• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HARTFORD
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only allow service Dogs with Official documentation.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self parking is available on-site for $16.00 per night, plus tax.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:96
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:31
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:96
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:9

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Hartford . Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hartford, the ”Insurance Capital of the World,” and is easily accessed from I-91 and I-84. We are steps from the Union Station for visitors traveling via bus or train. The hotel is located directly across from Bushnell Park and features views of the Capitol Building. We are also just 14 miles from Bradley International Airport.

At the Holiday Inn Express
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Hartford . Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hartford, the ”Insurance Capital of the World,” and is easily accessed from I-91 and I-84. We are steps from the Union Station for visitors traveling via bus or train. The hotel is located directly across from Bushnell Park and features views of the Capitol Building. We are also just 14 miles from Bradley International Airport.

At the Holiday Inn Express Hartford Downtown, you will find our guest rooms with all the comforts of home. You can stay connected in our modern business center or with our complimentary easy access, high-speed Internet. For the health conscious, stay in shape in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests on the go can start their day right with our complimentary Smart Start® Breakfast featuring our world-famous cinnamon rolls.

Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel while visiting the "Insurance Capital." We are in walking distance to many area businesses.

Guests here for leisure will be happy to know we are walking distance to the XL Center, the Bushnell Theater, Connecticut Convention Center and many award winning restaurants.

Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, Stay Smart® at the Holiday Inn Express, Hartford Downtown where our staff will be sure to exceed your expectations.

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 74 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty, dirty, dirty My bed had, "adult dirt" on it. I was not overly impressed at all. The best thing was check out. The chairs were dirty and didn't have the plastic covering The room was dusty and the AC didn't work the right way. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Annalysse was wonderful Analysse was working at the front desk. I am sorry if I am spelling her name wrong, but she immediately rectified the issue we had with no towels being left in our room. We very much appreciated her friendliness and customer service. The hotel is not located near much but not many are in this area of CT. The room was large and spacious. Breakfast and breakfast staff were pleasant. June 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty bed and poor service. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Express at another location several times on business, and have NEVER had this kind of experience. After reading previous reviews, although they were mixed, I based my decision on staying there on my previous experiences. So, there were a few little things, but what hotel doesn't, right? But the bed... dear god. My bed had hair and someone else's fairly recent bodily fluids in it, which I unfortunately didn't notice right away. Then we noticed the pillows and comforter both had dirt on them. I called the front desk, and when I told her I wanted clean bedding and why, she replied somewhat incredulously, "all of it?" She came up in a while and agreed everything was dirty, and changed the bedding, but didn't have a comforter, and informed me that I had to write a note to housekeeping for a new comforter (why couldn't she? isn't that her job?). And rather than taking the dirty bedding with her, she shoved it in the corner by the door and told me to tell housekeeping to pick it up in the morning. Really? Anyway, next day, I tried to talk to a housekeeper about taking the dirty linens and she refused, only saying "Cindy! Cindy!" So, I went to the front desk, and the person there told me someone would be up right away to take them away. I left for the morning, came back and the dirty used linens were still there. I talked to the woman behind the counter again... "I'll send someone right up." And, of course, they were still there when we got back, and were still there the next day when we checked out. Heck, they are probably still there. This was the grossest hotel experience I've ever had. I don't expect 5 star service, but I expect the BEDS to be clean for crying out loud. (By the way, when I tried to get the user name Grossed Out to post this review, it was already taken. Ha!) June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy First night I stayed in Room 314, it was so noisy (Either noise from A/C in other room or from vending/ice machine outside, my room A/C, I kept off) that I could not sleep whole night. Next morning, I moved to room 124. When I came back in the evening from my meetings, I saw a big spider in the sink. I looked up I saw another one on the ceiling. I could see only these because of white background. There could be more. Third and fourth night, the house keeper never put the coffee packets or the coffee cups. They put new shampoo and conditioner but never put the lotion. June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Room First night I stayed in Room 314, it was so noisy (Either noise from A/C in other room or from vending/ice machine outside, my room A/C, I kept off) that I could not sleep whole night. Next morning, I moved to room 124. When I came back in the evening from my meetings, I saw a big spider in the sink. I looked up I saw another one on the ceiling. I could see only these because of white background. There could be more. Third and fourth night, the house keeper never put the coffee packets or the coffee cups. They put new shampoo and conditioner but never put the lotion. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Meriden, huh? Pretty cool! Pros: During my recent 3-night stay, the people who work there were all really nice and helpful. Functional (if unglamorous) room with a nice desk and a more than serviceable WiFi connection; I could sit there do some writing comfortably. While Meriden is not one of Connecticut's more interesting cities, if you have several things to do in the central part of the state, it is a reasonably strategic location. Good coffee June 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Had a pleasant stay We were visiting Branford, but this hotel was $60 less per night than the HIE in Branford so we stayed here. Not much nearby to recommend in terms of restaurants, etc. Can only access the hotel from hwy 15 southbound and it's easy to miss it the first time. The staff was very nice. The basic room does not have a desk but we were offered an upgrade to a Suite since we're IGH members. The suites have a desk and fridge, which is nice. The shower head water pressure and toilet paper quality were hotel-typical, meaning that both could be better and at nominal cost. I'm always amazed that hotels cheap out on these. The complimentary breakfast is a nice touch, and the selection was not bad. You always know what you're getting with HIE. 4/5 June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great beds and extraordinarily clean We were pleasantly surprised by this Holiday Inn Express. They have the biggest rooms we've seen, but the furniture is a little sparse. Given the space available, the bathrooms could have been a little bigger and a work space would be nice. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are spotless, but the walls are a little thin. There's nothing on the walls to mute the noise in adjoining rooms. Ask for a top floor room. Overall, for the price this was excellent. We were so tired we ordered take-out, but there is a nice Italian restaurant across the street. It's just a couple of minutes off Interstate 91 and the Wilbur-Cross...so the location is very good. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Flew in from California to visit family for a few days, and we were very pleased with our 1st time stay here. Our room was very comfortable, and larger than most rooms at other Holiday Inn Express' we have stayed at. The front desk staff was very friendly and always greeted us as we entered the lobby. Absolutely no complaints from us. We will be back in a year to visit family again, and will definitely book our stay here. May 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Get New TVs Very dissapointed in the staff - I haven't had many problems with any HIE, but this particular one frustrated me. I asked the gentleman at the front desk for a bottle of water and he said "sorry, bottled water is for our platinum guest only" - What? I am a platinum guest! Also, for what is considered a smaller hotel, the maid didn't clean the room until 2:30 in the afternoon (just as I was getting back from a meeting), which just makes it inconvenient when I was ready to get back to my room and relax, instead I had to go back down stairs and wait for her to finish. To make it worse, the elevators were out of service for several hours! On to the televisions, every time I turned it on, it was black and white and the only way to fix that was to unplug the TV and plug it back in (sometimes it took several tries for this to work). There was a particular NBA playoff game I was trying to watch and it just would not work. The WiFi was impossible to connect to (it connected, but at crawling speeds). The toliet seat in my bathroom was broken, it slipped every time I sat on it. I don't give many bad reviews, but I was just so frustrated after this stat. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff. When I travel, I prefer to stay within the IHG brand. This stay was for family travel, I used my points and was very happy with the staff. The front desk clerk was very helpful. Thank you Vinnie. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We love HIE We travel extensively and love Holiday Inn Express for the convenience, value and comfort. April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location has poor signage, but good overall Hard to fined as the signage is small, and highway is divided. Asi if there is a bus heading out in the morning, as the elevator was over-ridden for the luggage by the bus driver, and the breakfast room has no seating left. Staff handled well though. March 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the usual Holiday Inn Express Looks like one of the new Holiday inn Express hotels but not the usual high quality. No refrigerator or microwave in room. No desk or desk chair, lumpy pillows not at all what I have come to expect from HIE. Next time in this area I will stay somewhere else. March 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service Bed sheet and pillow cases were not changed everyday, I stayed for 5 nights! When I called downstairs, Susan was very nice to come up and change them for me. March 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place away from home Clean,comfortable,friendly associates, Great Breakfasts March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Thank You! General Manager was very helpful regarding my situation. February 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best of HI Express I am a devoted HI Express customer. Have stayed with this brand for many years in many countries. This property is one of the best of HI Express in terms of service and facilities. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely staff! Some friends and I needed a place to stay during a weekend-long movement workshop, which is very hard on the body. This hotel was exactly what we needed- good prices, soft beds, room to move. The check-in and check-out staff were great. The highlight of the stay was when we came down just a little late for breakfast on Sunday, and the staff brought the food back and kept the juice machines on longer just so we wouldn't go hungry! It was the sweetest thing and made our day. I'd stay again in a heartbeat for the next workshop. January 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New, clean, but noisy The room is nice and new but oddly configured. Lots of dead space. You can't comfortably sit on the couch and watch TV. But the bathroom fan is so loud it'll make your head explode. You can't have the lights on without the fan. And the heater/AC unit, like most low-end hotels, is loud and difficult to find a comfortable setting. Overall, nice enough, clean, but I'm not sure I'd go back anytime soon. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good night rest My husband and I visit two grandchildren, when staying at the Meriden Holiday Inn Express. It is always fun to be with them. And it is very relaxing for us to return to our "home base" at the Inn to rest and rejuvenate our batteries for the next day's adventure with them. So THANK YOU for helping us make memories with them. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Stay Nov 2013 Unfortunately our stay at the Holiday inn Meriden Ct, was a for a sad reason, my husband's sister passed away so we were in the worst frame of mind, it took us 5 hours to get to the hotel from LI, NY and of course we got lost in rain and darkness, but an angel named Analisa at the hotel kept us on the phone until we arrived, exhausted and hungry. The interior of the lobby was beautiful, comforting, and our room was gigantic. She recommended take our Italian, we wolfed it down. The staff were so nice, the room was immaculate, the shower nice and hot and all over, our 2 night stay, sad as it was, was great. Only one complaint, the coffee was weak! One of the nicest Holiday Inn's we have ever stayed at. December 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again This is a nice hotel overall, it looked and smelled very new, or recently renovated. The beds were fairly comfortable and it was, for the most part, clean. The only complaints I have is, first that there was a big, red stain on the rug in the middle of the room that did not look like they had made much of an attempt to clean it up. Thankfully, it looked like juice and not something worse. Second, the tank on the toilet must have had a small leak because it kept filling up off and on all night long. As long as the bathroom door was shut, it was ok. And the last thing we noticed was that a previous guest had stuffed some popcorn into the heating unit and obviously it was overlooked during the cleaning process. We only stayed one night so we did not make a big deal out of any of these things. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, but the pillows were less than desirable. All were flat. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Value for my trip Staff was great and pointed me in the right direction for dining... Very comfortable October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room and great beds! We were delighted to find the very spacious room and comfortable sleeping temperature after a very long day of travel and activity (3:00 AM-11:00 PM)! We hit the wonderful bed & slept until morning! We were sorry we didn't get to partake of the breakfast. We left feeling very refreshed! Thank you. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff My Family enjoyed the 2 nights we stayed at this hotel. The front desk Staff and the young Lady who took care of the Breakfast area were very nice and met all our needs. We had an issue with the electric plug in our bathroom and they had a maintenance person there within the hour, and that was on the weekend! We stayed in the Executive suite which we found a bit noisy as the beds were on the same wall as the laundry facilities. (someone decided to do their laundry at 10pm!) The carpet in our room had several large stains that needed cleaning. Also the carpet on the 2nd floor in front of the elevator was pretty dirty. October 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The bed in room 116 needs to be replaced. The bed was very uncomfortable it sunk in the middle causing us to roll into each other. They did not know that I was an ihg member. There isn't any thing to do in the area had to look for place to go that were a good distance from this location. Never received my 1000 points from ihg which I paid for when I book this room. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Nice property, but room furnishings a bit spartan, no microwave or frig. Access from highway can be difficult and not a lot of restaurants nearby, but convenient to the interstate. October 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good rooms and good breakfast The breakfast selecetion was good and the breakfast room was larrge enough for teh number of guests. The rooms was large. The room had not been fully vacuumed when we arrived. October 17, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading