, we just wanted a nice place to spend the night. We found just that at Candlewood Suites in Harrisonburg. Our room was very clean, bright, spacious, pet friendly and with a kitchenette, and new. Couldn't ask for more than that. Bed/room was very comfortable. Was a pleasure staying here and would highly recommend it. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another wonderful stay at this property We always stay here whenever possible. Being a long-time hotel employee, myself, I have stayed at many hotel properties and this is our very favorite. It's perfect in location and amenities. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and well maintained Hotel was clean and well maintained. Bed was comfortable and pillows were good. Bathroom was clean and well maintained. The little store had a good selection of products. I'd stay again. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff and comfy bed We called to reserve a room based on this particular hotel being pet friendly. Not being aware that this was a hotel chain included in our rewards program, the receptionist asked if we were members of this particular rewards club...My husband was unsure, so she looked us up, and sure enough, we were. She was able to get us a steeply discounted room based on our points! I was really pleased that she was so helpful in getting us this room. We do not travel frequently and this may be a factor that allows us to travel more often! When we got to the hotel, we were so pleasantly surprised by the room. Having stayed at "pet-friendly" hotels before, we were so glad that the "pet-friendliness" was not immediately apparent in the room or the hotel (no smells!). July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 WOW!!! Great Customer Service The hotel was very clean - both our suite and the common areas were nearly spotless. What really contributed to the excellent quality of our stay were the Candlewood Suites employees. To a person, everyone made us feel welcome. I do not recall the last time I experienced this same high level of professionalism, courtesy, friendliness and helpfulness when staying at a hotel. There were two Front Desk Associates who made an outstanding impact: Tanya and Chris. These two are outstanding ambassadors for your property. They were tremendous in every regard - from remembering us, greeting us upon our arrival in the lobby, asking what they could do to make our stay even better, and going out of their way to provide replacement towels, glassware, etc. Seeing people who seemed honestly happy to see me when I came and went just put a big ol' smile on my face. We will definitely stay there again. July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Advertised Pool and Breakfast, not here Nice, friendly staff, but you could do better for your money here in Harrisonburg. We were very disappointed to learn on checking in that there was no pool, nor breakfast, since those things had been advertised and were the reason we had booked this room (along with it having a kitchenette). It does have a kitchenette. Furniture is clean, but worn. Nice beds/linens/pillows. A/C worked very well. Could not get internet access to work. Do not recommend, especially if traveling with children. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st Class Staff and Amenities The Staff at Candlewood were exceptional. Tanya was so warm and welcoming it felt like we were part of the family. She made certain we had the room that we requested and explained all the wonderful amenities the Candlewood made available for guests. After staying one night, I immediately requested to join the Rewards Club as we definitely plan to use Candlewood as our 1st Choice of places to stay when we plan our next getaway. In fact, I plan to check to see where the Candlewood Properties are first, then choose a place to visit. I can't say how much we enjoyed our stay and can't wait to get on the road again. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and pet friendly! Loved the convenience and cleanliness of this hotel which was also pet friendly. I have stayed at other pet friendly hotels which were dirty, smelly, and seedy so this was a wonderful change for a very reasonable rate! June 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpectedly Beat Down adn Poor Service The place looked like it was beaten down (not like the other Holiday Inn hotels I have stayed in); The room was fine but the furniture is old - my sofas has tear marks in them. There was no TV guide in my room and when I called to get one, I was told to COME DOWN TO THE LOBBY TO PICK IT UP. I will not be staying here again! June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable staY I had several rooms so all of my family could come and be part of a wedding. We all enjoyed ourselves and found all the facilities met our needs. We will look for Candlewood Suites in the future when we plan a family get together. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pet Friendly Best value in the area if you are traveling with Pets. Also, conveniently located and clean. Would be even better if they provided some kind of breakfast. Very good overall. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place I love everything about the Candlewood. We stayed in another location on our trip, which was also great. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Convenient location to downtown, area shopping and Skyline Drive June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Only issue. In order to get the bedroom cool enough in our suite we had to crank the a/c down the in the living room. Vent/circulation not very good in bedroom. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed and greatservice We stoped at Candlewood Suites after a long days travel and were pleased the comfort and rest. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Used this hotel as a stopping point on a road trip. Checked in very late and left early, but it was what we needed and everyone was very friendly. Will use this or other Candlewoods in the future. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel for extended stay This hotel room has a full kitchen with plenty of room, which makes it a good value for a long stay. Easy location and fairly quiet. However, we had a lounge chair with the arms all tore up, and a dirty bowl in the cupboard. The hotel room was clean but could have been better. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dated Rooms are showing signs of excessive wear. Chairs with patches of peeling/worn pleather. Items I would be embarrassed to have in my home. Dated - small TV a long way from the bed. Limited channel selection. A noisy a/c system. Very poor value. Expected due to local college graduation. About 3x the normal rate with 2 day minimum. Way to take advantage of customers. No breakfast or coffee offered. On the downward slide. May 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice location for a quiet stay Stopped over at this location with our dog and found this to be a very quiet and nice location tucked back from the main part of town but super easy access. Felt very residential despite being so close to a main shopping area. Staff were very nice and polite and willing to help with extra towels needed. Our 23 year daughter stopped in for the night the following weekend by herself on her way back to school in NY and felt very safe in this area. Hotel could use updating soon to the new interior style of Candlewood but the room was very clean and in good repair. If you need a nice safe affordable room where you can actually get some sleep, I highly recommend this location. March 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Accessible room Excellent hotel for JMU and Masanutten.The only reason I give 4 stars is that although the room was wheelchair accessible it has a bathtub , only one grab bar and a fixed shower head. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Teriffic hotel, but it is the fantastic staff that really made it great. This is, by far, the best pet friendly hotel we have ever stayed at. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff - each and every one we came in contact with - was exceptional. They anticipated our needs and were very friendly. We couldn't have had a better experience. THANK YOU December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great pet friendly hotel suite Stayed here 3 nights over Christmas. At first wasn't sure of being safe with the dog at night while outside. After being there the first night it didn't even bother me. Night clerk was at the desk everytime we went out. Enjoyed meeting all of them on the 3 shifts. All of them was very friendly to me and Junior (dog). The room was what I requested when I booked it. I was very nice and roomy, Overall we enjoyed everything and would book there again. December 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Our stay was terrible! We checked in at 9:40 pm. Found 11 hairs in shower, dirt all over carpet. The fan to bedroom sounded horrible all night. Randall Black December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My favorite pet friendly hotel This was my second stay. It is always spotless and the staff is great. Best value out there. My boyfriend is traveling and has a room booked tonight! December 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at harrisonburg, PA I was quite shocked to see that no daily cleaning service was provided. Only weekly service for cleaning. Towels were available everyday. Otherwise ok December 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed with service In March 3013 I booked a suite at Candlewood and was very happy with the property and service I received. I was traveling back to the area and decided to re-book at room at the Candlewood in November 2013. The room and property were fine, however the customer service I received at the time of check in was the worst I have received in years. I was very disappointed and frustrated by the lack of quality customer service. It took over 30 minutes to check into my room and the staff member was not helpful or knowledgeable and tried to give the room I had requested to another customer who was waiting in line behind me. The staff I encountered the following day were very helpful and knowledgeable. I likely will not return to stay at the Candlewood because of the very poor service I received. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always an Excellent Experience I have stayed at this hotel several times now as a stop over on my way to visit family. I always have my dog, Harvey, with me. As a frequenter of pet friendly properties, I love that the rooms don't have the shabbiness often found in other pet friendly hotels. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable, the bed is divine, and it is so quiet that I get the best sleep here. Don't be put off (although I admit I was worried at first) by the train tracks and industrial surrounding areas--this place is a great find! For those of you who want it, this hotel also has a nice gym, in room kitchenettes, and is convenient to lots of local eateries. Also located just off the highway so no hassles off and back on the road. November 19, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Easy access right off Interstate 81!
Easy access right off Interstate 81!
Select to close.
Easy access right off Interstate 81! Spacious lobby with a great breakfast bar! Relaxing area for guests to enjoy the news or sports! Friendly staff, free wifi, and free breakfast!
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading