Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 70 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Warm and Friendly Staff My partner and I stayed here for our wedding. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. We had a bottle of wine and a card left for us by the staff. We also had a small issue with our room and the manager went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. We will stay here again on our next visit to Hartford. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central location I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Hartford, CT because I was going to attend a concert at the XL Center. I found it online. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived to find out that it was just two blocks from the XL Center! There are many good quality restaurants and attractions within walking distance as well. The hotel and the room were neat and clean. Staying there made my trip to Hartford even more enjoyable. I highky recommend it!! September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BETTER THAN EXPECTED I had read some poor reviews of this hotel, but I was very pleasantly surprised. We had a great view of the park and Capitol building from the 9th floor. Gorgeous! The room was clean and comfortable, with a microwave and refrigerator (and TV of course). The only negative was the musty smell coming out of the AC when we first got there. We didn't take advantage of the complimentary breakfast, so no rating there. Everything was clean and updated. Overall, very pleased. September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff not very co-operative Whenever I call the hotel to book my reservation, some staff invariably put the call on-hold and after a few minutes, they say call us after 15 minutes. This looks very strange to me, I do understand some days the staff could be busy, but not all times. However, some front desk staff is very co-operative and they provide exceptional service. Overall I would rate average experience with this Holiday Inn express location. September 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Theives and Horrible Management My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our wedding night and were appalled at the attitude of the management here. We bought our room online and thought it was paid for but had to pay when we got there. They tried both our cards which had plenty of money on them and said they were both denied. The manager was very nasty to both of us and kept telling us that he needed to obtain payment- which we were obviously trying to do! We eventually paid cash and got to our room on the 8th floor. The keys didn't work so we had to go all the way back down to get new ones. The room was small but we had a great view of the capital. The next morning it took 10 minutes to check out because the computers weren't working. Halfway through our honeymoon we saw a charge for almost $200 on our account from the hotel. I called the manager and he was very rude and kept telling me the money takes 3-5 days to be put back on the card. I asked him if he had returned the funds from the hotel's side and he wouldn't give me a direct answer. 10 days later the funds were still not in my account and I filed a claim through my bank.. Overall: View's great but absolutely not worth the hassle and hostility August 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by business center the computers in the business center need be changed or upgraded, very hard to get online August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Staff are always cheerful, helpful and friendly. Great location to the Capital, and good restaurants. Try Black-Eyed Sallys or Agave August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Courteous, prompt service, comfortable bed, good amenities. I would definitely stay at this location again, most convenient to the train station, with a beautiful view of the park and state capitol. Though the hotel is an older one, the room was exceptionally clean and greeted us with a good fragrance. We found the price for the room relatively high, but that was offset by its closeness to the train station which was an important factor in our choice. Good Job! August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience After reading some of the reviews at booking I was uncertain....however this location is with in a very short walking distance of the Bushnell Theater, Capitol etc. Now.... from the moment we arrived for a (2) night stay we were very happy with everything ! The hotel staff is very friendly, room was clean and well equipped with all the usual to expect from HI. Express. The only complaint is the need for additional outlets....we made do but additional electric outlets would be great. Breakfast was good, front desk staff were all exceptionally helpful and friendly. safe location to park car, Great restaurants with-in short walking distance. highly recommend.....Will definitely staff here again! August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! Great Location: Centrally located in the Downtown across from the beautiful Bushnell Park which on the night we stayed had free jazz concerts. This location is also a very short walk to the Greyhound\PeterPan bus station which is very convenient to travelling to New York City for the day! August 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Stay in Hartford, ct The room needs a make over, They charged my card twice for one night and a week later it has not been given back, failed to make-up the room one night. I travel a lot and have been in a lot better holiday inns. I was very! Disappointed in this hotel. August 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't walk. Run far away. I have stayed at this property many times in the past 7 years due to it's convenience to the train station. But never again. I'm not sure what has changed, during this past year or so, but this property has taken a sever downward spiral. Some systems is ALWAYS down, with apologies and promises of a better day. This last stay was above & beyond a travel nightmare. It started on check in, room keys could not be made. Once I was escorted and let into my room, there was no chair, no luggage rack, no handles to turn on the cold or hot water (which required a strong grip or a wrench to turn off & on). The curtains & bed lines were severely winkled ..let me add, the curtains were not only winkled, but the hem was unraveling. The television remote needs to be reprogrammed, a paper with channels were provided , I could have pulled off the interstate and stayed in a "rat trap" and felt more comfortable. Had it not been as late, I would have check into another hotel. My original plans were to stay for 4 nights, for obvious reasons, I switched hotels for the remainder of my stay in Hartford. The employees seem to have a good attitude, especially considering they must hear a lot of complaints. Upon check out I was told my charges would be reversed, and would be "comped" for the night. But even that required a follow up phone call a week later to verified, and as yet to be done. Once again many apologies, with promises of a better day. Unless there are some MAJOR changes , I will never stay at this property ever again. July 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NO HOT WATER! The location of the hotel was perfect for our business trip, being located only 3-4 miles from our Supplier. There is a great selection of Dining choices within walking distance of the hotel. However, the morning we were departing, there was no hot water. When contacting the front desk, we were told there was a boiler issue and they are working on the problem. For 2 hours the hot water was sampled and there was none. We gave up and proceeded to checkout. We were given the same story that the boiler was not working and they were still working on it. No mention of discounts or anything for the inconvenience. While waiting in the lobby, we were informed by other guests that some members did receive discounts, etc. Upon leaving the lobby, proceeding through the parking lot to the car, a fuel delivery truck was delivering fuel to the hotel! So boiler issue or RUNNING OUT OF FUEL???????? I was traveling with 2 other people, we had a road trip of 5.5 hours, and then waking up the next morning to no hot water???????? And then the front desk basically brushing off our concerns? I would hope that every guest in that hotel completes this review with the same dissatisfaction as I have. May 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water! The staff at this hotel are friendly. I stayed at this hotel the night before a job interview. The morning of my interview there was no hot water. I asked for consideration on my bill for this inconvenience but I was told that this was not possible because I had pre-paid. I did pre-pay, on the company website. It is unfortunate that the company has so little flexibility. May 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cordial and Friendly staff Staff at this hotel are very helpful and attentive. I would certainly recommend. Breakfast is awesome! May 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by outles please I love this holiday inn express, the staff is wonderful, the fitness room is great, the hotel is easy to get to but the outlet situation in the rooms is not so good. I understand this is going to be addressed in the planned renovation. May 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, kinda pricey I like the Kuerig coffee maker, that was cool to see. There's not a lot of outlets so plugging in an iron was awkward. Overall one of the better Holiday Inns April 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value & staff We stayed here for a weekend of cheer competition. The price was right, it was close to the convention center and all of the staff that we interacted with were polite and helpful. The only con of our stay is that there were at least 4 nightclubs playing loud music into the night. Thank goodness we were exhausted from our day activities otherwise, that noise would have kept us up all night. The only thing between the hotel and those clubs is a parking lot (not a great sound buffer). In the future, we will request a "park/city view" room to keep the dance party from seeping into our dreams. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My stay The best staff!! Tasha made my stay perfect. Lisa and others whose names I don't know made me feel comfortable. My first time in Hartford and they helped with parking and restaurants. A very clean room. March 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Changes The breakfast selection went downhill this year. I missed the yogurt, other types of eggs, etc. Sorry that the Holiday Inn did not do a deal this year for the Rutgers Womens' Cagers Club. For many years you offered a deal, with all of the people being mature adults-most over 60. WE gathered in the breakfast area each night, which we really enjoyed. I think you lost a lot of business by not having the Cagers at the HI for the Big East Tournament. We only had about 10 people at breakfast each day. Missed the whole group. Please reconsider for next year. The regular cook-hostess is wonderful, the housekeeping was great, and the guy who I think is maintenance remembered us and is always pleasant. The front desk was also nice. March 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Had better rooms at other Holiday Inn Express' The room was small, could not get the first 7 channels on TV, no microwave or refrigerator. Stayed 4 nights, these amenities would have been nice to have. March 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful View, Rude Desk Staff As soon as we got out of the car, we were approached by a man asking for money. I immediately felt unsafe, and that feeling remained throughout our stay. My husband gave this man some money, and we went inside. The lady at the desk told us our room wouldn't be ready until after 3:00, if one was available. My husband told her we had a reservation, and she snapped at him in a very rude way. I was so taken aback by it all that I started looking for a different hotel. My husband resolved the issue and needed to stay there because it was close to his business meeting, and he wanted me to see the beautiful view. My husband travels frequently and holds preferred status at almost every hotel, including Holiday Inn. I'm sorry to say that this hotel is not up to your usual standards. March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2 Star Price - 4 Star quality - 10 Star location Excellant location in downtown Hartford. The price was very affordable. Room was very comfortable with all the neccessities. Breakfast was a little on the down side but that was understandable concidering the place was packed on Saturday night due to the George Strait concert a couple blocks down the street. Monday mornings breakfast was great. Priority Club members make a note of this location when visiting Hartford. March 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 great room & view - poor breakfast buffet nineth floor view of bushnell park & state capitol beautiful, room nice very disappointed with breakfast buffet we were looking forward to your famous hot cinnamon rolls, but the lady said they have not had any for months - adding insult to injury, the warmer was still there, enpty - also the lady could not keep up: long time without coffee - hope that improves March 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff, comfortable beds, clean building. The entire staff was very friendly. The bed was comfortable. I like that they had both plush and firm pillows. The room was a decent size with a great view of the capital bldg. Only complaints I would have are the bathrooms could use an update and channel selection on the tv was limited. March 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Breakfast Available & Parking Not Included This was our first visit to this particular Holiday Inn Express. The location was perfect for visiting the XL Center, however breakfast was suppose to be included and all we got were frozen bagels. This was brought to the attention of the front desk and they weren't concerned. Our rate did not include parking and we were charged $16.00. This is the first time ever I have been charged at a Holiday Innn or Holiday Inn Express to park my car. February 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by My worst hotel experience in several years I am a frequent traveler for business and pleasure, and as Priority Club member I often stay at Holiday Inn. At this particular location, I experienced the least helpful staff, a room with a non working phone, a second room with a non working phone, a room that the cleaning staff forgot to clean one day, and an unwillingness to make any amends for the terrible experience. Upon checkout I was charge $30 more per night than quoted, and the front desk clerk refused to adjust this. The manager and assistant manager were both away and have still not responded to my messages. I have to say, just fo not stay at this hotel. February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location, great view and excellent eats This hotel is in a great location close to all major expressways. Whether you are going east, west, north or south you are only minutes to an expressway in that direction. The hotel is about 25 minutes from Bradley. If you book a room be sure to ask for a Capital view. That side of the building looks at the Capital and surrounding park which is really beautiful at night when all lit up. There are a couple of fun bars within 2 blocks of the hotel. The best is Black Eye Sally's. If you like blues and BBQ this is the place for you. The food the best southern BBQ north of the WDC. There is usually a cover charge on Friday and Saturday but if you truly are going just to eat just let them know that and they will seat you on the right side of the bar-you can still hear the music just not see the band. I would highly recommend the Burnt Ends-bite size chucks of pork. The fried chicken is great as well and if you really are hungry try Sally's Pig Out-pulled pork, ribs, brisket and fixings. And after you stuff yourself with booze and food take a 2 minute walk back to you comfortable bed at the hotel. It is a great combo! January 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff You have a amazing staff at this location. They deserve kudo's. One person in perticular stands out in my mind, Tasha. She just has an excellent personality and is so welcoming. LOVE HER! Never let this woman go. January 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My stay the week of 12/3 Overall, I love the HI Express in downtown Hartford. The front desk staff is always great. I always get a "Capitol View" room and you just can't beat the view of the state capitol looking across Bushnell Park. It's very convenient to the office downtown and a nice walk in the mornings and evenings. Improvement opportunities: The rooms need more plugs. With laptops, smartphone, razors, etc, it's hard to find enough plugs. Get better in room coffee makers. Get better in room radios with a plug for iPhone / iPod to listen to music. Room cleaning staff is unreliable. Sometimes they forget to wash out the coffee pot, replace the coffee or put up the iron and iron board. Overall, I like the hotel. Great staff, great location, great value. A few tweaks and they would really be a great hotel! December 11, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>